Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Graphic Design

理解 Adobe Illustrator的网格系统

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Chinese (Simplified) (中文(简体)) translation by Yushine (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Adobe Illustrator是目前最受欢迎的矢量软件。 首先,看起来那么复杂和精致的,不需要你长时间来恶补它,理解其大部分的按钮和选项。

尽管如此,刚刚开始理解它时一些功能和设置通常被忽略,这就是为什么我要与你分享这些当我第一次开始使用它时我希望有人告诉我的。

是的,我要分享的是网格系统。

什么是网格系统?

对于任何学习曲线,我们需要问自己的第一件事就是这个词的实际意义是什么?

根据韦氏在线词典,网格被定义为“均匀间隔的水平和垂直的直线构成的网络(定位地图上的点)”。

可以找到一个更精确的定义在维基百科,网格在图形设计的文中解释说:”一个网格是一个结构(通常是二维)由一系列的相交直线(垂直、水平和角)或弯曲的引导线,用于创建内容。 网格作为一个部件,设计师可以用理性的,容易理解的方式来组织图形元素(图像、符号、线段)。 网格可以用来组织图形元素与页面的关系,和与面上的其他图形元素的关系,或与其他部分相同的图形元素或形状的关系。”

值得一提的是,Illustrator的网格是由垂直线和水平线构成。 如果你想建立弯曲或更复杂的网格,你将不得不依赖使用指南来创建它们,这是相当容易使用。

grid example

网格为什么重要?

可能此刻你有网格的基本概念。 但是为什么你要关心或甚至使用它? 好吧,如果你想创造达到平衡的事物就要依据通过定位来完成视觉元素的方式,网格就是依据这种方式。 它们为你提供如何与一个对象到另一个对象的引导,最重要的是如何在画板上组织元素。

除此之外,网格可以帮助设计师为数码产品创建完美像素作品(在我看来是必须的),更多精彩都是这样的时候。

在我我展开使用网格创建形状作品的重要性之前,我需要简要讨论一些在两个不同的媒体(屏幕和印刷)创建图像的关键方面。

数字 VS 印刷

正如你知道的,数字媒介和印刷有许多不同。 它们拥有不同的颜色模式(RGB 和 CMYK),而且每一个可以输出不同的分辨率(屏幕分辨率 VS 印刷分辨率)。 让他们更加不同的是他们呈现图像的方式,最重要的是它们的处理曲线的方法。

电脑显示器是像素网格(平方像素平铺一个连着一个),这意味着它将处理曲率是通过增加透明像素(alpha通道),这一过程被称为反锯齿,最终是模仿自然在一张纸上画出直线的例子。

round corner antialiasing example

打印机只依赖纸张大小和 dpi (每英寸点)设置图像,这意味着它会打印出完美曲率(条件是你将 dpi 设置为高值)。 这是因为印刷是基于分层的颜色点,不需要添加如同屏幕设备用于创建平滑曲线的那样的错觉的一个接一个半透明的值。

吸附或者不吸附?

嗯,这可能是可能会问到的最好的一个问题。 通过吸附的过程,你引导 Illustrator 把画板上的每个对象对齐到网格/像素网格。

记得我在前面告诉过你,网格可以帮助我们创建完美像素图像吗? 现在你已知道数字图像处理和印刷的不同,是时候对我认为的网格最重要的任务进行更详细的描述。

我几乎可以肯定你在 Dribbble 或者 Behance上看过一些线条超级细的插图,总是想知道设计师如何做到的。 不要再惊奇:他或她只是确保所有元素对齐到像素网格,用所有标准值创建每个元素。

我指的所有标准值是没有小数位的值,举个例子,我们有一个宽200 px 高 100 px 的矩形,而不是像 200.84 px 99.80 px 。

网格扩展

因为我相信例子的力量比文字大,我将解释能帮助你正确使用网格所有你需要的,通过展示给你一步一步的准备过程,这些将是你每次在illustrator中创造东西所依赖的。

步骤1

对于任何新的项目,我们做的第一件事总是创建文档。 打开 illustrator并以如下的数值创建一个文件:

  • 画板数量:1
  • 宽度: 800 px
  • 高度:800px
  • 单位:像素

打开高级 标签:

  • 颜色模式: RGB
  • 栅格效果: 300 ppi
  • 对齐新建对象到像素网格:选中
setting up a new document

快速提示:你可能已经注意到我把栅格效果设置为 300 ppi,当这个文件用于屏幕时使用。 好的,设置栅格为更高的ppi值会在屏幕上没有明显的效果,但是如果因为某些原因你需要打印出来你所设计(即使你创建它使用RGB颜色值)的任何底部阴影,内部阴影,和其他效果将变得一团糟,如果他们是印刷的ppi 数值低于300。

你可以一直修改一个文档的ppi,不管最初的设置,通过 效果 > 文档栅格效果设置,给它期望的数值。

步骤2

一旦你完成文档设置,创造一个 100*100 px 黑色正方形,并使用对齐面板放置在于画板顶部左角的位置。

positioning the black square

步骤3

为了了解网格是如何工作的你必须首先看见它。 前往 视图 > 显示网格Control-"),立刻你应该就会看到illustrator 设置默认的 1000*4的网格。

viewing the grid

步骤4

现在我们来看看,它实际上是如何工作的? 首先我想让你选择并移动这个小正方形,在你的键盘的方向键的帮助下,看看它是如何表现的。

你可能注意到我们的小对象四周跳跃了一点像素但并不容易被察觉。 这是因为我们没有使用 对齐网格 命令。

把这个正方形放置在它的原始位置,然后前往 视图 > 对齐网格(Shift-Control-Y),再一次,尝试移动这个对象到正确位置。

moving the black square on the grid

现在我们可以清晰地看到一点不同。 如果你在此移动它到正确的位置,你开始注意一个模式。 每次这个正方形跳跃,它是通过吸附到这个小正方的一个角,通过我们的网格形状的水平线和垂直线。

让我们来看看为什么illustrator会这样做,通过illustrator是如何创建网格来解释。 正如我已经提过的,在软件中配置的默认设置:

  • 网格线间隔: 1000 px
  • 细分 :4

但是这是设置实际意思是什么呢?

非常简单。 在每个1000 px,illustrator 将画出四个界定线(两个水平和两个垂直)创建一个1000*1000 px 正方形,将进一步分为16个更小的 250*250 px 的正方形(1000 / 4 = 250)

grid dimensions explained

因为我们的画板只有 800*800 px (3个 250 px 正方形加上另一个较小的 50 px 部分 用绿色突出显示),它将吸附于一个网格的1000*1000px 正方形的左边和上边,留下网格的闲置空间的右边的和较低的部分(200 px 红色突出显示)。

现在,回到我们的小黑正方形,它它跳跃到 250*250 px的正方形的原因是它只有100*100 px,它正如这个画板,illustrator强迫它吸附于规定的线上。 如何这个黑色对象正好是250*250 px,它会针具这个网格的正方形的全部表面,也会正好跳跃到16个内部位置的其中一个。

artboard dimensions vs grid system

调整网格设置

我希望最后一步设法阐明网格是如何工作的,但是你必须理解每个项目创建可能需要设置不同的网格大小取决于你的画板尺寸,和你想要的放置元素的精确度。

我发现使用最小可能设置会带给我最准确的结果,并结合网格和路径查找器的力量,我可以更快更直觉地放置我的元素。

我的网格设置:

  • 网格线间隔:1 px
  • 细分:1

如果你想实验或者仅仅使用我给你的设置,所有你需要做的是前往 编辑 >偏好 > 参考线&网格 并按你的想法修改。

adjusting the grid settings

使用网格快速设计原型

让我们尝试一个简短的练习,看看我们可以创建一个快速网站线框图,使用网格和网格线间隔为800 px,细分为4,在相同的800*800 px 画板上。

是哒,我知道现在基本网站的默认宽度是 960 px,但是我想给你展示一个简单的例子,通过使用定制网格设置来放置东西是多么简单。

步骤1

创造一个 800*200 px 矩形并放置在我们的画板上方,颜色使用 #191919 抓取字体工具并标记这个部分正如我们的网站的页眉

prototype header

快速提示:如果你有更小的元素,不需要对齐到网格,在我们案例中的部分标签,简单选择这些元素然后前往视图菜单,取消对齐网格。

步骤2

创建一个更小的 600*400 px的矩形,颜色使用深灰(#3D3D3D),然后使用方向键放置在画板的左边,正好在页眉的下方。 确保网络部分的标签为内容。

prototype content

步骤3

创建一个更小的 200*400 px 的对象,颜色使用 #B24747,然后放置在内容的右边,确保标签为工具栏。

prototype sidebar

步骤 4

完成我们的小线框图通过增加另一个 800*200 px 的矩形(#191919)在我们的画板底部,标记为我们的页脚。

prototype footer

通过这个方式,仅仅花了几秒,我们成功创建了一个基本的网页。 想象如果我们如果花费更多的时间来制作它。

偶数的对齐

在我让你独自尝试定制网格之前,我想告诉我关于对齐网格对齐像素命令的主要区别。

通过默认,当你创建一个新建文档时,像素模型常常设置为默认。 那意味着你的设计是基于你所看到的(你看的矢量而不是像素格式)。 在这种情况下,对齐命令将对网格进行设置,并取决于你分配的值,它将对齐到小正方来组成。

如果你使用 像素预览(视图 > 像素预览)并放大画板,illustrator将显示构成你的矢量元素的实际像素。 一旦对齐到像素,每个画板上的动作将通过你已经设置的键盘增量,你推拉的距离的实际像素数量。

快速提示:是的,你可以设置精确的默认增量,来移动你画板上的对象。 前往 编辑 > 偏好 > 常规 > 键盘增量 来找到这个命令。

keyboard increment settings

两个对齐方式的关键区别是如果你已经以某种方式创建一个带小数位像素的对象,举个例子,一个 200.9 * 60.40 px 的矩形,对齐到像素网格将迫使它改变它整个的规模数值,因此创建一个清晰对象。

我建议,一旦你用对齐网格命令来创建文档,你应该一直转换到像素预览模式并查看他们是否正确对齐到像素网格,这样你才能确保你的作品看上去尽可能得清晰。

关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Graphic Design
Design

Understanding Adobe Illustrator's Grid System

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:QuickLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Adobe Illustrator is today by far the most popular vector software out there. As complex and elaborate as it might seem at first, it doesn’t take you long to tinker with it and figure out what most of its buttons and options do.

Still, some functions and settings are usually overlooked by those who are just starting to grasp it, which is why I’m going to share with you something that I wish somebody had showed me when I first started out using it.

Yes, I’m talking about the Grid system.

What Is the Grid?

As with any learning curve, the first thing we need to ask ourselves is what is the actual meaning of the word?

According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, a grid is defined as “a network of uniformly spaced horizontal and perpendicular lines (as for locating points on a map)” .

An even more refined definition can be found over at Wikipedia, where the grid is explained in the context of graphic design: “a grid is a structure (usually two-dimensional) made up of a series of intersecting straight (vertical, horizontal, and angular) or curved guide lines used to structure content. The grid serves as an armature on which a designer can organize graphic elements (images, glyphs, paragraphs) in a rational, easy to absorb manner. A grid can be used to organize graphic elements in relation to a page, in relation to other graphic elements on the page, or relation to other parts of the same graphic element or shape.”

It’s worth mentioning that Illustrator’s Grid is made up of only straight vertical and horizontal lines. If you want to set up curved or more complex grids, you will have to rely on creating them using guidelines, which are fairly easy to use.

grid example

Why Is the Grid Important?

Probably at this point you have a basic idea of what a grid is. But why should you care or even use it? Well, if you want to create something that has balance in terms of the way the visual elements complete one another through their positioning, grids are the way to go. They offer you guidance on how to relate one object to another, and most importantly how to structure elements on the artboard.

Beyond that, the Grid helps designers create pixel perfect artwork for digital devices (which in my opinion is a must), but more on that in a couple of moments.

Before I can expand on the importance of using the Grid to create sharp artwork, I need to talk briefly about some key aspects of the way images are constructed on the two different media (screen and print).

Digital vs. Print

As you probably already know, the digital medium differs a lot from the printed one. Each of them has different color modes (RGB vs. CMYK), and each one can output different resolutions (screen resolution vs. print resolution). What makes them even more different is the way they render images, and most importantly the way they handle curved lines.

A computer monitor is pixel grid dependent (squared pixels tiled to one another), meaning it will handle curvatures by adding transparent pixels (alpha channels) on the sides, a process called anti-aliasing, which in the end mimics the natural straight line one would draw on a piece of paper for example.

round corner antialiasing example

A printer is dependent only on the paper size and the dpi (dots per inch) you set the image to, meaning it will print out the curvatures perfectly (with the condition that you set the dpi to a high value). This is because printing is based on layering color dots one by one without the need for adding the semitransparent values that screen devices use to create the illusion of a smooth curve.

To Snap or Not to Snap?

Well, this is probably the best question one might ask. Through the process of snapping, you instruct Illustrator to align each object on the artboard to the grid / pixel grid.

Remember I told you a few lines ago that the Grid helps us create pixel perfect illustrations? Now that you know how digital handles images compared to print, it’s time to elaborate more on the most important role that I think the Grid has.

I am almost certain that you’ve seen some illustrations on Dribbble or Behance with super-sharp lines, and always wondered how the designer pulled that off. Well wonder no more: he or she simply made sure to align everything to the pixel grid, creating every element with whole values.

By whole values I mean values that do not have decimal places, so for example we have a rectangle with a 200 px width and a height of 100 px, and not something like 200.84 px by 99.80 px.

The Grid Extended

Because I believe that examples speak more than words, I will explain all you need to do in order to get the Grid right by showing you a step by step preparing process that you can rely on every time you create something in Illustrator.

Step 1

As with any new project, the first thing we always set up is the document. Open up Illustrator and create a test document with the following values:

  • Number of Artboards: 1
  • Width: 800 px
  • Height: 800 px
  • Units: pixels

And from the Advanced tab:

  • Color Mode: RGB
  • Raster Effects: 300 ppi
  • Align New Objects to Pixel Grid: checked
setting up a new document

Quick note: you might have noticed I set the Raster Effects to 300 ppi, when the document is intended for screen use. Well, setting the Rasters to higher ppi values will have no visible effect on the screen, but if for some reason you need to print out what you designed (even though you created it using RGB color values) any drop shadows, inner shadows, and other effects will get messed up if they are printed at a lower ppi value than 300.

You can always modify the ppi of a document, no matter the initial setting, by going to Effect > Document Raster Effects Settings and giving it the desired value.

Step 2

Once you have the document set up, create a 100 x 100 px black square and position it towards the top left corner of the Artboard using the Align panel.

positioning the black square

Step 3

In order to understand how the Grid works you must first see it. Go to View > Show Grid (Control-") and immediately you should see the default 1000 x 4 Grid that Illustrator comes set up with.

viewing the grid

Step 4

Now that we see it, how does it actually work? First I want you to select and move the little square with the help of your keyboard’s directional arrows and see how it behaves.

You might notice that our little object jumped a few pixels here and there but nothing easily observable. This is because we haven’t enabled the Snap to Grid option.

Position the square to its original location, and then go to View > Snap to Grid (Shift-Control-Y), and again, try to move the object to the right.

moving the black square on the grid

Now clearly we can see a difference. If you move it one more time to the right you start observing a pattern. Each time the square jumps, it does so by snapping to one of the sides of the little squares created by the horizontal and vertical lines that form our Grid.

Let’s see why Illustrator behaves that why, by explaining how Illustrator creates the Grid itself. As I’ve already mentioned, the default settings that are configured in the software are:

  • Gridline every: 1000 px
  • Subdivisions: 4

But what do these settings actually mean?

It’s quite simple. At each 1000 px, Illustrator will draw four delimiting lines (two horizontal and two vertical) creating a 1000 x 1000 px square which will be further divided into sixteen smaller 250 x 250 px squares ( 1000 / 4 = 250).

grid dimensions explained

Because our Artboard has only 800 x 800 px ( three 250 px squares plus another smaller 50 px section highlighted with green) it will snap towards the left and top side of one of the Grid’s 1000 x 1000 px squares, leaving the right and lower sections of the Grid space unoccupied (200 px highlighted with red).

Now going back to our little black square, the reason why it jumps all the way to the sides of the 250 x 250 px square is because it has only 100 x 100 px, and as it did with the Artboard, Illustrator forces it to snap to the delimiting lines. If the black object had been exactly 250 x 250 px, it would have occupied the entire surface of one of the Grid’s square, and would have jumped exactly one out of the sixteen inner positions.

artboard dimensions vs grid system

Adjusting the Grid Settings

I hope that the last step managed to shed light on how the Grid works, but you must understand that each project you create might require setting up different Grids depending on the size of your Artboard, and the accuracy with which you want to position your elements onto it.

I’ve found that using the smallest possible settings will give me the most accurate results, and by combining the power of the Grid with Pathfinder I am able to position my elements quickly and intuitively.

My Grid settings:

  • Gridline every: 1 px
  • Subdivisions: 1

If you want to experiment or simply use the settings I have you, all you need to do is go to Edit > Preferences > Guides & Grid and modify them as you desire.

adjusting the grid settings

Rapid Prototyping Using the Grid

Let’s try a short exercise and see how we can create a quick website wireframe using a Grid with Gridlines every 800 px and a subdivision of 4, on the same 800 x 800 px Artboard.

Yes I know the default width of today’s basic website is 960 px, but I wanted to show you a quick example of how easy it is to position things using custom Grid settings.

Step 1

Create an 800 x 200 px rectangle and position it towards the top of our Artboard, coloring it using #191919. Grab the Type Tool and label this section as our website’s Header.

prototype header

Quick tip: if you have elements that are smaller and don’t actually need to be snapped to the Grid, in our case the section labels, simply select those elements and then go to the View menu and deselect Snap to Grid.

Step 2

Create a smaller 600 x 400 px rectangle, color it using a darker tint (#3D3D3D) and then position it using the directional keys to the left of the Artboard, just under the header. Make sure to label this section of the website as the Content.

prototype content

Step 3

Create an even smaller 200 x 400 px object, color it using #B24747, and then position it to the right side of the content, making sure to label it as the Sidebar.

prototype sidebar

Step 4

Finish up our little wireframe by adding another 800 x 200 px rectangle (#191919) to the bottom of our Artboard, labeling it as our Footer.

prototype footer

In a manner of just a few seconds we managed to create a rudimentary website. Imagine if we had spent more time playing with it.

The Snap to Duality

Before I let you experiment with custom Grids on your own, I wanted to talk to you about the main differences between the Snap to Grid and Snap to Pixel options.

By default, when you set up a New Document, the Preview Mode is usually set on Default. That means that what you design is basically what you see (you see the vector as it is and not in pixel format). In this case the Snap to option will be set to the Grid, and depending on the values you assign to it, it will snap to one of the little squares that form it.

If you enable Pixel Preview (View > Pixel Preview) and zoom in on the Artboard, Illustrator will reveal the actual pixels that form your vector elements. Once the snapping is set to Pixel, each movement made on the Artboard will be by exactly the number of pixels you’ve set your Keyboard Increment to, in the direction you pushed it to.

Quick tip: Yes you can set a default Increment for the precision with which you move objects around your Artboard. The option can be found going to Edit > Preferences > General > Keyboard Increment.

keyboard increment settings

The key difference between these two snapping methods is that if you’ve somehow created an object that has pixels with decimal places, for example a rectangle of 200.9 x 60.40 px, snapping it to the Pixel Grid will force it to change its dimensions to whole values, thus creating a sharper object.

I recommend that once you’ve created something using the Snap to Grid option, you should always switch to Pixel Preview mode and see if they align correctly to the Pixel Grid so that you can make sure your artwork will end up looking as crisp as possible.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.