Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer
Design

Создаём иллюстрацию с осенней девочкой в Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Каждый сезон года красив по-своему!  Осень – один из моих любимых сезонов – красно-золотые листья, голубое небо, отражающееся в лужах, гуляющие под дождём люди с цветными зонтами.  Давайте вдохновимся и создадим уютную осеннюю иллюстрацию с милой девочкой в  резиновых сапогах с зонтом.  Мы будем использовать различные инструменты для рисования в Affinity Designer и украсим нашу картинку шаблонами.  Давайте начнём! 

1. Создаём основу из эскиза

Шаг 1

Мы будем использовать этот отсканированный эскиз девочки, который был нарисован на листе конторской бумаги карандашом. Вы можете создать свой собственный эскиз или просто кликнуть правой кнопкой мыши на скриншоте ниже и сохранить его на свой жёсткий диск. 

sketch

Шаг 2

Создайте Новый документ 600 х 800 пикселей, Цветовой режим RGB.  Используйте Инструмент «Поместить изображение» на панели Инструментов, чтобы разместить свой эскиз на холсте. 

Create a New Document and place sketch

Шаг 3

Переименуйте свой эскизный слой «Эскиз» на панели Слоёв и установите Режим наложения «Умножение».  Таким образом мы сделаем наш эскиз полупрозрачным, но достаточно контрастным, чтобы и эскиз и фигуры под ним были видимы. 

Создайте Новый слой под слоем с Эскизом, возьмите Инструмент «Карандаш» (N) и начните обводить базовую фигуру лица девочки. 

Удалите цвет Обводки и установите цвет Заливки на очень светлый розово-оранжевый для оттенка кожи.  Вы можете изменить фигуру, сдвинув её узлы Инструментом «Узел» (А). 

start outlining the face with Pencil Tool

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте возьмём Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и начнём обводить волосы.  Мы используем здесь Инструмент «Перо», т.к. он позволяет нам делать линии и плавными и остроугольными очень удобным способом.  Кликните и потяните для создания плавной линии; кликните и удерживайте клавишу Option, чтобы изменить положение опорных точек.  Таким образом мы изменяем направление частей линии и остроту углов. 

use the Pen Tool P and start outlining the hair

Шаг 5

Продолжайте обводить волосы, вернувшись к первоначальному узлу, замкнув контур. 

close the path

Шаг 6

Заполните фигуру шоколадно-коричневым цветом. 

Fill the shape with chocolate-brown color

Шаг 7

Как вы можете заметить, нижняя часть лица девочки перекрыта шарфом.  Мы можем просто нарисовать шарф поверх лица, закрыв его нижнюю часть, но давайте воспользуемся другим способом удаления ненужной части. 

Сначала нарисуйте фигуру поверх лица девочки, которая перекроет нижнюю часть лица.  Перейдите на панель Слоёв, выделите фигуру лица и перетащите её на обведённую фигуру (на название слоя, а не на иконку).  Таким образом, мы спрячем лицо внутри контура, как в Обтравочной маске.  Удалите цвета Заливки и Обводки контура. 

place one shape inside the other in layers panel

Шаг 8

Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и начните обводить шарф. 

Take the Pen Tool P and start outlining the scarf

Шаг 9

Заполните шарф ярко-оранжевым цветом. 

Fill the scarf with bright-orange color

Шаг 10

Теперь мы можем перейти к пальто.   На его рукавах много складок и сгиб руки, поэтому будет удобнее нарисовать рукав при помощи Инструмента «Карандаш» (N).  Заполните рукав ярким, изумрудно-зелёным цветом. 

draw the sleeve with the Pencil tool

Шаг 11

Если хотите взять цвет объекта, найдите иконку пипетки на верху панели Цветов и перетащите её на своё изображение, пока не появится лупа.  Выберите нужное место и отпустите кнопку мыши для выбора цвета.  Он будет сохранён на панели Цветов рядом с иконкой Пипетки.  Кликните на иконке Пипетки для применения выбранного цвета к любой выделенной фигуре. 

Нарисуйте второй рукав и заполните его более тёмным изумрудно-зелёным цветом.  Наконец, обведите само пальто. 

use the eyedropper tool and finish drawing the coat

Шаг 12

Теперь давайте создадим ручку зонта.  Нарисуйте прямоугольник при помощи Инструмента «Прямоугольник» (М) и сделайте углы фигуры скруглёнными, перейдя на верхнюю контекстную панель инструментов.  Перейдите на панель Обводки и установите Ширину на 8.  Затем перейдите в Слой > Разобрать обводку, чтобы превратить контур в единую фигуру. 

make a handle using the Rectangle Tool M

Шаг 13

Нам нужна только нижняя половина этого объекта.  Нарисуйте прямоугольник поверх верхней половины, выделите обе фигуры и используйте Операцию вычитания на верхней контекстной панели инструментов, вырезав верхнюю часть ручки. 

Теперь у нас есть U-образный объект.  Давайте сделаем один из его концов выше.  Возьмите Инструмент «Узел» (А), выделите верхние узлы правой «руки» U-образной фигуры и перетащите их вверх либо при помощи клавиш со стрелками на клавиатуре, либо удерживая левую кнопку мыши и перетащив узлы вверх. 

Левую «руку» фигуры сделаем скруглённой.  Выделите верхние узлы левой «руки» и кликните на «Преобразовать в плавную линию» на верхней панели управления, сделав углы фигуры плавными.  Теперь у нас есть крючковатая ручка зонта! 

delete the upper part in the Operations panel

Шаг 14

Добавьте стержень к ручке, создав длинную, узкую полоску Инструментом «Прямоугольник» (М).  Измените цвет ручки на красный, а цвет стержня – на металлический серый.  Поверните фигуры и поместите их в руку девочки согласно нашему эскизу. 

Add a bar with the Rectangle Tool M

Шаг 15

Давайте перейдём к забавным резиновым сапогам!  Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и обведите фигуру переднего сапога.  Удерживайте клавишу Shift для создания прямых горизонтальных или вертикальных линий.  

Take the Pen Tool P and outline the gumboot

Шаг 16

Создайте второй сапог, скопировав передний.  Заполните сапоги девчачьим светло-розовым и тёмно-розовым цветами. 

Fill the boots with girlish pink colors

Шаг 17

Теперь можем перейти к ногам девочки.  Возьмите Инструмент «Перо» (Р) и нарисуйте слегка закруглённую линию для передней ноги.  Установите Ширину Обводки на 23, что достаточно для формирования ноги.  Перейдите в Слой > Разобрать обводку, чтобы превратить контур в фигуру.  Сформируйте заднюю ногу таким же образом, заполнив её цветом кожи потемнее. 

draw the leg with the pen tool and expand it

Шаг 18

При помощи Инструмента «Карандаш» (N) нарисуйте руки. 

Use the Pencil Tool N to draw girls hands

Шаг 19

Теперь создадим зонт!  Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М), создайте эллипс розового цвета и поверните его приблизительно на 330 градусов, чтобы его верхняя сторона соответствовала верху зонта на эскизе. 

Преобразуйте эллипс в Кривые, перейдя на верхнюю контекстную панель, и сдвиньте его боковые узлы слегка вниз, чтобы верхняя часть эллипса как можно точнее соответствовала зонту на нашем эскизе. 

make an umbrella with the ellipse tool 1

Шаг 20

Нарисуйте ещё один тёмно-розовый эллипс для внутренней части зонта и поместите его, как показано на скриншоте ниже.  Выделите обе фигуры и примените Операцию разделения, чтобы разделить фигуры на отдельные части.  Удалите ненужную нижнюю часть большого эллипса. 

make an umbrella with the ellipse tool 2

Шаг 21

При помощи Инструмента «Карандаш» (N) нарисуйте остальную часть волос.  Вы можете объединить оба инструмента для рисования.  К примеру, если вы начнёте рисовать изогнутую, волнистую линию Карандашом (N) и затем переключитесь на Инструмент “Перо» (Р), кликните на последнем узле линии и продолжите рисовать.  

Use the Pencil Tool N to draw the hair

2. Добавляем второстепенные детали на картинку 

Шаг 1

Давайте добавим несколько мелких деталей, которые сделают картинку более сложной.  Сначала мы украсим зонт маленькими металлическими «каплями».  Создайте ровный круг Инструментом «Эллипс» (М), удерживая клавишу Shift. Преобразуйте круг в Кривые и перетащите его верхний узел ещё выше при помощи Инструмента «Узел» (А).  Создайте несколько копий и разместите капли вдоль края зонта.  Соедините верх зонта и капли тёмно-розовыми штрихами. 

make metal drops from the ellipse

Шаг 2

Обведите силуэт голубой лужи и добавьте несколько отражений для реалистичности.  Создайте несколько полосок Инструментом «Прямоугольник» (М) (на этом этапе полоски заполнены тёмным цветом, чтобы они были видны на белом фоне). 

Сгруппируйте (Command-G) полоски, поверните их и поместите поверх лужи.  На панели Слоёв выделите группу полосок и перетащите на фигуру лужи, поместив полоски внутрь фигуры лужи, создав Обтравочную маску.  Заполните группу полосок очень ярким голубым цветом, создав отражение на поверхности воды. 

add reflections to the puddle

Шаг 3

Добавьте несколько простых пуговиц на пальто.  Создайте два ровных круга – один поверх другого.  Затем добавьте два более тёмных круга поменьше, изображающих дырки в пуговице.  Примените функцию Выравнивания на верхней контекстной панели инструментов для расположения дырок в центре пуговицы. 

make a button with the ellipse tool

Шаг 4

Добавьте несколько тёмно-коричневых штрихов поверх волос Инструментом «Карандаш» (N), изображающих отдельные мультяшные волоски чёлки.  

Давайте сформируем черты лица!   Нарисуйте курносый нос Инструментом «Карандаш» (N).  Возьмите Инструмент «Эллипс» (М) и создайте обведённый эллипс.  Скопируйте фигуру и сдвиньте копию слегка вверх.  Используйте Операцию вычитания, чтобы вырезать верхнюю часть перекрывающихся эллипсов, формируя закруглённую фигуру полумесяца, изображающую закрытое веко.  Слегка поверните фигуру и расположите на месте глаза согласно нашему эскизу.  Создайте второй глаз и добавьте второстепенные детали, такие как  веснушки и ресницы.

Вы можете сделать один конец Обводки шире, а другой – уже, к примеру, для создания заострённых ресниц, изменив настройки графика Нажатия на панели Обводки.  Каждая точка линии на графике отвечает за соответствующие точки на обведённом контуре.  Например, вы можете выделить нос и сдвинуть концы линии Нажатия вниз, а её среднюю точку – вверх, сделав концы носа тонкими, а его среднюю часть – толще. 

form the facial features using the Stroke panel

Вот как наша девочка выглядит на этом этапе.  Помимо черт лица мы добавили больше штрихов волосам и пальто и пару округлых штрихов для коленей. 

basic shapes are ready

3. Создаём узоры и применяем их к фигурам

Шаг 1

Давайте создадим простой узор в горошек для сапог и зонта.  Для большего удобства создайте Новый документ 200 х 200 пикселей.  Создайте ровный круг 16 х 16 пикселей и поместите его в верхний правый угол холста, кликнув на круге правой кнопкой мыши и выбрав сначала Выравнивание > Выровнять по правой стороне, а затем Выравнивание > Выровнять по верху.  Создайте ещё один круг, но в этот раз поместите его в верхний левый угол холста.  

Создайте ещё пять копий круга и выровняйте их с другими кругами, перейдя на панель Монтажа на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Выделите все круги, что у нас есть, откройте панель Монтажа и кликните «Расположить горизонтально» и «Расположить вертикально». 

make a simple polka-dot pattern 1

Шаг 2

Сгруппируйте (Command-G) верхний ряд кругов, Option-Shift и перетащите их вниз, создав копию.  Удалите первый круг из второго ряда и сдвиньте ряд влево, чтобы оба ряда встали крест-накрест.  Скопируйте оба ряда, создав больше копий и заполнив холст узором в горошек.  Используйте панель Монтажа для создания равного расстояния между рядами. 

make a simple polka-dot pattern 2

Шаг 3

Давайте перенесём наш узор на наш первый документ с девочкой.  Измените размер узора, сделав точки меньше.  Перейдите на панель Слоёв и поместите узор поверх переднего сапога, спрятав его внутри сапога и создав Обтравочную маску. 

Проделайте то же самое со вторым сапогом, сделав точки узора слегка темнее (или снизив их Непрозрачность на панели Цветов). 

place the pattern inside the gumboot layer

Шаг 4

Используйте Инструмент «Прямоугольник» (М) для создания набора вертикальных и горизонтальных полос, сформировав полосатый, «шотландский» узор.  Сделайте полоски полупрозрачными, изменив их Режим наложения на Умножение на панели Слоёв и снизив их Непрозрачность на панели Цветов, чтобы полоски просматривались сквозь друг друга.   

Примените узор к шарфу, поместив его внутрь фигуры шарфа на панели Слоёв, создав Обтравочную маску. 

create a striped tartan pattern

Шаг 5

Примените наш «шотландский» узор к зонтику, сделав картинку более детальной. 

Apply polka-dot pattern to the umbrella

Шаг 6

Давайте создадим несколько жёлтых и оранжевых листьев, чтобы придать осеннее настроение нашей картинке. 

Создайте эллипс Инструментом «Эллипс» (М). Преобразуйте его в Кривые, выделите его верхний и нижний узлы Инструментом «Узел» (А) и преобразуйте их в Острые углы в меню Преобразования на верхней контекстной панели инструментов.  Создайте плавную согнутую линию для стебля, установив цвет Обводки на тёмно-коричневый. 

Сделайте нижнюю часть стебля толстой, а верхнюю часть – тонкой и заострённой при помощи функции Нажатия на панели Обводки: выделите левый конец графики, кликнув на нём один раз, и перетащите его вниз до минимального уровня.  Оставьте правую точку в самом верхнем положении. 

make a leaf from the ellipse and a stroke

Шаг 7

При помощи «Карандаша» (N) нарисуйте прожилки листа.  Сделайте их тоньше при помощи функции Нажатия на панели Обводки.  

add veins to the leaf using strokes of pencil tool

Шаг 8

Добавьте тёплый жёлтый фон нашей картинке, наполнив её уютной, осенней атмосферой.   Сделайте больше копий листьев и распределите их вокруг девочки, изменяя цвета.  Придайте листьям такой вид, будто их уносит ветром.

Привет, осень!

Отличная работа!  Наша осенняя сцена с мультяшной девочкой в резиновых сапогах закончена!  Надеюсь, вам понравилось использовать инструменты для векторного рисования в Affinity Designer, и вы узнали новые, простые приёмы.  Тёплой и осенней вам осени, продолжайте создавать чудесные вещи!  

finished autumn scene with a cartoon girl in gumboots
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Affinity Designer
Design

Create an Autumn Girl Illustration in Affinity Designer

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Every season of the year has its own enchanting beauty! Autumn is one of my favorites: red and golden leaves, blue sky reflecting in the puddles, people walking in the rain with colorful umbrellas. Let’s get inspired and create a cozy autumn illustration with a cute girl in gumboots, holding an umbrella. We’ll be using various drawing tools of Affinity Designer and decorate our image with custom patterns. Let’s get started!

1. Create the Base Using Your Sketch

Step 1

We’ll be using this sketch of a girl, which was drawn on a sheet of office paper, using a pencil, and then scanned. You can make your own sketch, or just click the right mouse button on the screenshot below and save it to your hard drive.

sketch

Step 2

Create a New Document of 600 x 800 px size, RGB Colour Mode. Use the Place Image Tool in the Tools panel to place your sketch on the canvas.

Create a New Document and place sketch

Step 3

Rename your sketch layer "Sketch" in the Layers panel and set the Blend Mode to Multiply. This way we make our sketch semi-transparent, yet still with enough contrast, so that both our sketch and the shapes we’re drawing beneath are visible. 

Create a New Layer under the Sketch layer, take the Pencil Tool (N), and start outlining the basic shape of the girl’s face. 

Set the Stroke color to None and the Fill color to a very light pinky-orange for the skin tone. You can adjust the shape by moving its nodes with the Node Tool (A).

start outlining the face with Pencil Tool

Step 4

Now let’s choose the Pen Tool (P) and start outlining the hair. We’re using the Pen Tool here because it allows us to make both smooth and sharp-cornered lines in a very convenient way. Click and drag to make a smooth line; click and hold the Option key to edit the position of the node handles. This way we change the direction of the line pieces and the sharpness of the angles.

use the Pen Tool P and start outlining the hair

Step 5

Continue outlining the hair and return to the initial node, closing the path.

close the path

Step 6

Fill the shape with chocolate-brown color.

Fill the shape with chocolate-brown color

Step 7

As you may notice, the lower part of the girl’s face overlaps with the scarf. We could just draw the scarf above the face, covering its lower part, but let’s also try another way to delete the unwanted piece. 

First of all, draw a shape above the girl's face, which crosses the lower part of the face. Head to the Layers panel, select the face shape, and drag and drop it above the outlined shape (above the name of the layer, not above the thumbnail). This way we hide the face inside the outline, as if inside a Clipping Mask. Set the Fill and Stroke colors of the outline to None.

place one shape inside the other in layers panel

Step 8

Take the Pen Tool (P) and start outlining the scarf.

Take the Pen Tool P and start outlining the scarf

Step 9

Fill the scarf with bright-orange color.

Fill the scarf with bright-orange color

Step 10

Now we can move to the girl’s coat. Its sleeve has a lot of folds and the crease of the arm, so it will be more convenient to draw out the sleeve using the Pencil Tool (N). Fill the sleeve with a vivid emerald-green color.

draw the sleeve with the Pencil tool

Step 11

If you want to pick the color from an object, find the Eyedropper icon on top of the Colour panel and drag it over your image until you see a magnifier. Choose the desired spot and release the mouse key to select this color. It will be saved in the Colour panel next to the Eyedropper icon. Click the Eyedropper icon to apply the picked color to any selected shape.

Draw the second sleeve and fill it with darker emerald-green color. And, finally, outline the coat itself.

use the eyedropper tool and finish drawing the coat

Step 12

Now let’s create the handle of our umbrella. Draw a rectangle using the Rectangle Tool (M), and make the corners of the shape rounded in the upper context toolbar. Go to the Stroke panel and set the Width to 8 pt. Then go to Layer > Expand Stroke in order to turn the outline into a single shape.

make a handle using the Rectangle Tool M

Step 13

We need only the lower half of this object. Draw a rectangle above the upper half, select both shapes, and use the Subtract Operation from the upper context toolbar, cutting off the upper part of the handle. 

Now we have the U-shaped object. Let’s make one of its ends taller. Take the Node Tool (A), select the upper nodes of the right “arm” of our U-shape, and drag them up either using the arrow keys of the keyboard or by holding the left mouse button and dragging the nodes up.

As for the left “arm” of the U-shape, let’s make it rounded. Select the upper nodes of the left “arm” and click Convert to Smooth in the upper control bar, making the corners of the shape smooth. Now we have a crooked umbrella handle!

delete the upper part in the Operations panel

Step 14

Add a bar to the handle by creating a long, narrow stripe with the Rectangle Tool (M). Change the color of the handle to red and the color of the bar to metal grey. Rotate the shapes and place them in the girl’s hand, according to our sketch.

Add a bar  with the Rectangle Tool M

Step 15

Let’s move to the fancy gumboots! Take the Pen Tool (P) and outline the shape of the front boot. Hold down Shift to make straight horizontal or vertical lines.

Take the Pen Tool P and outline the gumboot

Step 16

Make the second boot by copying the front one. Fill the boots with girlish light-pink and darker-pink colors.

Fill the boots with girlish pink colors

Step 17

Now we can move to the girl’s legs. Take the Pen Tool (P) and draw a slightly curved line for the front leg. Set the Width of the Stroke to 23 pt, which is thick enough to form a leg. Layer > Expand Stroke to turn the outline into a shape. Form the back leg in the same way, filling it with a slightly darker skin tone color.

draw the leg with the pen tool and expand it

Step 18

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw the girl’s hands.

Use the Pencil Tool N to draw girls hands

Step 19

Now let's create an umbrella! Take the Ellipse Tool (M), make an ellipse of a fancy pink color, and rotate it to about 330 degrees, so that its upper side fits the top of the umbrella on the sketch. 

Convert the ellipse to Curves in the upper context panel, and move its side nodes down a bit, making the upper part of the ellipse fit the umbrella on our sketch as much as possible.

make an umbrella with the ellipse tool 1

Step 20

Draw another darker-pink ellipse for the inner part of the umbrella, and place it as shown in the screenshot below. Select both shapes and use the Divide Operation to split the shapes into separate pieces. Delete the unneeded lower part of the larger ellipse.

make an umbrella with the ellipse tool 2

Step 21

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw the rest of the girl's hair. You can combine both drawing tools. For example, if you start drawing a curved, wavy line with the Pencil Tool (N), then switch to the Pen Tool (P), click on the last node of your line and just continue drawing.

Use the Pencil Tool N to draw the hair

2. Add Minor Details to Your Image

Step 1

Let’s add some small details to our image that will make it more intricate. First of all, we’ll decorate the umbrella with tiny metal “drops”. Make an even circle with the Ellipse Tool (M) by holding down Shift. Convert the circle to Curves and drag its upper node further up with the Node Tool (A). Make several copies and place the drops along the edge of the umbrella. Connect the top of the umbrella and the drops with dark-pink strokes.

make metal drops from the ellipse

Step 2

Draw out the silhouette of a blue puddle, and let’s add some reflections to make it more realistic. Make a set of stripes using the Rectangle Tool (M) (at this stage the stripes are filled with dark color just to make them visible above the white background). 

Group (Command-G) the stripes, rotate them, and place them above the puddle. In your Layers panel, select the group of stripes and drop it above the puddle shape, this way placing the stripes inside the puddle shape, creating a Clipping Mask. Fill the group of stripes with a very bright-blue color, creating a reflection on the surface of the water.

add reflections to the puddle

Step 3

Add several simple buttons to the girl’s coat. Make two even circles, one above the other. Then add four smaller, darker circles, depicting the holes in the button. Use the Align function in the upper context toolbar to position the holes in the center of the button.

make a button with the ellipse tool

Step 4

Add several dark-brown strokes above the hair with the Pencil Tool (N), depicting separate cartoonish hairs on the girl’s bangs.

And let’s form the facial features! Draw a snubby nose, using the Pencil Tool (N). Take the Ellipse Tool (M) and make an outlined ellipse. Duplicate the shape and move the copy up a bit. Use the Subtract Operation to cut off the upper part of the overlapping ellipses, forming a curved crescent shape, depicting a closed eyelid. Rotate the shape a bit and put it in the position of the eye, according to our sketch. Make the second eye and add some minor details, such as freckles and eyelashes.

You can make one end of your Stroke wider and the other one narrower, for example, for the sharp-pointed eyelashes, by changing the settings of the Pressure graph in the Stroke panel. Each point of the line on the graph is responsible for the corresponding points on your stroked path. For example, you can select the girl’s nose and move the ends of the Pressure line down and its middle point up, thus making the ends of the nose thin and its middle part thicker.

form the facial features using the Stroke panel

Here’s how our girl looks at this step. Apart from the facial features, we’ve added more stokes to the hair and to the coat, and a couple of curved strokes for the knees.

basic shapes are ready

3. Make Patterns and Apply Them to the Shapes

Step 1

Let’s make a simple polka-dot pattern for the gumboots and the umbrella. For more convenience, create a New Document of 200 x 200 px size. Make an even circle of 16 x 16 px size and place it in the upper right corner of the canvas by clicking the circle with right mouse key and selecting Alignment > Align Right and then Alignment > Align Top. Create another circle, but this time put it in the upper left corner of the canvas.

Create five more copies of the circle, and let’s align them with other circles using the Arrange panel in the upper context toolbar. Select all the circles that we have, open the Arrange panel, and click Space Horizontally and Space Vertically.

make a simple polka-dot pattern 1

Step 2

Group (Command-G) the upper row of circles, hold Option-Shift and drag them down, creating a copy. Delete the first circle of the second row and move the row to the left, so that both rows are arranged in a crisscross way. Copy both rows, creating more copies and filling the canvas with a fancy polka-dot pattern. Use the Arrange panel to create equal spacing between the rows.

make a simple polka-dot pattern 2

Step 3

Let’s bring our pattern to our first document with the girl. Resize the pattern, making the dots smaller. Head to the Layers panel and place the pattern above the front boot, hiding it inside the boot, making a Clipping Mask.

Do the same for the second boot, making the dots of the pattern a bit darker (or lowering their Opacity in the Colour panel).

place the pattern inside the gumboot layer

Step 4

Use the Rectangle Tool (M) to create a set of vertical and horizontal stripes, forming a striped tartan-styled pattern. Make the stripes semi-transparent by changing their Blend Mode to Multiply in the Layers panel and by lowering their Opacity in the Colour panel, so that the stripes are visible through each other.

Apply the pattern to the girl’s scarf, placing it inside the scarf shape in the Layers panel, creating a Clipping Mask.

create a striped tartan pattern

Step 5

Apply our fancy polka-dot pattern to the umbrella as well, making the image more detailed.

Apply polka-dot pattern to the umbrella

Step 6

Let’s create some yellow and orange leaves in order to add a gentle autumn mood to our picture.

Create an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (M). Convert it to Curves, select its upper and lower nodes with the Node Tool (A) and convert them to Sharp corners from the Convert menu in the upper context toolbar. Make a smooth curved stroke for the stem, setting the Stroke color to dark brown. 

Make the lower part of the stem thick and the upper part thin and pointed, using the Pressure feature in the Stroke panel: select the left end of the graph line by clicking it once, and drag it down to its minimum value. Leave the right point at its extreme upper position.

make a leaf from the ellipse and a stroke

Step 7

Use the Pencil Tool (N) to draw the veins of our leaf. Make the veins thinner with the help of the Pressure function of the Stroke panel.

add veins to the leaf using strokes of pencil tool

Step 8

Add a warm yellow background to our image, filling it with a cozy autumn atmosphere. Make more copies of the leaves and spread them around the girl, varying the colors. Make the scene look as if the leaves are being carried away by the wind.

Hello Fall!

Great work! Our autumn scene with a cartoon girl in gumboots is finished! I hope you’ve enjoyed using vector-drawing tools of Affinity Designer and learned some new tips and simple tricks from this tutorial. Have a warm and cozy autumn, and keep creating wonderful things!

finished autumn scene with a cartoon girl in gumboots
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.