Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Burns Night

Как создать инфографику о хаггисе в Adobe Photoshop

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Infographic Templates.
How to Create Infographics With Connector Tools in CorelDRAW

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Т.к. подходит 25 января, годовщина со дня рождения Роберта Бернса, я думаю, что мир должен узнать о редком и достаточно вкусном блюде под названием хаггис (Haggis Haggis на латинском).

Вот фотография сырого, ощипанного хаггиса, готового к приготовлению к праздничному ужину. 

Photodune Scottish Raw Haggis

Что вам понадобится

Ниже перечислено то, что было использовано при создании этого руководства. 

Стоковые фото с Photodune:

Ссылки:

Шрифт:

1. Настройка документа

Для этой иллюстрации мы настроим документ для печати. Нам нужен размер печати А3, поэтому в диалоговом окне Нового документа (Файл > Новый или Control-N) мы устанавливаем: 

  • Ширину 297 мм 
  • Высоту 420 мм 
  • Разрешение 350 точек на дюйм (стандартные точки на дюйм для печати)

Цветовой режим установлен на CMYK, т.к. мы будем печатать этот документ. Однако, если ваша работа не будет распечатываться, установите Цветовой режим RGB. Обратите внимание, что для этого рисунка я установила разрешение 350 точек на дюйм,  т.к. я могу захотеть распечатать элементы на бумаге большего размера. Всегда лучше работать на большом масштабе, т.к. рисунок проще изменить с большого масштаба на маленький, чем наоборот. 

Artwork dimensions

2. Краткая информация о рисунке

Немного об истории хаггиса. 

«Неуловимое и умное, это земляное сумчатое млекопитающее никогда не удавалось приручить. Они откладывают яйца в норы в горах один раз в три года, и если самкам не удаётся найти самца, известно, что они могут высиживать шарики для гольфа.  Размер хаггисов где-то между окультуренным котом и морской свинкой.    

Есть два вида хаггисов: левши и правши. Это касается лап хаггиса, которые короче на одной стороне.  Это отличное преимущество при перемещении по холмам, т.к. их тело остаётся вертикальным (хаггисы очень склонны к укачиванию). Левши передвигаются по холмам против часовой стрелки, а правши – по часовой стрелке.  Хотя теоретически возможно смешение левшей с правшами, это физически невозможно из-за ног. Это ещё одна причина, почему приручение хаггисов было признано невероятно сложным. 

У Haggis Haggis есть общий предок с современным утконосом Ornithorhynchus anatinus.

Photodune Platypus

Приблизительно 110 миллионов лет назад предки хаггисов и утконосов – стероподоны гальмани (также известные у палеонтологов как хаггипус) населяли центральную Пангею. Эти существа жили вместе с крокодилами, динозаврами и ранними пернатыми.  Предполагается, что были некоторые мутации в потомстве предков, что привело к тому, что ранние хаггисы потеряли навык плавания и отрастили среднего размера плотную шубку, как у морских свинок. 

Photodune Guinea Pig

Они мигрировали в северное полушарие, в то время как утконосы остались в Австралии, т.к. Пангея раскололась. 

Хаггипусы были чрезвычайно вздорными существами, но эта черта была утеряна в современных хаггисах, которым нравится, когда люди их чешут за ухом, и которые для забавы покусывают за ноги охотников, прячущихся в болотах. Из-за их дружелюбности хаггисов относительно просто поймать.  Ода хаггису впервые началась, когда охотники за этими животными почувствовали себя ужасно из-за поимки и убийств «маленьких, боязливых зверьков», которые были насколько дружелюбными, настолько и вкусными.   

У хаггисов есть несколько естественных врагов, но они также страдают от москитов, которые доводят их до безумия в августе. В долине озера Лох-Несс фактически невозможно найти какие-либо следы хаггисов, т.к. есть поверие, что Лох-Несское чудовище (Несси) утащило пушистых созданий, когда они подошли к озеру попить воды.

Хаггисы любят болотные почки и чернику, и если они живут возле ферм или мелких хозяйств, то известно, что они обгрызают брюкву и картошку. У хаггисов есть клюв, как у  зебровой амадины, для перекусывания толстых болотных ветвей. 

Photodune Zebra Finch

Чтобы отдать дань хаггисам, на ужине Бернса подают еду, которую хаггисы любят сами (по крайней мере, ту, которую люди могут есть – брюкву и картошку). Ко вкусу хаггиса нужно привыкнуть, и он подчёркивается стопкой виски. 

На протяжении веков шкуру хаггисов использовали для создания гобеленов, и иногда нитки используются в шотландских пледах.  Фиолетовая шерсть – самая ценная. Ношение кожаной сумки с мехом наружу символизирует великую жертву, которую принесло это позднеянварское угощение».  

Нам нужно оформить всю эту потрясающую информацию в простую для восприятия графику, поэтому выделим некоторые ключевые моменты: 

  • Предок: стероподон гальмани (хаггипус) 
  • Внешний вид и анатомия: ноги на одной стороне короче, чем на другой, густая, фиолетово-зелёная шерсть, короткий, высокий клюв как у зебровой амадины для поедания черники и вереска
  • Враги: москиты и Несси
  • Относительный размер: между кошкой и морской свинкой 
  • Яд: шотландское печенье
  • Еда: черника, вереск, брюква и картошка

У нас есть вся информация для начала планирования нашей инфографики! Т.к. в этом руководстве рассказывается об инфографике, я не буду слишком вдаваться в процесс иллюстрации. Дальше идёт интересная часть – отрисовка элементов! 

3. Отрисовка элементов

Для этого руководства я буду использовать базовую Твёрдую кисть Photoshop с чувствительностью к давлению. Панель Кисти можно быстро открыть, нажав F5 на клавиатуре.  

Шаг 1: Семейное древо

На Новом слое (Control-Shift-N) нарисуйте двух членов фамильного древа – стероподона гальмани (хаггипуса) и утконоса. Пусть все элементы будут на разных слоях, т.к. их будет проще передвигать. ч  Если вы случайно нарисовали их на одном слое, что иногда случается, вы можете применить Лассо (L) к нужной области. Затем Вырезать (С), создать Новый слой (Control-Shift-N) и нажать Control-Shift-V, чтобы вставить объект на нужное место. 

Platypus and steropodon galmani

Шаг 2: Внешний вид и анатомия

Нам нужно каким-то образом показать внешний вид и анатомию. Вместо сложного рисунка хаггиса-левши и правши на склоне, мы можем упростить форму, т.к. нам нужно показать только ноги.  Эта простая иллюстрация показывает, как хаггис передвигается по крутым склонам при помощи их удивительных адаптированных ног. Эти парни – патрульные полицейские королевства Хаггисов! 

Leg graphic

Шаг 3: Хищники

Большинство существ в дикой природе – хищники, поэтому нам нужно показать врагов хаггисов – неизвестных шотландских москитов и, конечно же, Несси!  Это чисто художественное изображение Несси, т.к. никто не знает, как она выглядит на самом деле (она изворотливая!). Шотландские москиты очень похожи на обычных москитов или других маленьких жалящих мух.  Имейте в виду, что они не соответствуют масштабам Несси на иллюстрации. Москиты больше похожи на летающие точки, поэтому нарисуем их так. Помните о том, чтобы рисовать объекты на разных слоях! 

Haggis Predators

Шаг 4: Относительный размер

Насколько хаггисы большие? Лучше предложить читателю представить размер хаггисов, сравнив их с более известными животными.  В данном случае я взяла домашнюю кошку и морскую свинку, т.к. шотландские исследователи, которые были в Андах, подумали, что они были хаггисами. Но это не так, т.к. морские свинки лучше приручаются. 

Как потомок Великого охотника на хаггисов, я знаю, что хаггисы по размерам не больше домашней кошки.  В целях демонстрации у нас есть кошка, морская свинка и фигура, символизирующая хаггиса. Я ещё не решила, какую форму придам своему зверьку! 

Haggis size comparison

Шаг 5: Яд

Шотландское печенье ядовито для хаггисов, т.к. сочетание муки и масла, а также рассыпчатая структура еды, вызывают ужасный метеоризм. Хаггисы не могут выпускать газы и разрываются.  

Шотландское печение бывает разных размеров, поэтому я решила упростить его, нарисовав одну палочку и всемирно узнаваемый символ яда – череп со скрещёнными костями. Убедитесь в том, что зритель сможет понять, что изображено на вашей инфографике. 

Haggis Poison

Шаг 6: Еда

Хаггисы любят чернику, но её сезон короткий, а хаггисы прожорливы. Основную часть их диеты составляет вереск, и при возможности хаггисы с удовольствием пируют брюквой и картошкой.  Немного скучно изображать отдельные элементы еды в линию или так, как показано ниже, поэтому на графике я распределю еду по кучкам, которые понравятся любому хаггису!

Haggis food

4. Размещаем элементы для инфографики

Теперь, когда у нас есть основные элементы, мы можем собрать их в инфографику. Т.к. все элементы собраны у нас в одном документе, легко выбрать нужные слои, и при помощи Инструмента «Перемещение» разместить элементы.  Элементы можно преобразовать, нажав на Control-T для Трансформирования либо перейдя в Изображение > Вращение изображения и использовав параметры.  

К счастью для меня, я имела возможность изучить хаггиса в дикой природе и у меня есть несколько готовых зарисовок. 

Haggis Rough Layout A

В моей первой композиции отсутствует некоторая ключевая информация относительно типов лап хаггисов. Хищников также нужно было выделить, поэтому я их увеличила в основании плаката.  Т.к. каждый элемент находится на отдельном слое, их легко переместить Инструментом «Перемещение» (V) и изменить размер, нажав Control-Т для Трансформирования.

Haggis Rough Layout B

5. Цветовая палитра

Когда речь идёт об инфографике, нужно ограничить выбор цветов. Здесь я выбрала фиолетовый, зелёный и оранжевый. Чтобы иллюстрация не выглядела плоской, я добавила несколько вариаций. 

Фиолетовый: вересковые цветы, шерсть хаггиса, черника, картошка, горы, брюква 

Зелёный: листва, Несси, клюв хаггиса

Оранжевый: печенье, кошка, морская свинка, шерсть на щеках хаггиса 

Haggis Basic Palette

Haggis Colour Scheme

Вот сейчас будет интересная часть: раскрашивание элементов! 

6. Раскрашиваем еду

Шаг 1

На отдельных слоях нанесите цвета еды. Быстро создайте Новый слой, нажав Control-Shift-N.

Food colours - flats

Шаг 2

Взяв светло-фиолетовый на палитре, раскрасьте светлые области на картошке. Затем, в цветовой палитре Photoshop добавьте немного больше белого к светло-фиолетовому и раскрасьте основу брюквы.  Для вершков брюквы возьмите самый тёмный фиолетовый в палитре. Добавьте светлые области на листьях и корешке брюкв. Пусть детали будут простыми, чтобы зритель не отвлекался.  

Turnip base

Шаг 3

На слое с черникой нанесите светло-синий, чтобы ягоды выглядели круглыми. 

Blueberry paint

Шаг 4

В палитре Photoshop выберите синий и белый для блика, а затем нанесите их. 

Blueberry Highlight

Шаг 5

На Новом слое (Control-Shift-N) поверх вересковых стеблей вручную нанесите цветы, настроив кисть на 60% плавности и непрозрачности. Изменение в давлении создаст различие в фиолетовых оттенках для придания реализма.  

Heather flowers

Шаг 6

Продолжайте проставлять цветы над стеблями. Это требует времени, но мне кажется, что таким образом создаётся более приятный эффект, чем использование дискретной кисти –плюс к тому, у вас есть больше контроля. 

Additional Heather Flowers

Шаг 7

На Новом слое (Control-Shift-N), за вересковыми цветами, продолжайте проставление точек самым тёмным зелёным для создания листьев.  

Heather leaves

Шаг 8

Чтобы вереск выглядел более пышным, Скопируйте (С) и Вставьте (V) слой с цветами. Затем, нажав Control-T для трансформирования снизьте масштаб цветов приблизительно на 33%. 

 Scale flowers

Шаг 9

Снизьте непрозрачность слоя с уменьшенными цветами, сдвинув Непрозрачность слоя на панели Слоёв до 50%. 

Extra heather flowers scaled down and lowered in opacity

Вот наш законченный элемент с едой хаггиса.

Complete Haggis Food Illustration

7. Раскрашиваем морскую свинку и кошку

Шаг 1

Возьмите светло-оранжевый и раскрасьте базовые фигуры животных. Оранжевый будет хорошо контрастировать с фиолетовым хаггисом, который будет между ними. 

Guinea Pig and Cat Base Flats

Шаг 2

Добавьте тень и более тёмные области с тёмно-оранжевым. 

Cat and guinea pig colour roughs

Шаг 3

Создайте коричневый/оранжевый на цветовой палитре Photoshop и быстро нарисуйте несколько определяющих линий для полосок, лап и лица. Пусть линии будут свободными! У нас готова иллюстрация кошки! 

Finished cat illustration

Шаг 4

Нанесите несколько отметин на морской свинке и тени под ухом. 

Guinea pig colour patches

Шаг 5

Взяв такой же коричневый цвет для кота, нарисуйте лапы, край ушей, глаз, рот и несколько пятен. 

Guinea Pig Brown Details

Шаг 6

При помощи инструмента «Размазывание» смягчите края зверька. Этот инструмент можно найти на панели инструментов – он выглядит как палец.  

Guinea Pig Fluffy Edge

Шаг 7

Нарисуйте несколько случайных пучков шерсти и вибриссы. У нас готова иллюстрация морской свинки! 

Finished detailed Guinea Pig Illustration
Cat and Guinea Pig Illustrations side by side

8. Раскрашиваем членов семейного древа

Шаг 1

Наносим базовые цвета. 

Family flats

Шаг 2

Нанесите более светлые цвета. Хаггипус немного похож на рептилию – неужели я спутала его цвет?  Я заглянула в свою пыльную, замусоленную копию Альманаха охотника за хаггисами, и в ней говорится, что хаггипусы были преимущественно фиолетовыми с более светлой нижней половиной и оранжевыми щеками. К счастью, в Photoshop это быстро исправить.
Green Haggipus

Шаг 3

Чтобы быстро изменить цвет хаггипуса, я создаю Новый слой (Control-Shift-N), который я устанавливаю на Цвет. Кликаю правой кнопкой мыши на этом слое и устанавливаю его на Обтравочную маску. Затем я наношу тёмно-фиолетовый цвет на всего хаггипуса.  Далее я объединяю слой Цвета с зелёной основой и начинаю раскрашивать шерсть светлым и тёмным фиолетовым цветом. На утконосе я обозначаю шерсть, растушевав более светлые и тёмные детали с ногами и хвостом.  

Completed Haggipus and Platypus

9. Раскрашиваем Несси и москитов

Шаг 1

Нанесите базовые цвета.

Nessie Flats

Шаг 2

Нанесите светлые области и начните растушёвывать их точечными движениями при помощи кисти, нажимая Alt для выбора цвета. 

Nessie base tones

Шаг 3

Продолжайте растушёвывать зелёный цвет по всему рисунку и добавлять ярко-зелёный цвет. На спинных плавниках нарисуйте центральную линию тёмно-зелёным цветом и добавьте несколько точек для обозначения текстуры.  

Nessie Scale Detail

Шаг 4

Возьмите синий и добавьте волны для придания иллюзии, что Несси находится в воде. Возьмите почти чёрный цвет и нарисуйте выражение лица. 

Nessie waves

Шаг 5

Добавьте светло-фиолетовый блик на москитах и нарисуйте крылья и лапки чёрным цветом. Хищники готовы! 

Midgie Detail

10. Раскрашиваем хаггиса

Шаг 1

Нанесите базовые цвета. У хаггисов тёмно-фиолетовые лапы (чтобы спрятать грязь), светло-фиолетовое тело, зелёный нос, оранжевые щёки и фиолетовое перо для спаривания, которое называется «дамским пером», если это самец. Оно привлекает самок! 

Haggis Flats

Шаг 2

Используйте тёмно-фиолетовый, чтобы нарисовать тени под подбородком, вокруг лап и живота. Смешайте очень бледный фиолетовый, чтобы нанести немного густой шерсти там, где падает свет.  Выделите щёки, сделав оранжевый цвет ярче при помощи жёлтого, и нанесите его также на «дамское перо». 

Вот наш зверёк. Он милый, правда?

Haggis Rendered

11. Иллюстрация гор

Вот простая иллюстрация, чтобы показать, как левши и правши передвигаются по склонам. Растушуйте фиолетовые оттенки на горе похожим образом и выделите снежный пик.  Кругляши-хаггисы – всего лишь простая иллюстрация тёмно-синего цвета. Они нужны только для того, чтобы показать их ноги (хаха), поэтому им не нужно много деталей! 

Haggis Mountain

12. Заголовки и аннотация

Я решила сделать заголовок достаточно простым. При помощи Инструмента «Горизонтальный текст» (Т) я выбрала шрифт Futura Handwritten тёмно-фиолетового цвета, и затем напечатала «Хаггис: простое руководство».  

Шаг 1

Чтобы централизировать текст Инструментом «Горизонтальный текст» (Т), кликните на центральном тексте на панели инструментов и измените «Хаггис:» на 98 точек.  Затем нажмите Enter, чтобы сдвинуть «Простое руководство» на следующую линию. Затем выделите эти слова Инструментом «Горизонтальный текст» (Т) и измените размер на 50 точек.  В данном случае горизонтальное Расстояние между словами установлено на 70 точек. В зависимости от шрифта и вкуса, можно внести поправки, изменив размер точек.  

Text Sample

Шаг 2

Повторите этот процесс для латинских названий, фактов и ярлыков. Сделайте заголовки большими и тёмно-синими для привлечения внимания. 

Illustration Labelling

Шаг 3

Иллюстрации гор нужна аннотация, поэтому я нарисовала несколько закруглённых стрелок, чтобы показать направление движения. 

Direction of Movement

13. Финальные штрихи

Шаг 1

Для улучшения композиции я передвинула элементы, чтобы они не стояли слишком близко друг к другу. Я сгруппировала элементы (текст и иллюстрации) в отдельные папки, чтобы их можно было легко двигать по холсту Инструментом «Перемещение» (V).

Haggis Guide - No Arrows

Шаг 2

Чтобы создать фокус на рисунке, я добавила оранжевые стрелки, чтобы связать текст с иллюстрациями или привлечь внимание к определённым зонам. 

Haggis Guide - Arrows

Шаг 3

Дважды кликните на слое со стрелками, чтобы появились Стили слоя. 

В Стилях слоя я установила Падающую тень на Умножение с синим цветом тени. Таким образом, стрелки будут выделять на белом фоне. 

Если хотите использовать такие же настройки на другом слое, кликните правой кнопкой на слое со Стилями слоя и выберите «Копировать стиль слоя». Затем на нужном слое снова кликните правой кнопкой и выберите «Вставить стиль слоя».  Если, например, стрелки расположены на разных слоях, вам не нужно будет запоминать все параметры и вручную вводить их на каждом слое.

Drop Shadow Layer Style

Готовая инфографика!

Completed Haggis Infographic

Вы заметите, что на финальной версии я не изобразила шерсть и типы тела для того, чтобы разделить инфографику.  Самое важное то, что на одном листе не слишком много информации. Хороший микс – это приблизительно 2/3 иллюстрации и 1/3 текста. 

Заключение

Надеюсь, вам понравилось это руководство по созданию инфографики о хаггисе, и вы узнали для себя что-то новое! В следующий раз вы с аппетитом съедите ужин Бернса! Sláinte!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Burns Night
Design

How to Create a Haggis Infographic in Adobe Photoshop

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

As Burns Night draws in, I feel that the world needs to be educated about the rare and quite delicious creature that is the Haggis (Haggis Haggis in Latin).

Here is a photograph of a raw, plucked Haggis ready to be cooked for the Burns Supper.

Photodune Scottish Raw Haggis

Tutorial Assets

The following assets were used in the creation of this tutorial.

Stock photos from Photodune:

References:

Font:

1. Document Setup

For this illustration we will be setting up the artwork for print. We want to have an A3 size print, so in the New Document Dialogue (File > New or Control-N) we set: 

  • Width to 297 mm 
  • Height to 420 mm 
  • Resolution to 350 dpi (the standard Dots Per Inch for print) 

The Color Mode is set to CMYK as we will be printing this document. However, if your artwork is not for print then set the Color Mode to RGB.  Note that for this piece I have set the resolution to 350 dpi. This is because I may like to use the elements on a slightly larger print. It's always beneficial to work slightly larger than you require, as artwork scales better going from large to small than from small to large. 

Artwork dimensions

2. Artwork Brief

Here's a little history about the Haggis.

"Elusive and intelligent, this ground-dwelling marsupial has never been successfully bred in captivity. They lay eggs in burrows in the mountains once every three years, and occasionally if the females are unable to find a mate it has been known for them to try and hatch golf balls on the fairways. The Haggis is sized somewhere between a domesticated cat and a guinea pig.

There are two varieties of Haggis: Lefties and Righties. This refers to the Haggis's legs, which are shorter on one side than the other. This is of great benefit when navigating round hills, as it keeps their body upright (Haggis are very susceptible to motion sickness). Lefties navigate hills anti-clockwise, while Righties navigate clockwise. Although it's theoretically possible for Lefties and Righties to interbreed, it is physically impossible due to the leg situation. This is another reason why domestication of the haggis has proved incredibly difficult. 

Haggis Haggis shares a common ancestor with the modern day Platypus Ornithorhynchus anatinus.

Photodune Platypus

Approximately 110 million years ago, the Haggis and Platypus's ancestor the Steropodon Galmani (also known colloquially to Palaeontologists as the Haggipus) roamed central Pangea. This creature lived alongside crocodiles, dinosaurs and early avians. It is thought that there were some mutations in the offspring of the ancestor that meant early Haggis lost the ability to swim, and grew medium but dense coats much like a guinea pig. 

Photodune Guinea Pig

They found themselves migrating to the Northern Hemisphere, while Platypus found themselves isolated in Australia as Pangea broke apart. 

The Haggipus was an extremely cranky creature, a trait which has been lost in modern Haggis, who actually enjoy a good ear scratch from humans and have been known to "boop" the legs of hunters hiding in the heather for larger game. It is mostly this friendliness that has made the Haggis reasonably easy to catch and ultimately has led to numbers dropping in the wild. The Address to the Haggis first began as Haggis hunters felt terrible about catching and killing the "wee timorous beastie", which was so friendly yet so very, very delicious. 

Haggis have few natural enemies, but they are plagued by "midgies", also known as mosquitoes, which drive them mental in August. In the glen of Loch Ness it is virtually impossible to find any evidence of Haggis, as it is believed that the Lock Ness Monster (Nessie) picked off the furry creatures as they came to the water's edge for a drink. 

Haggis love heather buds and blaeberries (blueberries), and if they live near farms or crofts they have been known to nibble on neeps (turnips) and tatties (potatoes). Haggis have a beak much like a zebra finch to crop the occasional thick heather branches.

Photodune Zebra Finch

As a tribute to the Haggis, the Burns Supper serves some of the food that Haggis enjoy themselves (well, the ones humans can eat—neeps and tatties). The flavour of Haggis is an acquired taste, which is emphasised by a "wee dram"—a measure of whisky. 

The pelt of the Haggis has been used for centuries to make yarn for the creation of tapestries, and occasionally the threads make their way into some tartans. Notably the purple fur is the most prized. The wearing of the sporran symbolised the great sacrifice this late January treat has made."

We need to make all this wonderful information into an easy-to-view graphic, so we will pick out some key features:

  • Ancestor: Steropodon Galmani (Haggipus)
  • Appearance and Anatomy: legs on one side shorter than the other, dense purple and green fur, short but high beak for eating blueberries and heather like a zebra finch
  • Enemies: midgies and Nessie
  • Relative Size: between cat and guinea pig 
  • Poison: shortbread
  • Food: blueberries, heather, neeps and tatties

We have all the information we need to start planning out our infographic! As this tutorial is about infographics, I won't be going too in-depth into my illustration process. Next comes the fun part, roughing out the elements! 

3. Rough Out the Elements

For this tutorial I will be using the basic Photoshop Hard Brush with pressure sensitivity. The Brush panel can be quickly accessed by pressing F5 on your keyboard.

Step 1: Family Tree

On a New Layer (Control-Shift-N), sketch out the two members of the family tree—Steropodon Galmani (Haggipus) and the Platypus. Keep each element on a separate layer, as it will make moving them around easier. If you accidentally draw them on the same layer, which can happen, you can Lasso (L) the desired area. Then Cut (C), create a New Layer (Control-Shift-N), and press Control-Shift-V to paste it into the same place. 

Platypus and steropodon galmani

Step 2: Appearance and Anatomy

We need a way to show appearance and anatomy. Rather than create a complex painting of Leftie and Rightie Haggis on a hill, we can simplify the form, as all we really want to show are the legs. Without too much fuss, this simple illustration shows how the Haggis navigate the steep slopes with their amazing leg adaptation. These guys are the stick men of the Haggis kingdom!

Leg graphic

Step 3: Predators

Most creatures in the wild are preyed upon, so we need to show the Haggis's enemies—the infamous Scottish Midgies, and Nessie of course! This is purely an artist's representation of Nessie, as no one actually know what she really looks like (she's sneaky!). Midgies are very similar to mosquitoes or other small biting flies across the world. Note that they are not to scale with Nessie in this illustration. Midgies are pretty much just flying dots, so let's draw them like that. Remember to keep Nessie and the Midgies on different layers!

Haggis Predators

Step 4: Relative Size

How big is a Haggis? This is useful to allow the reader to imagine how big the Haggis is by comparing the creature to more well-known animals. In this case I have chosen a domestic cat and a guinea pig, as Scottish explorers who visited the Andes thought that they were Haggis. They're not—guinea pigs make better pets. 

As a descendant of a Great Haggis Trapper, I know that Haggis are rarely larger than a domestic cat. For the sake of demonstration, here we have a cat, a guinea pig, and a shape to symbolise the Haggis. I haven't decided what pose I want our beastie in yet! 

Haggis size comparison

Step 5: Poison

Shortbread is poisonous to Haggis as the combination of flour and butter, not to mention the crumbly nature of the foodstuff, can give the Haggis terrible wind. Haggis are unable to fart, so too much consumption causes them to explode. 

Shortbread can come in a variety of shapes, so I decided to keep it simple with a simple finger of shortbread and an internationally recognised symbol for poison—the skull and crossbones. Make sure your viewer can relate to what you put in your infographic. 

Haggis Poison

Step 6: Food

Haggis love blueberries but their season is short and Haggis are greedy. Most of their diet consists of heather, and if they can they'll happily feast on neeps (turnips) and tatties (potatoes). It's a bit dull having the individual food elements in a line or set out as below, so in the graphic I shall arrange the foodstuffs into a pleasing array fit for any starving Haggis!

Haggis food

4. Rearrange Elements for the Infographic

Now that we have our main elements, we can arrange them in our infographic. As we have all these pieces in the same document, it's easy to select the layers you want, and while the Move Tool is selected you can rearrange pieces easily. Elements can be transformed by pressing Control-T to Transform or by going to Image > Image Rotation and using the presets there.

Luckily for me I have had the opportunity to study Haggis in the wild and I had some sketches readily available that I could drop into the document.

Haggis Rough Layout A

In my first layout it missed some key information regarding the leg types of the haggis. The predators also needed greater prominence, so I made them larger at the base of the poster. As each piece is on its own layer, they are easy to move around by using the Move Tool (V), and can be scaled by pressing Control-T to Transform.

Haggis Rough Layout B

5. Colour Palette

When it comes to infographics, you want to keep your colour choices limited. Here I am sticking to purple, green, and orange. To keep the illustrations from being flat, I add in some variations.

Purple: heather flowers, Haggis fur, blueberries, potatoes, mountains, turnips

Green: foliage, Nessie, Haggis beak

Orange: shortbread, cat, guinea pig, Haggis cheek fur

Haggis Basic Palette

Haggis Colour Scheme

Now here comes the really fun part: painting the elements!

6. Painting the Food

Step 1

On individual layers, paint in the flat colours of the foodstuffs. Quickly create a New Layer by pressing Control-Shift-N.

Food colours - flats

Step 2

Using the lighter purple from the palette, paint in highlights to the potatoes. Next, in Photoshop's colour palette, add some more white to the light purple and paint in the base of the turnips. For the tops of the turnips, use the darkest purple in the palette. Add highlights to the leaves and stalk of the turnips. Keep the details simple so the viewer isn't distracted.

Turnip base

Step 3

On the blueberries layer, paint over the lighter blue to make the berries look round.

Blueberry paint

Step 4

In Photoshop's colour picker, select a blue with more white for a highlight, and then paint this over.

Blueberry Highlight

Step 5

On a New Layer (Control-Shift-N) above the heather stalks, with the brush set to 60% flow and opacity, manually dot in the heather flowers. The pressure change will create a variety in the purples for realism.

Heather flowers

Step 6

Continue dotting flowers over the stalks. This is time-consuming, but I find it creates a nicer effect than creating a scatter brush—plus you have more control.

Additional Heather Flowers

Step 7

On a New Layer (Control-Shift-N) behind the heather flowers, continue the dotting process with the darkest green for some leaves.

Heather leaves

Step 8

To make the heather look more lush, Copy (C) and Paste (V) the flowers layer. Then, pressing Control-T to transform, scale the flowers down approximately 33%.

 Scale flowers

Step 9

Reduce the opacity of the scaled flowers layer by sliding the Layer Opacity in the Layers panel to approximately 50%.

Extra heather flowers scaled down and lowered in opacity

Here we have our finished Haggis Food Element.

Complete Haggis Food Illustration

7. Painting the Guinea Pig and the Cat

Step 1

Take the lighter orange and paint in the base shapes of the animals as before. The orange will contrast nicely with the purple Haggis that will be between them.

Guinea Pig and Cat Base Flats

Step 2

Add in shadow and darker areas with the dark orange.

Cat and guinea pig colour roughs

Step 3

Create a brown/orange in the Photoshop colour palette and quickly draw over some defining lines for stripes, paws and face. Remember to keep it loose! Here we have our finished cat illustration!

Finished cat illustration

Step 4

Rough in some markings for the guinea pig and shadows under its ear.

Guinea pig colour patches

Step 5

Taking the same brown from the cat, draw in the feet, ear edge, eye, mouth, and some spots.

Guinea Pig Brown Details

Step 6

Use the Smudge tool to soften the edge of the creature. This tool can be found in the toolbar and it looks like a pointed finger.

Guinea Pig Fluffy Edge

Step 7

Draw in some random stray furs and whiskers. Here we have our finished guinea pig illustration!

Finished detailed Guinea Pig Illustration
Cat and Guinea Pig Illustrations side by side

8. Painting the Members of the Family Tree

Step 1

Paint in the base flat colours as before.

Family flats

Step 2

Rough in the lighter colours. Looking at the Haggipus I think it looks a bit reptilian; am I misremembering its colour? Concerned by this, I check my dusty, well-thumbed copy of The Haggis Trapper's Almanac and lo it states that the Haggipus was primarily purple, with a lighter lower half and orange cheeks. Luckily in Photoshop this is a quick fix.
Green Haggipus

Step 3

To quickly change the colour of the Haggipus, I create a New Layer (Control-Shift-N) which I set to Color. I right-click on this layer and set it to Clipping Mask. I then paint over the entire Haggipus with a dark purple. Next I merge the Color layer with the green base and begin painting in the fur using light and dark purples. On the platypus I rough in some fur, blending in the lighter and darker areas with some detail to the feet and tail.

Completed Haggipus and Platypus

9. Painting Nessie and Midgies

Step 1

Paint in the base colours.

Nessie Flats

Step 2

Rough in the highlights on the body and begin to blend with a stippling motion with the brush by pressing Alt to colour pick as you paint.

Nessie base tones

Step 3

Continue blending the green all over the piece and add in some of the bright green. On the back fins draw in a centre line with the dark green, and add a few dots to imply texture.

Nessie Scale Detail

Step 4

Take the blue and add in some waves to give the illusion that Nessie is in the water. Take an almost black and draw in a facial expression.

Nessie waves

Step 5

Add a light purple highlight to the midgies and draw in doodled wings and legs with the black. Here we have our finished Predators!

Midgie Detail

10. Painting the Haggis

Step 1

Rough in the base colours. The Haggis has dark purple feet (to hide dirt), a light purple body, a green bill, orange cheek patches, and a purple mating feather called the "Lady Feather" if the creature happens to be male. This attracts the ladies!

Haggis Flats

Step 2

Use the darker purple to paint in shadows under the chin and around the legs and belly. Mix a very pale purple to imply some dense fur, and paint this where the light would naturally catch. Emphasise the cheeks by brightening the orange with yellow, and reflect this on the "Lady Feather".

That's our beastie, isn't he handsome?

Haggis Rendered

11. Mountain Illustration

Here's our simple illustration to show how the Lefties and Righties navigate the slopes. Blend in purples to the mountain in a similar way to Nessie's scales, and highlight the snow-capped peak. The Stick Haggis are just simple representations in the dark blue. Their purpose is just to show their legs (haha) so there's no need for lots of detail!

Haggis Mountain

12. Headings and Annotation

I decided to keep the heading quite simple. Using the Horizontal Type Tool (T) I selected the font Futura Handwritten in a dark purple, and then typed "The Haggis: A Simple Guide".

Step 1

To get the text centralised with the Horizontal Type Tool (T) selected, click on center text in the toolbar and change "The Haggis:" to 98 pt. Then press Enter to move "A Simple Guide" onto the next line. Next, highlight these words with the Horizontal Type Tool (T) and change the size to 50 pt. In this case the Leading (space between the words horizontally) is spaced to 70 pt. Depending on fonts and taste, this can be amended by changing the point size.

Text Sample

Step 2

Repeat this process for the Latin names, facts, and labels. Make the headings large and dark blue to draw attention.

Illustration Labelling

Step 3

The mountain illustration needs some annotation, so I draw in some curved arrows to show the direction of movement. 

Direction of Movement

13. Finishing Touches

Step 1

To improve the composition I moved the elements around to make sure no elements were too close to each other. I have grouped the elements (text and illustrations) into individual folders so that they can be easily moved around the canvas with the Move Tool (V).

Haggis Guide - No Arrows

Step 2

To give focus to the piece, I add in orange arrows to link text to illustrations or to draw attention to certain areas.  

Haggis Guide - Arrows

Step 3

Double-click on your arrow layer to bring up Layer Styles.

Using Layer Styles I use a Drop Shadow set to Multiply, with the blue as the shadow colour. This makes the arrows really stand out against the white background.

If you wish to use the same settings on another layer, simply right-click on the layer with the Layer Styles, and select Copy Layer Style. Then on your desired layer, right-click again and select Paste Layer Style. If, for example, you have arrows on individual layers, this saves you making a note of all the settings and manually entering them for every layer.

Drop Shadow Layer Style

The Finished Infographic!

Completed Haggis Infographic

You will notice that in the final version I omitted the fur and body types in favour of a fact to break up the infographic. The most important thing is that there is not too much information on one piece. A good mix is roughly 2/3 illustration to 1/3 text.

Conclusion

I hope you've enjoyed this tutorial on how to create a Haggis infographic and learned something along the way too! It may make you think next time you tuck into a Burns Supper! Sláinte!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.