Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration
Design

Создаём трафарет на чехол для телефона со светящейся совой в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

В этом руководстве мы пройдём через процесс создания стильного чехла для смартфона с красочной, детальной совой. Мы поработаем с градиентами для создания яркой цветной палитры, используем Инструмент "Переход" для упрощения процесса создания перьев и добавим сетку и другие эффекты, чтобы чехол приобрёл завершённый вид. Начнём!

1. Находим подходящий образец чехла для смартфона и делаем эскиз

Шаг 1

Во-первых, нам нужно узнать размер нашего будущего чехла. В этом руководстве мы создадим чехол для iPhone 6, но вы можете использовать размер любого другого устройства. Я поискала "трафарет чехла для iPhone 6" и нашла несколько сайтов, предоставляющих трафареты в реальном размере в форматах Photoshop и Illustrator. Они немного отличаются в зависимости от сайта, но в большинстве своём выглядят достаточно похожими. К примеру, вы можете найти трафарет для iPhone 6 или for Phone 6+ и использовать его для создания собственного дизайна, чтобы позже распечатать его на настоящем чехле.

Я использовала этот простой образец (вы найдёте его в формате *.psd в приложении к этому руководству) для рисования эскиза соответствующего размера.

iPhone 6 case template

Шаг 2

Я создала этот эскиз поверх образца. Помните, что нужно держать все основные элементы картинки, такие как глаза, клюв и лицо в видимой области чехла ближе к центру. Сделайте эскиз совы симметричным, нарисовав только одну часть и затем отразив её по горизонтали. Это сохранит время, и вид рисунка будет более целостным и аккуратным.

owl case sketch

Шаг 3

Откройте ваш эскиз (Файл > Поместить) в Adobe Illustrator и превратите его в образец, дважды кликнув на слое с эскизом.

turn your sketch into a template in illustrator

2. Формируем клюв при помощи Инструмента "Сетчатый градиент"

Шаг 1

Начните с создания вертикальной линии при помощи Инструмента "Линия" (\) или "Перо" (Р). Добавьте опорную точку в середине линии при помощи Инструмента "Добавить опорную точку" (+) и перетащите её влево Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А). Переключите цвета Заливки и Обводки (Shift-X), сформировав левую часть клюва.

draw one half of the beak

Шаг 2

При помощи Инструмента "Зеркальное отражение" (О) отразите клюв по вертикальной оси и Объедините обе части на панели Обработки контуров для создания цельной фигуры. Возьмите Инструмент "Сетчатый градиент" (U) и кликните в середине созданной фигуры для создания скрещивающихся ряда и столбика. Кликните на горизонтальной линии для создания большего числа столбиков и чтобы сделать края клюва темнее, выделив крайние опорные точки Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) и залив их тёмно-оранжевым, добавив объёма клюву.

make the second half and form the mesh

Шаг 3

Добавьте ещё колонки Инструментом "Сетчатый градиент" (U) и сделайте среднюю часть клюва ярче, выделив опорные точки вдоль центральной вертикальной линии и заполнив их жёлтым цветом. Двигайте нижние опорные точки до достижения реалистичного эффекта птичьего клюва, как на снимке экрана ниже.

form the beak with the mesh tool

Шаг 4

Давайте сформируем ноздри. Создайте эллипс Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) и заполните его радиальным градиентом от ярко-оранжевого до тёмно-оранжевого, сформировав глубину. Расположите два эллипса в верхней части клюва, изобразив ноздри.

add nostrils with the ellipse tool

Шаг 5

Нам нужно добавить немного деталей, чтобы сделать наш клюв более интересным и реалистичным. Создайте эллипс побольше под ноздрёй и заполните его оранжево-чёрным линейным градиентом. Переключите Режим наложения на Осветление, превратив его в блик.

add highlights to the beak 1

Шаг 6

Возьмите Инструмент "Карандаш" (N) и добавьте больше бликов нашему клюву, использовав тот же оранжево-чёрный градиент и Режим наложения "Осветление".

add highlights to the beak 2

Вот как клюв выглядит сейчас.

finished beak

3. Формируем яркое оперение при помощи Инструмента "Переход"

Шаг 1

Во-первых, изобразим область вокруг глаз и затем начнём добавлять перья вокруг них слой за слоем. Сформируйте ровный круг Инструментом "Эллипс" (L), удерживая клавишу Shift и заполнив его золотистым линейным градиентом от оранжевого до жёлтого. Добавьте круг поменьше поверх предыдущего и заполните его голубым цветом. Отправьте оба круга на задний план (Shift-Control-[) под клюв.

form the eye area

Шаг 2

Давайте разделим золотистый круг на части, чтобы сделать его более детальным. Создайте вертикальную линию Инструментом "Отрезок линии" (\) и поместите её в центре золотистого круга, сделав этот круг Ключевым объектом, кликнув на нём, удерживая клавишу Alt, и затем применив функцию "Горизонтальное выравнивание - центр" на панели Выравнивания.

add a line crossing the circle

Выделив линию, дважды кликните на Инструменте "Поворот" (R) для вызова окна с настройками. Установите значение Угла на 360/20, чтобы Adobe Illustrator мог автоматически рассчитать нужный угол для 20 копий нашего объекта. Несколько раз нажмите Control-D для повторения последнего действия и создайте столько копий, сколько нужно.

rotate the line and create multiple copies

Шаг 3

Теперь мы можем выделить все созданные линии и золотистый круг и разделить его на части как бабушкин пирог при помощи функции Разделить на панели Обработки контуров. Примените Инструмент "Градиент" (G) для изменения положения линейного градиента каждой части, создав интересный эффект.

divide the objects in pathfinder

Шаг 4

Начнём формировать перья! По нашему первоначальному эскизу у совы яркое голубое оперение. Будем придерживаться этой цветовой палитры, выбрав цвета с эскиза Инструментом "Пипетка" (I) и создав ровный круг Инструментом "Эллипс" (L), заполнив его ярким линейным градиентом от тёмно-голубого сверху до светло-голубого внизу.

Перетащите нижнюю опорную точку вниз Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А), чтобы придать кругу форму перевёрнутого яйца. Наконец, Скопируйте фигуру, Вставьте её на передний план (Control-C > Control-F) и сделайте копию слегка меньше, а цвета - немного светлее.

make the basic feather shape

Шаг 5

Дважды скопируйте нижнюю фигуру и сдвиньте одну из её копий слегка вверх (показано оранжевым на снимке экрана). Выделите перемещённую копию и ту, что под ней, и при помощи функции "Вычитание переднего" на панели Обработки контуров отсеките ненужные части, оставив только узкую часть в форме полумесяца на кончике пера. Заполните эту часть мягким сиренево-голубым градиентом.

use minus front function of pathfinder to add details

Шаг 6

Теперь, когда наше перо готово, давайте сгруппируем (Control-G) все его части и создадим копию пера, поместив его в стороне на некотором расстоянии. Выделив оба пера, перейдите в Объект > Переход > Создать и затем в Объект > Переход > Параметры перехода (либо дважды кликните на Инструменте "Переход" (W) на панели Инструментов). Установите Интервал на Определённое число шагов со значением 20, создав ряд повторяющихся перьев.

create the blending group with the blend tool

Шаг 7

Создайте Инструмент "Карандаш" (N) и нарисуйте закруглённую линию вдоль края золотистого круга. Выделите линию и группу перехода и перейдите в Объект > Переход > Заменить траекторию. Отлично! Теперь у нас есть плавный ряд перьев вокруг области глаза. 

replace spine of the blend around the eye area

Шаг 8

Нарисуйте дугообразную линию побольше Инструментом "Карандаш" (N) и затем скопируйте нашу первую группу перьев и примените эффект "Заменить траекторию" к новой дуге, создав второй ряд.

Расположите созданные перья под первой группой (Control-[) и добавьте следующий ряд таким же образом. Можете дважды кликнуть на ряде, чтобы войти в Режим изоляции и отдельно отредактировать первоначальные перья переходной группы. К примеру, давайте сделаем верхнее перо больше, а нижнее - меньше. Все другие перья между ними будут так же плавно меняться в размере. 

add more feather blending groups

Продолжайте создавать новые ряды перьев, создав пушистое оперение, изменяя размер некоторых перьев, сделав перья в нижний рядах гораздо больше тех, что вокруг глаза.

render to plumage of the owl

Шаг 9

Сравните созданные формы с первоначальным эскизом и примените Инструмент "Зеркальное отражение" (О), чтобы отразить созданные части по Вертикальной оси, сформировав вторую часть совы.

use the Reflect Tool to create the second half of the owl

Шаг 10

Теперь, когда оперение готово, давайте разнообразим цвета. Выделите одну из переходных групп перьев в нижней части совы и в этот раз сделайте первое перо в группе ярко-сиреневым, а второе заполните мягким градиентом от фиолетового до синего. Цвета других перьев в группе подстроятся автоматически, сформировав плавный градиент внутри переходной группы.

recolor the feathers

Шаг 11

Примените новые яркие цвета к нижним рядам перьев по обеим сторонам совы.

Apply new vivid colors to both sides

Разберите все ряды (Объект > Переход > Разобрать), чтобы превратить переходные группы в наборы отдельных объектов. Теперь можем выбрать отдельные перья и сделать некоторые из них ярче при помощи функции "Перекрасить графический объект", которая находится на верхней панели управления. Выберите случайные перья вокруг области глаза и откройте окно с настройками функции "Перекрасить графический объект". Перейдите в Редактирование, нажмите на иконку с цепью, чтобы Связать гармоничные цвета и установите значение Цветового тона на 185, Насыщенность на 70 и Яркость на 100, сделав выбранные перья светлее.

expand the blending groups and recolor artwork

Шаг 12

Добавьте больше сиреневых перьев повсюду, чтобы сделать картинку более разнообразной. Сформируйте живот совы, создав эллипс Инструментом "Эллипс" (L) и заполнив его радиальным градиентом от тёмно-оранжевого по краям, до ярко-жёлтого в центре. Покройте маленькими пёрышками поверхность живота, заполнив их теми же цветами, что и блики на клюве совы и перейдя в Режим наложения "Осветление".

form the owls tummy

Шаг 13

Давайте добавим несколько вихревых элементов на голове совы, чтобы сделать её более затейливой. Нарисуйте плавную кривую Карандашом (N), выделите её нижнюю опорную точку Инструментом "Ширина" (Shift-W) и перетащите, чтобы вся фигура стала шире.

draw a curl with pencil tool and edit it with width tool

Шаг 14

Разберите оформление линии (Объект > Разобрать оформление) и Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) сдвиньте опорные точки созданной фигуры, придав ей закрученный вид спирали. Заполните фигуру золотистым градиентом, таким же, какой мы применяли для области глаз.

form a swirl shape and fill it with golden gradient

Шаг 15

Нарисуйте ещё два завихрения внутри золотистой фигуры Инструментом "Карандаш" (N). Выделите все три объекты и Объедините их на панели Обработки контуров, чтобы разделить золотистую фигуру на три отдельные части.

divide the spiral shape into 3 parts

Измените направление линейных градиентов каждого участка при помощи Инструмента "Градиент" (G), сделав фигуру более трёхмерной и реалистичной.

Change the direction of linear gradients

Шаг 16

Расположите созданные золотистые рога на голове совы и окружите их перьями. Добавьте несколько больших дугообразных перьев в верхней части головы, видоизменяя их при помощи Эффекта деформации. Для этой цели выделите перо и перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга, установив значение Вертикального сгиба на 50%. Если вам нравится результат, Разберите оформление для применения эффекта.

use Arc Warp Effect to bend feathers

4. Изображаем глаза

Шаг 1

Чтобы сделать процесс создания простым и быстрым, мы используем преимущества панели Оформления. Создайте ровный круг и заполните его радиальным градиентом от белого в центре до тёмно-серого по краям. Он будет отображён как Заливка на панели Оформления.

create the base of the eye

Шаг 2

Добавьте новую заливку на панели Оформления и примените яркий радиальный градиент от ярко-жёлтого до оранжевого. Сдвиньте центр градиента ближе к верхней части нашего круга.

Add New Fill and apply a bright yellow gradient

Шаг 3

Выбрав жёлтую Заливку на панели Оформления, Добавьте новый эффект и выберите Преобразовать в фигуру > Эллипс.

apply convert to shape effect

В появившемся меню Настроек фигуры снизьте Абсолютный размер Заливки, установив её Ширину и Высоту на 20 пикселей (или другую величину, которая сделает жёлтый круг меньше серого). Вернитесь к серой Заливке, выбрав её на панели Оформления и измените градиент, сделав белую область больше и сдвинув серый цвет ближе к краю.

apply convert to shape effect 2

Шаг 4

Скопируйте жёлтую Заливку на панели Оформления и измените цвет копии линейного градиента от жёлтого до ярко-розового. Установите Непрозрачность жёлтой стороны на 0% и Прозрачность розовой стороны на 60% на панели Градиента. Сожмите градиент при помощи Инструмента "Градиент" (G) и сделайте так, чтобы он покрывал верхнюю часть жёлтой Заливки.

add new fill with pink color in the upper part of the eye

Шаг 5

Если хотите добавить больше сияния глазам, добавьте ещё одну Заливку поверх жёлтой и заполните её радиальным градиентом от прозрачно-жёлтого до ярко-жёлтого, создав яркое сияющее кольцо вокруг радужки.

add yellow glow around the iris

Шаг 6

Окружите глаз маленькими бирюзовыми перьями и добавьте блики глазу, заполнив их градиентом от чёрного к синему и переключив Режим наложения на "Осветление".

add feathers and highlights

Шаг 7

Давайте создадим причудливую бровь, чтобы придать сове более серьёзный вид. Нарисуйте фигуру от руки при помощи Карандаша (N) и заполните её вкусным розовым градиентом. Разделите фигуру на две части таким же образом, как мы сделали это с золотистым рогом, и измените цвет заливки нижней части, сделав его оранжево-розовым градиентом.

create a freehand drawn brow

Шаг 8

Добавьте блики поверх фигуры, переключив Режим наложения на Осветление.

Add some highlights to the brow

Шаг 9

Поместите бровь над глазом и измените перья, сделав некоторые из них ярче при помощи опции "Перекрасить графический объект".

recolor some of the feathers

5. Добавьте второстепенные детали, чтобы придать чехлу законченный вид

Шаг 1

Давайте сделаем нашу сову более трёхмерной, добавив тени для отделения рядов перьев друг от друга. Выделите группу перьев, Скопируйте её и Вставьте на задний план (Control-C > Control-B). Объедините части копии на панели Обработки контуров, превратив её в единый силуэт.

add shadows to separate the feathers 1

Шаг 2

Заполните созданный силуэт линейным градиентом от белого до лилового и переключите его в Режим наложения "Умножение", создав мягкую тень.

add shadows to separate the feathers 2

Добавьте больше теней между группами перьев и вокруг глаз при помощи той же техники.

add shadows to separate the feathers 3

Шаг 3

Теперь можем поместить образец чехла (Файл > Поместить) в наш файл и добавить перья по краям, покрыв пустые области. Помните, что лицо совы должно быть в центре образца. Добавьте тёмно-коричневый прямоугольник под совой Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М), чтобы заполнить пустое пространство над головой.

File Place the iPhone case template and add more feathers

Шаг 4

Настройте размер Монтажной области согласно размеру образца при помощи Инструмента "Монтажная область" (Shift-O). Одним из преимуществ векторной графики является то, что вы можете пропорционально уменьшить монтажную область и установить размер в несколько раз меньше оригинала и затем просто Экспортировать его с необходимыми размерами (к примеру, 300 точек на дюйм для печати).

Adjust the size of our Artboard according to the size of the template

Шаг 5

Давайте спрячем нежелательные части, пересекающие края нашей монтажной области, чтобы наша работа выглядела более аккуратной и чистой. Скопируйте фоновый прямоугольник и Отправьте его на Передний план, поместив его поверх всех остальных объектов (Shift-Control-]). Выделите все созданные элементы, включая верхний прямоугольник, нажмите правой кнопкой мыши и выбрав "Создать обтравочную маску" в выпадающем меню.

Make Clipping Mask to hide the unwanted parts

Шаг 6

Теперь можем попытаться загрузить наш дизайн на разные сайты, предлагающие печать на чехлах для iPhone, и выбрать наиболее подходящий.

create your case print preview

Отличная работа! Мы закончили!

Наш дизайн чехла для iPhone 6 с яркой совой готов! Надеюсь, вам понравилось это руководство, и вы нашли для себя полезные советы и приёмы по использованию Инструмента "Переход" и других функций Adobe Illustrator. Удачи в создании интересных, стильных чехлов для смартфонов!

owl iPhone 6 case final design
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

1. Design & Illustration
  2. Illustration

Create a Radiant Owl iPhone Case Template in Adobe Illustrator

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial we’ll go through the process of creating a stylish smartphone case with a colorful, detailed owl. We’ll work with gradients to create a vivid color palette, use the Blend Tool to simplify the process of making the feathers, and add some mesh and other effects to give our case a completed look. Let’s get started!

1. Find the Proper Smartphone Case Template and Make a Sketch

Step 1

Fist of all, we need to know the size of our future case. In this tutorial we’ll be creating a case for iPhone 6, but you can use the size of any other device. I’ve searched for “iPhone 6 case template” and found some websites providing real-size templates in Photoshop and Illustrator formats. They differ a bit, depending on the website, but mostly they look quite similar. For example, you can get a template for iPhone 6 or for Phone 6+ and use it to make your own design to print on the real case later. 

I’ve used this simple template (you can find the *.psd version in the attachment to this tutorial) to paint a sketch, based on the template sizes.

iPhone 6 case template

Step 2

I’ve made this sketch right above the template. Remember to keep all the main elements of our image, such as eyes, beak and the face itself, in the visible area of the case, closer to the center. Make the sketch of your owl symmetrical by drawing only one part of it and then flipping it horizontally. This will save a lot of time and will look more cohesive and neat.

owl case sketch

Step 3

File > Place your sketch in Adobe Illustrator and turn it into a template by double-clicking the sketch layer.

turn your sketch into a template in illustrator

2. Form the Beak Using the Mesh Tool

Step 1

Start by making a vertical line either with the Line Tool (\) or with the Pen Tool (P). Add the anchor point in the middle of the line with the Add Anchor Point Tool (+) and drag it to the left with the Direct Selection Tool (A). Swap Fill and Stroke (Shift-X) colors, thus forming the left part of the beak.

draw one half of the beak

Step 2

Use the Reflect Tool (O) to mirror the beak over the vertical axis and Unite both parts in Pathfinder to form a single shape. Take the Mesh Tool (U) and click in the middle of the created shape to create a crossing row and column. Click on the horizontal line to create more columns and make the edges of the beak darker by selecting the edge anchor points with the Direct Selection Tool (A) and filling them with darker orange, thus adding dimension to the beak.

make the second half and form the mesh

Step 3

Add some more columns with the Mesh Tool (U) and make the middle part of the beak brighter by selecting the anchor points along the central vertical line and filling them with yellow color. Move the lower anchor points around to achieve a more realistic effect for the bird’s beak, as in the screenshot below.

form the beak with the mesh tool

Step 4

Let’s form the nostrils. Create an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L) and fill in with radial gradient from bright-orange to dark-brown, forming the depth. Place two ellipses in the upper part of the beak, depicting the nostrils.

add nostrils with the ellipse tool

Step 5

We need to add some details to make our beak look more interesting and realistic. Create a bigger ellipse beneath the nostril and fill with orange-black linear gradient. Switch the Blending Mode to Screen, turning it into a highlight.

add highlights to the beak 1

Step 6

Take the Pencil Tool (N) and add more highlights to our beak, using the same orange-black gradients and Screen Blending Mode.

add highlights to the beak 2

Here is how the beak looks now.

finished beak

3. Form a Radiant Plumage With the Blend Tool

Step 1

First of all, we’ll render the area around the eyes and then start adding feathers around it row by row. Form an even circle with the Ellipse Tool (L) by holding the Shift button and fill it with golden linear gradient from orange to yellow. Add a smaller circle above and fill it with blue color. Send both circles to back (Shift-Control-[), under the beak.

form the eye area

Step 2

Let’s split the golden circle into parts to make it more detailed. Start by making a vertical line with the Line Segment Tool (\) and place in right in the center of the golden circle, making the gold circle a Key Object by clicking it while holding the Alt key and then using the Horizontal Align Center function of the Align panel.

add a line crossing the circle

Keeping the line selected, double-click the Rotate Tool (R) to call the pop-up options window. Set the Angle value to 360/20, so that Adobe Illustrator can automatically calculate the necessary angle for 20 copies of our object. Press Control-D multiple times to repeat our last action and make as many copies as needed.

rotate the line and create multiple copies

Step 3

Now we can select all the created lines and the gold circle and slice it into pieces like grandma’s pie with the help of the Divide function in the Pathfinder panel. Use the Gradient Tool (G) to reposition the linear gradient for each piece, creating an interesting effect.

divide the objects in pathfinder

Step 4

Let’s start forming the feathers! According to our initial sketch, the owl will have a radiant blue plumage. We’ll stick to this color palette, picking the colors from the sketch with the Eyedropper Tool (I) and creating an even circle with the Ellipse Tool (L), filling it with vivid linear gradient from dark blue on top to lighter blue in the bottom. 

Drag the lower anchor point down using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to give the circle an upside-down egg shape. Finally, Copy the shape, Paste in Front (Control-C > Control-F) and make the copy slightly smaller and the colors a bit lighter.

make the basic feather shape

Step 5

Duplicate the lower shape twice and move one of the copies up a bit (shown red in the screenshot). Select the replaced copy and the one beneath it and use the Minus Front function of the Pathfinder panel to cut off the unwanted pieces, leaving only a narrow crescent-shaped part on the tip of our feather. Fill this part with a gentle lilac-blue gradient.

use minus front function of pathfinder to add details

Step 6

Now that our feather is ready, let’s group (Control-G) all its parts and make a copy of the feather, placing it aside at some distance. Keeping both feathers selected, go to Object > Blend > Make and then to Object > Blend > Blend Options (or double click the Blend Tool (W) in the Tools panel). Set the Spacing to Specified Steps with value equals 20, thus creating a row of repeating feathers.

create the blending group with the blend tool

Step 7

Take the Pencil Tool (N) and draw a rounded line along the edge of the golden circle. Select both the line and the blend group and go to Object > Blend > Replace Spine. Great! Now we have a smooth row of feathers running along the circle eye area.

replace spine of the blend around the eye area

Step 8

Draw a bigger arched line with the Pencil tool (N), and then duplicate our first blending group of feathers and reapply the Replace Spine effect to a new curve, thus forming the second row. 

Place the created feathers under the first group (Control-[) and add the next row in the same way. You can double-click on the row to enter the Isolation Mode and edit the initial feathers of the blending group separately. For example, let’s make the upper feather bigger and the lower one smaller. All other feathers between them will gradually change their size too.

add more feather blending groups

Continue forming new rows of feathers, making a fluffy plumage by varying the size of some feathers, making the feathers in the lower rows much larger than those around the eye.

render to plumage of the owl

Step 9

Compare the created forms with the initial sketch and use the Reflect Tool (O) to flip the created parts over the Vertical Axis, forming the second half of our owl.

use the Reflect Tool to create the second half of the owl

Step 10

Now that the plumage is formed, let’s make the colors more diverse. Select one of the blending groups of feathers in the lower part of the owl and this time make the first feather in the group bright lilac and fill the second one with a gentle gradient from violet to blue. The colors of other feathers in the group will be adjusted automatically, forming a smooth gradient inside the blending group.

recolor the feathers

Step 11

Apply new vivid colors to the lower rows of feathers on both sides of our owl.

Apply new vivid colors to both sides

Object > Blend > Expand all the rows to turn the blending groups into sets of separate objects. Now we can select separate feathers and make some of them brighter with the help of the Recolor Artwork function, which is located in the upper control panel. Select random feathers around the eye area and open the Recolor Artwork options window. Go to Edit, press on the chain icon to Link harmony colors and set the Hue value to 185, Saturation to 70 and Brightness to 100, making the selected feathers lighter.

expand the blending groups and recolor artwork

Step 12

Add some more lilac feathers here and there to make the image more diverse. Form the owl’s tummy by creating an ellipse with the Ellipse Tool (L) and filling it with radial gradient from darker orange at the edges to bright-yellow in the center. Speckle small feathers all over the tummy, filling them with the same colors as the highlights on the owl’s beak and switching to Screen Blending Mode.

form the owls tummy

Step 13

Let’s add some swirly elements to the head of the owl to make it look more intricate. Draw a smooth curve with the Pencil Tool (N), select its bottom anchor point with the Width Tool (Shift-W) and drag to make the whole shape wider.

draw a curl with pencil tool and edit it with width tool

Step 14

Object > Expand Appearance of the line and use the Direct Selection Tool (A) to move the anchor points of the created shape, giving it a twisted spiral look. Fill the shape with golden gradient, the same as we have in the eye area.

form a swirl shape and fill it with golden gradient

Step 15

Draw two more swirls inside the golden shape with the Pencil Tool (N). Select all three objects and Divide them in Pathfinder to split the golden shape into three separate parts.

divide the spiral shape into 3 parts

Change the direction of linear gradients for each piece with the Gradient Tool (G), making the shape more three-dimensional and realistic.

Change the direction of linear gradients

Step 16

Place the created golden horns on top of the owl’s head and surround them with feathers. Add some larger arched feathers in the upper part of the head, transforming them with the help of the Warp Effect. For this purpose, select a feather and go to Effect > Warp > Arc, setting the Vertical Bend value to 50%. Expand Appearance if you're happy with the result to apply the effect.

use Arc Warp Effect to bend feathers

4. Render the Eyes of the Owl

Step 1

To make the creation process simple and time saving, we’ll use the advantages of the Appearance panel. Start by making an even circle and fill it with radial gradient from white in the center to darker grey at the edge. It will be displayed as the Fill in the Appearance panel.

create the base of the eye

Step 2

Add New Fill in the Appearance panel and apply a vivid radial gradient from bright-yellow to orange. Move the center of the gradient closer to the top part of our circle.

Add New Fill and apply a bright yellow gradient

Step 3

Keeping the new yellow Fill selected in the Appearance panel, Add New Effect and select Convert to Shape > Ellipse.

apply convert to shape effect

In the pop-up Shape Options menu, reduce the Absolute size of the Fill, setting its Width and Height to 20 px (or another value that makes the yellow circle smaller than the grey one). Go back to the grey Fill, select it in the Appearance panel and edit the gradient, making the white area larger and moving the grey closer to the edge.

apply convert to shape effect 2

Step 4

Duplicate the yellow Fill in the Appearance panel and change the color of the copy to linear gradient from yellow to bright-pink. Set the Opacity of the yellow side to 0% and the Opacity of the pink side to 60% in the Gradient panel. Squash the gradient with the help of the Gradient Tool (G) and make it cover the upper part of the yellow Fill.

add new fill with pink color in the upper part of the eye

Step 5

If you wish to add more glow to the eyes, add another Fill above the yellow one and fill it with radial gradient from transparent yellow to bright yellow, creating a bright glowing ring around the iris.

add yellow glow around the iris

Step 6

Surround the eye with tiny turquoise feathers and add highlights to the eye, filling them with black-to-blue gradient and switching to Screen Blending Mode.

add feathers and highlights

Step 7

Let’s create a whimsical brow to make the owl’s look more serious. Draw a freehand shape with the Pencil Tool (N) and fill it with yummy-looking pink gradient. Split the shape into two parts the same way as we did with the golden horn, and edit the fill color of the lower part, making it an orange-pink gradient.

create a freehand drawn brow

Step 8

Add some highlights on top of the shape, switching to Screen Blending Mode.

Add some highlights to the brow

Step 9

Place the brow on top of the eye and edit the feathers, making some of them brighter with the Recolor Artwork option.

recolor some of the feathers

5. Add Minor Details to Give the Case a Finished Look

Step 1

Let’s make our owl more three-dimensional by adding shadows to separate the rows of feathers from each other. Select a group of feathers, Copy it and Paste in Back (Control-C > Control-B). Unite the parts of the copy in Pathfinder, turning it into a single silhouette.

add shadows to separate the feathers 1

Step 2

Fill the created silhouette with linear gradient from white to purple and switch it to Multiply Blending Mode, thus creating a subtle shadow.

add shadows to separate the feathers 2

Add more shadows between feather groups and around the eyes, using the same technique.

add shadows to separate the feathers 3

Step 3

Now we can File > Place the iPhone case template in our file and put additional feathers at the edges, covering the blank spaces. Remember to keep the owl’s face in the center of the template. Add a dark-brown background beneath the owl with the Rectangle Tool (M) to fill the empty space above its head.

File  Place the iPhone case template and add more feathers

Step 4

Adjust the size of our Artboard according to the size of the template with the help of the Artboard Tool (Shift-O). One of the advantages of vector graphics is that you can scale down your artwork and set a size several times smaller than the original and then just Export it with the necessary dimensions (for example, 300 dpi for print).

Adjust the size of our Artboard according to the size of the template

Step 5

Let’s hide the unwanted parts that are crossing the edges of our Artboard to make our work look neater and cleaner. Copy the background rectangle and Send it in Front, placing it on top of all other objects (Shift-Control-]). Select all the created elements, including the upper rectangle, press the right mouse button and choose Make Clipping Mask in the drop-down menu.

Make Clipping Mask to hide the unwanted parts

Step 6

Now we can try uploading our design on various websites that offer iPhone case printing and choose the most suitable one.

create your case print preview

Great Job! We’ve Finished!

Our radiant owl iPhone 6 case design is ready! I hope you’ve enjoyed following this tutorial and found some useful tips and tricks on using the Blend Tool and other Adobe Illustrator features. Good luck in creating your fancy and stylish smartphone cases!

owl iPhone 6 case final design
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.