Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Effects

تعلم كيفية إنشاء مونتاج شيطان ناري 

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي، سنقوم بإنشاء مونتاج صورة لشيطان يدمر مدينة باستخدام صور المخزون فقط وبالطبع Photoshop. ما الذي ننتظره؟ هيا بنا نبدأ!

معاينة الصورة النهائية

هذا ما سننشئه. هل تريد الوصول إلى ملفات PSD الكاملة والنسخ القابلة للتحميل من كل برنامج تعليمي، بما في ذلك هذا البرنامج؟ انضم Psdtuts + PLUS اليوم! يمكنك عرض معاينة الصورة النهائية أدناه أو عرض نسخة أكبر هنا.

فيديو تعليمي

نظرة عامة - ما الذي نستخدمه؟

سنستخدم فقط 4 صور من المخزون لتحقيق النتيجة النهائية للصورة. وها هم:

  1. لدينا صورة شيطان هي تقدمة من http://sxc.hu.
  2. زوج عظيم من الأجنحة هي تقدمة من = nightgraue over at DeviantART.
  3. انفجاراتنا هي تقدمة من ويكيبيديا.
  4. الخلفية هي تقدمة  من http://sxc.hu.

الآن بعد أن حصلنا على مكوناتنا، أطلقوا PhotoShop وسوف نبدأ العمل (هل فهمت ذلك؟!).

الخطوة 1

أنشئ مستندًا جديدًا بعرض 950 بكسل وارتفاع 1200 بكسل. اسحب صورة منظر المدينة وضعها بحيث تبدو جيدة. انتقل إلى أداة المنحنيات الموجودة في صورة> ضبط> منحنيات (Command + M). الآن قم بإعطاء الخلفية وهج أحمر داكن (وهذا سيجعل انفجارنا يبدو حقيقياً عندما نصل إلى هذه الخطوة). للقيام بذلك، ستحتاج إلى تعتيم لمسة RGB الشاملة. قم بزيادة الاحمر. ثم خفض الأخضر (قليلا) والأزرق قليلا في الوسط. إليك ما حصلت عليه حتى الآن، ونأمل أن تكون على نفس المسار.

الخطوة 2

الآن حان الوقت لبدء الشيطان في التبلور. قم باستيراد مخزون الرجل والأجنحة. بعد ذلك، ضع الرجل بحيث يكون أعلى قليلاً من أسفل اللوحة. الآن، قم بتغيير حجم وإعادة ترتيب جناحي الشيطان باستخدام أداة تحويل بالانتقال إلى تحرير>  تحويل حر (Command + T). سترغب في وضع الأجنحة بحيث تتصل على شفرات كتفه، وهذا سيعطيها مظهرًا أكثر صحة من الناحية التشريحية، مرة أخرى ستضيف إليه الواقعية. إذا كنت لا تزال تتابع بشكل صحيح، فيجب أن يكون لديك شيء يشبه الصورة أدناه.

الخطوه 3

هذا هو المكان الذي نبدأ فيه المزج. بشكل أكثر تحديدًا، نريد أن تبدو الأجنحة متصلة بظهر الرجل. للقيام بذلك، اسحب فرشاة ناعمة مستديرة و 50 بيكسل، مع تعيين اللون على اللون الأسود # 000000، والصلابة عند 0٪، والتعتيم عند حوالي 30. بمجرد أن تقوم بذلك، قم بإنشاء قناع طبقة على كل من الجناحين. للقيام بذلك، تحتاج أولاً إلى النقر فوق الطبقة التي تحتوي على أحد الأجنحة، ثم انقر فوق رمز قناع الطبقة في أسفل لوحة الطبقات، انظر الصورة الأولى أدناه للحصول على نتيجة كما في المثال.

للحصول على مزيج أكثر دقة، يجب أن تنقر، ليس فقط النقر والسحب، بهذه الطريقة يمكنك اختيار المقدار الذي تريد أخذه بعيدا عن الجناح. ملاحظة: لا تقلق إذا كنت تعتقد أنه لا يبدو صحيحًا بعد. سنجعلها تبدو أفضل مع بعض المنحنيات الأخرى في الخطوة التالية.

Layer Mask in Pallete

الخطوة 4

هذه الخطوة سهلة للغاية. إنها مجرد تعديل بسيط، لكننا سنستخدم مستويات هذه المرة بدلاً من المنحنيات. أولاً، اجمع الأجنحة والرجل معاً. بهذه الطريقة سيكونون جميعا على نفس الطبقة. للقيام بذلك، اضغط على كل طبقة تريد دمجها، ثم انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن وحدد> دمج الطبقات. بسيط ايه؟ لإضافة طبقة ضبط المستويات، ستحتاج أولاً إلى تحديد الطبقة التي نعمل عليها، ثم التوجه إلى طبقة> طبقة ضبط جديدة> المستويات. ستشاهد مربع الحوار هذا أدناه.

سمها ما شئت، لا يهم حقا، ثم اضغط موافق. الآن نحن بحاجة إلى جعلها أكثر قتامة (ولكن ليس مظلمًة جدًا، لأننا سنجعلها أكثر قتامة في وقت لاحق). عليك أن تبقيها نابضة بالحياة رغم ذلك. للقيام بذلك قم بتحرير المستويات عن طريق تحريك منزلقات صغيرة ثلاثة إلى هذا الموقع المبين أدناه.

الخطوة 5

دعونا نطور الشيطان أكثر. للقيام بذلك، سنقوم بإضافة بعض الظلال الواقعية عليه. قم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة بين رجلك وطبقة الضبط الخاصة بك (في هذا الوضع ستظهر الظلال داكنة أكثر، وتتطلب عملاً أقل). الآن تحتاج إلى اختيار فرشاة بعرض 60بيكسل، الصلابة 0٪، التعتيم 25٪ والتدفق 40٪.

الآن استخدم هذه الفرشاة لرسم الظلال. ضع في اعتبارك أن مصدر الضوء لدينا سيأتي في النهاية من أعلى يسار الصورة، مما يعني أنك ستحتاج إلى مزيد من الظلال على الجانب الأيمن للشيطان، وتحت الجناح الأيسر. مكان جيد آخر لإضافة الظلال هو أسفل الأجنحة، فضلا عن قمم الأجنحة. كل شيء ملحوظ أدناه. بمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك يجب أن ينتهي الأمر بشيء يشبه الصورة أدناه.

الخطوة 6

هذه الخطوة تدور حول الانفجار! سنترك الشيطان كما هو الآن، ونعود إليه قريبًا. لكن علينا أولاً التصدي لانفجارنا! إذا قمت بفتح واستيراد الانفجار الخاص بك، سترى أنه ليس أسهل شيء للعمل به، حيث أنه يحتوي على العديد من الألوان المختلفة. كما أن لديه مجموعة من الحواف الناعمة والحادة، والتي من شأنها أن تتعب قلوب أفضل معلمي Photoshop. إذن ماذا نفعل؟ حسنًا، سأبوح لك بسر صغير: عندما تكون في شك - امحيه! (بادابوم بوم).

هذا صحيح، سنستخدم الممحاة. كل ما عليك القيام به هو أخذ الممحاة واستخدام فرشاة ناعمة لطيفة بمقدار 80 بيكسل عند التعتيم بنسبة 100٪ سنقوم بالتخلص من المنطقة المحيطة بالانفجارات. ثم خذ فرشاة بتعتيم أكثر نعومة، لنقل حوالي 60 ٪ مع التدفق لا يزال 100، وتحرك برفق حول الانفجار.

خطوتك الأخيرة هي جعله أنيقاً باستخدام فرشاة أصغر (حوالي 50 بكسل) و تعتيم أقل (حوالي 40٪). ثم امحي. في نهاية المطاف سيكون لديك شيء يشبه النتائج في GIF المتحركة أدناه. بشكل عام، استغرق الأمر مني دقيقتين لقطع هذه الانفجارات، وهي تبدو الآن جيدة. آخر ما عليك القيام به هو فصل كل انفجار في طبقة خاصة به، إما باستخدام أداة القلم، أو أداة الحبل المعقود، أو أداة الخيمة. بحسب أيها أكثر راحة لك.

الخطوة 7

والآن بعد أن انقسمت انفجاراتنا الثلاثة وانفصلت إلى طبقات فردية (ليس من الضروري قطعها تمامًا، لأننا سنقوم بتعديل أي بتات سيئة باستخدام نسخ الطابع في الخطوة التالية). كل ما تبقى هو تجميعها. أولاً، عليك اختيار مكان لتفجيره. اخترت أعلى الزاوية اليسرى لهذا البرنامج التعليمي. لذا سألتزم بها هناك. بعد ذلك تحتاج إلى تحديد موضعها وتغيير حجمها وفقًا لذلك باستخدام أداة التحويل الحر مرة أخرى. بمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك، يجب أن يكون لديك شيء مثل الصورة أدناه.

الخطوة 8

الآن بعد أن أصبحت راضياً ستحتاج إلى إضفاء بعض الطابع! احصل على أداة نسخ الطابع . أعلم أن العديد منكم يعرف كيفية استنساخ الطوابع، لكنني سأمررها بسرعة لمن لا يعلم ذلك. كل ما تفعله عند استخدام هذه الأداة هو العثورعلى مكان تريد نسخه / عينة منه ثم انقر عليه اثناء الضغط على alt. ثم نقرة عادية حيث تريد أن تنسخ العينة أيضًا. للحصول على أفضل النتائج، أوصي باستخدام فرشاة صلبة 0٪. فقط لأنه يخرج بطريقة أفضل.

مع أداة نسخ الطابع في متناول اليد، فأنت تريد تحقيق انفجار طبيعي لطيف للغاية. جمال هذه الخطوة أن الانفجارات ليست دائمًا نفسها، بل ​​مختلفة جدًا. وهذا ما يميز صورتك عن البقية.

وكما ترون، فإن تأثيراتي النهائية (بعد 10 دقائق من نسخ الطابع ) ستكون أفتح بكثير من الانفجارات الأصلية. هذا لأنني ركزت أكثر على المنطقة البيضاء. وأضفت أيضاً طبقة صغيرة لطيفة تحتوي فقط على بعض ضربات الفرشاة الناعمة البيضاء التي تم ضبطها على لون مراوغ. قد ترغب في محاولة نفس الشيء. أنا أيضا مسحت بعضاً من الانفجار الذي غطى المباني. هذا يجعل الانفجار يبدو بعيدًا ويعطي صورتك عمق في المدى. قد ترغب في محاولة ذلك أيضا.

الخطوة 9

هذه الخطوة تنطوي على أمرين. أولاً، عليك القيام بتعديل منحنيات على انفجارك (إذا كنت تعتقد أنه سيبدو أفضل، لا ضرر في المحاولة). لذلك اختر طبقات الانفجارات الخاصة بك واحدا تلو الآخر وقم بتغيير المنحنيات. من أجل المثال الخاص بي، خفضت اللون الأحمر، وزدت اللون الأزرق و RGB لتفتيحها كلها. توضح الصورة أدناه التأثير بعد الاصلاح بالمنحنيات.

والشيء الثاني الذي تنطوي عليه هذه الخطوة هو اختيار فرشاة (100+) كبيرة، ناعمة، ومشرقة، وبرتقالية وتلوين الانفجار في الخلف (وإن شئتم). هذا يضيف الواقعية للانفجار، حيث أن الانفجار يعطي الضوء. للقيام بذلك، قم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة (Command + Shift + N) خلف الانفجار واملأها باللون البرتقالي الفاتح.

ما تفعله الآن هو النقر مرة أخرى على رمز قناع الطبقة وتعبئة قناع الطبقة هذا باللون الأسود. يجب أن لا ترى أي برتقالي بعد الآن. حدد الآن حجم فرشاة يصل إلى أكثر من 100 بكسل. ثم قم  بتعيين الصلابة 0 أيضا، التعتيم على 40 ٪ واللون المحدد إلى الأبيض – واستخدم الفرشاة بعيدا.

الخطوة 10

حان الوقت لتحويل المدينة إلى اللون البرتقالي! هذا سيضيف إلى الانفجار عشرة أضعاف، وتجعلها تبدو أكثر من رائعة. قم بإنشاء طبقة ضبط جديدة (طبقة> طبقة ضبط جديدة> مستويات) فوق الخلفية البرتقالية التي أنشأتها للتو. وقم بتغيير الإعدادات إلى ما قمت بتعيينه أدناه. أو العب بها بنفسك واعرف كيف تبدو جيدة، وكيف تبدو سيئة، وتعلم منها. إنها أداة رائعة.

الخطوة 11

قم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة فوق كل الطبقات الأخرى. اضغط على Command + Shift + E. سيؤدي هذا إلى دمج كل الطبقات في طبقة جديدة. الآن قم بتعيين هذه الطبقة إلى ضوء خافت عند تعتيم 100٪ (قم بتخفيضها إذا أردت). هذا من شأنه أن يعطي صورتك بعض التفجر.

الخطوة 12

نحن على وشك الانتهاء! كل ما نحتاجه الآن هو بعض التلوين الواسع. سأخذ وقتي في هذه الخطوة حتى يفهمها الجميع.

ما سنفعله هنا هو دراسة المكان الذي يأتي منه الضوء، ومن ثم تحديد المكان الذي نحتاج إليه لبدء الرسم. ان كل المجهود اليدوي يبدأ من هنا (انه سهل ويمكن القيام به باستخدام الماوس). حسنًا، قم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة فوق طبقة المستويات (أحدثها). املأ هذا ببرتقالي زاهي أخر (استخدمت # ff6c00). ثم انقر فوق رمز القناع السريع مرة أخرى مع تحديد هذه الطبقة. الآن ستحتاج إلى الحصول على فرشاة بحجم مناسب (25 بكسل أو ما شابه) مع 0 صلابة، وتدفق وتعتيم 40٪ . اختر اللون الأبيض.

قبل أن تبدأ التلوين! انظر إلى هذا المخطط أدناه. لقد قمت بالفعل بإنشاء طبقة التعديلات الخاصة بي، وقمت بعمل بعض التلوين. لقد حددت الخطوط العريضة للمكان الذي ستحتاج إليه للطلاء استنادًا إلى مصدر الضوء.

  1. من الواضح أنك ستحتاج لتلوين الانفجار. سيكون الى حد كبير أكثر جمالاً كلما قمت بذلك بشكل أفضل هنا. وسأركز أكثر على القاع (لأنه يأتي عبر المباني) لإضافة الواقعية.
  2. يحتاج الستار الخلفي إلى أن يكون مغطى بشكل خفيف بمسحة برتقالية، وهذا سيساعد الانفجار على أن يبدو كما لو كان موجودًا بالفعل وليس فقط ملصقًا به.
  3. هنا لدينا رؤوس الأجنحة على اليمين. سيكون الضوء نابضًا بالحياة هنا عند الانتهاء من ذلك (امسك بنفسك فرشاة أصغر وركّز على هذه المنطقة). كلما اقتربنا من قمة الجناح الذي يجب أن تحصل عليه، كلما كان ذلك أكثر إشراقا. هذا يعطيها تدفق طبيعي.
  4. كرر الخطوة السابقة على الجانب الآخر.
  5. 5 هو الظهر. لاحظ أن الجناح الأيسر سوف يلقي بظلاله على ظهره، لذا تأكد من وضع نهاية مفاجئة للون البرتقالي (حول الجزء السفلي من المكان المكتوب عليه 5 - على طول الخط). عندها سترغب في تركيز مزيد من الضوء على حافة شفرة الكتف اليمنى للشيطان، حيث أن الضوء سيصل إلى أقصى حد على ظهره.
  6. التفاصيل هي الأساس هنا. استخدام فرشاة كبيرة وقم بالتكبيرعن كثب! إذا كنت تريد أن تعمل بشكل صحيح اجعلها على مقربة من الأصابع. وبمجرد الوصول إلى هناك، ستحتاج إلى التعامل مع كل إصبع كما لو كانت قمم الأجنحة على ثلاث وأربع، لتصبح أكثر سطوعًا عندما تصل إلى قمة كل إصبع. إذا حصلت على هذه التفاصيل بشكل صحيح، فستجعل الصورة بارزة. إنها التفاصيل التي تجعل الصورة النهائية رائعة.

استنتاج

لقد قضيت ساعة جيدة في الحصول على الظلال والإضاءة فقط. إذا كان مزجك أو نسخ الطابع أو مستوياته سيئة، فلا يهم إذا كنت تلمع الإضاءة والظلال. وسيؤدي القيام بها بشكل صحيح إلى إضافة المزيد من الواقعية للمونتاج أكثر مما تظن.

جرب أي شيء لم تفهمه أو تشعر بالثقة به. سوف يأتي كل ذلك بشكل طبيعي بمرور الوقت. لإنهاء التصميم، أضفت بعض النص والعلامة التجارية. يمكنك عرض الصورة النهائية أدناه أو عرض نسخة أكبر هنا.

اشترك في Psdtuts + RSS Feed لأفضل الدروس التعليمية والمقالات على الويب

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement

Learn How to Create a Fiery Demon Montage

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

In this tutorial, we'll be creating a photo montage of a demon destroying a city using only stock photos and of course Photoshop. What are we waiting for? Lets get started!

Final Image Preview

Here's what we'll be creating. Want access to the full PSD files and downloadable copies of every tutorial, including this one? Join Psdtuts+ PLUS today! You can view the final image preview below or view a larger version here.

Video Tutorial

Overview - What Are We Using?

We'll only be using 4 stock photo's to achieve the final image outcome. And here they are:

  1. Our Demon is courtesy of http://sxc.hu.
  2. A great pair of wings is courtesy of =nightgraue over at DeviantART.
  3. Our explosions are courtesy of Wikipedia.
  4. The backdrop is courtesy of http://sxc.hu.

Now that we've got our ingredients, fire up PhotoShop and we'll get cooking (ha get it? sigh!).

Step 1

Create a new document that's 950px wide and 1200px high. Drag in our cityscape image and position it so it looks good. Navigate to the curves tool located at Image > Adjustments > Curves (Command + M). Now give the backdrop a dark red glow (this will make our explosion look real when we get to that step). To do this, you'll need to darken the overall RGB a touch. Increase the red. Then lower the green (a little bit) and the blue a fair bit. Here's what I've got so far, hopefully you're on the same track.

Step 2

Now it's time for the demon to start taking shape. Import the stocks of the man and the wings. Next, position the man so he is a bit higher than the bottom of the canvas. Now, resize and re-position the two demon wings using the Transform tool by going to Edit > Free Transform (Command + T). You'll want to put the wings so they connect on his shoulder blades, this will give it a more anatomically correct look, again adding to the realism. If you're still following correctly, you should have something that resembles the image below.

Step 3

This is the where we start blending. More specifically, we want the wings to look attached to the man's back. To do this, grab a nice soft, round, 50px brush, with the color set to black #000000, Hardness at 0%, and Opacity at around 30. Once you've got that, create a layer mask on each of the wings. To do this, first you need to click on the layer containing one of the wings, then click the Layer Mask icon at the bottom of the layers palette, see the first image below for an example result.

To have a more precise looking blend, you should click, not just click and drag, that way you can choose how much you want taken away from the wing. Note: don't worry if you think it doesn't look right yet. We're going to make it look even better with some more curves in the next step.

Layer Mask in Pallete

Step 4

This step is very easy. It's just a simple little adjustment, but we'll be using levels this time, instead of curves. First, group together both the wings and the man. That way they'll all be on the same layer. To do this you Command-click on each layer you want to merge, then right-click and select > Merge Layers. Simple eh? To add the levels adjustment layer, you will first need to select the layer we're working with, then head to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels. You will then see this dialogue box shown below.

Call it what you like, it doesn't really matter, then hit OK. Now we need to make it darker (but not too dark, since we'll be going even darker later). Do keep it vibrant though. To do this edit the levels by moving the three little sliders to this position indicated below.

Step 5

Let's develop the demon some more. To do this, we'll add some realistic shadows to it. Create a new layer between your man, and your adjustments layer (in this position the shadows will appear darker, requiring less work). Now you need to select a brush that is 60px wide, 0% Hardness, 25% Opacity and has 40% Flow.

Now use this brush to draw the shadows. Keep in mind that our light source will eventually come from the top left of the picture, meaning you'll want more shadows on the demons' right hand side, and under the left wing. Another good place to add shadows is the bottoms of the wings, as well as the tops of the wings. All marked below. Once you're done you should end up with something resembling the image below.

Step 6

This step is all about the explosion! We'll leave the demon as it is for now, and come back to it soon. But first we need to tackle our explosion! If you open and import your explosion, you'll see it's not the easiest thing to work with, as it has many different colors. It also has a combination of soft and sharp edges, which would sink the hearts of even the best Photoshop gurus. So what do we do? Well, I'll let you in on a little secret of mine: When in doubt - Rub it out! (badaboom boom).

That's right, we're going to use the eraser. All you need to do is grab the eraser and using a nice 80px soft brush at 100% opacity we're going to get rid of the surrounding area of the explosions. Then take a softer opacity brush, say around 60% with a flow of 100 still, and go gently around the explosion's.

Your last step is to neaten them up using a smaller brush (around 50px) and a lower opacity (around 40%). Then rub away. Eventually you'll have something which looks like the results in the animated GIF below. All in all, it took me two minutes to cut out these explosions, and they now look good. The last thing you've got to do is seperate each explosion into it's own layer, using either the Pen tool, the lasso tool, or the marquee tool. Whichever you're more comfortable with.

Step 7

Now that we have our three explosions cut out and separated into individual layers (they don't have to be perfectly cut out, because we'll amend any bad bits using the Clone Stamp in the next step). All that's left is to put them together. First, you need to pick a spot to blow up. I chose the top left hand corner for this tutorial. So I'll stick them up there. Next you need to position them and resize them accordingly using the Free Transform tool again. Once that's done you should have something like the image below.

Step 8

Now that you're happy you will need to do some stamping! Grab the clone stamp tool. I know many of you know how to clone stamp, but I'll go through it quickly for anyone who doesn't. All you do when using this tool is find somewhere you want to copy/sample and Alt click it. Then you just normal click where you want that sample to copy too. For the best results, I recommend using a 0% hard brush. Just because it comes out way better.

With the Clone Stamp tool in hand, you want to achieve a very nice looking natural explosion. The beauty of this step is no explosion is ever the same, they're all very different. And that's what sets your picture apart from the rest.

As you can see, my final effect (after 10 minutes of clone stamping) is much lighter than the original explosions. This is because I focussed more on the white area's. And I also added a nice little layer that just contained some white soft brush strokes set to Color Dodge. You may want to try the same thing. I also erased some of the explosion that covered the buildings. This makes the explosion feel distant and gives your image a depth of field. You might want to try that as well.

Step 9

This step involves two things. First, you have to do a curves adjustment on your explosion (if you think it will look better, no harm in trying). So select your explosions layers one by one and change the curves. For my example, I lowered the red, and increased the blue and RGB to lighten it all up. The image below shows the effect after tinkering with the curves.

The second thing this step involves is selecting a large (100+) soft, bright, orange brush and brushing behind (and on if you like) the explosion. This adds realism to the explosion, as an explosion gives out light. To do this create a new layer (Command + Shift + N) behind the explosion and fill it with bright orange.

What you do now is again click the Layer Mask Icon and this time fill the layer mask with black. You should see no orange anymore. Now select a brush size of well over 100px. Then with Hardness set too 0, Opacity to 40% and the color set to white - brush away.

Step 10

It's time to turn the city orange! This will add to the explosion ten-fold, and make it look super cool. Create a new adjustment layer (Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Levels) above the orange background you just created. And change the settings to what I have set below. Or play around with it yourself and see what looks good, what looks bad, and learn from it. It's such a great tool.

Step 11

Create a new layer above every other layer. Press Command + Shift + E. This will merge everything into a new layer. Now set this layer to Soft Light at 100% Opacity (lower it if wanted). This should give your image some pop.

Step 12

We're nearly done! All we need to do now is some extensive coloring. I'll take my time on this step so everyone understands.

What we're going to do here is study where the light is coming from, and then decide where we need to start painting. It's all hand labour from here (it's easy and can be done with a mouse). Okay, so create a new layer above our levels layer (the most recently made one). Fill this with another bright orange (I used #ff6c00). Then click on the quick mask icon again with this layer selected. Now you'll want to get yourself a decent sized brush (25px or so) with 0 Hardness, and 40% Flow and Opacity. Select the color white.

Before you start painting! Look at this diagram below. I've already created my adjustments layer, and done a little bit of painting. I've outlined where you will need to paint based on the light source.

  1. Obviously you will need to paint over the explosion. It's pretty much the more the better here. I'd focus more on the bottom (as it's coming through the buildings) to add realism.
  2. The back drop needs to pretty much be all lightly covered in an orange tinge, this will help the explosion look like it is actually there and not just pasted in.
  3. Here we have the tops of the wings on the right. The light will be very vibrant here when you're finished (grab yourself a smaller brush and focus on this area). The closer to the top of the wing you get, the brighter you should be getting. This gives it a natural flow.
  4. Repeat the previous step on the other side.
  5. 5 is the back. Note that the left wing will be casting a shadow over the back, so make sure you create an abrupt end to the orange (around the bottom of where 5 is written - along the line). You will then want to focus more light onto the ridge of the demon's right shoulder blade because that's where the light will hit the most on the back.
  6. Detail is key here. Use a mall brush and zoom in closely! You want to be right in close to the fingers. Once there, you want to treat each finger as if it were the tops of the wings on three and four, getting brighter as you reach the top ridge of each finger. If you get this detail right, you'll make the picture stand out. It's the detail that makes the final picture great.

Conclusion

I spent a good hour getting the shadows and lighting just right. If your blending, clone-stamping, or levels are bad, then it won't matter if you nail the lighting and shadows. And doing them correctly will add so much more realism to the montage than you would think.

Experiment with anything you didn't understand or feel confident with. It'll all come naturally over time. To finish the design, I added some text and branding. You can view the final image below or view a larger version here.

Subscribe to the Psdtuts+ RSS Feed for the best Photoshop tuts and articles on the web.

Advertisement