Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Line Art
Design

如何在AI中创建着色书样式图

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Yushine (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

这些天,当你进入书店、手工艺品商店甚至杂货店时,你可以轻松找到一些成人的着色书。你有没有想过要创建自己的着色页?我告诉你,这真的很有趣。

我们将一起创建一套房子,你将学习一些创建建筑物的技巧,你也可以在将来的项目中将其用作插画。但请记住,本教程的成果不可以在网站上出售。

我们将创建具有细节的建筑物,你将了解到网格有多么有用。你还将看到,只使用一些简单的工具,如矩形工具,线段工具(\),圆弧工具或椭圆工具来创建一个漂亮和原始的图像。

我喜欢成人着色书。我不是总能完成它们,但我告诉你,我是一个严肃的收藏家!如果你想获得一些想法,或只需要即时使用的着色页面,请浏览 Envato Market ——它会点亮你的思维!

让我们开始吧!

1.创建第一个房子

步骤 1

我们首先在 Adobe Illustrator 中创建一个大小为 850 x 850 px 的新文档。在本教程中,我们将看到网格在绘制插图时多么有用。 按 Control-K 打开首选项对话窗口。在弹出菜单中选择 参考线和网格 ,然后输入如下所示的网格选项。按 确定。 要查看此网格,你需要右键单击鼠标 > 显示网格。另一个非常有用的工具是启用对齐网格(前往 视图 > 对齐网格)。

grid options window

使用矩形工具(M),创建一个矩形,宽度为 24 个单元格,高度为 46 个单元格,无填充,描边为黑色(描边面板上 2 px 的粗细)。这将是建筑物的正面。

creating the house facade

步骤 2

对于屋顶,使用宽度稍大于正面矩形的矩形工具(M)创建另一个矩形。在下面的图片中,你可以看到需要绘制的单元格数量。 之后,使用直接选择工具(A)选择屋顶上的左上角锚点,然后按键盘上的向右箭头按钮将其向右移动两次。

creating the roof

步骤 3

我们在屋顶上添加一些瓷砖。在这里,我们将使用弧形工具。我选中描边面板上的圆角,但这是随你的。放大图像,直到网格上显示单个单元格。 从单个单元格的左上角到右下角绘制一个弧。你会看到圆弧多么容易地吸附在单元格的一角。

现在从下一个单元格的右上角画一个弧到左下角连接第一个弧。你会得到一个半圈。继续以这种方式绘制瓷砖,直到你填满整个屋顶。

creating the tiles on roof

步骤 4

我们使用矩形工具(M)添加一个窗口。

creating the window

步骤 5

使用直线段工具(\),为窗框绘制三行。

creating the window frame

步骤 6

在窗框的下方添加另一个矩形(矩形工具(M))。要修改窗台,使用直接选择工具(A)选择矩形左下方的锚点,然后通过按键盘上的向右箭头按钮将其向右移动,仅移动一个网格单元格。 对窗台的右下角进行相同的修改,但是在相反的方向。

creating the window 2

步骤 7

现在我们在窗台上添加一些植物。为了更自由地创建这个元素,我们必须禁用对齐网格:转到 视图 > 并删除所选的对齐到网格。 使用椭圆工具(L),按住 Shift 键并绘制一堆与之相交的圆。你不需要将描边颜色更改为红色;我这样做只是为了强调这个教程。

creating the plants on the window

最后,通过选择所有这些圆圈并点击路径查找器面板上的 联合 按钮( 窗口 > 路径查找器 )来组合这些圆圈。

creating the plants 2

步骤 8

让我们继续,并再次启用对齐网格视图 > 对齐网格。再创建三个我们创建的窗口的副本。按住 Alt 按钮并将其向右移动。你会得到一个。然后再做两个。

creating another windows

步骤 9

在这个步骤中,我们将通过添加两个矩形来构造楼梯,这两个矩形是网格高度的一个单元格,宽度为 1216 个单元格。将它们放在建筑物的中间。

creating the steps

步骤 10

对于门,让我们从一个矩形开始。保持选择并进入 效果 > 变形 > 弧行 上。在新窗口中,调整你在下面第二张图片中看到的选项。这个效果明显,我们还是要画一个长矩形,这是一个单元格的高度,你会得到它变形形状。 之后,你需要通过将其拖动到垃圾桶图标,从 外观 面板( 窗口 > 外观 )中删除此效果。再加一个矩形来完成我们的门。

creating the door
warp options window

步骤 11

使用圆角矩形工具,添加一个小圆角矩形(1×2)。在这个形状之上,放置一个与圆角矩形的一半重叠的正方形。 然后剪切:选择两种形状,并使用路径查找器中的 减去顶层 按钮,你将获得如下所示的形状。我们会用它作为建筑装饰。

creating the house decor

将这个形状放在建筑物的左侧。

placing the house decor

步骤 12

按住 Alt 按钮,将此形状向下移动一个单元格。当选择新创建的形状时,按 Control-D 按钮重复上一步,并创建与上一个完全相同距离的第三个形状。 按 Control-D 重复此操作,直到墙壁的整个左侧被装饰形状覆盖。

对墙壁的另一侧重复相同的操作,请从左侧选择所有装饰,右键单击鼠标 > 然后选择 变换 > 对称。 弹出对话窗口,你应该在其中输入 轴垂直 ,角度90度,然后按 复制 。将这些副本移到右边。

creating the house decor 2

步骤 13

我们在建筑物的边上添加一个标志。

为此,我们将使用螺旋线工具。如果没有看到,请按住直线段工具(\)几秒钟,弹出菜单就会出现。然后选择螺旋线工具。 为此,我们将使用螺旋线工具。如果没有看到,请按住直线段工具(\)几秒钟,弹出菜单就会出现。然后选择螺旋线工具。点击你的画板,将出现一个新的对话窗口,询问你的螺旋半径衰减段数。我建议尝试不同的衰减段数,找出你最喜欢的。

创建螺旋后,使用直接选择工具(A)将一端拉直。只需选择最后一个锚点,然后移动鼠标以拉直螺旋的末端。 最后,把这螺旋线连接建筑物上。添加另一个螺旋,两条直线(直线段工具(\))和一个椭圆(椭圆工具(L)),并将它们放在一起以完成标牌。

creating the signage

2.创建第二个房子

步骤 1

使用矩形工具(M)绘制两个矩形:一个大的(54×28)和一个小的,小的在大的上方(2×30)。

creating the facade and roof

步骤 2

椭圆工具(L)创建椭圆,并在其上添加一个矩形。选择这两种形状,并通过在路径查找器面板( 窗口 > 路径查找器)上按减去顶层,你将获得剪切一半的椭圆形,半椭圆形状。

creating the semi-ellipse

步骤 3

现在创建一个较小的半椭圆,并把它放在原来的那个之中。 为此,将复制(Control-C,Control-F)原始形状并缩小新创建的形状,同时按住 Alt 键和 Shift 键缩小到对称的中心。 将这两个形状放置在小矩形的顶部。然后通过使用直线段工具(\),在小半椭圆形状中添加三行。

creating the roof 2

步骤 4

要制作窗口及其窗台,请使用矩形工具(M)。要在窗口框架上创建部分,请使用直线段工具(\)

creating the window

步骤 5

再复制五个窗口形状(按住 Alt 键将原始形状移动到一边)。将它们对称放置,如下所示。

creating another windows

步骤 6

在窗口(直线段工具(\))之间绘制两条线,然后转到 效果>扭曲和变形 > Zig Zag(波纹效果)以更改其形状。使用 Zig Zag(波纹效果)选项;你不需要知道确切的选择。

decorating the house

步骤 7

对于栅栏,在网格的单个单元格内形成一个圆圈。使用矩形工具(M),创建一个矩形(3×1),并使用直线段工具(\)制作栅栏侧边的菱形。 放置这三种形状,如图所示,并将它们编组在一起:选中,然后 右键单击 > 编组

创建此组的副本:按住 Alt 按钮,向右移动组,直到将副本连接上原始图像。此操作将创建组的副本,水平对齐。 当新创建的组被选中时,按 Control-D 按钮重复上一步,并创建与上一个相同距离的另一个副本。重复按 Control-D 几次。

creating the fence

选择整个围栏并编组(右键单击 > 编组),将其放在建筑物的前面。

placing the fence

3.创建第三个房子

步骤 1

绘制一个矩形(44×34)。通过直线段工具(\)绘制一条线将矩形的一部分作为屋顶。

creating the facade and roof

步骤 2

使用矩形形状和直线段工具(\)的线条给屋顶上绘制一个窗户。点击 多边形工具添加一个三角形。点击画板后,会弹出一个新的对话窗口。 输入 3 边数和任意半径。你可以调整矩形的大小。绘制三角形时,禁用 对齐网格:前往 视图> 删除所选的 对齐网格 的标记。

制作另一个较小的三角形并将其放在较大的三角形内。三角形必须具有白色填充,因为它们将在屋顶前方(否则你将通过窗户看到屋顶)。 再次使用对齐网格视图 > 对齐网格;并将所有部件放在一起,如下图所示。

creating the window

步骤 3

放在屋顶上。再复制两个窗口。

creating another windows

步骤 4

通过使用矩形工具(M),在屋顶上添加两个烟囱。

creating the chimneys

步骤 5

让我们添加四个窗口。使用矩形工具(M)直线段工具(\)创建一个简单的窗口。制作三个副本,对称放置。

creating lower windows

步骤 6

现在我们将添加楼梯和门。对于门上的小屋顶,我们将使用直线段工具(\)来创建它。在这种情况下,最好使用线条而不是三角形,因为我们不需要禁用 对齐网格

creating the door and steps

步骤 7

要添加楼梯栏杆,请使用直线段工具(\)和装饰顶部扶手的螺旋线工具。选择螺旋线工具,然后选择你喜欢的半径,衰减段数设置。 在创建的螺旋上,将最后一个锚点移动到门(使用直接选择工具(A))并移动锚点以获得好的效果)。

creating the door and steps 2

步骤 8

现在我们将创建一个带遮阳篷的大窗户。首先使用椭圆工具(L)来绘制椭圆,在其上面添加一个矩形,并选中两种形状,在路径查找器面板(窗口 > 路径查找器)上应用 减去顶层。 你会得到一个椭圆的剪切形状。将矩形连接到此形状,并沿着侧边添加三条线。

为了装饰窗户,添加圆角矩形的剪切形状(可以从第一个建筑物的装饰中取出),并将其沿半椭圆的一侧来累加。 之后,使用弧形工具在这个形状内创造六条线。想最终完成窗口,需要在矩形内添加几行,创建出反射玻璃的错觉。

creating the big window

放置窗口,如下图所示。

placing the big window

步骤 9

要创建一个盆栽植物,我们将绘制一个圆圈(使用椭圆工具(L),同时按住 Shift 键),一条直线(直线段工具(\),你可以增加描边粗细),和一个梯形(矩形工具(M)),并使用直接选择工具(A)移动底部锚点。

creating the tree

圆形和梯形必须用白色填充,因为植物将被放置在房子的前面。

placing the tree

步骤 10

使用直线段工具(\)制作两条线,在屋顶底部创建一个之字形的形状。编组这两条线并复制该组(按住 Alt Shift 按钮,将组移至右侧,直到复制连接到原始对象)。

当新创建的编组被选中时,按 Control-D 重复上一步,并创建与上一个完全相同距离的另一个副本。重复按 Control-D,直到整行都填充上之字形。

decorating the house

4.创建第四个房子

步骤 1

使用矩形工具(M)绘制一个矩形(44×34),使用直接选择工具(A)向上移动左上方的锚点。在屋顶上做一个由三条线组成的装饰。 如下图中的箭头所示的方向来绘制这些线(首先是直线段工具(\) - 向上方向)上绘制这些线;其次,弧形工具向左;第三,直线段工具(\) - 向下方向)。 将这三条线组合起来,制作这个形状的几个副本,并将它们放在屋顶上。

creating the house and roof

步骤 2

使用圆角矩形工具,通过使用不同大小的圆角矩形填充墙壁的一部分,在建筑物底部创建装饰。

decorating the house

步骤 3

在按住 Shift 键的同时使用椭圆工具(L)制作圆形窗口。用直线段工具(\)创建两条互相垂的直线。

creating the window

步骤 4

制作另一个窗口,使用矩形工具(M)直线段工具(\)

creating the lower window

步骤 5

复制创建的窗口并将其移动。使用矩形工具(M)直线段工具(\),创建另一个窗口。

creating another windows

5.建立第五个房子

步骤1

绘制一个大的矩形和几个长而窄的矩形来开始我们的第五个房子。然后在路径查找器面板中点击 联合

creating the facade

步骤2

使用矩形工具(M)直线段工具(\)绘制窗口。之后再创建两个。

creating the lower windows

步骤3

绘制矩形和线条以创建较高的窗口。

creating the upper window

步骤4

现在我们想要在墙壁上悬挂一盏街灯。

首先,使用螺旋线工具绘制卷曲线,然后移动最后一个锚点连接到房屋的墙壁。在顶部添加另一条卷曲线。 添加两个矩形和两条直线。移动内部的锚点。添加两条线,使其看起来更像街灯。我们的第五个房子就完成了!

creating the street light

6.把它们放在一起

现在,到了最令人兴奋的部分:把所有的房子放在一起(当然如果你以前没有这样做的话)。

placing all houses together

结论

本教程比平时更长,但我相信现在,你可以熟练使用矩形工具,直线段工具(\),弧形工具,椭圆工具,和使用直接选择工具(A )来调节锚点, 以及更多。

你懂得如何通过使用网格来加快和简化流程。你不必专注于将线条或形状附加到某些点的无聊过程,并可以节省创意过程的时间。

我希望你今天学到的技术将有助于你未来的项目,有一天,你和我将在商店中看到你自己创造的成人和孩子的着色书。祝你好运!

Final Design
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Line Art
Design

How to Create a Coloring Book Style Illustration in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

These days when you enter bookstores, craft stores, or even grocery stores, you can easily find a section of coloring books for adults. Did you ever think about creating your own coloring page? I am telling you; it’s really fun. 


We will create a set of houses together, and you’ll learn some tricks for creating buildings, which you can also use in your future projects as an illustrator. But remember, your result of this tutorial can't be sold on microstock sites.

We will create buildings with details, and you will find out how helpful the Grid is. You will also see that you can use just a few simple tools like the Rectangle Tool, Line Segment Tool (\), Arc Tool or Ellipse Tool to create a beautiful and an original image.

I adore adult coloring books. I don’t always finish them, but let me tell you, I’m a serious collector! If you want to get some ideas, or just need ready-to-use coloring pages, browse Envato Market—it will brighten your mind!


Let’s get started!

1. Create the First House

Step 1

Let’s start by creating a new document in Adobe Illustrator with a size of 850 x 850 px. In this tutorial, we will see how useful the Grid is while drawing illustrations. Press Control-K to activate the Preferences dialogue window. Select Guides & Grid in the pop-up menu and enter the Grid options shown below. Press OK. To see this grid, you need to right-click your mouse > Show Grid. Another very, very helpful tool is to enable Snap to Grid (go to View > Snap to Grid).


grid options window

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle with 24 cells in width and 46 cells in height with no fill and black stroke (2 px Weight on the Stroke panel). This will be the facade of the building.

creating the house facade

Step 2

For the roof, create another rectangle by using the Rectangle Tool (M) with a width slightly larger than the facade rectangle. In the image below you can see exactly how many cells you need to draw. After that, select the top left anchor point on the roof with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move it to the right by pressing the Right Arrow button on your keyboard twice.

creating the roof

Step 3

Let’s add some tiles on our roof. Here, we will use the Arc Tool. I checked the Round Cap on the Stroke panel, but it's optional. Zoom in your image until the individual cells are visible on your grid. Draw an arc from the top left corner to the bottom right corner of a single cell. You will see how easily the arc attaches to the corner of a cell. 

Now draw another arc from the top right corner of the next cell to the bottom left corner to connect with the first arc. You will get a half circle. Continue to draw the tiles in this manner until you fill up the entire roof.

creating the tiles on roof

Step 4

Let’s add a window using the Rectangle Tool (M).

creating the window

Step 5

Using the Line Segment Tool (\), draw three lines for the window frame.

creating the window frame

Step 6

Add another rectangle below the window frame (Rectangle Tool (M)) for the window sill. To modify the window sill, select the bottom left anchor point on the rectangle with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and move it to the right, just one grid cell, by pressing the Right Arrow button on your keyboard. Make the same modification for the bottom right corner of the window sill but in the opposite direction.

creating the window 2

Step 7

Now let’s add some plants on the window sill. To have more freedom in creating this element, we have to disable the Snap to Grid: go to View > and remove the selected Snap to Grid mark. 
Using the Ellipse Tool (L), hold down the Shift key and draw a bunch of circles that intersect with each other. You don't need to change the stroke color to red; I did this just to highlight this for the tutorial.

creating the plants on the window

Finally, unite these circles by selecting all of them and hitting the Unite button on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder).

creating the plants 2

Step 8

Let’s go ahead and enable the Snap to Grid again: View > Snap to Grid.
 Make three more copies of the window that we created. Hold down the Alt button and move it to the right. You will get a copy. Then make two more.

creating another windows

Step 9

In this step, we will make the stairs by adding two rectangles that are one cell in height on the grid, and 12 and 16 cells in width. Place them in the middle of the building.

creating the steps

Step 10

For the door, let’s start with a rectangle. Keep it selected and go to Effect > Warp > Arc Upper. In the new window, adjust the options to the ones you see in the second image below. While this effect is still active, let's draw a long rectangle which is one cell in height—you will get it warped. After that, you need to delete this effect from the Appearance panel (Window > Appearance) by dragging it to the trash icon. Add one more rectangle to finish our door.

creating the door
warp options window

Step 11

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, add a small rounded rectangle (1×2). On top of this shape, place a square which overlaps half of the rounded rectangle. Then cut it: select both shapes and use the Minus Front button in Pathfinder, and you will get the shape shown below. We will use it as a building decoration.

creating the house decor

Place this shape on the left side of the building.

placing the house decor

Step 12

Holding the Alt button, move this shape down one cell. While the newly created shape is selected, press the Control-D buttons to repeat the previous step and create the third shape exactly the same distance from the previous one. Repeat this action by pressing Control-D until the entire left side of the wall is covered by the decoration shapes.


To repeat the same operations for the other side of the wall, select all the decorations from the left side, right-click the mouse > and select Transform > Reflect. A dialogue window will pop up, where you should enter Axis Vertical, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move those copies to the right.

creating the house decor 2

Step 13

Let’s add a sign on the side of the building.


For this, we will use the Spiral Tool. If you don't see it, hold the Line Segment Tool (\) for a few seconds—a pop-up menu will appear. Select the Spiral Tool then. Click on your art board and a new dialogue window will appear, asking you about the Radius of your spiral, Decay and Segments. I recommend playing with different Decay and Segments to find out what you like the most. 


After creating the spiral, straighten one end by using the Direct Selection Tool (A). Simply select the last anchor point and move the handles to straighten the end of the spiral. Finally, attach this spiral to the building.
 Add another spiral, two lines (Line Segment Tool (\)), and one ellipse (Ellipse Tool (L)), and place them together to finish off the signage.

creating the signage

2. Create the Second House

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M) to draw two rectangles: a large one (54×28) and a small one on top (2×30)

creating the facade and roof

Step 2

Create the ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L) and add a rectangle over it. Select these two shapes and by pressing the Minus Front on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder), you will get a cut of the ellipse, a semi-ellipse shape.

creating the semi-ellipse

Step 3

Now create a smaller semi-ellipse and place it inside the original one. To do this, copy the original shape in front (Control-C, Control-F) and shrink the newly created shape while holding down the Alt and Shift keys at the same time (shrinking symmetrically to the center). 
Place these two shapes on top of the thin rectangle. Then by using the Line Segment Tool (\), add three lines in the small semi-ellipse shape.

creating the roof 2

Step 4

To make the window and its sill, use the Rectangle Tool (M). To create sections on the window frames, use the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the window

Step 5

Make five more copies of the window shape (move the original shape to the side while holding the Alt key). Place them symmetrically as presented below.

creating another windows

Step 6

Draw two lines between the windows (Line Segment Tool (\)) and go to Effect > Distort & Transform > Zig Zag... to change their shape. Play with the Zig Zag options; you don't need to know the precise options.

decorating the house

Step 7

For the fence, make one circle inside a single cell of the grid. Using the Rectangle Tool (M), create a rectangle (3×1) and make a sideways diamond with the Line Segment Tool (\). Place these three shapes as shown in the image below and group them together: select, then right-click > Group. 


Create a copy of this group: holding the Alt button, move the group to the right until the copy is attached to the original image. This action will create a copy of the group, horizontally aligned. While the newly created group is selected, press the Control-D buttons to repeat the previous step and create another copy the same distance from the previous one. Repeat pressing Control-D a few more times. 


creating the fence

Select the entire fence, group it (right-click > Group) and place it in the front of the building.

placing the fence

3. Create the Third House

Step 1

Draw a rectangle (44×34). Make a section for the roof by drawing a line with the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the facade and roof

Step 2

To make the windows on the roof, use the rectangle shape and lines from the Line Segment Tool (\). Add a triangle by pressing the Polygon Tool. After you click on the art board, a new dialogue window will pop up. Enter 3 Sides and any Radius. You can adjust the size of the rectangle. When drawing the triangle, disable the Snap to Grid: go to View > and remove the selected Snap to Grid mark. 

Make another smaller triangle and place it inside the bigger one. The triangles must have a white fill color because they will be in front of the roof (otherwise you will see the roof through the window). 
Enable the Snap to Grid again: View > Snap to Grid; and place all parts together as in the image below. 

creating the window

Step 3

Place it on the roof. Make two more copies of the window.

creating another windows

Step 4

By using the Rectangle Tool (M), add two chimneys on the roof.

creating the chimneys

Step 5

Let’s add four windows. Use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\) to create a simple window. Make three copies and place them symmetrically.

creating lower windows

Step 6

Now we will add the stairs and a door. For the small roof over the door, we will create it using the Line Segment Tool (\). In this case, it is better to use the lines instead of the triangle shape as we don't need to disable the Snap to Grid.

creating the door and steps

Step 7

To add the stair railing, use the Line Segment Tool (\) for the straight lines and the Spiral Tool for the decorated top rail. Select the Spiral Tool and choose Radius, Decay and Segments settings that you like. On the created spiral, move the last anchor point to the door (use the Direct Selection Tool (A) and play with the handles of the anchor points for a good result).

creating the door and steps 2

Step 8

Now we will create a large window with an awning. First make the ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L), add a rectangle over it and apply Minus Front on the Pathfinder panel (Window > Pathfinder) while the two shapes are selected. You will get a cut of the ellipse.
 Attach a rectangle to this shape and add three lines along its sides. 

To decorate the window, add a cut of the rounded rectangle (you can take it from the decoration of the first building) and multiply it along the side of the semi-ellipse. After that, use the Arc Tool to make six lines inside this shape. To finalize the window, add a few lines inside the rectangle, creating an illusion of reflected glass.


creating the big window

Place the window as shown in the image below.

placing the big window

Step 9

To create a potted plant, we will draw a circle (use the Ellipse Tool (L)) while holding the Shift key), a line (Line Segment Tool (\), you can increase the stroke Weight just for it), and a trapezoid (Rectangle Tool (M) and shifting the bottom anchor points with the Direct Selection Tool (A)).

creating the tree

The circle and the trapezoid have to be filled with a white color, since the plant will be placed in front of the house.

placing the tree

Step 10

Create a zigzag shape on the bottom of the roof by using the Line Segment Tool (\) and making two lines. Group these two lines and make a copy of this group (hold the Alt and Shift buttons and move the group to the right until the copy is attached to the original object). 

While the newly created group is selected, press Control-D to repeat the previous step and create another copy exactly the same distance from the previous one. Repeat pressing Control-D until the entire line is filled with zigzag shapes.

decorating the house

4. Create the Fourth House

Step 1

Using the Rectangle Tool (M), draw a rectangle (44×34) and move up the bottom left anchor point. For this, use the Direct Selection Tool (A).
 On top of the roof, we will make a decoration, which consists of three lines. Draw these lines in the directions presented by the arrows in the image below (first the Line Segment Tool (\)—upward direction; second, the Arc Tool—towards left; third, the Line Segment Tool (\)—downward direction). Group these three lines, make a few copies of this shape, and place them on top of the roof.

creating the house and roof

Step 2

Using the Rounded Rectangle Tool, create the decoration in the bottom of the building by filling a part of the wall using different sized rounded rectangles.

decorating the house

Step 3

Make a circular window by using the Ellipse Tool (L) while holding the Shift key. Add two perpendicular lines created by the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the window

Step 4

To make another window, use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\).

creating the lower window

Step 5

Copy the created window and move it up. 
Using the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\), make another window.

creating another windows

5. Create the Fifth House

Step 1

One big rectangle and a few long and narrow rectangles over it will start our fifth house. Then press Unite in the Pathfinder panel.

creating the facade

Step 2

Use the Rectangle Tool (M) and the Line Segment Tool (\) to draw the window. After that, create two more.

creating the lower windows

Step 3

Draw rectangles and lines to create the upper window.

creating the upper window

Step 4

Now we want to create a street light hanging on the side of the wall.

First, use the Spiral Tool to draw the curly line, and then move the last anchor point to connect to the wall of the house. Add another curl on the top. Add two rectangles and two lines. Move the anchor points inside. Add two more lines to make it look more like a street lamp. Our fifth house is done!

creating the street light

6. Place Them All Together

And now, the most exciting part: putting all our houses together (of course, if you didn’t do it before!).

placing all houses together

Conclusion

This tutorial was longer than usual, but I am sure that by now you are an expert in using the Rectangle Tool, Line Segment Tool (\), Arc Tool, Ellipse Tool, in adjusting the anchor points with using the Direct Selection Tool (A), and more.


You figured out how the process can be sped up and simplified by using the Grid. You don’t have to focus on the boring process of attaching the lines or shapes to certain points and can save your time for the creative processes.

I hope the techniques you learned today will be helpful for your future projects, and one day you and I will get to see your own coloring book for adults and kids in the store.
 Good luck!

Final Design
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.