Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Designing

Wie man ein Rockin' 80's Party Poster entwirft

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Tatsiana Bochkareva (you can also view the original English article)

In diesem Tutorial zeige ich Ihnen, wie Sie ein Poster für eine 80er-Jahre-Hymnenparty entwerfen. In diesem Tutorial erstellen wir einige Texturen für den Hintergrund, bearbeiten ein Foto, um ihm ein stilvolles Aussehen zu verleihen, und nehmen einige Farbvariationen vor. Lassen Sie uns in dieses super rad Tutorial springen.

Endgültige Bildvorschau

Bevor wir anfangen, schauen wir uns das Bild an, das wir erstellen werden. Sie können die endgültige Bildvorschau unten oder eine größere Version hier anzeigen.

Videoanleitung

Schritt 1

Erstellen Sie ein neues Dokument mit einer Breite von 1000 Pixel und einer Höhe von 1400 Pixel und einer Auflösung von 300 Pixel pro Zoll.

Schritt 2

Füllen Sie die Ebene "Background" mit der Farbe #c2bbaa. Drücken Sie Befehl + A, um alle auszuwählen. Ziehen Sie als Nächstes eine vertikale und eine horizontale Hilfslinie und platzieren Sie sie in der Mitte Ihres Dokuments. Deaktivieren Sie die Auswahl, indem Sie Befehlstaste + D drücken. Ändern Sie Ihre Vordergrundfarbe in #bbb099, rufen Sie das Werkzeug "Benutzerdefinierte Form" auf und wählen Sie in der Auswahl "Benutzerdefinierte Form" die Form "Registration Target 2" aus, die sich in der Kategorie "Symbole" befindet. Stellen Sie auf Pixel füllen ein. Wenn Sie die Umschalt- und Alt-Taste gedrückt halten, zeichnen Sie die Form wie im folgenden Bild von der Mitte aus. Übrigens können Sie Hilfslinien jederzeit durch Drücken von Befehlstaste + H ein- oder ausblenden.

Schritt 3

Jetzt müssen wir einen Ebenenstil auf die Hintergrundebene anwenden, aber da es sich um die "Background" handelt, können wir dies nicht. Gehen Sie zu Ebene > Neu > Ebene aus Hintergrund und nennen Sie die Ebene "Rays". Wenden Sie nun eine Verlaufsüberlagerung mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Farbbrand eingestellt, Deckkraft auf 55%, Verlauf auf Schwarz auf Weiß eingestellt, Stil auf Radial und Umkehren aktiviert.

Schritt 4

Erstelle eine neue Ebene und nenne sie "Dirt". Wählen Sie 60% Grau als Vordergrund und Schwarz als Hintergrundfarbe. Gehen Sie zu Filter > Rendern > Wolken. Gehen Sie dann zu Filter > Rendern > Differenzwolken.

Schritt 5

Gehen Sie zu Filter > Künstlerisch > Filmkorn und setzen Sie das Korn auf 5, markieren Sie den Bereich auf 0, die Intensität auf 2 und wenden Sie es dann an. Gehen Sie nun zu Filter > Scharfzeichnen > Unscharfe Maske, stellen Sie den Betrag auf 500%, den Radius auf 18 Pixel und den Schwellenwert auf 40 Stufen ein.

Schritt 6

Gehen Sie zu Filter > Künstlerisch > Fresko, stellen Sie die Pinselgröße auf 10, das Pinseldetail auf 10 und die Textur auf 1 ein. Gehen Sie nun zu Bild > Anpassungen > Ebenen (Befehl + L) und stellen Sie die Eingangspegel auf 15, 1, 110. Stellen Sie die Ebene ein Mischmodus für Bildschirm- und Ebenenopazität bei 50%.

Schritt 7

Erstelle eine neue Ebene und nenne sie "Dark". Holen Sie sich das Ellipsentrainer-Auswahlwerkzeug und treffen Sie bei gedrückter Alt-Taste eine Auswahl beginnend in der Mitte der Leinwand, wie im Bild unten dargestellt. Gehen Sie zu Auswählen > Umkehren und füllen Sie die Auswahl mit Schwarz. Drücken Sie Befehlstaste + D, um die Auswahl aufzuheben, gehen Sie zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Gaußscher Weichzeichner und wenden Sie ihn mit einem Radius von 150 Pixel an. Stellen Sie die innere Deckkraft (Füllung) für die Ebene auf 20% ein und stellen Sie den Mischmodus auf Lineares Brennen ein.

Schritt 8

Fügen wir nun etwas mehr Schmutzstruktur hinzu. Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene mit dem Namen "Dirt 2" über der Ebene "Dirt". Stellen Sie Ihre Vordergrundfarbe auf Weiß und die Hintergrundfarbe auf Schwarz ein. Holen Sie sich das Pinsel-Werkzeug und wählen Sie "Gestreute Ahornblätter" aus der Pinsel-Voreinstellung. Stellen Sie den Master-Durchmesser auf 250 Pixel ein. Gehen Sie in der Pinselpalette zu Farbdynamik und stellen Sie den Vordergrund-/Hintergrund-Jitter auf 100% ein. Malen Sie die ganze Schicht mit dem Pinsel.

Schritt 9

Stellen Sie den Pinsel-Malmodus in den Werkzeugoptionen auf Unterschied und malen Sie die Leinwand erneut. Gehen Sie dann zu Filter > Künstlerisch > Filmkorn, setzen Sie dann Korn auf 6, Markierungsbereich auf 0 und Intensität auf 2.

Schritt 10

Gehen Sie zu Filter > Künstlerisch > Fresko, setzen Sie die Pinselgröße auf 1, das Pinseldetail auf 10 und die Textur auf 3. Gehen Sie anschließend zu Filter > Stilisieren > Solarisieren. Gehen Sie nun zu Bild > Anpassungen > Invertieren.

Schritt 11

Stellen Sie nun den Ebenenüberblendungsmodus auf Lineares Brennen und die Deckkraft auf 20% ein.

Schritt 12

Ein Poster sollte Aufmerksamkeit erregen und um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, werden wir ein einfaches vertrautes Objekt als Hauptfokus unseres Posters verwenden. Dieses Objekt wird eine Kassette sein, da es eine Assoziation mit den 80ern hat. Öffnen wir nun das Kassettenbild. Laden Sie die Bilddatei hier herunter und öffnen Sie sie in Photoshop.

Holen Sie sich das Horizontal Type Tool (T) und geben Sie Ihren Text wie im folgenden Bild ein. Ich habe die Schriftart PTF Nordic verwendet, die über diesen Link kostenlos von Dafont.com heruntergeladen werden kann.

Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene über der Ebene "Background" mit dem Namen "Rectangle" und rufen Sie das Rechteckige Auswahlwerkzeug auf. Treffen Sie eine Auswahl wie gezeigt und füllen Sie sie mit der Farbe #dddfd2. Gehen Sie zur Textebene in der Ebenenpalette und drücken Sie Befehlstaste + E, um die beiden obersten Ebenen zusammenzuführen. Deaktivieren Sie die Auswahl, indem Sie Befehlstaste + D drücken.

Schritt 13

Gehen Sie zu Bearbeiten > Transformieren > Verzerren und passen Sie die Perspektive der Ebene "Rectangle" an die Kassette an. Dann verkleinern Sie es ein wenig, wie Sie im Bild unten sehen können.

Schritt 14

Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Ebene "Rectangle" in der Ebenenpalette ausgewählt ist, und drücken Sie Befehlstaste + E, um die Ebenen zusammenzuführen. Nehmen Sie das Stiftwerkzeug, setzen Sie es in den Werkzeugoptionen auf Pfade und zeichnen Sie einen Pfad um die Kassette.

Schritt 15

Gehen Sie zur Pfadpalette und klicken Sie bei gedrückter Befehlstaste auf den "Arbeitspfad", um eine Auswahl aus dem Pfad zu treffen. Gehen Sie zurück zur Ebene "Hintergrund" in der Ebenenpalette. Gehen Sie über Kopieren zu Ebene > Neu > Ebene. Nennen Sie die neue Ebene "Casette". Deaktivieren Sie die Option, gehen Sie zur Ebene "Background" und füllen Sie sie mit Weiß.

Schritt 16

Geben wir diesem Foto einen stilistischen Look. Wechseln Sie in der Ebenenpalette zur Ebene "Casette". Gehen Sie als Nächstes zu Ebene > Neue Einstellungsebene > Schwellenwert. Stellen Sie den Schwellenwert auf 210 ein. Die Verwendung von Einstellungsebenen ist eine gute Möglichkeit, da Sie jederzeit darauf doppelklicken und die Einstellungen ändern können.

Schritt 17

Gehen Sie zur Ebene "Casette" und dann zu Filter > Scharfzeichnen > Unscharfe Maske. Stellen Sie den Betrag auf 500%, den Radius auf 15 Pixel und den Schwellenwert auf 5 Stufen ein.

Schritt 18

Gehen Sie zur Ebene für die Schwellenwertanpassung in der Ebenenpalette und drücken Sie Befehl + E, um sie zusammenzuführen.

Schritt 19

Klicken Sie bei gedrückter Befehlstaste auf die Ebene "Casette", um die Pixel zu laden. Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene darüber und nennen Sie sie "Casette B." Füllen Sie die Auswahl mit Farbe #392200. Kehren Sie zur Ebene "Casette" zurück und kopieren Sie sie unter Bearbeiten > Kopieren. Gehen Sie nun zur Kanalpalette und erstellen Sie einen neuen Kanal und fügen Sie ihn ein, indem Sie auf Bearbeiten > Einfügen klicken.

Schritt 20

Klicken Sie bei gedrückter Befehlstaste auf den Kanal "Alpha 1", um die weißen Pixel als Auswahl zu laden. Gehen Sie zurück zur Ebenenpalette und erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene darüber. Nennen Sie es "Casette W". Als nächstes füllen Sie die Auswahl mit der Farbe #bbee99. Drücken Sie zweimal Befehlstaste + E, um die obersten drei Ebenen zusammenzuführen, und wählen Sie dann ab.

Schritt 21

Ziehen Sie die Ebene "Casette" in Ihr "Retro.PSD" -Dokument. Drücken Sie Befehlstaste + T, um den freien Transformationsmodus aufzurufen, die horizontale und vertikale Skalierung auf 35% einzustellen und dann die Drehung auf 100 Grad einzustellen. Legen Sie die Kassette wie gezeigt in die Mitte der Leinwand.

Schritt 22

Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene unter der Ebene "Casette" und nennen Sie sie "Stroke". Klicken Sie bei gedrückter Befehlstaste auf die Ebene "Casette", um die Auswahl zu laden und mit der Farbe #bbee99 zu füllen. Deaktivieren Sie die Auswahl, indem Sie Befehlstaste + D drücken. Nehmen Sie das Verschieben-Werkzeug und verschieben Sie die Ebene "Stroke" um 10 Pixel nach links und 3 Pixel nach oben.

Wenden Sie mit den folgenden Einstellungen einen Strich-Ebenenstil auf die Ebene "Casette" an: Größe auf 5 Pixel, Position auf Außen, Mischmodus auf Normal, Deckkraft auf 100% und Farbe auf #bbee99.

Schritt 23

Klicken Sie bei gedrückter Befehlstaste erneut auf die Ebene "Casette". Gehen Sie zu Bearbeiten > Pinselvoreinstellung definieren und nennen Sie den Pinsel "Casette". Jetzt abwählen. Nehmen Sie das Pinselwerkzeug, wählen Sie den soeben definierten "Casette"-Pinsel aus und stellen Sie den Master-Durchmesser auf 200 Pixel ein.

Gehen Sie zum Pinselbedienfeld und stellen Sie unter Pinselspitzenform den Abstand auf 370% ein, überprüfen Sie die Formdynamik und stellen Sie dann Größenjitter und Winkeljitter auf 100% ein. Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene mit dem Namen "Falling 1". Stellen Sie Ihre Vordergrundfarbe auf #553300 ein. Malen Sie die Mitte der Leinwand vertikal wie im folgenden Bild.

Schritt 24

Erstelle eine neue Ebene und nenne sie "Falling 2". Stellen Sie diesmal den Master-Durchmesser auf 400 Pixel ein und malen Sie erneut, wie Sie es im vorherigen Schritt getan haben. Stellen Sie den Ebenenüberblendungsmodus auf Weiches Licht und die Ebenenopazität auf 60%. Gehen Sie zur Ebene "Stroke" und stellen Sie die Deckkraft der Ebene auf 75% ein.

Schritt 25

Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene über der Ebene "Rays" und nennen Sie sie "Shadow". Nehmen Sie das Ellipsentrainer-Auswahlwerkzeug und treffen Sie eine Auswahl wie im Bild unten. Füllen Sie die Auswahl mit der Farbe #553300. Deaktivieren Sie die Option und gehen Sie zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Gaußscher Weichzeichner. Mit einem Radius von 100 Pixel auftragen. Drücken Sie nun Befehlstaste + Alt + F, um das Dialogfeld "Gaußsche Unschärfe" erneut aufzurufen. Diesmal mit einem Radius von 50 Pixel.

Schritt 26

Nehmen Sie das Werkzeug Horizontal und geben Sie den Text Rücklauf ein. Stellen Sie die Textfarbe auf #cc9966 ein. Ich habe Harlow Solid Italic verwendet. Sie können Ihre Lieblingsschrift auswählen. Gehen Sie zu Ebene > Rastern > Ebene. Duplizieren Sie die Ebene. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Ebene "Rewind copy" in der Ebenenpalette ausgewählt ist. Gehen Sie zu Filter > Rauschen > Rauschen hinzufügen. Stellen Sie den Betrag auf 25% ein, setzen Sie die Verteilung auf Uniform und aktivieren Sie Monochromatisch.

Gehen Sie zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Bewegungsunschärfe. Stellen Sie den Winkel auf 0 Grad und den Abstand auf 200 Pixel ein und wenden Sie ihn an. Gehen Sie nun zur Ebene "Rewind" und wenden Sie einen weiteren Bewegungsunschärfefilter an. Diesmal für die Entfernung auf 20 Pixel einstellen. Mit diesen Einstellungen wenden wir auch einen Schlagschatten-Ebenenstil an: Mischmodus auf Multiplizieren, Farbe auf Schwarz, Deckkraft auf 75%, Abstand auf 0 Pixel, Spread auf 2% und Größe auf 150 Pixel.

Schritt 27

Jetzt erstellen wir eine weitere Textebene. Geben Sie diesmal 80's ein. Gehen Sie zu Ebene > Rastern > Ebene. Duplizieren Sie die Ebene "80's", indem Sie zu Ebene > Duplizieren gehen. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Ebene "80's copy" in der Ebenenpalette ausgewählt ist.

Gehen Sie zu Filter > Rauschen > Rauschen hinzufügen. Stellen Sie den Betrag auf 20% ein, setzen Sie Distribution auf Uniform und aktivieren Sie Monochromatic. Gehen Sie zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Bewegungsunschärfe. Stellen Sie den Winkel auf 0 Grad und den Abstand auf 80 Pixel ein und wenden Sie ihn an. Gehen Sie nun zur Ebene "80's" und wenden Sie einen weiteren Bewegungsunschärfefilter an. Diesmal für die Entfernung auf 10 Pixel einstellen. Mit diesen Einstellungen wenden wir auch einen Schlagschatten-Ebenenstil an: Mischmodus auf Multiplizieren, Farbe auf Schwarz, Deckkraft auf 75%, Abstand auf 0 Pixel, Spread auf 2% und Größe auf 150 Pixel.

Schritt 28

Erstellen Sie eine weitere Textebene über der Ebene "80's copy". Geben Sie das Wort ein und platzieren Sie es so, wie Sie im Bild unten sehen können. Wenden Sie als Nächstes einen Schlagschatten mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Lineares Brennen, Farbe auf Schwarz, Deckkraft auf 45%, Abstand auf 0 Pixel, Streuung auf 2% und Größe auf 40 Pixel.

Schritt 29

Wählen Sie die Ebenen "80's" und "80's copy" in der Ebenenpalette aus und drücken Sie Befehlstaste + E, um sie zusammenzuführen. Die zusammengeführte Ebene wird als "80's copy" bezeichnet. Ziehen Sie diese Ebene unter die Ebene "Stroke" in der Ebenenpalette.

Wenden Sie eine Verlaufsüberlagerung mit folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Multiplizieren, Deckkraft auf 50%, Verlauf auf Schwarz auf Weiß, Stil auf Linear, Winkel auf 180 Grad und Skalierung auf 100% eingestellt. Dieser Ebenenstil erzeugt den Schatteneffekt, der von der Kassette ausgeht.

Schritt 30

Fügen wir einen Textblock ein, der einige Informationen enthält. Nehmen Sie das horizontale Textwerkzeug und klicken und ziehen Sie ab der oberen linken Ecke, um einen rechteckigen Textbereich wie gezeigt zu erstellen. Type your text here. Ich habe die Schrift "Bauhaus 93" verwendet. Stellen Sie die Schriftgröße auf 10 pt ein, was zu 7 pt führt, und setzen Sie die Farbe auf #887766.

Schritt 31

Wir brauchen mehr Gewicht am unteren Rand unseres Posters, weil es jetzt immer noch unausgeglichen ist. Nehmen Sie das rechteckige Auswahlwerkzeug und treffen Sie eine Auswahl wie gezeigt. Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene und nennen Sie sie "Line". Füllen Sie die Auswahl mit #cc9966. Stellen Sie die Deckkraft der Ebene auf 80% ein.

Schritt 32

Erstellen Sie eine neue Ebene und nennen Sie sie "Triangle". Nehmen Sie das benutzerdefinierte Formwerkzeug, stellen Sie es in den Werkzeugoptionen auf Pixel füllen und wählen Sie die Dreiecksform aus. Zeichnen Sie ein Dreieck wie im folgenden Bild. Drücken Sie Befehlstaste + T, um den freien Transformationsmodus aufzurufen, und drehen Sie das Dreieck um 90 Grad gegen den Uhrzeigersinn. Dupliziere die Ebene "Triangle" und bewege die Kopie nach links, um ein Rückspul-Symbol zu erstellen. Drücken Sie nun Befehlstaste + E, um beide Dreiecke zusammenzuführen und die zusammengeführte Ebene "Rücklaufsymbol" zu nennen.

Schritt 33

Duplizieren Sie die Ebene "Rewind icon". Gehen Sie zu Filter > Rauschen > Rauschen hinzufügen. Stellen Sie den Betrag auf 25% ein, setzen Sie Distribution auf Uniform und aktivieren Sie Monochromatic. Gehen Sie zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Bewegungsunschärfe, stellen Sie den Winkel auf 0 Grad und den Abstand auf 80 Pixel ein und wenden Sie ihn an.

Gehen Sie nun zur Ebene "Rewind icon" und wenden Sie einen weiteren Bewegungsunschärfefilter an. Diesmal für die Entfernung auf 10 Pixel einstellen. Mit diesen Einstellungen wenden wir auch einen Schlagschatten-Ebenenstil an: Mischmodus auf Multiplizieren, Farbe auf Schwarz, Deckkraft auf 75%, Abstand auf 0 Pixel, Spread auf 2% und Größe auf 150 Pixel.

Schritt 34

Du bist fast fertig mit deinem Poster. Das Design sieht ausgewogen aus, aber wir brauchen ein paar warme Farben. Gehen Sie zur Ebene "Shadow" und wenden Sie einen Ebenenstil für die Verlaufsüberlagerung mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Lineares Ausweichen, Deckkraft auf 60%, Verlauf auf Orange auf Gelb auf Orange, Stil auf Radial und Skalierung auf 80% eingestellt.

Schritt 35

Gehen Sie zur Ebene "Dark" und wenden Sie eine Verlaufsüberlagerung mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Farbbrand eingestellt, Deckkraft auf 100% eingestellt, Verlauf auf Violett auf Orange eingestellt, mit einem linearen Stil, Winkel auf 90 Grad eingestellt und Skalierung eingestellt bei 100%.

Schritt 36

Wählen Sie in der Ebenenpalette die Ebenen "Rewind" und "Rewind copy" aus und drücken Sie Befehlstaste + E, um sie zusammenzuführen. Nennen Sie die zusammengeführte Ebene "Rewind". Wenden Sie als Nächstes eine Verlaufsüberlagerung auf die Ebene mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Lineares Ausweichen, Deckkraft auf 80%, Verlauf auf Orange auf Gelb auf Orange, Stil auf Linear, Winkel auf 90 Grad und Skalierung auf 100% eingestellt .

Schritt 37

Gehen Sie zur Ebene "80's copy". Gehen Sie anschließend zu Bild > Anpassungen > Farbton/Sättigung. Stellen Sie den Farbton auf -35, die Sättigung auf 50 und drücken Sie OK.

Schritt 38

Wählen Sie die Ebenen "Rewind Icon" und "Rewind Icon Copy" aus und führen Sie sie zusammen, indem Sie Befehlstaste + E drücken. Gehen Sie zu Bild > Anpassungen > Farbton/Sättigung, stellen Sie Farbton auf 10, Sättigung auf 50 ein und wenden Sie an.

Schritt 39

Gehen Sie zur Ebene "Falling 2" und wenden Sie eine Verlaufsüberlagerung mit den folgenden Einstellungen an: Mischmodus auf Farbbrand eingestellt, Deckkraft auf 30% eingestellt, Verlauf auf Schwarz auf Weiß eingestellt, Umgekehrt aktiviert, Stil auf Linear eingestellt, Winkel auf 90 Grad eingestellt und Skala auf 100% eingestellt. Dadurch wird die obere Hälfte der Ebene besser sichtbar.

Schritt 40

An dieser Stelle können wir einige Farbabweichungen für unser Poster vornehmen. In der Abbildung unten sehen Sie einige Variationen, die ich mithilfe einer Ebene zur Anpassung der Verlaufskarte mit verschiedenen Ebenenüberblendungsmodi und Deckkraft vorgenommen habe, die ich im nächsten Schritt erläutern werde.

Schritt 41

Gehen Sie zur Ebenenpalette und wählen Sie die oberste Ebene aus. Gehen Sie zu Ebene > Neue Einstellungsebene > Verlaufskarte. Stellen Sie den Farbverlauf als Schwarz auf Weiß ein und klicken Sie auf OK. Stellen Sie den Ebenenüberblendungsmodus auf Überlagerung und Deckkraft auf 60% ein.

Abschluss

Ja das ist es. Jetzt haben wir unser Poster fertig. Ich hoffe, Sie haben etwas Neues gelernt und dieses Tutorial genossen. Sie können das endgültige Bild unten oder eine größere Version hier anzeigen.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Designing

How to Design a Rockin' 80's Party Poster

by

In this tutorial, I'll show you how to design a poster for an 80's anthem party. Throughout this tutorial, we'll create some textures for background, manipulate a photo to give it a stylish look, and make some color variations. Let's jump into this super rad tutorial.

Final Image Preview

Before we get started, let's take a look at the image we'll be creating. Want access to full PSD files and downloadable copies of every tutorial, including this one? Join Psdtuts+ PLUS for just $19/month. You can view the final image preview below or view a larger version here.

Video Tutorial

Step 1

Create a new document 1000 pixels wide and 1400 pixels high, with Resolution set to 300 pixels per inch.

Step 2

Fill the "Background" layer with the color #c2bbaa. Hit Command + A to select all. Next, drag one vertical and one horizontal guide, then place them in the center of your document. Deselect by hitting Command + D. Change your Foreground Color to #bbb099, get the Custom Shape tool and pick the "Registration Target 2" shape, which is in the Symbols category from the Custom Shape Picker. Set to Fill pixels. Next, while holding down the Shift and Alt keys, start drawing the shape from the center, as in the below image. By the way you can always hide or unhide guides by pressing Command + H.

Step 3

Now we need to apply a layer style to the background layer, but because it's the "Background" Layer we can not. Go to Layer > New > Layer From Background and name the layer "Rays." Now apply a Gradient Overlay using these settings: Blend Mode set to Color Burn, Opacity at 55%, Gradient set to Black to White, Style set to Radial and Reverse checked.

Step 4

Create a new layer and name it "Dirt." Pick 60% gray as your Foreground and black as your Background Color. Go to Filter > Render > Clouds. Then go to Filter > Render > Difference Clouds.

Step 5

Go to Filter > Artistic > Film Grain and set the Grain to 5, Highlight Area to 0, Intensity to 2 and then apply. Now go to Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask, set Amount at 500%, Radius to 18 pixels and Threshold to 40 levels.

Step 6

Go to Filter > Artistic > Fresco, set the Brush Size to 10, Brush Detail to 10 and Texture to 1. Now go to Image > Adjustments > Levels (Command + L) and set Input Levels to 15, 1, 110. Set Layer Blending Mode to Screen and Layer Opacity at 50%.

Step 7

Create a new layer and name it "Dark." Get the Elliptical Marquee Tool, then while holding down the Alt key, make a selection starting from the center of the canvas, as in the image below. Go to Select > Inverse and fill the selection with black. Hit Command + D to deselect and go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply with a Radius of 150 pixels. Set the Interior Opacity (Fill) for the Layer at 20% and set the Blending Mode to Linear Burn.

Step 8

Now let's add some more dirt texture. Create a new layer named "Dirt 2" above the "Dirt" layer. Set your Foreground Color to White and Background Color to Black. Get the Brush Tool and pick "Scattered Maple Leaves" from the Brush Preset Picker. Set the Master Diameter to 250 pixels. Go to Color Dynamics in the Brushes Palette and set the Foreground/Background Jitter at 100%. Paint the whole layer with the brush.

Step 9

Set the brush Painting Mode to Difference in the Tool Options and paint the canvas over again. Then go to Filter > Artistic > Film Grain, then set Grain to 6, Highlight Area to 0 and Intensity to 2.

Step 10

Go to Filter > Artistic > Fresco, then set Brush Size to 1, Brush Detail to 10 and Texture to 3. Next, go to Filter > Stylize > Solarize. Now go to Image > Adjustments > Invert.

Step 11

Now set Layer Blending Mode to Linear Burn and set Opacity at 20%.

Step 12

A poster should attract attention and in order to achieve this goal we're going to use a simple familiar object as the main focus of our poster. This object will be a cassette because it has an association with the 80's. Now let's open the cassette image. Download the image file here and open it in Photoshop.

Get the Horizontal Type Tool (T) and type your text like in the below image. I used the font PTF Nordic, which can be downloaded from Dafont.com via this link for free.

Create a new layer above the "Background" layer named "Rectangle" and get the Rectangular Marquee Tool. Make a selection as shown and fill it with color #dddfd2. Go to the text layer in the Layers Palette and hit Command + E to merge the top two layers. Deselect by hitting Command + D.

Step 13

Go to Edit > Transform > Distort and fit the perspective of the "Rectangle" layer to the cassette. Then scale it down a little bit as you can see in the image below.

Step 14

Make sure the "Rectangle" layer is selected in the Layers Palette and press Command + E to merge the layers. Grab the Pen Tool, set it to Paths in the Tool Options and draw a path around the cassette.

Step 15

Go to Paths Palette and Command-click the "Work Path" to make a selection out of the path. Go back to the "Background" layer in the Layers Palette. Go to Layer > New > Layer via Copy. Name the new layer "Casette." Deselect, then go to the "Background" layer and fill it with white.

Step 16

Let's give this photo a stylistic look. Go to the "Casette" layer in the Layers Palette. Next, go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Threshold. Set the Threshold Level to 210. Using Adjustment Layers is a good way because you can always double-click it and change the settings.

Step 17

Go to the "Casette" layer, then go to Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask. Set the Amount at 500%, Radius to 15 pixels and Threshold to 5 levels.

Step 18

Go to the Threshold Adjustment Layer in the Layers Palette and Hit Command + E to merge.

Step 19

Command-click the "Casette" layer to load it's pixels. Create a new layer on top and name it "Casette B." Fill the selection with color #392200. Go back to the "Casette" layer, copy by going to Edit > Copy. Now go to the Channels Palette and create a new channel and paste by going to Edit > Paste.

Step 20

Command-click the "Alpha 1" channel to load the white pixels as a selection. Go back to the Layers Palette and create a new layer on top. Name it "Casette W". Next, fill the selection with the color #bbee99. Hit Command + E twice to merge the top three layers, and then Deselect.

Step 21

Drag the "Casette" layer to your "Retro.PSD" document. Hit Command + T to enter Free Transform Mode and set the Horizontal and Vertical Scales to 35%, then set the Rotation to 100 degrees. Place the cassette in the middle of the canvas as shown.

Step 22

Create a new layer below the "Casette" layer and name it "Stroke." Command-click the "Casette" layer to load the selection and fill it with the color #bbee99. Deselect by hitting Command + D. Grab the Move Tool and move the "Stroke" layer 10 pixels left and 3 pixels up.

Apply a Stroke Layer Style to the "Casette" layer using these settings: Size set to 5 pixels, Position set to Outside, Blend Mode set to Normal, Opacity set at 100%, and Color set to #bbee99.

Step 23

Command-click the "Casette" layer again. Go to Edit > Define Brush Preset and name the brush "Casette." Now Deselect. Grab the Brush Tool, pick the "Casette" brush you have just defined, and set Master Diameter to 200 pixels.

Go to the Brushes Panel and under Brush Tip Shape, set the Spacing at 370%, check Shape Dynamics, then set Size Jitter and Angle Jitter to 100%. Create a new layer named "Falling 1." Set your Foreground Color to #553300. Paint the center of the canvas vertically, as in the below image.

Step 24

Create a new layer and name it "Falling 2." This time set the Master Diameter to 400 pixels and paint again, as you did in the previous step. Set the Layer Blending Mode to Soft Light and set the Layer Opacity at 60%. Go to the "Stroke" layer and set the Layer Opacity at 75%.

Step 25

Create a new layer above the "Rays" layer, name it "Shadow." Grab the Elliptical Marquee Tool and make a selection, as in the image below. Fill the selection with the color #553300. Deselect and go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur. Apply with a Radius of 100 pixels. Now hit Command + Alt + F to bring up the Gaussian Blur dialog again, this time apply with a Radius of 50 pixels.

Step 26

Grab the Horizontal type Tool and type the text Rewind. Set the text color to #cc9966. I used Harlow Solid Italic, you can pick your favorite font. Go to Layer > Rasterize > Layer. Duplicate the layer. Make sure the "Rewind copy" layer is selected in the Layers Palette. Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise. Set Amount at 25%, set Distribution to Uniform and check Monochromatic.

Go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur. Set the Angle to 0 degrees and Distance to 200 pixels and apply. Now go to the "Rewind" layer, apply another Motion Blur filter. This time, for the Distance set it to 20 pixels. We'll also apply a Drop Shadow Layer Style using these settings: Blend Mode set to Multiply, Color set to Black, Opacity at 75%, Distance set to 0 pixels, Spread set at 2% and Size set to 150 pixels.

Step 27

Now we'll create another text layer. Type 80's this time. Go to Layer > Rasterize > Layer. Duplicate the "80's" layer by going to Layer > Duplicate. Make sure the "80's copy" layer is selected in the Layers Palette.

Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise. Set the Amount at 20%, set Distribution to Uniform and check Monochromatic. Go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur. Set the Angle to 0 degrees and Distance to 80 pixels and apply. Now go to "80's" layer, apply another Motion Blur filter. This time, for the Distance set it to 10 pixels. We'll also apply a Drop Shadow Layer Style using these settings: Blend Mode set to Multiply, Color set to Black, Opacity at 75%, Distance set to 0 pixels, Spread set at 2% and Size set to 150 pixels.

Step 28

Create another text layer above the "80's copy" layer. Type and place the word to as you can see in the image below. Next, apply a Drop Shadow using the following settings: Blend Mode set to Linear Burn, Color set to Black, Opacity at 45%, Distance set to 0 pixels, Spread set at 2% and Size set to 40 pixels.

Step 29

Select the "80's" and "80's copy" layers in the Layers Palette and hit Command + E to merge them. The merged layer will be named "80's copy." Drag this layer beneath the "Stroke" layer in the Layers Palette.

Apply a Gradient Overlay with these settings: Blend Mode set to Multiply, Opacity at 50%, Gradient set to Black to White, Style set to Linear, Angle set to 180 degrees and Scale set at 100%. This layer style will give the shadow effect coming from the cassette.

Step 30

Let's put a text block containing some information. Grab the Horizontal Type Tool, starting from the top left corner, click and drag to create a rectangular text area as shown. Type your text here. I used the font "Bauhaus 93." Set the Font Size to 10 pt, leading to 7 pt, set Color to #887766.

Step 31

We need more weight at the bottom of our poster because now it is still unbalanced. Grab the Rectangular Marquee Tool and make a selection as shown. Create a new layer and name it "Line." Fill the selection with #cc9966. Set the Layer Opacity at 80%.

Step 32

Create a new layer and name it "Triangle." Grab the Custom Shape Tool, set it to Fill Pixels in the Tool Options and pick the Triangle shape. Draw a triangle like in the below image. Hit Command + T to enter Free Transform Mode and Rotate the triangle 90 degrees counter clockwise. Duplicate the "Triangle" layer and move the copy left to make a rewind symbol. Now hit Command + E to merge both triangles and name the merged layer "Rewind icon."

Step 33

Duplicate the "Rewind icon" layer. Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise. Set the Amount at 25%, set Distribution to Uniform and check Monochromatic. Go to Filter > Blur > Motion Blur, then set the Angle to 0 degrees and Distance to 80 pixels and apply.

Now go to the "Rewind icon " layer, apply another Motion Blur filter. This time, for the Distance set it to 10 pixels. We'll also apply a Drop Shadow Layer Style using these settings: Blend Mode set to Multiply, Color set to Black, Opacity at 75%, Distance set to 0 pixels, Spread set at 2% and Size set to 150 pixels.

Step 34

You're almost done with your poster. The design looks balanced but we need some warm colors in it. Go to the "Shadow" layer and apply a Gradient Overlay Layer Style using these settings: Blend Mode set to Linear Dodge, Opacity at 60%, Gradient set to Orange to Yellow to Orange, Style set to Radial and Scale set at 80%.

Step 35

Go to the "Dark" layer and apply a Gradient Overlay using these settings: Blend Mode set to Color Burn, Opacity set at 100%, Gradient set as Violet to Orange, with a Style of Linear, Angle set to 90 degrees and Scale set at 100%.

Step 36

Select both the "Rewind" and "Rewind copy" layers in the Layers Palette and hit Command + E to merge them. Name the merged layer "Rewind." Next, apply a Gradient Overlay to the layer with these settings: Blend Mode set to Linear Dodge, Opacity at 80%, Gradient set as Orange to Yellow to Orange, Style set to Linear, Angle set to 90 degrees and Scale set at 100%.

Step 37

Go to the "80's copy" layer. Next, go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation. Set Hue to -35, Saturation to 50 and hit OK.

Step 38

Select both the "Rewind Icon " and "Rewind Icon Copy" layers and merge them by hitting Command + E. Go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation, set Hue to 10, Saturation to 50 and apply.

Step 39

Go to the "Falling 2" layer and apply a Gradient Overlay using these settings: Blend Mode set to Color Burn, Opacity set at 30%, Gradient set as Black to White, Reverse checked, Style set to Linear, Angle set to 90 degrees and scale set at 100%. This will make the top half of the layer more visible.

Step 40

At this point, we may make some color variations for our poster. In the image below you can see some variations that I made using a Gradient Map Adjustment Layer with different Layer Blending Modes and Opacity, which I will be explaining in the next step.

Step 41

Go to the Layers Palette and select the top most layer. Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Gradient Map. Set the Gradient as Black to White and hit OK. Set the Layer Blending Mode to Overlay and Opacity at 60%.

Conclusion

Yes that's it. Now we have our poster done. Hope you learned something new and enjoyed this tutorial. You can view the final image below or view a larger version here.

Subscribe to the Psdtuts+ RSS Feed for the best Photoshop tuts and articles on the web.

Related Posts
  • Design & Illustration
    Character Design
    Create a Fun Cartoon Character Face in Adobe IllustratorCartoonfacepreview
    In the following steps you will learn how to create a fun character face in Adobe Illustrator. Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Text Effects
    Create an Illuminated Text Effect in PhotoshopPreview400
    Illumination effects are a fun way to make your typography more interesting. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a text effect that is illuminated with tracks of small lights using several Photoshop tools including vector shapes, brushes, Layer Styles, and Adjustment Layers. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Create a Mixed Martial Arts Event Flyer in Photoshop0953 fight preview400
    Most of you have probably seen event posters displayed in your area promoting a boxing, mixed martial arts (MMA), Ultimate Fighter, or wrestling match. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a similar event poster in Photoshop using several techniques including photo manipulation, retouching, and typography. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Photography
    Photo Effects
    How to Create a Magical Photo Manipulation: Post-Production0955 toys psdtuts toys in action 400x400
    Artists often work with a team of individuals to complete a project. This team could include a client, a creative director, an art director, a photographer, a retoucher, and a graphic designer. In this two-part tutorial, I teamed up with photographer Natalie Fobes to create a magical photo illustration that depicts a child interacting with toys that have come to life. In the process, we will show you how to not only shoot the photos that you need, but also, how to retouch them and combine them with stock photos to create artwork that closely resembles a sketch. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Text Effects
    Danger! Danger! High Voltage! Create an Electric Text Effect in IllustratorElectricitytextpreview400x400
    In the following steps you will learn how to create an electricity text effect in Adobe Illustrator. For starters you will learn how to setup a simple grid and how to create a pretty simple pattern brush and a bunch of thin art brushes. Next, using a free font and taking full advantage of the Appearance panel you will learn how to create the main text shapes. Moving on, you will learn how to save your own graphic styles and how to cleverly use them. Using the brushes made in the beginning of the tutorial you will learn how to add a few wires and some simple electricity sparks. Finally, using basic blending techniques along with some radial gradients you will learn how to add a darker look for the overall illustration. Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Photo Effects
    How to Add Realistic Falling Snow to a Photo in Photoshop0947 snow preview 400px
    Falling snowflakes are a great way to make your winter photography much more interesting. Sometimes, the weather doesn't cooperate however, and you have to turn to Photoshop to get the job done. In this tutorial, we will explain how to create a realistic falling snow effect in Photoshop and show you how to apply it to your images.Read More…