Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Spirit Day
Design

Создаём сплошной узор ко Дню сильных духом в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом году День сильных духом выпадает на 15 октября. 

Миллионы людей одеваются в фиолетовые одежды в День сильных духом, чтобы выступить против притеснения и показать свою поддержку лесбиянкам, геям, бисексуалам и трансгендерам (ЛГБТ). 
Ежегодно с 2010 года отдельные люди, школы, организации, корпорации и публичные личности носят фиолетовый цвет, что означает «дух» на радужном флаге. 

Следуйте этому руководству и создайте яркий сплошной узор с плоскими элементами, символизирующими любовь и дружбу и посвящёнными Дню сильных духом.  Мы будем использовать базовые фигуры и эффекты деформации, создавая объекты, и затем объединим их в сложную текстуру при помощи Инструмента «Узор» и некоторых других инструментов для редактирования.  Давайте начнём! 

1. Создаём стакан с кофе

Шаг 1

Начнём с создания фиолетового  фона для нашего будущего узора. 

Создайте Новый документ размером 400 х 400  пикселей.  Возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М)  и создайте прямоугольник такого же размера, как наша монтажная область (400 х 400 пикселей), заполнив его ярким фиолетовым цветом. 

make a purple background

Шаг 2

Давайте начнём формировать пластиковый стакан с кофе  из прямоугольника 65 х 100 пикселей. 

make a rectangle for the cup base

Шаг 3

Нам нужно сделать нижнюю часть стакана  более узкой.  Возьмите Инструмент «Прямое выделение» (А) и выделите нижнюю левую опорную точку.  Нажмите клавишу Enter, чтобы открыть окно с  настройками Перемещения и установите Горизонтальное значение на 5 пикселей, Вертикальное значение на 0 пикселей.  Нажмите ОК, чтобы сдвинуть точку на 5 пикселей вправо. 

Повторите то же самое для нижней правой опорной точки,  но в этот раз установите значение сдвига по Горизонтали  на -5 пикселей, таким образом сдвинув  точку влево. 

use Move function to form the bottom of the cup

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте добавим крышку, сформировав прямоугольник 80 х 15 пикселей на верху стакана  и другой прямоугольник 70 х 10 пикселей  поверх него.  Выделите все три фигуры и перейдите на панель Выравнивания.  Выберите «Выровнять относительно ключевого объекта» и нажмите на «Горизонтальное выравнивание центр», чтобы выровнять фигуры.

add a narrow rectangles for the cap

Шаг 5

Давайте добавим бумажную полоску вокруг стакана.  Поместите прямоугольник поперёк стакана.  Выделив фигуру, перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга и установите значение Горизонтального сгиба на -10%, сдвинув ползунок вправо,  сделав фигуру слегка согнутой. 

add arched paper stripe

Шаг 6

Разберите оформление бумажной полоски (Объект > Разобрать оформление), чтобы применить  эффект Дуги.  Затем выделите дугообразную полоску  и основу стакана, возьмите Инструмент «Создание фигур» (Shift-M) и удалите ненужные части за пределами стакана,  нажав на них и удерживая клавишу   Alt.

use shape builder tool to delete the pieces

Шаг 7

Давайте изменим основу стакана.  Выделите его и примените эффект Дуги  со значением Горизонтального сгиба -5%.  Разберите оформление  стакана. 

apply arc effect to the cup base

Шаг 8

Отлично, теперь нижняя часть стакана  слегка изогнута, но нам нужно сделать его верхнюю часть снова прямой.  Выделите  стакан и возьмите Инструмент «Ножницы» (С).  Нажмите на верхнюю левую и правую опорные точки основы стакана, обрезав верхнюю  линию.  Затем просто удалите ненужную линию. 

use scissors tool to cut off a line

Шаг 9

Давайте добавим значок кофейного зерна на наш стакан.  При помощи Инструмента «Эллипс» (L) создайте эллипс размером 30 х 35  пикселей. Затем возьмите Инструмент «Карандаш» (N) и нарисуйте  волнистую вертикальную линию вдоль эллипса.  Выделите обе фигуры и примените функцию «Разделение» на панели Обработки контуров, чтобы отделить половинки эллипса  друг от друга.  В конце выделите правую часть фигуры и сдвиньте её на несколько пикселей  вправо при помощи клавиши «Стрелка вправо»  на клавиатуре. 

form a coffee bean

Шаг 10

Завершите создание стакана, разместив  кофейное зерно в центре бумажной полоски в качестве логотипа. 

Отлично! Перейдём к следующему элементу  нашего будущего узора. 

place the coffee label on the cup

2. Создаём конверт с любовным письмом 

Шаг 1

Начните формировать конверт, создав прямоугольник 80 х 55 пикселей и создав копию  поверх него (Control-C > Control-F).

Выделите верхнюю копию и перейдите в Объект > Контур > Добавить опорные точки, чтобы создать дополнительные опорные точки на каждой  стороне прямоугольника. 

for the envelope base from a rectangle

Шаг 2

Возьмите Инструмент «Удалить опорную точку» (-) и удалите нижнюю левую и правую  опорные точки, оставив одну в центре, сформировав таким образом перевёрнутый  треугольник. Выделите нижнюю опорную точку треугольника Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А) и перетащите   точку вверх, сжав фигуру. 

form an upside down triangle

Шаг 3

Давайте сформируем печать в форме сердца для нашего  конверта.

Создайте круг приблизительно 20 х 20 пикселей при помощи Инструмента «Эллипс» (L)  и удерживайте клавишу Shift.  Выделите нижнюю опорную точку Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А) и Преобразуйте её в угол при помощи функции «Преобразовать»  на верхней панели управления, сделав нижнюю часть фигуры заострённой.  

Теперь выделите верхнюю опорную точку Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А).  Перейдите к  Инструменту «Опорная точка» (Shift-C) и перетащите опорные указатели вверх, образовав V-образную фигуру. Перетащите верхнюю опорную точку вниз, сжав фигуру и таким образом сформировав стилизованное сердце.  

make a heart from a circle

Шаг 4

Поставьте печать в форме  сердца на наше любовное письмо в центре конверта. 

place the heart stamp in the center of the envelope

Шаг 5

Используйте такую же фигуру сердца для создания дополнительных  элементов, которые позже помогут нам заполнить пустые пространства нашего узора.  Крылатое  сердце – это простая комбинация созданной фигуры и группы  скруглённых прямоугольников, созданных Инструментом «Скруглённый прямоугольник» (он находится в том же выпадающем меню, где и Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) на панели Инструментов). 

make additional heart elements

3. Создаём вкусное яблоко 

Шаг 1

Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (L) и начните формировать яблоко из круга 75 х 75 пикселей.  Выделите верхнюю опорную точку Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А) и перетащите её  вниз, сделав верх фигуры более плоским.  

form the apple from a circle

Шаг 2

При помощи Инструмента «Опорная точка» (Shift-C) расположите указатели верхней опорной точки, перетащив их вверх.  Проделайте то же самое с указателями нижней опорной точки, перетащив их вниз, создав перевёрнутую букву  V. 

Наконец, выделите обе боковые опорные точки и  сдвиньте их слегка вверх при помощи клавиши «Стрелка вверх», сделав таким образом нижнюю часть яблока более узкой. 

Если хотите убедиться, что двигаете  опорные указатели симметрично, используйте Направляющие линии,  которые помогут вам выровнять кончики указателей.  Включите Линейки (Control-R) и перетащите Направляющие линии вниз от  верхней линейки на монтажную область.  Затем вы легко можете удалить ненужную направляющую линию, если выделите и  удалите её или уберёте направляющие, перейдя в Вид >  Направляющие > Удалить направляющие.   

edit the anchor handles of the apple shape

Шаг 3

Теперь давайте сформируем листок из маленького, ровного  круга. Выделите верхнюю и нижнюю опорные точки круга и Преобразуйте их в углы при помощи  функции «Преобразовать» на верхней  панели управления.  Сожмите фигуру, сделав её тоньше, и поверните листок, поместив его  поверх левой части яблока. 

Добавьте яблоку стилизованную ямку,  создав изогнутую линию Карандашом (N).

make a leaf from a circle

Шаг 4

Наконец, добавьте стебель. 

Сформируйте  маленькую вертикальную полоску Инструментом «Прямоугольник» (М) и сделайте его нижнюю часть уже, сдвинув нижние опорные точки  ближе к центру фигуры при помощи стрелок на клавиатуре. 

Присоедините стебель к яблоку и приготовьтесь к  следующему элементу нашего узора! 

make a stem from rectangle

4. Формируем сияющий бриллиант 

Шаг 1

Создайте прямоугольник 75 х 18 пикселей.  Скопируйте фигуру (Control-C > Control-F), возьмитесь за верхний край прямоугольника Инструментом «Выделение» (V), нажав и удерживая, и затем перетащите его вниз,  формируя большой прямоугольник под первым.  

start forming a diamond from rectangles

Шаг 2

Выделив большую фигуру, перейдите в Объект > Контур > Добавить опорные точки.  Выберите Инструмент «Удалить опорную точку» (-) и удалите нижнюю левую и правую опорные точки, формируя  перевёрнутый треугольник. 

turn the lower rectangle into the triangle

Шаг 3

Теперь давайте изменим верхнюю часть  бриллианта.  Выделите верхнюю левую опорную точку Инструментом «Прямое выделение» (А) и нажмите Enter, чтобы открыть меню «Перемещение».  Сдвиньте точку на 10 пикселей вправо, установив Горизонтальное значение на 10 пикселей и Вертикальное значение на 0 пикселей.  Проделайте то же самое с верхней опорной точкой, двигая её в противоположном направлении,  установив Горизонтальное значение на -10 пикселей.

move the upper anchor points closer to each other

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте изобразим грани бриллианта.  Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и создайте короткую линию, параллельную левой стороне верхней фигуры.  Продолжите линию,  присоединив её к нижней точки бриллианта. 

Снова нажмите Р, чтобы начать новую линию. Нарисуйте прямую вертикальную линию в  середине бриллианта, удерживая клавишу Shift.

Наконец, выделите первую грань и  дважды кликните на Инструменте «Зеркальное отражение» (О). В меню настроек Зеркального отражения выберите  Вертикальную ось и нажмите на Копировать, чтобы создать зеркальную копию  линии. Поместите копию в правой части бриллианта, создав симметричную фигуру. 

add lines with pen tool for the facets

Шаг 5

Давайте сделаем наш бриллиант сияющим!  Нарисуйте три вертикальные линии поверх бриллианта и Сгруппируйте их (Control-G).  Выровняйте линии горизонтально относительно бриллианта при помощи панели Выравнивания.  

Выделите линии, возьмите Инструмент «Поворот» (R), удерживайте клавишу Alt и нажмите в центре  бриллианта, чтобы установить ось поворота.  Отпустите кнопку мыши, чтобы открыть меню Поворота.  Здесь установите Угол на 360/30.  Таким образом Adobe Illustrator автоматически рассчитает  необходимое значение угла для 30 копий, поэтому  нет необходимости устанавливать угол наугад.  Нажмите на кнопку «Копировать», чтобы создать повёрнутую копию. 

Наконец, несколько раз нажмите Control-D, чтобы создать все 30 копий, создающих стилизованный эффект сияния.  

Отличная работа!  Двигаемся дальше. 

add shine to the diamond

5. Рисуем винтажный ключ

Шаг 1

Давайте начнём формировать ключ с верхней  декоративной части.  Создайте круг 30 х 30 пикселей и поместите круг поменьше внутри первого, образовав кольцо.  Выделите обе фигуры и  примените функцию «Вычитание переднего» на панели Обработки контуров, чтобы вырезать внутренний круг,  проделав в кольце отверстие. Сейчас вы не заметите никакой разницы, но увидите результат этой операции несколько шагов спустя, когда мы будем  раскрашивать объекты. 

Создайте ещё две копии кольца и  объедините их в сложную композицию, поместив один круг поверх двух  других и сделав так, чтобы они пересекались. 

create the top of the key from circles

Шаг 2

Используйте Инструмент «Скруглённый прямоугольник», чтобы создать длинный, узкий стержень ключа.  Добавьте  два маленьких скруглённых прямоугольника в нижней части стержня, поместив их   горизонтально.  Затем выделите все скруглённые прямоугольники и Объедините их на панели Обработки контуров,  создав единую фигуру. 

С ключами мы закончили!  Давайте создадим  следующий объект! 

add a key shaft

6. Создаём музыкальную ноту 

Шаг 1

Возьмите Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) и начните формировать ноту из прямоугольника 30 х 10 пикселей для верхней горизонтальной части, которая называется «вязкой». 

Создайте тонкую вертикальную полоску для  шейки ноты. Выделите обе фигуры и нажмите на вязку, удерживая  клавишу Alt для создания Ключевого объекта. Перейдите на панель Выравнивания и выровняйте шейку по  левой стороне вязки. 

Добавьте ещё одну шейку на правой стороне  ноты, выровняв её по правой стороне вязки. 

Наконец, присоедините два круга 15 х 15 пикселей к нижней части шеек, сформировав так называемые  «головки» ноты. 

form the note from rectangles and ellipses

Шаг 2

Давайте слегка наклоним ноту.  Возьмите Инструмент «Прямое выделение» (А) и выделите всю правую сторону ноты, нажав и перетащив рамку  выделения на нужную часть объекта. 

Удерживайте левую кнопку мыши и перетащите  выбранную часть ноты вверх, создав наклон фигуры. 

Отлично!  Давайте перейдём к раскраске наших  объектов!

make the note skewed

7. Применяем яркие цвета к выбранным объектам 

Шаг 1

Мы будем использовать ограниченную палитру цветов, состоящую только из фиолетового и жёлтого цветов и  их более светлых и тёмных оттенков. 

Примените цвета к стакану. Давайте сделаем его более детальным.  Выделите основу чашки и перейдите в Объект > Контур > Создать параллельный контур.  Установите  Параллель на -5 пикселей, создав дополнительную фигуру  внутри стакана.  Заполните её светло-жёлтым цветом, добавив объёма нашему плоскому  стакану. 

color the cup and add details with offset path

Шаг 2

Теперь давайте раскрасим конверт при помощи  той же техники, чтобы сделать его более детальным.  Примените функцию «Параллельный контур», чтобы создать дополнительные фигуры внутри  прямоугольной базы и внутри штампа. 

Скопируйте верхнюю треугольную часть  конверта (Control-C > Control-F) и сдвиньте копию слегка вверх.  Затем выделите оба треугольника и используйте Инструмент «Создание фигур» (Shift-M),  удерживая клавишу Alt для удаления  ненужной части за пределами конверта. 

color the envelope and add details

Шаг 3

Давайте перейдём к нашему бриллианту и сделаем  линии граней слегка толще, установив толщину Обводки на 4 на верхней панели  управления.  Разберите оформление (Объект > Разобрать оформление), чтобы превратить линии в объекты.  Окрасьте основу бриллианта в жёлтые оттенки и примените очень тёмный коричневый цвет к линиям граней. Установите Режим наложения на Осветление, сделав линии граней полупрозрачными. 

color the diamond

Шаг 4

Раскрасьте другие объекты из нашего набора при помощи функции «Параллельный контур» и добавляя второстепенные  детали, такие как маленькие кружки бликов, сделав элементы интересными. 

color all the elements

8. Формируем сплошной узор 

Шаг 1

Теперь, когда все объекты готовы, давайте  объединим их в сложную, сплошную текстуру! 

Давайте на время спрячем монтажную область, перейдя в Вид > Спрятать монтажные области (Control-H),  чтобы ничего не отвлекало нас от нашего узора.  Выделите все элементы и перейдите в Объект > Узор > Создать.  

go to Object Pattern Make

Шаг 2

Теперь, когда вы вошли в режим создания  узора, перейдите в окно Настроек узора и установите Ширину и Высоту Мозаики на 400 х 400 пикселей (что равняется размеру нашей монтажной области). Оставьте все остальные опции  по умолчанию (убедитесь, что Вид мозаики  установлен на Сетку). 

Начните помещать объекты внутрь Краёв мозаики, вращая их и объединяя в хорошо сбалансированную композицию без пробелов и пустых пространств. 

use pattern tool to combine the elements

Шаг 3

Установите значение Копий на 7 х 7 в меню Настроек узора и  уменьшите масштаб, чтобы взглянуть на целый узор.  Копии с уменьшенной яркостью вокруг краёв Мозаики помогут вам найти пустые пятна и второстепенные дефекты по мере продвижения объектов по кругу.   Эти копии будут двигаться вместе с реальными элементами, обеспечивая предпросмотр. 

use dimmed copies to edit your pattern

Шаг 4

Наконец, когда композиция готова,  вернитесь в нормальный режим, дважды кликнув в любом месте вне Краёв мозаики.  Теперь вы можете найти созданный узор на панели Образцов. Давайте применим его к фигуре! 

Снова вернитесь на монтажную область, перейдя в Вид > Показать монтажные области (Control-H).  Выделите фиолетовый прямоугольник фона, который мы создали в самом первом шаге и измените его размер на 800 х 600 пикселей на верхней панели управления.  Создайте копию поверх него (Control-C > Control-F) и примените наш сплошной узор, выбрав его на панели Образцов.  

apply the created pattern

Шаг 5

Давайте сделаем несколько финальных улучшений! 

Сначала слегка уменьшим масштаб элементов.  Выделив фигуру узора, дважды кликните на Инструменте «Масштаб» (S), чтобы открыть окно  с настройками Масштаба. Установите значение Равномерности  на 75% и уберите галочки со всех пунктов, кроме Трансформирования узоров. Нажмите ОК, чтобы применить изменения.  

use the scale tool

Шаг 6

Теперь дважды кликните на Инструменте «Поворот» (R) и здесь установите Угол 20 градусов.  Отметьте галочкой только пункт «Трансформировать Узоры» и нажмите ОК

use the rotate tool

Добавим фиолетового в День сильных духом! 

Отличная работа!  Наш сложный сплошной узор  ко Дню сильных духом готов!  Надеюсь, вам понравилось следовать этому руководству,  и вы нашли для себя новые приёмы формирования объектов из базовых фигур и  объединения их в текстуру. 

Получайте удовольствие, будьте креативными и не забудьте  посмотреть другие руководства ко Дню сильных духом: 

spirit day purple seamless pattern
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Spirit Day
Design

Design a Spirit Day Seamless Pattern in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

This year, Spirit Day falls on 15 October. 

Millions go purple on Spirit Day in a stand against bullying and to show their support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) youth. 
Observed annually since 2010, individuals, schools, organizations, corporations, and public figures wear purple, which symbolizes 'spirit' on the rainbow flag.

Follow along with this tutorial and create a vivid seamless pattern with fancy flat elements, symbolizing love and friendship and dedicated to GLAAD’s Spirit Day. We’ll be using basic shapes and warp effects, creating the objects and then combining them into an intricate texture, using the Pattern Tool and some other editing tools. Let’s get started!

1. Make a Coffee Cup

Step 1

To start with, let’s make a nice purple background for our future pattern. 

Create a New Document of 400 x 400 px size. Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and make a rectangle of the same size as our Artboard (400 x 400 px), filling it with vivid purple color.

make a purple background

Step 2

Let’s start forming a plastic cup of coffee from a rectangle of 65 x 100 px.

make a rectangle for the cup base

Step 3

We need to make the bottom part of the cup narrower. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the lower left anchor point. Hit the Enter key to open the Move options window and set the Horizontal value to 5 px, Vertical value to 0 px. Click OK to move the point 5 px to the right.

Repeat the same for the bottom right anchor point, but this time set the Horizontal move value to -5 px, thus moving the point to the left.

use Move function to form the bottom of the cup

Step 4

Now let’s add a cap by forming an 80 x 15 px rectangle on top of the cup. And another rectangle above, of 70 x 10 px size. Select all three shapes and head to the Align panel. Select Align to Key Object and click Horizontal Align Center to align the shapes.

add a narrow rectangles for the cap

Step 5

Let’s add a paper stripe around the cup. Put a rectangle across the base of the cup. Keeping the shape selected, go to Effect > Warp > Arc and set the Horizontal Bend value to -10% by moving the slider to the right, making the shape slightly bent.

add arched paper stripe

Step 6

Object > Expand Appearance of the paper stripe to apply the Arc effect. Then select both the arched stripe and the cup base, take the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M) and delete the unneeded pieces outside the cup by clicking them, while holding down the Alt key.

use shape builder tool to delete the pieces

Step 7

Let’s modify the base of the cup as well. Select it and apply the Arc effect with -5% Horizontal Bend value. Object > Expand Appearance of the cup.

apply arc effect to the cup base

Step 8

Great, now the bottom of the cup is slightly arched, but we need to make its top part straight again. Select the cup and take the Scissors Tool (C). Click the upper left and upper right anchor points of the cup base, cutting off the top line. Then just delete the unneeded line.

use scissors tool to cut off a line

Step 9

Let’s add a coffee-bean label to our cup. Start by making a 30 x 35 px ellipse using the Ellipse Tool (L). Then arm yourself with the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a wavy vertical line across the ellipse. Select both shapes and use the Divide function of the Pathfinder panel to split the ellipse apart. Finally, select the right part of the shape and move it a few pixels to the right, using the right arrow key of your keyboard.

form a coffee bean

Step 10

Finish up with the cup by placing the coffee bean in the center of the paper stripe for the logotype.

Great! Let’s move to the next element of our future pattern.

place the coffee label on the cup

2. Create a Love Letter Envelope

Step 1

Start forming the envelope by making an 80 x 55 px rectangle and creating a copy on top of it (Control-C > Control-F)

Select the top copy and go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points to create additional anchor points on each side of the rectangle.

for the envelope base from a rectangle

Step 2

Take the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) and delete the bottom left and bottom right anchor points, leaving the one in the center, thus forming an upside down triangle. Select the bottom anchor point of the triangle with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and drag the point up, squashing the shape.

form an upside down triangle

Step 3

Let’s form a heart-shaped seal for our envelope. 

Make circle of about a 20 x 20 px size, using the Ellipse Tool (L) and holding down the Shift key. Select the bottom anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and Convert it to corner with the help of the Convert function in the top control panel, making the bottom of the shape pointed.

Now select the upper anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A). Switch to the Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and drag the anchor handles up, creating a V-like shape. Drag the top anchor point down, squashing the shape and thus forming a stylized heart. 

make a heart from a circle

Step 4

Seal our love letter by placing the heart stamp in the center of the envelope.

place the heart stamp in the center of the envelope

Step 5

Use the same heart shape to make additional elements, which will later help us to fill the blank spaces of our pattern. The winged heart is a simple combination of the created shape and a group of rounded rectangles, made with the Rounded Rectangle Tool (it is located in the same drop-down menu as the Rectangle Tool (M) in the Tools panel).

make additional heart elements

3. Make a Yummy Apple

Step 1

Take the Ellipse Tool (L) and start forming the apple from a 75 x 75 px circle. Select the upper anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and drag it down, making the top of the shape flatter. 

form the apple from a circle

Step 2

Use the Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) to position the handles of the top anchor point, dragging them up. And do the same for the handles of the lower anchor point, dragging them down, making them look like an upside-down letter V.

Finally, select both side anchor points and move them up a little, using the up arrow key, thus making the bottom part of the apply narrower.

If you want to make sure that you move the anchor handles symmetrically, use the Guides, which will help you to align the tips of the handles. Turn on the Rulers (Control-R) and simply drag the Guides down to your Artboard from the upper ruler. Then you can easily remove the unneeded guide if you select and delete it, or clear the guides in View > Guides > Clear Guides.

edit the anchor handles of the apple shape

Step 3

Now let’s form the leaf from a small, even circle. Select the top and bottom anchor points of the circle and Convert them to corners with the help of the Convert function in the top control panel. Squash the shape, making it thinner, and rotate the leaf, placing it above the left half of the apple.

Add a stylized dimple to the apple by making an arched line with the Pencil Tool (N).

make a leaf from a circle

Step 4

Finally, add a stem to our apple. 

Form a small vertical stripe with the Rectangle Tool (M) and make its bottom part narrower by moving the bottom anchor points closer to the center of the shape with the help of the arrow keys.

Attach the stem to the apple and get ready for the next element of our pattern!

make a stem from rectangle

4. Form a Shiny Diamond

Step 1

Make a 75 x 18 px rectangle. Duplicate the shape (Control-C > Control-F), grab the upper edge of the rectangle with the Selection Tool (V) by clicking and holding, and drag it down, forming a bigger rectangle beneath the first one.

start forming a diamond from rectangles

Step 2

Keeping the bigger shape selected, go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. Select the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) and delete the lower left and lower right anchor points, forming an upside-down triangle.

turn the lower rectangle into the triangle

Step 3

Now let’s modify the upper part of the diamond. Select the top left anchor point with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and press Enter to open the Move menu. Move the point 10 px to the right by setting the Horizontal value to 10 px and Vertical value to 0 px. Do the same for the top right anchor point, moving it in the opposite direction by setting the Horizontal value to -10 px.

move the upper anchor points closer to each other

Step 4

Now let’s depict the facets of the diamond. Take the Pen Tool (P) and make a short line, parallel to the left side of the top shape. Continue the line, attaching it to the bottom point of the diamond. 

Press P again to start a new line and draw a straight vertical line in the middle of the diamond, holding down the Shift key.

Finally, select the first facet line and double-click the Reflect Tool (O). In the Reflect options menu, select the Vertical Axis and click Copy to make a mirrored copy of the line. Place the copy at the right part of the diamond, making a symmetrical shape.

add lines with pen tool for the facets

Step 5

Let’s make our diamond shine! Draw three vertical lines on top of the diamond and Group (Control-G) them. Align the lines to the diamond horizontally, using the Align panel.

Select the lines, take the Rotate Tool (R), hold down Alt and click in the center of the diamond to place a pivot point. Release the mouse key to open the Rotate menu. From here, set the Angle to 360/30. This way Adobe Illustrator will automatically calculate the needed angle value for 30 copies, so no need to set the angle by guesswork. Click the Copy button to make a rotated copy.

And, finally, press Control-D multiple times to create all 30 copies, depicting a stylized shiny effect.

Great work! Let’s move on.

add shine to the diamond

5. Draw a Vintage Key

Step 1

Let’s start forming the key from its top decorative part. Make a circle of 30 x 30 px and place a smaller one inside, creating a ring. Select both shapes and use the Minus Front function of Pathfinder to cut out the inner circle, making a hole in the ring. You won’t notice any difference right now, but you will see the result of this operation a few steps later, when we’ll be coloring our objects.

Make two more copies of the ring and combine them into an intricate composition, placing one circle on top of two others and making them overlap.

create the top of the key from circles

Step 2

Use the Rounded Rectangle Tool to make a long, narrow shaft for the key. Add two smaller rounded rectangles at the bottom of the shaft, placing them horizontally. Then select all the rounded rectangles and Unite them in Pathfinder, merging them into a single shape.

And that’s all for the key! Let’s make the next item!

add a key shaft

6. Create a Music Note

Step 1

Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and start forming the note from a 30 x 10 px rectangle for its top horizontal part, which is called "the beam".

Make a thin vertical stripe for the stem of the note. Select both shapes and click the beam while holding down Alt to make it a Key Object. Head to the Align panel and align the stem to the left side of the beam.

Add another stem in the right side of the note, aligning it to the right side of the beam.

Finally, attach two 15 x 15 px circles to the bottom of the stems, forming the so-called “heads” of the note.

form the note from rectangles and ellipses

Step 2

Let’s skew our note a little. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the whole right side of the note by clicking and dragging the selection frame above the needed part of the object. 

Hold down the left mouse key and move the selected part of the note up, making the shape skewed. 

Awesome! Let’s continue and color our objects!

make the note skewed

7. Apply Bright Colors to the Created Items

Step 1

We’ll be using a limited range of colors for our palette, consisting only of purple and yellow colors and their lighter and darker shades.

Apply the colors to the cup, and let’s make it a bit more detailed. Select the base of the cup and go to Object > Path > Offset Path. Set the Offset to -5 px, creating an additional shape inside the cup. Fill it with lighter yellow color, adding dimension to our flat cup.

color the cup and add details with offset path

Step 2

Now let’s color the envelope, using the same technique to make it more detailed. Use the Offset Path function to make additional shapes inside the rectangle base and inside the heart stamp.

As for the top triangle part of the envelope, duplicate it (Control-C > Control-F) and move the copy up a bit. Then select both triangles and use the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M), holding down Alt to delete the unwanted piece outside the envelope. 

color the envelope and add details

Step 3

Let’s move to our diamond and make the facet lines a bit thicker, setting the Stroke weight to 4 pt in the top control panel. Object > Expand Appearance to turn the lines into objects. Color the base of the diamond with yellow shades and apply a very dark-brown color to the facet lines. Set the Blending Mode to Screen, thus making the facet lines semi-transparent.

color the diamond

Step 4

Color other items of our set, using the Offset Path function and adding minor details, such as tiny circle highlights, making the elements look fancy.

color all the elements

8. Render a Fancy Seamless Pattern

Step 1

Now that all the items are ready, let’s combine them into an intricate seamless texture!

Let’s hide the Artboard for a while in View > Hide Artboards (Control-H), so that nothing distracts us from our pattern. Select all the elements and go to Object > Pattern > Make.

go to Object  Pattern  Make

Step 2

Now that you’ve entered pattern creation mode, head to the Pattern Options window and set the Width and Height of the Tile to 400 x 400 px (which is equal to the size of our Artboard). Leave all other options as default (make sure that the Tile Type is set to Grid).

Start placing the objects inside the Tile Edge, rotating them and combining them into a nice balanced composition with no gaps or blank spaces.

use pattern tool to combine the elements

Step 3

Set the Copies value to 7 x 7 in the Pattern Options menu and zoom out to have an overall look at your pattern. The dimmed copies around the Tile edges will help you to find the empty spots and minor flaws, as you move the objects around. Those copies will move together with your real elements, showing a live preview.

use dimmed copies to edit your pattern

Step 4

Finally, when you’re happy with the composition, return to normal mode by double-clicking anywhere outside the Tile Edge. Now you can find the pattern you created in the Swatches panel. Let’s apply it to a shape!

Switch the Artboard back again in View > Show Artboards (Control-H). Select the purple background rectangle that we made in our very first step, and resize it to 800 x 600 px in the control panel on top. Create a copy on top (Control-C > Control-F) and apply our seamless pattern by selecting it from the Swatches panel.

apply the created pattern

Step 5

Let’s make some final adjustments!

Firstly, we’ll make the scale of the elements a bit smaller. Keeping the pattern shape selected, double-click the Scale Tool (S) to open the Scale options window. Set the Uniform value to 75% and uncheck all the boxes, except for the Transform Patterns checkbox. Click OK to apply the changes.

use the scale tool

Step 6

Now double-click the Rotate Tool (R) and from here, set the Angle to 20 degrees. Check only the Transform Patterns box and click OK.

use the rotate tool

Go Purple for Spirit Day!

Great job! Our intricate seamless pattern for Spirit Day is ready! I hope you’ve enjoyed following this tutorial and learned some new tips and tricks about forming the objects from basic shapes and combining them into a texture.

Have fun, be creative, and don’t forget to check out some other tutorials dedicated to Spirit Day:

spirit day purple seamless pattern
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.