Cyber Monday Sale 40% off unlimited courses & creative assets! 40% off unlimited assets! Save Now
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Brushes

Создаём Собственную Гранжевую Кисть в Adobe Photoshop

by
Read Time:9 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Photoshop Brushes from Scratch.
Create Your Own Blood Spatter Adobe Photoshop Brush

Russian (Pусский) translation by Marat Sadygaliev (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Это довольно простой способ создания собственного набора гранжевых кистей в Adobe Photoshop, используя только пару техник. Основная идея заключается в использовании текстур и фильтров для создания гранжевых линий и узоров. Присоединитесь ко мне и мы создадим свой набор кистей, готовых к рисованию. Для этого мы используем три различных источника текстур: отсканированную бумагу, объекты и исходную фотографию.

1. Отсканированная Текстура: Редактируем Акварельную Бумагу

Шаг 1

Вы можете скачать отсканированную текстуру акварельной бумаги в приложении к этому уроку или самостоятельно отсканируйте текстурную бумагу. Текстура бумаги едва заметна, поэтому я начну с коррекции Уровней (Levels) (Ctrl+L). Установите значение 0,12 в окошке для средних тонов для Входных уровней (Input Levels), чтобы текстура стала более выраженной. Нажмите кнопку 'ОК'.

Changing LevelsChanging LevelsChanging Levels

Шаг 2

Коррекция уровнями усилила жёлтый тон на бумаге. Чтобы исправить это, идём Изображение – Коррекция –Обесцветить (Image - Adjustments -Desaturate ) или нажмите клавиш (Shift+Ctrl+U).

Desaturating the imageDesaturating the imageDesaturating the image

Шаг 13

Далее идём Изображение – Коррекция –Порог (Image - Adjustments – Threshold). Установите Порог яркости (Threshold level) на 231. Нажмите кнопку 'ОК'. Идём в меню Файл - Сохранить как (File > Save As), чтобы сохранить файл в формате psd или нажмите клавиши (Shift+Ctrl+S).

Altering ThresholdAltering ThresholdAltering Threshold

2. Отсканированная Текстура: Применяем Акварельную Текстуру

Шаг 1

Создайте новый документ с разрешением 72dpi (если вам нужна кисть в качестве интернет-ресурса) или 300dpi (для печати в большом масштабе). Создайте новый слой (Ctrl+N), чтобы приступить к созданию пользовательской кисти.

Выберите инструмент Кисть (Brush Tool (B), установите стандартную мягкую кисть в панели настроек кисти. Нарисуйте небольшой узор или рисунок, примерно как на скриншоте ниже (в том случае, если у вас нет определенной идеи насчёт формы кисти, которую вы бы хотели создать).

Choosing a default brushChoosing a default brushChoosing a default brush

Шаг 2

В этом шаге нам пригодится текстура акварельной бумаги, которую мы ранее создали.  Идём Фильтр – Искажение – Смещение (Filter - Distort – Displace). В данном случае, мы применим настройки по умолчанию. В появившемся окне, выберите сохранённый ранее .psd файл. Используйте акварельную текстуру, которую мы создали в первой части урока.

Using the displace filterUsing the displace filterUsing the displace filter

Шаг 3

Продолжаем редактирование текстуры, идём Фильтр –Шум – Добавить шум (Filter - Noise - Add Noise). Установите настройки на своё усмотрение. В моём случае, я установил Эффект (Amount) на 29.55%, Размытие по Гауссу (Gaussian), а также поставил галочку в окошке Монохромный (Monochromatic).

Adding noiseAdding noiseAdding noise

Шаг 4

Выберите инструмент Волшебная палочка (Magic Wand Tool)(W). Щёлкните по пустому пространству вокруг небольшого узора кисти, чтобы выделить его. Проведите инверсию выделенной области (Shift+Ctrl+I), а затем идём Редактирование - Определить кисть (Edit > Define Brush Preset), чтобы сохранить кисть в качестве новой пользовательской кисти в библиотеке кистей. Дайте название своей кисти.

creating a new brushcreating a new brushcreating a new brush

Шаг 5

Протестируйте свою новую кисть! Поменяйте настройки в панели Кисть (Brush). Поиграйте со следующими настройками: Размер (Size), Угол (Angle), Шум (Noise) и Динамика формы (Shape Dynamics), чтобы дополнительно настроить свою кисть. Сохраните кисть с новыми настройками.

using your new brushusing your new brushusing your new brush

3. Отсканированная Текстура: Вязаная Строчка

Шаг 1

В желании поэкспериментировать с различными отсканированными текстурами, я решил использовать игрушку, которую связал в этом уроке по Рукоделию. Ради искусства я сплюснул игрушку, чтобы отсканировать её. Вы можете скачать отсканированную текстуру в приложении к этому уроку или самостоятельно отсканируйте любое вязаное изделие или фрагменты кружева ваших личных вещей (игрушки, шарфы, перчатки и т.д.).

Мы повторим некоторые шаги из предыдущих двух разделов. Необходимо выполнить следующее:

  1. Нарисуйте стандартной кистью набросок формы своей будущей кисти (обратите внимание, что жёсткость кисти должна быть выше, чем жёсткость кисти, которую мы использовали в Разделе 2).
  2. Сохраните вязаную текстуру в .psd формате.
  3. Примените фильтр Смещение (Displace), используя ранее сохранённый .psd файл вязаной текстуры. Опять же, я использовал настройки по умолчанию, чтобы создать результат, как на скриншоте ниже.
using another scanned textureusing another scanned textureusing another scanned texture

Шаг 2

Ради создания гранжевого стиля, а также ради экспериментирования, давайте применим фильтр Смещение (Displace) ещё несколько раз. Я поменял значение Масштаба по горизонтали (Horizontal Scale) на 25, поставил галочки в окошках Растянуть (Stretch to Fit) и Повторить граничные пиксели (Repeat Edge Pixels). Нажмите несколько раз клавиши (Ctrl+F), чтобы применить тот же самый фильтр. Как только вам понравилась кисть, идём Редактирование - Определить кисть (Edit > Define Brush Preset). Сохраните свою вторую кисть в библиотеке кистей. Дайте название кисти.

displacing the new texturedisplacing the new texturedisplacing the new texture

Шаг 3

То же самое, протестируйте свою новую кисть.

using the new custom brushusing the new custom brushusing the new custom brush

4. Текстура Фотографии: Используем Исходную Фотографию. Часть 1

Шаг 1

Наша текстура для этой части урока - это исходная фотография сухой грязи, которую можно купить на сайте Photodune. Мы создадим два вида кистей, используя данную фотографию. Первый метод тот же самый, как и в предыдущем разделе:

  1. Откройте исходную фотографию, сохраните её в .psd формате.
  2. Используя стандартную кисть, нарисуйте форму своей будущей кисти, это могут быть линии или всё, что угодно.
  3. Загрузите исходную текстуру через фильтр Смещение (Displace). На этот раз, я установил Масштаб по горизонтали (Horizontal Scale) на 25Масштаб по вертикали (Vertical Scale) на 30.
  4. Выделите, а затем сохраните свою кисть.
Setting up a new textured brushSetting up a new textured brushSetting up a new textured brush

Шаг 2

То же самое, поэкспериментируйте со своей новой кистью. Поменяйте Колебание угла (angle jitter) для параметра Динамика формы (Shape Dynamics) в панели настроек Кисть (Brush). Примените дополнительный шум или поменяйте значения Нажима (Flow) и Непрозрачности (Opacity).

playing with the new brushplaying with the new brushplaying with the new brush

5. Текстура Фотографии: Используем Исходную Фотографию. Часть 2

Шаг 1

Этот метод создаёт кисть, которая больше похожа на текстурный элемент. Откройте исходное изображение из Раздела 4. Добавьте коррекцию Уровней (Levels). Установите Входные значения Точка белого (White Input Level) на 147, а Входные значения Точка серого (Gray Input Level) на 0.10. Далее идём Изображение – Коррекция – Порог (Image - Adjustments - Threshold). Установите Порог яркости (Threshold level) на 110 или примерно. Нажмите кнопку 'ОК'.

altering the levels of a stock photoaltering the levels of a stock photoaltering the levels of a stock photo

Шаг 2

Выделите белый цвет на изображении, а затем сохраните в качестве новой кисти.

making a new brushmaking a new brushmaking a new brush

Шаг 3

Проделайте то же самое, что мы проделывали с каждой кистью, поэкспериментируйте со своей новой кистью на новом слое или на новом документе. Сохраните новую кисть с дополнительными настройками в панели Кисть (Brush), если, конечно же, хотите.

playing with new textureplaying with new textureplaying with new texture

6. Создаём Гранжевые Кисти с Нуля

Шаг 1

Наконец, мы подошли к самой интересной части этого урока (на мой взгляд): создание гранжевых кистей с нуля! Начните с того же самого, с чего мы начинали создание других стилей кисти: рисуем кляксы, линии, закорючки с помощью стандартной кисти. К нарисованным элементам, примените фильтр Добавить шум (Add Noise) с эффектом шума 155.68%.

adding noise to a doodleadding noise to a doodleadding noise to a doodle

Шаг 2

Далее, примените искажение к нарисованным элементам, для этого идём Фильтр – Искажение – Рябь (Filter - Distort - Ripple) с количеством ряби 797% (или установите на своё усмотрение). Продолжайте изменять вид формы вашей кисти, добавив новый эффект, идём Фильтр –Оформление – Фасет (Filter - Pixelate - Facet).

ripple filterripple filterripple filter

Шаг 3

Давайте создадим форму, напоминающую причудливую карту мира, для этого идём Фильтр – Стилизация –Ветер (Filter - Stylize - Wind). Установите Способ (Method) на Ураган (Blast) Направление (Direction) на Справа (From the Right). Нажмите кнопку 'ОК', а теперь давайте перейдём к заключительным шагам, чтобы создать гранжевую кисть.

wind filterwind filterwind filter

Шаг 4

Создайте новый документ, выберите кисть с рассеивающим эффектом. В моём случае, я выбрал кисть Плоская Веерная с Густой Щетиной (Flat Fan High Bristle Count), которая стала стандартной кистью с версии Adobe Photoshop CS5. Не спешите, прокрасьте кистью документ, добавив текстуру. Сохраните документ в .psd формате.

adobe photoshop cc brushadobe photoshop cc brushadobe photoshop cc brush

Шаг 5

Используйте .psd файл, который мы создали в Шаге 4 для Смещения (Displace) текстуры, над которой мы работали в заключительной части урока. То же самое, я применил несколько раз Масштаб по горизонтали (Horizontal Scale) 25 и Масштаб по вертикали (Vertical Scale) 30.

using the displace feature againusing the displace feature againusing the displace feature again

Шаг 6

Обратите внимание на изменение внешнего вида кисти, когда мы применили фильтр Смещение (Displace) один раз и когда мы применили тот же фильтр три раза. Когда вас устроит внешний вид вашей кисти, выделите её, а затем идём Редактирование – Определить кисть (Edit - Define Brush Preset), чтобы сохранить кисть в библиотеке кистей.

differences in displacingdifferences in displacingdifferences in displacing

Фантастическая Работа! Мы Завершили Урок!

Используя три источника текстур и пару техник искажения штрихов кисти, мы создали небольшой набор гранжевых кистей. Создайте больше кистей различной формы, текстуры и цвета, чтобы вы могли использовать их при создании своих работ или редактировании фотографий.

Completed grunge brushes used to create textureCompleted grunge brushes used to create textureCompleted grunge brushes used to create texture
One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Brushes

Create Your Own Grunge Brushes in Adobe Photoshop

This post is part of a series called Photoshop Brushes from Scratch.
Create Your Own Blood Spatter Adobe Photoshop Brush
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

It's a fairly easy feat to create custom sets of grunge brushes in Adobe Photoshop once you have a couple of techniques down. The main ideas are to have a textured source and to play around with filters that manipulate the look of sketched-out lines and doodles. Join me below in creating a custom set of brushes, ready for painting with, using three sources of texture: scanned paper and objects, a stock photo, and manipulated doodles within Photoshop itself.

1. Scanned Texture: Preparing the Watercolor Paper

Step 1

You can download the watercolor paper by hitting the Download Attachment button to the right of this tutorial, or scan textured paper of your own. The texture of the paper is subtle, so I'm going to start by manipulating the Levels (Control-L). Enter 0.12 in the middle box under Input Levels to bring out the texture.  

Changing Levels

Step 2

Altering the levels has brought out the yellow tone of the paper. Bring it down by simply Desaturating (Shift-Control-U) the image under Image > Adjustments.

Desaturating the image

Step 3

Under Image > Adjustments > Threshold, move the slider to the right, bringing the Threshold level to 231Under File, choose Save As (Shift-Control-S) and save the file as a .psd.

Altering Threshold

2. Scanned Texture: Applying the Watercolor Texture

Step 1

Create a New Document (72dpi if you need a brush for web-based media, or 300dpi if you'd like to create larger, print-based media). Create a New Layer (Control-N) to begin making custom brushes.

Using the Brush Tool (B), choose a default, soft brush from the Brush panel. Brush out a small pattern or design, something similar to what's seen below (unless you have a specific shape you'd like your brush to be, of course).

Choosing a default brush

Step 2

This is where the watercolor paper from the previous section comes in handy. Go to Filter > Distort > Displace. In this case, we'll use the default settings. The dialog box that pops up will also prompt you to load a .psd file. Use the watercolor texture file created in Section 1.

Using the displace filter

Step 3

Further manipulate your layer by going to Filter > Noise > Add Noise and input the settings of your choice. In my case, I chose 29.55%Gaussian, and kept it as Monochromatic.

Adding noise

Step 4

Grab the Magic Wand Tool (W) and select the negative space around the little brush design you've been creating. Select Inverse (Shift-Control-I) and go to Edit > Define Brush Preset in order to name and save your new custom brush in the Brush panel.

creating a new brush

Step 5

Play with your new brush! Change the settings within the Brush panel. Play with the SizeAngleNoise, and Shape Dynamics to further customize your brush, and save an additional copy within the panel itself.

using your new brush

3. Scanned Texture: Crochet Toy

Step 1

In an effort to experiment with various scanned textures, I used the toy I made for this Craft & DIY tutorial and squished it in my scanner for the sake of art! You can download the scan I used by hitting the Download Attachment button to the right of this tutorial, or scan knit, crochet, or lace pieces of your own (toys, scarves, gloves, etc.).

We'll repeat some of the steps from the previous two sections by doing the following:

  1. Sketch out a shape or quick design with a default brush (note the hardness of this brush is higher than the one used in Section 2).
  2. Save the crochet texture as a .psd file.
  3. Apply the Displace filter with the newly created crochet .psd file. Again, I used the default settings to create what is seen below.
using another scanned texture

Step 2

For the sake of grungy style and experimentation, let's apply the Displace filter a few more times. I changed the Horizontal Scale settings within the effect to 25, selected Stretch to Fit, and selected Repeat Edge Pixels. Hit Control-F a few times to repeat the same filter. Once the brush is to your liking, select it and go to Edit > Define Brush Preset to name and save your second custom brush in the Brush panel.

displacing the new texture

Step 3

Once again, play around with your fresh new brush.

using the new custom brush

4. Photo Texture: Using a Stock Photo, Part One

Step 1

Our texture for this section is a stock photo of dry dirt, which can be purchased here on Photodune. We're going to create two types of brushes with the stock photo. The first method is the same process as done previously:

  1. Open the stock photo and save it as a .psd file.
  2. Using a default brush, scribble out a shape, lines, or whatever you'd like your brush to be.
  3. Load the stock texture through the Displace filter. This time I set the Horizontal Scale at 25 and the Vertical Scale at 30.
  4. Select and save your brush.
Setting up a new textured brush

Step 2

Once more, play around with your new brush. Alter the angle jitter in Shape Dynamics within the Brush panel, apply additional noise, or change its Flow and Opacity.

playing with the new brush

5. Photo Texture: Using a Stock Photo, Part Two

Step 1

This method creates a brush that's more like a texture block. Open the stock image purchased in Section 4. Adjust the Levels by setting the White Input Level to 147 and the Gray Input Level at 0.10. Then, go to Image > Adjustments > Threshold and set the level to 110 or so.

altering the levels of a stock photo

Step 2

Select the positive image left from the previous step and save it as a new brush.

making a new brush

Step 3

As we've done for each brush created within this tutorial, experiment with your new brush on a New Layer or within a New Document. Save any additional edits you make to the brush within the Brush panel (if you like them, of course).

playing with new texture

6. Creating Grunge Brushes From Scratch 

Step 1

Finally, we're at the best part (in my opinion) of this tutorial: creating grungy brushes from scratch! Start as you've done with the other brush styles: drawing blobs, lines, and doodles with a default brush, using the Brush Tool. Apply the Add Noise filter to 155.68%.

adding noise to a doodle

Step 2

Distort your brush splatter shape further by going to Filter > Distort > Ripple at 797% (or whatever takes your fancy). Continue changing the look of the brushed-out blob shape by applying a new effect, using Filter > Pixelate > Facet.

ripple filter

Step 3

Let's get the shape that's sort of looking like a weird world map in my document further distorted by going to Filter > Stylize > Wind and selecting Blast and From the Right in the dialogue box that pops up. Hit OK and let's take our final steps in creating a custom grunge brush.

wind filter

Step 4

Create a New Document and choose a brush that has a real scatter-like quality to it. In my case, I chose Flat Fan High Bristle Count, which has been a default brush since Adobe Photoshop CS5. Take some time to brush out a texture with it all over your document and Save As.psd file. 

adobe photoshop cc brush

Step 5

Use the .psd file created in Step 4 of this section to Displace the design we've been working on during this final section. Once again, I've applied it a few times with the Horizontal Scale set to 25 and Vertical Scale set to 30.

using the displace feature again

Step 6

Note the change in the look of the brush when Displace has been applied once versus three times. When satisfied with the look of your brush, Select it and go to Edit > Define Brush Preset to save it in the Brush panel.

differences in displacing

Fantastic Work, You're Done!

With three texture sources and a couple of techniques in distorting brush strokes, you've created a small set of grunge brushes. Push them further with various brush shapes, texture resources, and different colors to be used when painting or editing photos. 

Completed grunge brushes used to create texture
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.