Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns

如何在Adobe Illustrator中创建中世纪风格的图案

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Season Chou (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

复古风格又回来了,并且保持了下来!我们可以通过手工制作的字体,粉彩,有限的调色板以及简单的形状感受到它的存在。 春天正当时以及在夏天的路上,我们可以通过创建一个可爱的,由许多水果和蔬菜制成的中世纪风格图案,将这种风格放在考验之中。

获得灵感的很棒的装饰矢量模式的集合,你可以很容易地找到GraphicRiver

1.如何创建一个新文档

打开Adobe Illustrator后,转到文件> 新建Control-N),在对话框中,将配置文件设置为Web,并将宽度设置为1000像素,高度设置为500像素。这将是我们创建模式单元的区域。

Create a new document

2.如何创建草图

步骤1

创建草图是最简单的方法,来获得一个尽可能接近你想法的结果。让我们画很多可爱而简单的水果和蔬菜

画10或11种不同类型的水果和蔬菜,并为他们添加简单的面孔,包括两个点作为眼睛和一个弯曲的嘴唇线。 我画了11个:菠萝,柠檬楔子和整个柠檬,茄子,梨,苹果,甜菜根,草莓,胡萝卜,番茄和樱桃。 使用非常浅的灰色阴影,因为它会使追踪过程更容易。锁定草图(Control-2)。

Sketch of 11 types of fruit

步骤2

我们想要创建一个更复杂的图案,所以我们将投入一些绿色的叶子进行装饰,这将分散在物体周围。 绘制四种类型的草本植物,从一个简单的叶子开始,以一个更复杂的叶子结束。另外,画五个小叶子和对象,我们将用它来填充图案中的空白空间。

Sketch some leaves

3.如何创建调色板

在开始绘制插图之前,花一点时间来定义调色板。我选择了五种生动的颜色(黄色,橙色,粉色,蓝色和绿色)和一个深蓝色。 这个想法是以浅色为主色,暗色为背景。这样,插图将获得一定的对比度,让观众的眼睛愉悦。 在这个插图中,您可以随意添加任何其他光和新鲜的颜色。

Create a Color Palette

4.如何跟踪草图

步骤1

再次,我们将使用钢笔工具(P)作为我们的主要工具来创建这个插图。中世纪风格的插图是宽松的线条,所以跟踪草图没有任何担心的话,你可能会搞砸。

让我们从最复杂的草图开始:菠萝。这似乎比其他水果和蔬菜草图更复杂,但它只需要钢笔工具(P)来做,所以应该没有问题。

首先跟踪对象的较大部分,如身体和皇冠(2)。移动到冠的另一部分。加上两个圆圈作为眼睛和弯曲的形状作为嘴(3)。 一旦你完成这些部分,颜色是黄色的(#f1c82e)和绿色(#a6d36b)-从我们调色板的颜色。为第二部分的皇冠选择较深的绿色阴影(4)。

完成后,画出六条对角线,将它们以稍微较浅的黄色色调进行着色,并将它们倍增。 将相乘的线镜像并放在原来的线条上,以创建网格(5)。将它们放在菠萝的黄色体内(6)。一旦完成跟踪,不要忘记删除草图。

Trace the pineapple

步骤2

要追溯的第二个对象是甜菜根。从更大的形状开始 - 身体和果岭。颜色为粉红色(#f4688b)和绿色(#a6d36b)。加脸。 如果你太懒了,就用你为菠萝创造的面孔。作为最后的感觉,在脸部上方添加一些装饰性的曲线。

Trace the beetroot

步骤3

接下来是樱桃。您可以分别追踪它们,或者追踪其中一个樱桃,然后将其倍增并将其放置在第二个樱桃草图上 为了使事情更加多样化,使一个樱桃微笑,另一个皱眉。颜色粉红色和绿色,就像甜菜根一样。茎使用较暗的绿色阴影。

Trace the cherries

步骤4

第三个跟踪的对象是草莓。首先做头和茎(2),并移动到叶子(3)。添加面部(3)。 身体颜色红色(#f16359),叶绿色(#a6d36b),眼睛深蓝色(#1b142c),嘴巴白色或浅粉红色(4)。

为了给这个水果添加更多的细节,画出大约20个小点,颜色为稍微较浅粉红色的阴影的身体颜色(5)。将其随机排列在草莓的身上(6)。

Trace the strawberry

步骤5

与草莓不同,胡萝卜更容易绘制。只要跟踪身体和叶子,并添加眼睛。记住,你可以使用你已经为其他水果和蔬菜创造的眼睛和嘴巴。 胡萝卜橙(#f17c45)和叶绿色(#71ca7d)。完成跟踪后,不要忘记删除草图。

Trace the carrot

步骤6

苹果是第六个追踪对象。像以前的对象一样,这个也很简单。先跟踪大部分,然后追踪叶和茎。 添加眼睛和嘴巴。颜色苹果红(#f16359)和叶绿色(#a6d36b)。使用稍微较暗的绿色树荫。

Trace the apple

步骤7

柠檬楔由两个更大的形状组成,看起来像半个圆。只跟踪一个,乘以它,并将其缩小以获得第二个。 跟踪细节和眼睛。从我们的调色板中选择黄色(#f1c82e),内部使用一点点淡黄色。

Trace the lemon wedge

步骤8

柠檬只有一个较大的身材和面孔。完成跟踪后,将其颜色变为黄色(#f1c82e)。为了使事情更有趣,这个柠檬有一个皱眉的嘴巴。 要添加更多的细节,画一个微小的淡黄色的泪水,并将其放在一只眼睛之下。在脸上添加小装饰的淡黄色圆点。

Trace the lemon

步骤9

茄子也皱眉,因为我意识到很多人不喜欢它。首先跟踪身体,然后跟踪叶子和茎。 从我们的调色板中选择蓝色(#0092bc),叶绿色(#a6d36b)。脸色深蓝色,就像我们刚创造的其他水果和蔬菜一样。

Trace the eggplant

步骤10

梨是我们创造的第十个对象。就像其余的,它很简单,包括一个身体,一个叶子,一个茎和一个脸。 先跟踪较大的部分,并将其颜色变成绿色(#a6d36b)。跟踪叶子和茎,颜色为较暗的绿色。面部元素的颜色深蓝色(#1b142c)。

Trace the pear

步骤11

番茄是追踪的最后一个对象。一旦完成跟踪的草图,将身体的红色(#f35457)和叶绿色(#71ca7d)分开。镜像番茄。 将副本的身体颜色更改为绿色(#23a15f)。这样我们可以得到两种西红柿,当我们组合图案时,它们会很方便。

Trace the tomatoes

步骤12

我们来跟踪我们已经勾画出的装饰草叶。只需使用钢笔工具(P)并制作曲线。不要严格按照草图; 只是用它作为指导。以不同的绿色色调来装饰叶子。

Trace the herb leaves

步骤13

继续追踪另外两个装饰叶。将它们以不同的绿色色调着色。

Trace the rest of the herb leaves

步骤14

最后,我们来到小装饰的叶子,将完美的细节和对象,以填补空白部分。这些是我们今天追踪的最后一个对象。一旦完成,将它们以不同的绿色色调着色。

Trace the details

5.如何准备模式单元

步骤1

我们将需要创建重复的模式单元。为此,我们需要有一个区域,我们将安排已经跟踪和着色的物体。我们将使用我们创建的画板,并创建出一个大小相同的矩形。

选择矩形工具(M),然后单击工作区域上的任意位置。在对话框中,添加1000像素作为宽度值和500像素作为高度值。矩形颜色深蓝色。 我们将使用这个矩形作为背景,因为我们的对象大多数都是明亮的颜色,如果我们在白色背景上进行组合,可能会混淆。

Create a background

步骤2

开始添加我们之前创建的水果和蔬菜。尝试用最合适的对象先填补角落。我用菠萝,樱桃和柠檬。如果您认为有必要,可以随意调整旋转它们。

Place the objects in the corners of the background

步骤3

移动到下一个水果和蔬菜。在图像的中心,我添加了甜菜根,苹果,茄子和梨。 试着将它们靠近背景的边缘,这样,一旦我们创建了这个单元,重复就会顺利进行。

Place more objects over the background

步骤4

添加最后的水果和蔬菜。我加了胡萝卜,西红柿和草莓。您可以看到插图通过各种形状和颜色如何变得更丰富。

Add the rest of the objects

步骤5

一旦我们完成了第一批对象,我们可以添加装饰叶。将它们放置在对象之间看到空间的地方。

Add the decorative leaves

步骤6

作为图案单元准备的最后一步,我们可以添加一些小细节:微小的叶子和圆圈。在图示的空白处随机散布。 填补深蓝色背景边缘附近的空隙非常重要。当我们平铺模式时,这将导致模式单元之间的良好转换。

Add the details

步骤7

完成深色蓝色背景填充对象后,可以删除它。

Remove the background

6.如何创建模式

步骤1

选择对象并对其进行分组Control-G)。转到窗口>模式选项。将出现图案选项面板。转到选项箭头,然后单击制作图案选项。

Open the Pattern Options panel

步骤2

灰色选项将可用于自定义。命名模式“水果和蔬菜”,并从瓷砖类型菜单中选择按行排列选项。 我们正在做一个砖瓦类型,因为我们的模式是横向的,所以过渡将在水平方向看起来好多了。单击工作区域上的任意位置退出 模式选项模式。

Select the Brick by Row option

步骤3

完成创建图案后,在色板面板中找到它。它会自动出现在那里。通过制作一个形状,在深蓝色的背景上进行测试,然后通过从色板中挑选我们的图案来对其进行着色。看起来很棒,对吧?

Test the pattern

恭喜你,你现在完成了!

做得好!我们创造了一个有趣和多彩复古风格的图案。图案的使用是无限制的 - 您可以将其定制为手机或桌面壁纸,将其用作网页设计的一部分,或者只是打印出来其作为您文具的一部分。

如果您想下载和使用其他的装饰图案,您可以轻松地在GraphicRiver上找到它们。

Mid Century Vegetable and Fruit Pattern Illustrator Tutorial
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Patterns
Design

How to Create a Mid-Century Style Pattern in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

The retro style is back and here to stay! We can feel its presence through handmade fonts, pastels, a limited color palette, and of course, simple shapes. And with spring here and summer on the way, we can put this style to the test by creating a cute, mid-century pattern made out of many fruits and vegetables.

Get inspired with the awesome collection of Decorative Vector Patterns you can easily find on GraphicRiver.

1. How to Create a New Document

After opening Adobe Illustrator, go to File > New (Control-N). In the dialog box, set the Profile to Web and set the Width to 1000 px and the Height to 500 px. This will be the area where we create the pattern unit.

Create a new document

2. How to Create a Sketch

Step 1

Creating a sketch is the easiest way to get a result as close as possible to your idea. Let's do one with many cute and simple fruits and vegetables

Draw 10 or 11 different types of fruits and vegetables, and add simple faces to them consisting of two dots as eyes and one curvy line for a lip. I drew 11 of them: a pineapple, a lemon wedge and a whole lemon, an eggplant, a pear, an apple, a beetroot, a strawberry, a carrot, a tomato, and cherries. Use a very light shade of grey because it will make the tracing process much easier. Lock the sketch (Control-2).

Sketch of 11 types of fruit

Step 2

We would like to create a more complex pattern, so we will throw in some green leaves for decoration purposes, which will be scattered around the objects. Draw four types of herb leaves, starting with a simple one and ending with a more complex one. Also, draw five tiny leaves and objects which we will use to fill the empty spaces in the pattern.

Sketch some leaves

3. How to Create a Color Palette

Before you start working on the illustration, take a moment to define the color palette. I chose five vivid colors (yellow, orange, pink, blue, and green) and one dark blue. The idea is to have the light colors as the main ones and the dark as a background. This way, the illustration will get a certain contrast and will be pleasant to the viewer's eye. Feel free to add any other light and fresh color you would like to have in this illustration.

Create a Color Palette

4. How to Trace a Sketch

Step 1

Once again, we’ll be using the Pen Tool (P) as our main tool to create this illustration. Mid-century style illustrations are forgiving of loose lines, so trace the sketch without any worries that you might mess it up.

Let’s start by tracing the most complex sketch: the pineapple. This might seem more complicated than the rest of the sketched fruits and vegetables, but it requires only the Pen Tool (P) to do it, so it should be no problem. 

Start by tracing the bigger parts of the object, such as the body and the crown (2). Move on to the other part of the crown. Add the two circles as eyes and the curvy shape as a mouth (3). Once you are done with these parts, color it yellow (#f1c82e) and green (#a6d36b)—colors from our color palette. Choose a darker shade of green for the second part of the crown (4). 

When you are done with that, draw six diagonal lines, color them in a slightly lighter shade of yellow, and multiply them. Mirror the multiplied lines and place them over the original lines, in order to create a net formation (5). Place them over the yellow body of the pineapple (6). Don’t forget to Delete the sketch once you are done tracing.

Trace the pineapple

Step 2

The second object to get traced is the beetroot. Start with the bigger shapes—the body and the greens. Color them pink (#f4688b) and green (#a6d36b). Add the face. If you are too lazy to do it, just use the same face you created for the pineapple. And as a final touch, add some decorative curvy lines right above the face.

Trace the beetroot

Step 3

Next in line are the cherries. You can trace them separately, or trace one of the cherries and then multiply it and position it over the second cherry sketch. To make things more diverse, make one of the cherries smiling and the other one frowning. Color them pink and green, just like the beetroot. Use a darker shade of green for the stems.

Trace the cherries

Step 4

The third object to trace is the strawberry. Do the head and the stem first (2), and move on to the leaves (3). Add the face as well (3). Color the body red (#f16359), the leaves green (#a6d36b), the eyes dark blue (#1b142c), and the mouth white or light pink (4). 

To add more details to this fruit, draw approximately 20 tiny dots and color them in a slightly lighter shade of the pink we used for the body (5). Arrange them randomly over the strawberry’s body (6).

Trace the strawberry

Step 5

Unlike the strawberry, the carrot is easier to draw. Just trace the body and the leaves, and add the eyes. Remember, you can just use the eyes and mouth you already have created for the other fruits and vegetables. Color the carrot orange (#f17c45) and the leaves green (#71ca7d). Don’t forget to Delete the sketch once you are done tracing.

Trace the carrot

Step 6

The apple is the sixth object we're tracing. Like the previous objects, this one is simple too. Trace the big part first, and then trace the leaf and stem. Add the eyes and mouth too. Color the apple red (#f16359) and the leaf green (#a6d36b). Use a slightly darker shade of green for the stem.

Trace the apple

Step 7

The lemon wedge consists of two bigger shapes that look like half a circle. Trace only one, multiply it, and scale it down to get the second one. Trace the details and the eyes. Pick the yellow color from our palette (#f1c82e) and use a slightly lighter shade of yellow for the inner part. 

Trace the lemon wedge

Step 8

The lemon consists of only one bigger body shape and its face. Once you are done tracing them, color it yellow (#f1c82e). To make things more interesting, this lemon has a frowning mouth. To add more details, draw a tiny pale yellow tear and place it below one of the eyes. Add small decorative pale yellow dots above the face. 

Trace the lemon

Step 9

The eggplant is also frowning because I realized that many people don’t like it. So trace the body first, and then the leaves and stem. Choose the blue (#0092bc) from our color palette for the body and the green (#a6d36b) for the leaves. The face is in a dark shade of blue, like the rest of the fruits and veggies we just created.

Trace the eggplant

Step 10

The pear is the tenth object we are creating. Just like the rest, it’s quite simple, consisting of a body, a leaf, a stem, and a face. Trace the bigger part first and color it green (#a6d36b). Trace the leaf and the stem and color them in slightly darker shades of green. Color the facial elements dark blue (#1b142c).

Trace the pear

Step 11

The tomato is the last object to trace. Once you are done tracing the sketch, color the body red (#f35457) and the leaves green (#71ca7d). Multiply the tomato and mirror it. Change the body color of the copy to green (#23a15f). This way we get two kinds of tomatoes, which will be handy when we compose the pattern.

Trace the tomatoes

Step 12

Let's trace the decorative herb leaves we have already sketched. Just use the Pen Tool (P) and make curvy lines. Do not follow the sketch strictly; just use it as a guide. Color the leaves in different shades of green.

Trace the herb leaves

Step 13

Continue tracing the other two decorative leaves. Color them in different shades of green.

Trace the rest of the herb leaves

Step 14

And at last, we come to the small decorative leaves which will make perfect details and objects to fill the empty parts of the pattern. These are the last objects we are tracing today. Once you are done, color them in different shades of green.

Trace the details

5. How to Prepare the Pattern Unit

Step 1

We will need to create the pattern unit which will repeat. For this purpose, we need to have an area where we’ll arrange the already traced and colored objects. We will use the artboard we created, and we’ll create a rectangle in the same size. 

Select the Rectangle Tool (M) and click anywhere on the working area. In the dialogue box, add 1000 pixels as a Width value and 500 pixels as a Height value. Color the rectangle dark blue. We will use this rectangle as a background because most of our objects are colored in bright colors, and it might be confusing if we do the composition on a white background.

Create a background

Step 2

Start adding the fruits and vegetables we created earlier. Try to fill the corners first with the most suitable objects. I used the pineapple, the cherries, and the lemons. Feel free to Resize and Rotate them if you think it’s necessary.

Place the objects in the corners of the background

Step 3

Move on to the next fruits and veggies. In the center of the image, I added the beetroot, the apple, the eggplant, and the pear. Try positioning them close to the edges of the background so that, once we create the unit, the repetition will go smoothly.

Place more objects over the background

Step 4

Add the last of the fruits and veggies. I added the carrot, the tomatoes, and the strawberry. You can see how the illustration gets richer with various shapes and colors.

Add the rest of the objects

Step 5

Once we are done with the first batch of objects, we can add the decorative leaves. Position them in places where you see empty spaces between objects.

Add the decorative leaves

Step 6

And as a last step of the pattern unit preparation, we can add the small details: the tiny leaves and circles. Scatter them randomly over the empty spaces of the illustration. It is very important to fill the gaps near the edges of the dark blue background. This will result in a nice transition between pattern units when we tile the pattern.

Add the details

Step 7

Once you are done filling the dark blue background with objects, you can Delete it. 

Remove the background

6. How to Create the Pattern

Step 1

Select the objects and Group them (Control-G). Go to Window > Pattern Options. The Pattern Options panel will appear. Go to the options arrow and click the Make Pattern option.

Open the Pattern Options panel

Step 2

The grey options will become available for customization. Name the pattern "Fruits and Veggies" and select the Brick by Row option from the Tile Type menu. We are doing a Brick by Row tile type because our pattern is landscape oriented so the transition will look much better in a horizontal direction. Click anywhere on the working area to exit Pattern Options mode.

Select the Brick by Row option

Step 3

Once you are done creating the pattern, find it in the Swatches panel. It will automatically appear there. Test it over a dark blue background by making a shape, and color it by picking our pattern from the swatches. Looks amazing, right?

Test the pattern

Congrats, You're Now Done!

Great job! We created a fun and colorful retro-styled pattern. The use of patterns is unlimited—you can customize them as phone or desktop wallpaper, use them as a part of web design, or just print them out as a part of your stationery.

In case you want to download and use other decorative patterns, you can easily find them on GraphicRiver.

Mid Century Vegetable and Fruit Pattern Illustrator Tutorial
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.