Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Line Art

Как создать иллюстрацию в Adobe Illustrator в стиле книги для раскрашивания

Scroll to top
Read Time: 12 min

Russian (Pусский) translation by Lexie Bykova (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Сегодня в какой бы магазин вы ни вошли, - книжный, художественную лавку и даже в супермаркет, - вы легко найдете отдел с книгами для разукрашивания для взрослых. А вы когда-нибудь задумывались о том, чтобы создать собственную страницу для разукрашивания? Это очень увлекательно.

Мы вместе создадим цепочку домов, и вы в процессе научитесь некоторым секретам рисования зданий, которые вы также сможете использовать в своих будущих проектах - иллюстрациях. Помните, что конечный дизайн, который вы создадите в ходе этого урока, нельзя продавать на микростоковых сайтах.

Мы создадим здания с деталями, и вы увидите, как в этом случае помогает Сетка. Вы также увидите, что с помощью нескольких простых инструментов вроде Прямоугольник, линия, Арка и Эллипс можно создать красивое и оригинальное изображение.

Я обожаю книги-разукрашки для взрослых. У меня не всегда получается закончить их, но, должна признаться, я серьезный коллекционер! Если вам нужны идеи, или готовые к использованию страницы для разукрашивания, посмотрите, что доступно на Envato Market!

Приступим!

1. Создаем первый дом

Шаг 1

Начнем с создания нового документа в Adobe Illustrator размера 850 х 850 рх. В этом уроке мы увидим, насколько удобно рисовать иллюстрации с помощью Сеток (Grid). Нажимаем Control-K, чтобы активировать окно Свойства. Выбираем Направляющие и Сетка (Guides & Grid) в открывшемся меню и вводим опции Сетки, как на картинке внизу. Нажимаем OK. Чтобы видеть сетку, делаем правый щелчок мышкой - Показать Сетку (Show Grid). Еще очень-очень полезный инструмент - это Вид - Привязка к Сетке (View > Snap to Grid).

grid options windowgrid options windowgrid options window

С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle - М), рисуем прямоугольник на 24 клетки в ширину и 46 клеток в высоту. Без заливки и с черной обводкой (выбираем ширину 2 рх в панели Обводка- Stroke). Это будет фасадом здания.

creating the house facadecreating the house facadecreating the house facade

Шаг 2

Для крыши создадим еще один прямоугольник с помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M) с шириной немного более, чем у прямоугольника фасада. На изображении внизу видно, на сколько именно клеток надо рисовать. После этого выделяем верхнюю левую опорную точку на крыше с помощью инструмента Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool (A) и подвигаем ее вправо, дважды нажимая кнопку с Правой Стрелкой на клавиатуре.

creating the roofcreating the roofcreating the roof

Шаг 3

Добавим черепицу на крыше. Мы воспользуемся инструментом Дуга (Arc Tool). Ставим галочку напротив Скругленный Конец (Round Cap) в панели Обводка (Stroke), но это по выбору.  Увеличиваем масштаб, чтобы отдельные клетки было видно на сетке. Рисуем дугу из верхнего левого угла к нижнему правому углу одной клетки. Увидите, как легко дуга "зацепится" за угол клетки.

Теперь рисуем другую дугу из верхнего правого угла следующей клетки к нижнему левому углу, чтобы соединить ее с первой дугой. У нас получится полукруг. Продолжаем таким же образом рисовать остальные черепицы, пока не заполним всю крышу.

creating the tiles on roofcreating the tiles on roofcreating the tiles on roof

Шаг 4

Добавим окно с помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M).

creating the windowcreating the windowcreating the window

Шаг 5

С помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\) рисуем три линии для рамы окна.

creating the window framecreating the window framecreating the window frame

Шаг 6

Добавляем еще один прямоугольник под оконной рамой с помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M)) для подоконника. Чтобы модифицировать подоконник, выделяем нижнюю левую опорную точку на прямоугольнике с помощью инструмента Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool (A) и подвигаем ее вправо на одну клетку, удерживая Правую Стрелку (Right Arrow) на клавиатуре. Производим те же манипуляции с нижним правым углом подоконника, но в противоположном направлении.

creating the window 2creating the window 2creating the window 2

Шаг 7

Теперь добавим растения на подоконник. Чтобы у нас было больше свободы, отключим опцию Привязать к Сетке (Snap to Grid): идем в Вид (View) и отключаем опцию. С помощью инструмента Эллипс (Ellipse Tool (L), удерживаем кнопку Shift и рисуем несколько пересекающихся кругов. Нет необходимости менять цвет на красный, я сделала это для наглядности.

creating the plants on the windowcreating the plants on the windowcreating the plants on the window

В итоге объединим эти круги, выделив все и выбрав опцию Добавление (Unite) в панели Окно - Обработка Контуров (Window - Pathfinder).

creating the plants 2creating the plants 2creating the plants 2

Шаг 8

Теперь обратно подключаем опцию Привязать к Сетке: Вид - Привязать к Сетке (View > Snap to Grid). Делаем три копии окна, которое мы создали. Удерживаем кнопку Alt и перетаскиваем окно вправо. Получится копия. Делаем еще две.

creating another windowscreating another windowscreating another windows

Шаг 9

В этом шаге нарисуем ступени, добавив два прямоугольника высотой в одну клетку и шириной в 12 и 16 клеток. Расположим их по центру здания.

creating the stepscreating the stepscreating the steps

Шаг 10

Рисуем дверь. Начнем с прямоугольника. Оставляем его выделенным и заходим в Эффект - Искривление - Верхняя Арка (Effect > Warp > Arc Upper). В новом окне меняем опции на те, что видим на втором изображении внизу. Пока этот эффект еще активен, нарисуем длинный прямоугольник высотой в одну клетку, чтобы и его искривить. После этого необходимо удалить этот эффект из панели Окно - Оформление (Window > Appearance), перетащив его в иконку с корзиной. Добавим еще один прямоугольник, чтобы закончить дверь.

creating the doorcreating the doorcreating the door
warp options windowwarp options windowwarp options window

Шаг 11

С помощью инструмента Скругленный Прямоугольник (Rounded Rectangle Tool) добавим маленький прямоугольник (1×2). Наверху этой фигуры разместим прямоугольник, который будет перекрывать половину скругленного прямоугольника. Затем разрежем его: выбираем обе фигуры и щелкаем по опции Вычитание (Minus Front) в панели Обработка Контуров (Pathfinder). И у нас получится фигура, как на рисунке внизу. Мы используем ее в качестве декора здания.

creating the house decorcreating the house decorcreating the house decor

Располагаем эту фигуру с левой стороны здания.

placing the house decorplacing the house decorplacing the house decor

Шаг 12

Удерживаем кнопку Alt, и сдвигаем эту фигуру вниз на одну клетку. Оставляем эту фигуру выделенной, нажимаем несколько раз сочетание клавиш Control-D, чтобы повторить этот шаг несколько раз и откопировать элемент на одинаковом расстоянии. Повторно нажимаем сочетание Control-D, пока не заполним всю левую сторону стены декоративными элементами.

Чтобы повторить то же самое для другой стороны стены, выделяем все украшения на левой стороне, правый щелчок мыши, выбираем Трансформирование - Отражение (Transform > Reflect). Откроется окно, там выбираем Вертикальную Ось (Axis Vertical),  Угол (Angle) 90 градусов, нажимаем Копия (Copy). Перемещаем копии вправо.

creating the house decor 2creating the house decor 2creating the house decor 2

Шаг 13

Добавим вывеску на стене здания.

Для этого воспользуемся инструментом Спираль (Spiral Tool). Если ее не видно, держим курсор на Линейном Сегменте (Line Segment Tool (\) несколько минут, и откроется меню. В нем выбираем Спираль (Spiral Tool). Щелкаем по монтажной области, и откроется диалоговое окно, в котором нам надо задать Радиус (Radius) спирали, Убывание (Decay) и Сегменты (Segments). Советую попробовать разные величины здесь.

После создания спирали, выпрямим один конец, с помощью инструмента Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool (A). Просто выделяем одну опорную точку и подвигаем маркеры, чтобы выпрямить этот конец спирали. Теперь прикрепляем спираль к зданию. Добавим еще одну спираль, две линии Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\)), и один Эллипс (Ellipse Tool (L). Расположим их поверх, чтобы завершить вывеску.

creating the signagecreating the signagecreating the signage

2. Создаем второй дом

Шаг 1

С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle - М), рисуем два прямоугольника: большой (54 х 28) и маленький поверх него (2 х 30).

creating the facade and roofcreating the facade and roofcreating the facade and roof

Шаг 2

Рисуем Эллипс (Ellipse Tool (L), и поверх него размещаем прямоугольник. Выделяем эти две фигуры, щелкаем по кнопке Вычитание (Minus Front) в панели Окно - Обработка Контуров (Window > Pathfinder).

creating the semi-ellipsecreating the semi-ellipsecreating the semi-ellipse

Шаг 3

Теперь нарисуем полу-эллипс меньшего размера и разместим его внутри первого. Чтобы это сделать, копируем первую фигуру впереди (Control-C, Control-F) и уменьшаем размер вновь созданной фигуры, одновременно удерживая Alt и Shift (это сожмет его симметрично и к центру). Расположим обе фигуры поверх тонкого прямоугольника. Затем с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\) добавим три линии в малом полу-эллипсе.

creating the roof 2creating the roof 2creating the roof 2

Шаг 4

Чтобы создать окно с подоконником, воспользуемся инструментом Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M). Чтобы создать секции оконных рам, воспользуемся Линейным Сегментом (Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the windowcreating the windowcreating the window

Шаг 5

Теперь создадим 5 новых копий окна (подвигаем оригинальную фигуру с окном, удерживая кнопку Alt). Располагаем их симметрично, как на рисунке внизу.

creating another windowscreating another windowscreating another windows

Шаг 6

Рисуем 2 линии между окон с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\)), заходим в Эффект - Искажение и Трансформирование - Зигзаг (Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag), чтобы изменить их форму. Пробуем разные опции Зигзага, нет необходимости в точных измерениях.

decorating the housedecorating the housedecorating the house

Шаг 7

Для забора рисуем один круг внутри одной клетки сетки. С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M), рисуем прямоугольник (3×1) и создаем горизонтальный ромб с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\). Располагаем эти три фигуры, как показано на рисунке внизу и группируем их: правый щелчок - Группировать.

Создаем копию этой группы: удерживая кнопку Alt, подвигаем группу вправо до тех пор, пока копия не будет примыкать к оригинальному изображению. Это действие создаст копию группы, которая будет на одном уровне по горизонтали. Вновь созданная группа выделена, нажимаем сочетание клавиш Control-D, чтобы повторить предыдущий шаг и создать еще одну копию на таком же расстоянии от предыдущей. Продолжаем нажимать Control-D еще несколько раз.

creating the fencecreating the fencecreating the fence

Выделяем весь забор, группируем (правый щелчок - Группировать) и размещаем его перед зданием.

placing the fenceplacing the fenceplacing the fence

3. Создаем третий дом

Шаг 1

Рисуем прямоугольник (44 х 34). Создаем элемент крыши, нарисовав линию с помощью инструмента Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool - \).

creating the facade and roofcreating the facade and roofcreating the facade and roof

Шаг 2

Чтобы создать окна на крыше, рисуем прямоугольную форму и линии с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\). Добавляем треугольник, используя инструмент Полигон (Polygon Tool). После того, как щелкнем по монтажной области, откроется диалоговое окно. Вводим 3 стороны и любой Радиус. Можно изменить размер прямоугольника. Когда рисуем треугольник, отключим опцию Привязка к Сетке: заходим в Вид (View) > удаляем значок Привязка к Сетке (Snap to Grid).

Создаем еще один треугольник меньшего размера и размещаем его внутри большого. У треугольников должен быть белый цвет заливки, иначе будет видно контуры крыши сквозь окна. Снова включаем Привязку к Сетке: Вид (View) > Привязка к Сетке (Snap to Grid).

creating the windowcreating the windowcreating the window

Шаг 3

Размещаем его на крыше. Делаем еще две копии окна.

creating another windowscreating another windowscreating another windows

Шаг 4

С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M) добавим на крышу две трубы.

creating the chimneyscreating the chimneyscreating the chimneys

Шаг 5

Добавим 4 окна. С помощью Прямоугольника (Rectangle Tool (M) и Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\) создаем простое окно. Делаем 3 копии и распределяем их симметрично.

creating lower windowscreating lower windowscreating lower windows

Шаг 6

Теперь добавим лестницу и дверь. Козырек над дверью нарисуем с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\). В этом случае лучше использовать линии, а не треугольник, потому что не понадобится отключать опцию Привязка к Сетке (Snap to Grid).

creating the door and stepscreating the door and stepscreating the door and steps

Шаг 7

Чтобы добавить перила на лестнице, пользуемся Линейным Сегментом (Line Segment Tool (\) для прямых линий и Спираль (Spiral Tool ) для перил. Выделяем Спираль (Spiral Tool), затем выбираем Радиус, Убывание (Decay) и Сегменты по желанию. На вновь созданной спирали подвигаем последнюю опорную точку к двери с помощью инструмента Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool (A) и двигаем маркеры, чтобы добиться хорошего результата.

creating the door and steps 2creating the door and steps 2creating the door and steps 2

Шаг 8

Теперь создаем большое окно с козырьком. Сначала рисуем Эллипс (Ellipse Tool (L), добавляем прямоугольник и выбираем опцию Вычитание (Minus Front) в панели Окно (Window) > Обработка Контуров (Pathfinder). У нас получится обрезок эллипса. Присоединим прямоугольник к этой фигуре и три линии по сторонам.

Чтобы украсить окно, добавим цепочку из скругленных прямоугольников (их можно взять с декорации первого здания) и разместить несколько копий вдоль плоской стороны полу-эллипса. После этого используем инструмент Дуга (Arc Tool), чтобы нарисовать 6 линий внутри этой фигуры. Для завершения окна добавим несколько линий внутри прямоугольника, создавая эффект бликов на стекле.

creating the big windowcreating the big windowcreating the big window

Размещаем окно, как показано на картинке внизу.

placing the big windowplacing the big windowplacing the big window

Шаг 9

Чтобы создать растение в горшке, рисуем круг с помощью инструмента Эллипс (Ellipse Tool (L)), удерживая Shift, затем Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\),  - можно увеличить толщину линии), и трапецию с помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M), сдвинув верхние опорные точки с помощью инструмента Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool (A)).

creating the treecreating the treecreating the tree

Кругу и трапеции необходимо задать белую заливку, так как растение размещается перед фасадом здания.

placing the treeplacing the treeplacing the tree

Шаг 10

Создаем фигуру-зигзаг внизу крыши, используя Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\) и нарисовав две линии. Группируем две линии и делаем копию группы, удерживая кнопки Alt и Shift, подвигаем группу вправо до тех пор, пока ее нельзя будет прикрепить к оригинальному объекту.

Выделяем вновь созданную группу, нажимаем Control-D, чтобы повторить предыдущий шаг, и создаем еще одну группу на точно таком же расстоянии от предыдущей. Продолжаем нажимать Control-D до тех пор, пока весь ряд не заполнится зигзагами.

decorating the housedecorating the housedecorating the house

4. Создаем четвертый дом

Шаг 1

С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle - М), рисуем прямоугольник на (44 х 34) и подвигаем вверх левую нижнюю опорную точку. Для этого воспользуемся инструментом Частичного Выделения (Direct Selection Tool - A). На крыше мы нарисуем украшение, которое будет состоять из трех линий. Рисуем эти линии в направлении, указанном стрелками на изображении внизу (первая: инструмент Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\) - с направлением вверх; вторая: инструмент Дуга (Arc Tool) - с направлением влево; третья: инструмент Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\) - с направлением вниз). Группируем эти три линии, делаем несколько копий фигуры, и размещаем их наверху крыши.

creating the house and roofcreating the house and roofcreating the house and roof

Шаг 2

С помощью инструмента Скругленный Прямоугольник (Rounded Rectangle Tool) рисуем украшение низа здания, заполнив часть стены скругленными прямоугольниками разного размера.

decorating the housedecorating the housedecorating the house

Шаг 3

Рисуем скругленное окно с помощью Эллипса (Ellipse Tool (L), удерживая кнопку Shift. Добавляем две перпендикулярных линии, с помощью Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the windowcreating the windowcreating the window

Шаг 4

Чтобы нарисовать еще одно окно, выбираем инструмент Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M) и Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the lower windowcreating the lower windowcreating the lower window

Шаг 5

Копируем вновь созданное окно и перемещаем его вверх. С помощью инструмента Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M) и Линейного Сегмента (Line Segment Tool (\) создаем еще одно окно.

creating another windowscreating another windowscreating another windows

5. Создаем пятый дом

Шаг 1

Один большой прямоугольник и несколько длинных и узких прямоугольников станут основой пятого дома. Затем применим опцию Добавление (Unite) в панели Обработка Контуров (Pathfinder).

creating the facadecreating the facadecreating the facade

Шаг 2

Используем инструмент Прямоугольник (Rectangle Tool (M) и инструмент Линейный Сегмент (Line Segment Tool (\), чтобы нарисовать окно. После этого создаем еще два.

creating the lower windowscreating the lower windowscreating the lower windows

Шаг 3

Рисуем прямоугольнки и линии, чтобы создать верхнее окно.

creating the upper windowcreating the upper windowcreating the upper window

Шаг 4

Теперь мы создадим уличный фонарь, который висит на стене.

Для начала выбираем инструмент Спираль (Spiral Tool), чтобы нарисовать кривую, затем сдвигаем последнюю опорную точку так, чтобы кривая прикрепилась к стене здания. Добавляем еще одну кривую сверху. Добавляем два прямоугольника и две линии. Сдвигаем опорные точки внутрь. Добавляем еще две линии, чтобы это стало походить на фонарь. Пятый дом готов!

creating the street lightcreating the street lightcreating the street light

6. Собираем все вместе

А теперь самая приятная часть: собираем все дома вместе (конечно, если вы уже этого не сделали!).

placing all houses togetherplacing all houses togetherplacing all houses together

Заключение

Этот урок был неколько длиннее, чем другие, но я уверена, вы теперь эксперт в использовании инструментов Прямоугольник, Линейный Сегмент (\), Дуга, Эллипс, а также в подгонке опорных точек с помощью инструмента Прямого Выделения (А), и другое.

Вы теперь знаете, как можно ускорить и упростить процесс с помощью Сетки. У вас нет необходимости тратить время на прикрепление линий и фигур к определенным точкам. Это сэкономит вам массу времени, которое можно потратить на творческий процесс.

Надеюсь, техники, с которыми вы познакомились сегодня, помогут вам в работе над будущими проектами, и однажды вы увидите вашу собственную книгу для разукрашивания для взрослых и детей на полке в магазине. Успехов!

Final DesignFinal DesignFinal Design
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Line Art
Design

How to Create a Coloring Book Style Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

These days when you enter bookstores, craft stores, or even grocery stores, you can easily find a section of coloring books for adults. Did you ever think about creating your own coloring page? I am telling you; it’s really fun. 


We will create a set of houses together, and you’ll learn some tricks for creating buildings, which you can also use in your future projects as an illustrator. But remember, your result of this tutorial can't be sold on microstock sites.

We will create buildings with details, and you will find out how helpful the Grid is. You will also see that you can use just a few simple tools like the Rectangle Tool, Line Segment Tool (\), Arc Tool or Ellipse Tool to create a beautiful and an original image.

I adore adult coloring books. I don’t always finish them, but let me tell you, I’m a serious collector! If you want to get some ideas, or just need ready-to-use coloring pages, browse Envato Market—it will brighten your mind!


Let’s get started!

1. Create the First House

Step 1

Let’s start by creating a new document in Adobe Illustrator with a size of 850 x 850 px. In this tutorial, we will see how useful the Grid is while drawing illustrations. Press Control-K to activate the Preferences dialogue window. Select Guides & Grid in the pop-up menu and enter the Grid options shown below. Press OK. To see this grid, you need to right-click your mouse > Show Grid. Another very, very helpful tool is to enable Snap to Grid (go to View > Snap to Grid).


grid options window

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle with 24 cells in width and 46 cells in height with no fill and black stroke (2 px Weight on the Stroke panel). This will be the facade of the building.

creating the house facade

Step 2

For the roof, create another rectangle by using the Rectangle Tool (M) with a width slightly larger than the facade rectangle. In the image below you can see exactly how many cells you need to draw. After that, select the top left anchor point on the roof with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move it to the right by pressing the Right Arrow button on your keyboard twice.

creating the roof

Step 3

Let’s add some tiles on our roof. Here, we will use the Arc Tool. I checked the Round Cap on the Stroke panel, but it's optional. Zoom in your image until the individual cells are visible on your grid. Draw an arc from the top left corner to the bottom right corner of a single cell. You will see how easily the arc attaches to the corner of a cell. 

Now draw another arc from the top right corner of the next cell to the bottom left corner to connect with the first arc. You will get a half circle. Continue to draw the tiles in this manner until you fill up the entire roof.

creating the tiles on roof

Step 4

Let’s add a window using the Rectangle Tool (M).

creating the window

Step 5

Using the Line Segment Tool (\), draw three lines for the window frame.

creating the window frame

Step 6

Add another rectangle below the window frame (Rectangle Tool (M)) for the window sill. To modify the window sill, select the bottom left anchor point on the rectangle with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move it to the right, just one grid cell, by pressing the Right Arrow button on your keyboard. Make the same modification for the bottom right corner of the window sill but in the opposite direction.

creating the window 2

Step 7

Now let’s add some plants on the window sill. To have more freedom in creating this element, we have to disable the Snap to Grid: go to View > and remove the selected Snap to Grid mark. 
Using the Ellipse Tool (L), hold down the Shift key and draw a bunch of circles that intersect with each other. You don't need to change the stroke color to red; I did this just to highlight this for the tutorial.

creating the plants on the window

Finally, unite these circles by selecting all of them and hitting the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder).

creating the plants 2

Step 8

Let’s go ahead and enable the Snap to Grid again: View > Snap to Grid.
 Make three more copies of the window that we created. Hold down the Alt button and move it to the right. You will get a copy. Then make two more.

creating another windows

Step 9

In this step, we will make the stairs by adding two rectangles that are one cell in height on the grid, and 12 and 16 cells in width. Place them in the middle of the building.

creating the steps

Step 10

For the door, let’s start with a rectangle. Keep it selected and go to Effect > Warp > Arc Upper. In the new window, adjust the options to the ones you see in the second image below. While this effect is still active, let's draw a long rectangle which is one cell in height—you will get it warped. After that, you need to delete this effect from the Appearance panel (Window > Appearance) by dragging it to the trash icon. Add one more rectangle to finish our door.

creating the door
warp options window

Step 11

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, add a small rounded rectangle (1×2). On top of this shape, place a square which overlaps half of the rounded rectangle. Then cut it: select both shapes and use the Minus Front button in Pathfinder, and you will get the shape shown below. We will use it as a building decoration.

creating the house decor

Place this shape on the left side of the building.

placing the house decor

Step 12

Holding the Alt button, move this shape down one cell. While the newly created shape is selected, press the Control-D buttons to repeat the previous step and create the third shape exactly the same distance from the previous one. Repeat this action by pressing Control-D until the entire left side of the wall is covered by the decoration shapes.


To repeat the same operations for the other side of the wall, select all the decorations from the left side, right-click the mouse > and select Transform > Reflect. A dialogue window will pop up, where you should enter Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move those copies to the right.

creating the house decor 2

Step 13

Let’s add a sign on the side of the building.


For this, we will use the Spiral Tool. If you don't see it, hold the Line Segment Tool (\) for a few seconds—a pop-up menu will appear. Select the Spiral Tool then. Click on your art board and a new dialogue window will appear, asking you about the Radius of your spiral, Decay and Segments. I recommend playing with different Decay and Segments to find out what you like the most. 


After creating the spiral, straighten one end by using the Direct Selection Tool (A). Simply select the last anchor point and move the handles to straighten the end of the spiral. Finally, attach this spiral to the building.
 Add another spiral, two lines (Line Segment Tool (\)), and one ellipse (Ellipse Tool (L)), and place them together to finish off the signage.

creating the signage

2. Create the Second House

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M) to draw two rectangles: a large one (54×28) and a small one on top (2×30)

creating the facade and roof

Step 2

Create the ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L) and add a rectangle over it. Select these two shapes and by pressing the Minus Front on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder), you will get a cut of the ellipse, a semi-ellipse shape.

creating the semi-ellipse

Step 3

Now create a smaller semi-ellipse and place it inside the original one. To do this, copy the original shape in front (Control-C, Control-F) and shrink the newly created shape while holding down the Alt and Shift keys at the same time (shrinking symmetrically to the center). 
Place these two shapes on top of the thin rectangle. Then by using the Line Segment Tool (\), add three lines in the small semi-ellipse shape.

creating the roof 2

Step 4

To make the window and its sill, use the Rectangle Tool (M). To create sections on the window frames, use the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the window

Step 5

Make five more copies of the window shape (move the original shape to the side while holding the Alt key). Place them symmetrically as presented below.

creating another windows

Step 6

Draw two lines between the windows (Line Segment Tool (\)) and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag... to change their shape. Play with the Zig Zag options; you don't need to know the precise options.

decorating the house

Step 7

For the fence, make one circle inside a single cell of the grid. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle (3×1) and make a sideways diamond with the Line Segment Tool (\). Place these three shapes as shown in the image below and group them together: select, then right-click > Group. 


Create a copy of this group: holding the Alt button, move the group to the right until the copy is attached to the original image. This action will create a copy of the group, horizontally aligned. While the newly created group is selected, press the Control-D buttons to repeat the previous step and create another copy the same distance from the previous one. Repeat pressing Control-D a few more times. 


creating the fence

Select the entire fence, group it (right-click > Group) and place it in the front of the building.

placing the fence

3. Create the Third House

Step 1

Draw a rectangle (44×34). Make a section for the roof by drawing a line with the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the facade and roof

Step 2

To make the windows on the roof, use the rectangle shape and lines from the Line Segment Tool (\). Add a triangle by pressing the Polygon Tool. After you click on the art board, a new dialogue window will pop up. Enter 3 Sides and any Radius. You can adjust the size of the rectangle. When drawing the triangle, disable the Snap to Grid: go to View > and remove the selected Snap to Grid mark. 

Make another smaller triangle and place it inside the bigger one. The triangles must have a white fill color because they will be in front of the roof (otherwise you will see the roof through the window). 
Enable the Snap to Grid again: View > Snap to Grid; and place all parts together as in the image below. 

creating the window

Step 3

Place it on the roof. Make two more copies of the window.

creating another windows

Step 4

By using the Rectangle Tool (M), add two chimneys on the roof.

creating the chimneys

Step 5

Let’s add four windows. Use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\) to create a simple window. Make three copies and place them symmetrically.

creating lower windows

Step 6

Now we will add the stairs and a door. For the small roof over the door, we will create it using the Line Segment Tool (\). In this case, it is better to use the lines instead of the triangle shape as we don't need to disable the Snap to Grid.

creating the door and steps

Step 7

To add the stair railing, use the Line Segment Tool (\) for the straight lines and the Spiral Tool for the decorated top rail. Select the Spiral Tool and choose Radius, Decay and Segments settings that you like. On the created spiral, move the last anchor point to the door (use the Direct Selection Tool (A) and play with the handles of the anchor points for a good result).

creating the door and steps 2

Step 8

Now we will create a large window with an awning. First make the ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L), add a rectangle over it and apply Minus Front on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder) while the two shapes are selected. You will get a cut of the ellipse.
 Attach a rectangle to this shape and add three lines along its sides. 

To decorate the window, add a cut of the rounded rectangle (you can take it from the decoration of the first building) and multiply it along the side of the semi-ellipse. After that, use the Arc Tool to make six lines inside this shape. To finalize the window, add a few lines inside the rectangle, creating an illusion of reflected glass.


creating the big window

Place the window as shown in the image below.

placing the big window

Step 9

To create a potted plant, we will draw a circle (use the Ellipse Tool (L)) while holding the Shift key), a line (Line Segment Tool (\), you can increase the stroke Weight just for it), and a trapezoid (Rectangle Tool (M) and shifting the bottom anchor points with the Direct Selection Tool (A)).

creating the tree

The circle and the trapezoid have to be filled with a white color, since the plant will be placed in front of the house.

placing the tree

Step 10

Create a zigzag shape on the bottom of the roof by using the Line Segment Tool (\) and making two lines. Group these two lines and make a copy of this group (hold the Alt and Shift buttons and move the group to the right until the copy is attached to the original object). 

While the newly created group is selected, press Control-D to repeat the previous step and create another copy exactly the same distance from the previous one. Repeat pressing Control-D until the entire line is filled with zigzag shapes.

decorating the house

4. Create the Fourth House

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), draw a rectangle (44×34) and move up the bottom left anchor point. For this, use the Direct Selection Tool (A).
 On top of the roof, we will make a decoration, which consists of three lines. Draw these lines in the directions presented by the arrows in the image below (first the Line Segment Tool (\)—upward direction; second, the Arc Tool—towards left; third, the Line Segment Tool (\)—downward direction). Group these three lines, make a few copies of this shape, and place them on top of the roof.

creating the house and roof

Step 2

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, create the decoration in the bottom of the building by filling a part of the wall using different sized rounded rectangles.

decorating the house

Step 3

Make a circular window by using the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding the Shift key. Add two perpendicular lines created by the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the window

Step 4

To make another window, use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the lower window

Step 5

Copy the created window and move it up. 
Using the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\), make another window.

creating another windows

5. Create the Fifth House

Step 1

One big rectangle and a few long and narrow rectangles over it will start our fifth house. Then press Unite in the Pathfinder panel.

creating the facade

Step 2

Use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw the window. After that, create two more.

creating the lower windows

Step 3

Draw rectangles and lines to create the upper window.

creating the upper window

Step 4

Now we want to create a street light hanging on the side of the wall.

First, use the Spiral Tool to draw the curly line, and then move the last anchor point to connect to the wall of the house. Add another curl on the top. Add two rectangles and two lines. Move the anchor points inside. Add two more lines to make it look more like a street lamp. Our fifth house is done!

creating the street light

6. Place Them All Together

And now, the most exciting part: putting all our houses together (of course, if you didn’t do it before!).

placing all houses together

Conclusion

This tutorial was longer than usual, but I am sure that by now you are an expert in using the Rectangle Tool, Line Segment Tool (\), Arc Tool, Ellipse Tool, in adjusting the anchor points with using the Direct Selection Tool (A), and more.


You figured out how the process can be sped up and simplified by using the Grid. You don’t have to focus on the boring process of attaching the lines or shapes to certain points and can save your time for the creative processes.

I hope the techniques you learned today will be helpful for your future projects, and one day you and I will get to see your own coloring book for adults and kids in the store.
 Good luck!

Final Design
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.