Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Digital Painting
Design

提升你数码涂绘水平的7个练习

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by infoVsion_wonderful (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

当你第一次使用一个手绘板的时候,你很难阻止自己把所有这些想法从脑海中画出来。 你尝试了一下,结果比预期的更糟,但你继续尝试。 有时你会有这种感觉,也许你应该在开始真正的绘画之前练习一下,但是这些练习太枯燥了! 你想画一条龙,而不是几块阴影。

我很理解你! 这就是为什么我准备了一套练习,让你不用画那些无聊的东西就能学习到数码CG的精髓。 用这些技巧画任何你喜欢的东西,你很快就会看到进步!

1、只用光来画

我们通常从白色画布开始,但那只是传统绘画思维的残余。 这个“默认”的起始方法迫使我们同时要画出亮部和暗影,即使阴影不是真的——它只是缺少光(参见我关于光和影的文章了解更多)。

从黑色的画布开始,你只能强迫自己用光来作画,还原阴影的本质——一块缺少光的区域

第一步

准备一个你的所练习对象的草图。

drawing lion

第二步

反转它的颜色(在Photoshop中你可以使用快捷键Control-I),用黑色填充背景。

drawing lion inverse

第三步

降低草图的不透明度(使它几乎透明)。

drawing lion transparent lines

第四步

这是乐趣的开始。 定义你的光源,猜猜它会照射到什么地方,然后用白色涂上它们。

lion painting white light

第五步

主光会反射到地面上,因此它会在物体下面产生环境光。 用它来给物体蒙上更多的阴影,这次是用更暗的阴影。

lion painting reflected light

第六步

就是它! 你可以在这里完成你的练习,或者进一步完善图片。 你可以让它保持原样,也可以将它作为一个阴影层(以正片叠底模式)来创建一个“正常”的图片。

lion painting details

2、限制你的颜色

在Photoshop的颜色选择器中有太多的颜色会让你晕眩! 也没有使用它们的指南——它们看起来都是一样的,所以你应该从哪一种颜色开始呢? 绿色? 黄色? 黄绿色的?

事实上,大多数对象的颜色都局限在一个有限的调色板内。 通常是两到三种主要的颜色,以及一到两种颜色用于细节。 如果你用得太多,它可能会开始看起来很假。

要练习使用颜色而不花太多时间选择它们,在开始之前刻意准备一个有限的配色方案:

  1. 主色1
  2. 主色2
  3. 细节色1
  4. 细节色2
color shceme limit

为了使它更容易,为每一种颜色创建阴影:

  1. 半亮的(深色,更蓝一点)
  2. 阴影(更暗更蓝)
  3. 反射光(比半光亮一点,偏蓝,不太饱和)

你使用Photoshop的色相/饱和度调节(Control-U)来创建这些阴影的主要方案。

color scheme light shadow

现在,忘掉颜色选择器,开始绘画吧!

第一步

用阴影色绘制你的物体。

painting with color scheme shadow

第二步

用半亮的颜色把没有缝隙的地方都涂上。

painting with color scheme ambient light

第三步

使用主色来绘制光线直接照射的区域。

painting with color scheme main light

第四步

使用反射光的颜色在光源的对面画。

painting with color scheme reflected light

第五步

完成涂绘 现在你可以在这里和那里添加一些其他的细节,但是这些不应该是对整体产生太大影响。

正如您所看到的,在开始时规划您的调色板将使整个过程更快、更方便。 在将大量的时间和精力放在一个作品的细节上之前,您还可以轻松地测试任何颜色组合。

painting with color scheme refined空白

3、从现实中拷贝颜色

你可能听到专业人士说过:“照片不是好的参考,用现实代替——你会学到更多。” 这是真的,但是他们很少提到这有多难!

假设你想要画一个特定的物体。 为了绘画的目的,我们把它看作是不同区域的一组颜色。 你该从何开始? 你首先会选什么颜色? 当它看起来不同于它的邻居时,如何选择它呢?

如果你用的是照片,你可以用滴管工具看看照片里有什么颜色。 你可能会感到惊讶,你会发现你从未想过会在那里看到的阴影! 黑色的物体可以含有深浅的蓝色和黄色,白色的人的皮肤可以被绿色和紫罗兰着色…… 你的眼睛欺骗了你!

让我们把滴管工具放在一边,用一些更有教育意义的东西来代替。

第一步

你需要一张卡,可以硬一点的,颜色是中性的。 如果你没有的话,你可以用50%k的卡纸来打印

用剪刀或美工刀在上面剪两个正方形的洞 其中一个大约10毫米高,另一个大约5毫米高。

how to copy colors from reality tools

第二步

找一个你想画的场景。 如果你只把它当作一种锻炼,那么你可以随意拍照,并把它准备好。 然而,如果你打算把结果公布成一项研究论文,你的粉丝可能会觉得被骗了!

how to copy colors from reality scene

第三步

用你的卡片把一种颜色和其他颜色区分开来。 然后在程序中选择相同的颜色 试着看着卡片,就好像颜色印在卡片上一样(闭上一只眼睛可能会有帮助)。

在大的地方用大的洞,小的用小洞。 当两种色调乍一看完全相同的时候,你也可以用它们来进行比较。 如果一个色块太小了,连小洞都不能分开,那就意味着当所有的色调都被确定之后,你可以最后来画它。

how to copy colors from reality usage

从场景中最丰富的颜色开始。 一旦你确定了它们,你可能不再需要这张卡片了——你的眼睛在你的绘画中会有足够的能力来帮助你通过光学原理上选择颜色。

how to copy colors from reality study basic

这就行了! 一开始可能会非常困难,但是随着时间的推移,你对颜色的识别能力会大大提高而不再需要小卡片。 这个练习最大好处就是可以的学习颜色和它们之间的关系。 与使用滴滴管工具不同,这里你可以有意识地决定使用哪种颜色,在哪里使用,这个决定会被记住。

你可能会注意到,在完成这个练习之后,你的大脑会开始分析你周围的颜色。 这是一个有趣的经历,但如果它惹恼了你,不要担心——它会随着时间流逝而消失!

how to copy colors from reality study done

4、用大笔刷来涂

我们画画是为了呈现大脑中的一些印象。 虽然这一愿景从一开始就似乎是完整的,但绘画是一个过程,你必须一步一步地去做——没有任何方法一下子就完成的。

这导致了另一个问题。 如果我想画龙,从哪里开始? 我应该先画翅膀,还是先画眼睛? 那他的鳞片呢? 我该什么时候给整幅图涂上阴影?

解决这些问题的方法是在细节上下功夫。 你一开始可以画得又大又松散,然后你可以逐渐笔刷变小添加细节。 这能让你保持照片的一致性——你的一边永远不会有一个详细的头像,另一边也不会有一个写生的爪子。 你也不会浪费时间去寻找“完美的画笔”。 随便挑一个大的开始画画吧!

这个练习很短。 从现在开始,用不规则的大刷子处理你所有的画。 然后用它来形成光影,如果你看到一些美好的东西正在诞生,像往常一样继续。 如果没有,你可以重新开始——这不会花很多时间。 这种方法并不能保证每一项工作都是成功的,但是它可以让你在投入时间之前了解失败的作品是什么样子。

澄清一下,当我说“大刷子”的时候,我并不是指大刷子——它们应该和物体成比例。 所以,如果你想用一系列的“缩略草图”来准备绘画,你的画笔实际上是非常小的!

how to paint thumbnails

5、无定向光源的阴影

当你学习阴影和高光时,你通常从选择光源开始。 一旦你知道它在哪里,你就知道物体的哪个部分应该被照亮,哪个部分应该被阴影笼罩

然而,如果你环顾四周,你会发现很少有物体被一个方向清晰的光源照亮。 它们通常被周围的光线淹没——一种可能来自一个方向的光线,但随后会反射所有的光线,这让它看起来就像是被光“围绕着”。

如果你想让你的物体自然地呈现那种显著的阴影,你需要掌握这种光影模式。 一旦你掌握了他,你会发现这真的很简单!

要进行这个练习,您需要简单地理解一个规则。 通常我们用物体身上有两种光:主光源和反射光。 其他的部分都是阴影。

how to paint ambient occlusion sphere lack
how to paint ambient occlusion example lack
这只鸟在黑暗中飞翔,被来自一个方向的强烈光线照亮

对于更真实的场景,一个更好的主意是在引入光照之前就给物体蒙上阴影。 要做到这一点,可以使用稍微亮一点的阴影颜色,画出所有闭合或其他类似的东西。

how to paint ambient occlusion sphere
how to paint ambient occlusion example
这只鸟不仅受到主要光源的照射,而且还受到来自天空的环境光的照射。

如果你做的正确,你的对象在第一个光影阶段应该看起来更像2而不是1。

how to paint ambient occlusion scales

这就是整个练习! 如果你错过了这个规则,那么再来一次:在你开始用经典的方式着色之前,想象周围有一种微妙的光,并根据它来照亮物体。 只有这样你才能开始着色。 你可能会发现你的照片甚至不需要像你期望的那样强烈的光线!

6、在涂绘之前研究一下

“哇,这真是一只神奇的鸟,我要用这些颜色画一只格里芬!” 这将是非常棒的! 你打开Photoshop和…停! 还没有到开始画的时候。 问问你自己:我以前画过鸟吗? 还是一个大猫? 狮鹫可能是想象出来的生物,但它的部分是由真实的生物组成的。 你不能在画什么东西的时候告诉别人它是格里芬的喙,当它看起来不像任何喙的时候,只是因为“狮鹫不存在,所以你怎么知道……”

如果你从来没有画过这类东西,不要指望第一次就能画对。 你不能在画什么东西的时候告诉别人它是格里芬的喙,当它看起来不像任何喙的时候,只是因为“狮鹫不存在,所以你怎么知道……” 如果你从来没有注意过它,你就不可能知道它! 你可以在我的文章中了解这一现象的原来:什么凭想象中很难画出来?

如果你认为你能画出来,在开始之前先测试一下。 画一只鹰的翅膀或狮子的腿。 容易么? 太好了,你可以开始你的新作品了。 很难或者根本不可能?那也不错! 你只是节省了自己的工作时间,其实你根本画不出来

study before painting

每次你想要描绘一些新的好主意时,就做这个练习。 找出它将被构建的元素,然后分别绘制它们的草图。 如果它们看起来正确,你就可以开始了。 如果没有,收集大量的参考资料,然后多画点。 您可以在我关于构建可视化数据库的文章中找到为此目的而做的具体练习。

study before painting example

这个主题并不是你在绘画之前唯一应该研究的东西。 实践光影、色彩、构图……不要让你未来的杰作仅仅是你技能的试验场!

study before painting lighting reference

7、学习色值

通过以灰度开始一幅画,然后添加颜色,您可以使这个过程更简单,也更不容易混淆。 然而,它可能会让你错过构图的重要部分——色值。

颜色有一定的亮度,但也有色值——最亮的蓝色总是比最亮的黄色暗。 我在我的文章《如何掌握色值》中详细解释了它,所以如果您想了解更多,请查看它。 在这里,我将向你展示一个练习,你可以把它融入到你的“正常”绘画中。

如果你将一个经典的颜色轮转换为灰度,你会看到:

colors in grayscale

它可能看起来很混乱,但你只需要明白绿色是明亮的灰色,红色是中灰色,蓝色是深灰色。 其他颜色的混合也是它们的值的混合,所以很容易计算它们的值。

colors value
why are some colors darker

为什么它如此重要? 假设你把这只鸟画成灰色:

values painting grayscale

现在你想添加这些颜色:

values painting colors

您继续在一个单独的层上绘制这些颜色,然后您将其混合模式更改为颜色。 和…发生这种情况:

values painting muddy dull colors color mode

为什么会这样? 颜色已经调整到阴影层,它不包含任何关于值的信息。 例如,在明亮的色调上的蓝色通过降低饱和度而变得明亮。 蓝色会变得更亮,但不是你想要的那样。 但是Photoshop不能读取你的思想!

要解决这个问题,在添加颜色之前,请使用叠加图层来给对象添加灰色。 用深灰色代替蓝色,浅灰色代替绿色,等等。

values painting gray shades

如果你现在加上你的颜色,它们就会很有魅力!

values painting corrected

理解色值的最好方法是让你计划颜色的最终效果。 我们的眼睛首先寻找对比度,而颜色则不那么重要。 不管你的图片有多丰富多彩,如果你弄错了它的色值,它就不能很好地为观众“工作”。

色值不仅对灰度绘制很重要——即使您同时使用多种颜色,您也必须理解隐藏在颜色、饱和度和亮度后面的第四个属性。 记住:对你的眼睛来说,它不仅仅是“蓝”或“黄”——它是“黑”和“亮”!

values painting comparison

就这样;说完了

我希望这些练习能让你看到一些快速的进步! 如果你喜欢这个教程,并且你有更多的兴趣,你也可以看看数字绘画中的10个基本错误,以及如何修复它们。 或者,如果你想要一个更实际的方法,试试我的数字绘画教程,比如如何从一幅画中去除线条,或者创建一个毛茸茸的吉祥物

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Digital Painting
Design

7 Exercises to Improve Your Digital Painting Skills

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:ShortLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

When you get a graphics tablet for the first time, it's hard to stop yourself from painting all these ideas out of your head. You try, they turn out worse than expected, but you keep trying. Sometimes you get this feeling that maybe you should practice before getting into real painting, but these exercises are so boring! You want to paint a dragon, not a couple of shaded blocks.

I feel you! That's why I've prepared a set of exercises that will make you learn without having to paint boring things. Paint whatever you like using any of these techniques, and you'll see progress in no time!

1. Paint With Light Only

We usually start with a white canvas, but that's simply a remnant of a traditional medium. This "default" position forces us to paint both light and shadow, even though shadow isn't really a thing—it's just lack of light (see my article about light and shadow to learn more).

By starting with a black canvas, you're forcing yourself to paint with light only, making shadow what it should be—an area without light.

Step 1

Prepare a sketch of your object.

drawing lion

Step 2

Invert its colors (in Photoshop you can use the shortcut Control-I) and fill the background with black.

drawing lion inverse

Step 3

Lower the Opacity of the sketch (make it almost transparent).

drawing lion transparent lines

Step 4

This is where the fun begins. Define your light source, guess which areas it reaches, and paint them with white.

lion painting white light

Step 5

That main light bounces off the ground, so it creates an ambient light under the object. Use it to shade the object some more, this time with a darker shade.

lion painting reflected light

Step 6

That's it! You can finish your exercise here, or go further and refine the picture. You can leave it as it is, or use this as a shadow layer (in Multiply mode) for a color layer to create a "normal" picture.

lion painting details

2. Limit Your Colors

There are so many colors in Photoshop's color picker that it can make you dizzy! There's no guide to using them, either—they all look equal, so which color should you choose for the start? Green? Yellow? Yellowish green?

The truth is most objects have a limited color palette. Usually it's two or three main colors, and one or two colors for details. If you use more, it may start to look fake.

To practice working with colors without spending too much time on choosing them, prepare a limited color scheme before you start:

  1. main color 1
  2. main color 2
  3. detail color 1
  4. detail color 2
color shceme limit

To make it even easier, create shades for every color:

  1. half-light (darker, more bluish)
  2. shadow (even darker and more bluish)
  3. reflected light (a bit brighter than half-light, more bluish and less saturated)

You use Photoshop's Hue/Saturation adjustment (Control-U) to create these shades out of the main scheme.

color scheme light shadow

Now, forget about the color picker and start painting!

Step 1

Paint your object with the shadow colors.

painting with color scheme shadow

Step 2

Use the half-light colors to paint all the areas that aren't crevices.

painting with color scheme ambient light

Step 3

Use the main color to paint the directly illuminated areas.

painting with color scheme main light

Step 4

Use the reflected light color to paint on the opposite side of the light source.

painting with color scheme reflected light

Step 5

Finish the painting. Now you're allowed to add other color accents here and there, but these shouldn't be dramatic changes.

As you can see, planning your color palette at the beginning makes the whole process faster and more convenient. You can also easily test any color combination before you investing time and effort in a detailed object.

painting with color scheme refined.

3. Copy Colors From Reality

You can hear professionals saying: "Photos aren't good references, use reality instead—you'll learn more". This is true, but they rarely mention how hard it is!

Let's say you want to paint a particular object. For the purpose of painting, we see it as a set of colors of various areas. Where do you start? Which color do you pick first? And how to choose it, when it looks different depending on its neighbors?

If you used a photo instead, you could use the Eyedropper Tool and see what shades there are in the picture. You'd probably be surprised—you'd find shades that you'd never expect to see there! A black object can contain shades of blue and yellow, white human skin can be shaded with greens and violets... Your eyes lie to you!

Let's put the Eyedropper Tool aside, and use something more educational instead.

Step 1

You're going to need a card, possibly stiff and with neutral color. If you don't have one, you can print it using 50%K.

Use scissors or a cutter to cut two square holes in it. One of them should be about 10mm high, and the other about 5mm high.

how to copy colors from reality tools

Step 2

Find a scene you want to paint. If you treat it solely as an exercise, feel free to take a photo and prepare line art out of it. However, if you plan to post the result as anything more than a study, your fans may feel cheated!

how to copy colors from reality scene

Step 3

Use your card to separate a color from the others. Then try to pick the same color in your program. Try to look at the card as if the colors were printed on it (closing one eye may help).

Use the bigger hole for big areas, and the small one for smaller. You can also use them both for a comparison, when two shades look identical at first glance. If a shade is too small to be separated even by the smaller hole, it means you should paint it later, when all the bigger shades are defined.

how to copy colors from reality usage

Start with the colors that are the most abundant in the scene. Once you have them established, you may not need the card anymore—your eyes will have enough support in your painting to help you pick the colors optically.

how to copy colors from reality study basic

That's it! It may be terribly hard at first, but with time you'll get so efficient at seeing the colors you won't need the card anymore. This exercise is the best there is to learn colors and the relations between them. In contrast to using the Eyedropper Tool, here you consciously decide which color to use and where, and that decision is remembered.

What you may notice is that after finishing this exercise your mind will start analyzing the colors around you. This is a funny experience, but if it annoys you, don't worry—it goes away with time!

how to copy colors from reality study done

4. Paint Using a Big Brush

We paint to embody some vision in our heads. While that vision seems to be complete from the start, painting is a process, and you must do it step by step—there's no way to have it all done just like that.

This creates another problem. If I want to paint a dragon, where do I start? Should I paint the wings first, or maybe the eyes? And what about the scales? And when do I shade the whole thing?

The solution to these problems are levels of detail. You start big and loose, then you go smaller and more detailed. This lets you keep the uniformity of your picture—you never have a detailed head on one side and a sketched paw on the other. You also don't waste time searching for "that perfect brush". Just take a big one and start painting!

This exercise is a very short one. Just from now on, start all your paintings with a big, irregular brush. Then use it to block the light, and if you see something nice is being born, continue as usually. If not, you can start again—it doesn't take much time. This method doesn't guarantee every work will be a success, but it gives you a chance to learn about a failed one before you invest time in it.

To clarify, when I say "big brush" I don't mean huge strokes—they just should be big in proportion to the object. So, if you want to prepare for painting with a series of "thumbnail sketches", your brush can actually be quite small!

how to paint thumbnails

5. Shade Without a Directional Light Source

When you learn about shading and lighting, you usually start by picking a light source. Once you know where it is, you know which parts of the object should be illuminated, and which darkened by shadow.

However, if you look around, you'll see that objects are rarely so neatly illuminated by a single light source with a clear direction. They're usually flooded with ambient light—a kind of light that may come from one direction, but later bounces off everything, which makes it look as if it was simply "around".

If you want to shade your objects naturally instated of dramatically, you need to master this way of lighting. It's really simple, once you know it!

To use this exercise you need to simply understand one rule. Usually we shade an object with two lights: main light and reflected light. Everything in between is shadow.

how to paint ambient occlusion sphere lack
how to paint ambient occlusion example lack
This bird flies in darkness, illuminated by a strong light coming from a single direction

A better idea for more realistic scenarios is to shade the object even before the lights are introduced. To do it, use a slightly brighter shade of the shadow color and paint everything that isn't a crevice or anything similar.

how to paint ambient occlusion sphere
how to paint ambient occlusion example
This bird is illuminated not only by the main light source, but also by ambient light coming from the sky

If you do this correctly, your object during the first lighting phase should look more like 2 than 1.

how to paint ambient occlusion scales

That's the whole exercise! If you missed the rule, here it is once again: before you start shading in a classic way, imagine a subtle light all around and illuminate the object according to it. Only then you can start shading. You may discover that your picture doesn't even need as strong light as you expected!

6. Study Before Painting

"Wow, this is such an amazing bird, I'm going to paint a griffin with these colors! It's going to be awesome!" You open Photoshop and... stop! Don't start painting yet. Ask yourself: have I ever drawn a bird before? Or a big cat? A griffin may be an imagined creature, but its parts are made of real ones. You can't paint something and tell someone it's a griffin's beak when it doesn't look like any beak, only because "griffins don't exist, so how do you know..."

If you've never drawn something, don't expect you'll get it right the first time. You may be able to recognize an eagle when you see one, but it doesn't mean you know how to draw something recognizable as an eagle. If you've never paid attention to it, you just can't know it! You can learn more about this phenomenon in my article Why Is It So Hard to Draw From Imagination?

If you think you can draw it, test it before you start. Sketch an eagle wing or lion legs. Was it easy? Great, you can start your amazing new piece. Was it hard/impossible to do? Great! You've just saved yourself hours of working on a painting you are not able to paint correctly (yet).

study before painting

Do this exercise every time you want to paint some new great idea. Find out what elements it'll be built of, then sketch them separately. If they look correct, you're free to start. If not, gather a lot of references and just draw, a lot. You can find specific exercises made for this purpose in my article about building the visual database.

study before painting example

The topic isn't the only thing you should study before painting. Practice lighting, colors, composition... Don't let your future masterpiece be a mere testing ground for your skills!

study before painting lighting reference

7. Learn the Values of Colors

By starting a painting in grayscale and adding the colors later, you may make the process easier and less confusing. However, it may make you miss the important part of composition—the value.

Colors have a certain brightness, but they also have a value—the brightest blue will be always darker than the brightest yellow. I've explained it in detail in my article How to Master Value, so check it if you want to know more. Here I'll show you an exercise that you can just incorporate into your "normal" paintings.

If you turn a classic color wheel to grayscale, you'll see this:

colors in grayscale

It may seem confusing, but you just need to understand that green is bright gray, red is medium gray, and blue is dark gray. The other colors that are mixtures of those are also mixtures of their values, so it's easy to calculate theirs.

colors value
why are some colors darker

Why is it so important? Let's say you've painted this bird in grayscale:

values painting grayscale

Now you want to add these colors to it:

values painting colors

You proceed to paint these colors on a separate layer, then you change its Blend Mode to Color. And... this happens:

values painting muddy dull colors color mode

Why? The colors have been adjusted to the shading layer, which doesn't contain any information about value. For example, blue on top of a bright shade is brightened by lowering its Saturation. And it works—blue gets brighter, just not the way you wanted. But Photoshop can't read your mind!

To fix this, before adding the colors use Multiply Layer to "color" the object with grays. Use dark gray instead of blue, light gray instead of green, and so on.

values painting gray shades

If you add your colors now, they'll work like a charm!

values painting corrected

The best thing about understanding values is that it lets you plan the final impact of colors. Our eyes search for contrast first, and colors are less important. No matter how colorful your picture, if you get the values wrong it will not "work" properly for viewers.

Values are not only important for painting in grayscale—even if you paint with colors at once, you must understand that fourth attribute hidden behind Hue, Saturation, and Brightness. Remember: for your eyes it's not only "blue" or "yellow"—it's "dark" and "bright"!

values painting comparison

That's All!

I hope these exercise will let you see some quick progress! If you liked this tutorial and you have an appetite for more, you can also check 10 Basic Mistakes in Digital Painting and How to Fix Them. Or, if you want a more practical approach, try one of my digital painting tutorials like How to Remove Lines From a Drawing or Create a Furry Mascot.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.