Birthday Sale! Up to 40% off unlimited courses & creative assets Birthday Sale! Save up to 40%!
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Effects
Design

كيفية إنشاء تفاعل من الخطوط الخفيفة المجردة

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Maryam Abbas (you can also view the original English article)

هذا البرنامج التعليمي مستوحى من أعمال مجموعة Lichfaktor. يجب عليك حقا إلقاء نظرة على صورهم، وهي روح شعرية مدنية نقية. أردت بشكل أساسي طريقة بسيطة لخلق تأثيرات ضوئية مشابهة دون أنأجمد عظامي في الخارج ليلاً.

لتحقيق ذلك سنستخدم كل من الوستراتور لتصميم الأشكال الأساسية و فوتوشوب لإنشاء تأثيرات الإضاءة. نظرًا لأن كل شيء سيتم إنجازه باستخدام كائنات ذكية وأنماط طبقة ، فستكون الصورة النهائية قابلة للتطوير بأي حجم.

معاينة الصورة النهائية

قبل البدء، دعنا نلقي نظرة على الصورة التي سننشئها.

الخطوة1

أولاً، لنقم بإنشاء مستند جديد في فوتوشوب. اضبط حجم العرض على 1000 بكسل على ارتفاع 1000 بكسل في وضع ألوان RGB مع خلفية شفافة. لإنشاء تعبئة الخلفية، انقر فوق الدائرة السوداء والبيضاء (إنشاء طبقة تعبئة أو تعبئة جديدة) في أسفل لوحة الطبقات وحدد التدرج من القائمة. ألقِ نظرة على التقاط الشاشة أدناه لإجراء التعديلات وحذف قناع الطبقة بالنقر بزر الماوس الأيمن عليه وتحديد حذف قناع الدمج.

الخطوة 2

الآن قم بإنشاء مستند جديد في الوستراتور. يجب أن يكون حجم ووضع اللون هو نفس مستند فوتوشوب. ارسم شكلًا متموجًا كما هو موضح في المثال أدناه وقم بتوسيعه إلى عرض تقريبي 300 بكسل. عليك نسخه أدناه، وتحجيمه وتدويره قليلاً. ثم انتقل إلى نافذة> مكتبة الفراشي> فنية> قلم التدوير الفني وقم بتطبيق الفرشاة الثانية (قلم التدوير 10) من القائمة على كلا الشكلين. احذف التعبئة الخاصة بهما وقم بتعيين قياسضربة الفرشاة إلى 0،25بيكسل. كل شيء جاهز الآن لإنشاء المزيج.

الخطوه 3

حدد أداة المزج (W) وانقر فوق المكان الموضح أدناه لبدء المزج. من المهم النقر على تلك النقاط في هذا الترتيب حيث أن مظهر الكائن يعتمد على مكان وزمان بدء تشغيله. قم بتحسين التأثير بالنقر المزدوج على نفس الأداة في صندوق الادوات. يتم فتح مربع حوار حيث يجب عليك تحديد خطوات مخصصة في القائمة وإدخال 60 كقيمة. لدينا الآن موجة جميلة تواجهنا.

شيء واحد فقط: لا تنسى أن تحول لون ضربة الفرشاة إلى اللون الأبيض. يمكنك الآن نسخ ولصق الشكل في فوتوشوب ككائن ذكي. قم بتسمية هذه الطبقة الجديدة "الشكل 1."

الخطوة 4

قم بتحويل الشكل الذي قمت بلصقه (Command + T) لقلبه أفقياً وتوسيعه. قم بضبط وضع المزج للطبقة على ضوء قوي وقم بتطبيق توهج خارجي بالضغط على زر FX أسفل لوحة الطبقات. بدءاً من الإعدادات الافتراضية، قم بتعديل تلك المحددة باللون الأحمر في الصورة أدناه. ثم حدد تدرج في القسم الأول من النافذة وانقر فوق الطيف لتحريره.

يتم فتح مربع حوار جديد يتعين عليك فيه تحديد ضجيج في قائمة نمط التدرج. هذه العملية البسيطة جدا تخلق ضربات متعددة من اللون حول الشكل. انقر عدة مرات على الزر عشوائي في أسفل يمين النافذة حتى تحصل على شيء من هذا القبيل في المثال، كما يمكنك تنشيط الخيار إضافة شفافية.

الخطوة 5

لنقم الآن بتطبيق نمط طبقة آخر لإضفاء لون على الشكل، استخدم تراكب اللون مع الإعدادات التالية: لون محروق، # 0024ff، 100٪. يجب أن تحصل على شيء كهذا:

الخطوة 6

لاحظ أن المساحة الرئيسية للشكل مصمتة تمامًا، وبالتالي لا فائدة من هذه التركيبة. انقر على زر إضافة قناع طبقة أسفل لوحة الطبقات وبفرشاة دائرية سوداء ناعمة كبيرة، قم بطلاء هذه المنطقة. الدقة غير مطلوبة، ما عليك سوى الانتباه إلى إبقاء الجزء الأيسر من الشكل مرئيًا.

نصيحة واحدة صغيرة من شأنها تحسين كفاءة اللوحة: يمكنك ضبط تعتيم الأداة الحالية فقط عن طريق كتابة النسبة المطلوبة على لوحة المفاتيح الرقمية على الجانب الأيمن من لوحة المفاتيح. على سبيل المثال، تؤدي كتابة 2 باستخدام أداة الفرشاة (B) المحددة إلى جعل الفرشاة معتمة بنسبة 20٪. الشكل الأول انتهى الآن.

الخطوة 7

لإنشاء شكل آخر بدون بدء عملية الرسم من البداية، انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الصورة المصغرة لطبقة الشكل الأولى لفتحها في الوستراتور. حدد المزج وقم بتعيين لون ضربة الفرشاة  إلى الأسود. انتقل إلى نافذة> مكتبات الفرشاة> فني> حبر فني وطبق الفرشاة الـ10 الاكبر بعنوان "محدد". انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق رمز أداة المزج(W) من صندوق الادوات وقم بتعيين القيمة 20 كقيمة لخيار خطوات مخصصة.

الآن في لوحة الفراشي، انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الفرشاة المحددة (التي قمت بتطبيقها) وفي مربع الحوار أدخل 30٪ للحجم وقم بتنشيط مربع الاختيار المتناسب. بعد النقر فوق الزر "موافق"، يسألك مربع حوار عما إذا كنت تريد تطبيق هذه الإعدادات الجديدة على الفرشاة نفسها أم لا، اختر تطبيق على ضربات الفرشاة. قم بإدارة لون الضربة للمزج إلى الأبيض، ثم قم بنسخ ولصق المزيج الجديد في فوتوشوب ككائن ذكي. قم بتسميته "الشكل 2" وأغلق المستند في الوستراتور دون حفظ التغييرات (إلا إذا كنت تريد تطبيق هذه التغييرات الأخيرة على الشكل الأول الذي قمت برسمه وتعديله في فوتوشوب).

الخطوة 8

قم بتحويل الشكل (Command + T) وحجمه بشكل متناسب مع 190٪. قم بتكرار أنماط الطبقة لطبقة "الشكل 1" باستخدام هذا الاختصار الصغير: اسحب رمز FX الخاص بهذه الطبقة واضغط باستمرار المفتاح Alt من لوحة المفاتيح على طبقة "الشكل 2"، وبذلك تكون قد انتهيت! ما عليك سوى ضبط وضع المزج على ضوء خطي. باستخدام نفس الأسلوب كما في الخطوة 6، قم بإخفاء الجزء العلوي الأيسر من الشكل.

الخطوة 9

لإنشاء الشكل التالي، افتح الثاني في الوستراتور. بعد ذلك، قم بتحويل لون ضربة الفرشاة إلى أسود وفي لوحة الفرش، احذف اللون الذي تم تحديده. ينبثق مربع حوار، حدد إزالة ضربة الفرشاة . باستخدام أداة التحديد المباشر (A)، حدد المسار الأعلى وحدد المربع خط منقط في لوحة ضربة الفرشاة. أدخل 1 نقطة في أول واحد من المربعات الموجودة أسفلها واترك الخانات الأخرى فارغة. حدد المسار الآخر (لا يزال باستخدام أداة التحديد المباشر)، قم بتعيين الوزن إلى 1 بيكسل، ثم اسحبه بـ 9 بيكسل في المربع الأول. كذلك، قم بتنشيط خيار الفجوة الدائرية لكلا المسارين في نفس اللوحة.

لا تنسى تعيين لون ضربة الفرشاة  إلى اللون الأبيض قبل لصقها في فوتوشوب. حجمه بنفس الحجم (190٪) وفي نفس المكان مثل الشكل الثاني، ادفعه بضع بيكسلات إلى أعلى وعلى اليمين لتجنب إخفاء الشكل الأول. بعد ذلك، يتم إجراء نفس التدريبات مرة أخرى: قم بتسمية الطبقة، وقم بنسخ أنماط الطبقة السابقة، ثم عدّلها، ثم أخفِ الكائن.

فيما يلي إعدادات هذا الشكل الثالث: عادي كوضع المزج للطبقة، طيف محمر للتدرج المستخدم في التوهج الخارجي (استخدم المنزلقات في محرر التدرج لتقييد الألوان كما هو موضح أدناه) ، # ff0000 كـ لون تراكب وضوء خطي كوضع المزج لنمط الطبقة الأخيرة.

الخطوة 10

بدأ التصميم بالظهور بشكل جيد ولكنه يفتقر إلى بعض الحجم. سنحقق ذلك عن طريق إنشاء سطح ملون على الدوامة الأمامية. قم بتكرار الشكل الثالث بواسطة Alt مع سحبه بين الكائنين الذكيين المتجهين الاولين،  ثم قم بتسميته "الشكل 4." يمكنك دفعه تقريبًا بمقدار 100 بكسل للأعلى و 10 بكسل إلى اليسار (اضغط على Shift أثناء الضغط على أسهم لوحة المفاتيح لزيادة الزيادات بمقدار 10 بكسل). انقرمع الضغط على مفتاح Shift على القناع لإلغاء تنشيطه مؤقتًا وانقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق رمز FX الخاص بالطبقة لتعديل الوهج الخارجي (راجع الصورة أدناه للإعدادات).

لا تنس نقل أشرطة التمريرعند كل طرف لاستخدام الطيف بالكامل أثناء تعديل التدرج في التوهج الخارجي، أو إلغاء تحديد نمط طبقة التراكب اللوني. انتقل الآن إلى مرشحات> ضبابي> ضباب غاوصي وقم بتطبيقها مع نصف قطر قدره 50 بكسل. لاحظ ظهور قسم جديد أسفل الصورة المصغرة للطبقة، بالإضافة إلى رمز جديد أيضًا. يمكنك حذف قناع المرشح الذكي بالنقر بزر الماوس الأيمن عليه واختيار حذف قناع المرشح. اضبط وضع المزج للطبقة على الشاشة باستخدام التعتيم بنسبة 10٪.

انقر الآن على قناع الطبقة لإعادة تنشيطه، واضغط D على لوحة المفاتيح لإعادة تعيين ألوان المقدمة / الخلفية واضغط على Alt + Backspace لملء القناع باللون الأبيض. الآن قم بإخفاء الجانب الأيمن من الكائن.

الخطوة 11

دعونا نضيف المزيد من الحجم لتكويننا. كرر الشكل الثالث بواسطة ضغط  Alt والسحب فوقه نفسه، وقم بتسميته "الشكل 5"، وحركه 20 بكسل إلى اليمين. انقر مع الضغط على مفتاح Shift على مصغر قناع الطبقة لإلغاء تنشيطه مؤقتًا وانقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق رمز FX للطبقة لتعديل التوهج الخارجي (انظر الصورة أدناه للإعدادات). استخدم تراكب اللون مع الإعدادات التالية: متعدد ، # fee581، 70٪.

الآن انقر فوق قناع الطبقة لإعادة تنشيطه، واملأه باللون الأبيض، وقم بإخفاء الجانب الأيمن من الكائن.

الخطوة 12

دعونا نستكشف أكثر قليلاً بضربات الفرشاة المطبقة على المخاليط في الوستراتور: انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الصورة المصغرة لطبقة الشكل الأول لفتحها في الوستراتور. حدد المزج وتعيين لون ضربة الفرشاة  إلى الأسود. اذهب إلى نافذة> مكتبات الفراشي> الفني> حبر فني وقم بتطبيق الفرشاة الثامنة الاكبر التي تسمى "مجرة".

انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق رمز أداة المزج (W) من صندوق الادوات وقم بتعيين 10 كقيمة لخيار الخطوات المخصصة. استخدم 10 نقاط من أجل سمك الحد الأقصى للمسار العلوي، 1 نقطة للواحد، و 10٪ لحجم الفرشاة. قم بإدارة لون الضربة للمزج إلى الأبيض، ثم قم بنسخ الكائن ولصقه في فوتوشوب بحجم 190٪ وفوق كل الطبقات الأخرى. ادفعه، وأعطيه نفس أنماط الطبقة ووضع المزج بالشكل الأول، ثم قنعه.

الخطوة 13

أعد فتح الكائن الذكي الأول المتجه من الصورة المصغرة في لوحة الطبقات وحوله الى اللون الأسود. بعد ذلك، قم بتحرير المزج باستخدام الاختصار Command + Alt + Shift + B، ثم انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الصورة المصغرة للفرشاة في لوحة فراشي، ثم قم بتنشيط مربع الاختيار انقلاب مستمر في قسم الانقلاب في المربع خيارات الفرشاة الفنية. قم بتغيير لون ضربة الفرشاة  للمزيج إلى الأبيض، ثم قم بنسخ الكائن ولصقه في فوتوشوب بحجم 190٪ وفوق كل الطبقات الأخرى. ادفعه، أعطه نفس أنماط الطبقة كما هو موضح أدناه بالشاشة كنمط مزج للطبقة. استخدم تراكب اللون مع الإعدادات التالية: تراكب و # fff600 و 100٪. أخيرًا، أخفِه.

الخطوة 14

نحن لا ننتهي تماما مع الأشكال المتجهة ولكن دعونا نأخذ وقفة وننظر في ما قمنا به ونضيف بعض التباين إلى خطوط الضوء لدينا عن طريق إنشاء طبقة ضبط. انقر فوق الدائرة السوداء والبيضاء في أسفل لوحة الطبقات وحدد منحنيات من القائمة. ألقِ نظرة على الصور أدناه لإجراء التعديلات وحذف قناع الطبقة.

الخطوة 15

دعنا نرجع إلى الوستراتور وننشئ مستندًا جديدًا نرسم فيه شكل بيضوي(L)، بقياس عرضًا 440 بكسل وارتفاع 480 بكسل.0 بعد ذلك، قم بتطبيق الفرشاة الأولى من مكتبة القلم المدور 1 عليه وقم بتقليل حجم الفرشاة، مع الاستمرار بالنقر المزدوج فوق الصورة المصغرة في لوحة الفراشي. في المثال أدناه، استخدمت حجمًا بنسبة 40٪ وقلبته بشكل مستمر. قم بحذف تعبئة الكائن، ثم قم بتحويل لون ضربة الفرشاة  إلى الأبيض، ثم قم بنسخه ولصقه في فوتوشوب.

الخطوة 16

قم بتطبيق أنماط الطبقة من الشكل الأول عليه وتعديله قليلا وفقا للصورة أدناه. قم بتدوير الكائن، وتدويره، وودفعه، وتكراره مرتين لإضفاء مزيد من القوة على الأطواق. حدد هذه الكائنات الثلاثة الأخيرة في لوحة الطبقات وانقر Command + G لجمعها في مجموعة، واسمها "أطواق". أضف قناع طبقة واستخدمه بحيث يبقى الجانب الأيمن فقط.

لمعرفة المزيد حول تسويق المحتوى وكيفية تنفيذه ، يمكنك مراجعة الأدلة التالية:

أخيرًا وليس آخرًا، دعنا نعتني بتلك المسارات الحمراء الكبيرة في الخلفية. في الوستراتور، قم بإنشاء مستند جديد وارسم موجة. بعد ذلك، قم بتكرارها، قم بتدريجها قليلاً، وحرك بعض نقاط الربط، وقم بإنشاء المزج مع 10 خطوات. حدد المزيج بالكامل ثم اسحبه بـ 11 نقطة و 23 نقطة في أول صندوقين، مع ترك المربعات الأخرى فارغة. كذلك، قم بتنشيط خيار الفوهة المدورة في لوحة الألوان نفسها. استخدم 3 نقاط من أجل سمك ضربة الفرشاة للمسار العلوي، و 1 بت للآخر. قم بتحويل لون ضربة الفرشاة للمزج إلى اللون الأبيض، ثم قم بنسخ الكائن ولصقه في فوتوشوب فوق طبقة "الخلفية" مباشرةً.

الخطوة 18

حدد الحجم بـ 210 ٪ وقم بتكرار أنماط الطبقة لطبقة "الشكل 3". الآن قم بتعديلها وفقا للصورة أدناه. قم بتكرارها، وادفعها بضع وحدات بكسل إلى اليسار وأدخل 50٪ تعتيم لهذه الطبقة الأخيرة. اجمع هاتين الشريحتين الأخيرتين في مجموعة (Command + G) واسمها "مسارات حمراء". دعنا الآن نتخلص من ذلك، وليس باستخدام قناع طبقة على المجموعة نفسها، ولكن بشكل فردي لكل مسار. في الواقع، يستخدم الجزء العلوي فقط للتأكيد على بعض المناطق في المنطقة الأخرى.

الخطوة 19

وصلنا، الخطوة النهائية. سنعمل على زيادة حدة بعض الجوانب التركيبة: اضغط على Command + Alt + Shift + E على لوحة المفاتيح لدمج كل الطبقات المرئية في طبقة جديدة. الآن اسمها "شحذ".

انتقل إلى طبقة> كائنات ذكية> تحويل إلى كائن ذكي. بعد ذلك انتقل إلى مرشح> أخرى> "ممر عالي" وأدخل قيمة 2 بيكسل. قم بتغيير صيغة المزج للطبقة إلى ضوء حيوي وقم بإضافة قناع طبقة إليها. نظرًا لأننا نريد بشكل أساسي زيادة حدة المسارات الحمراء، انقر على زر Command + Shift على الصورة المصغرة لهذين الكائنين الذكيين - وطبقة شحذ التي لا تزال محددة - انقر فوق الزر إضافة قناع طبقة الذي استخدمناه من قبل. الآن يظهر الشحذ فقط على منطقة المسارات الحمراء. لون أكثر بقليل في القناع لتعزيز بعض المناطق الأخرى مثل حواف الأطواق الخضراء والصفراء الكبيرة.

نصيحة أخيرة قبل المغادرة: الصورة بأكملها قابلة لأي تحجيم دون أي خسارة للجودة (على افتراض أن الكمبيوتر يمكنه التعامل معها) ببساطة عن طريق تنشيط خيار أنماط الحجم في مربع الحوار حجم الصورة  (Command + Alt + I). استمتع!

الصورة النهائية

يمكنك عرض الصورة النهائية أدناه.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

How to Create an Interplay of Abstract Light Streaks

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

This tutorial is inspired by the work of the Lichfaktor collective. You should really take a look at their pictures, which are pure urban poetry. I basically wanted a simple way to create similar light effects without freezing my bones outside at night.

To achieve this we'll use both Illustrator to design the basic shapes and Photoshop to create the lighting effects. Since everything is going to be done with smart objects and layer styles, the final image will be scalable at any size.

Final Image Preview

Before we get started, let's take a look at the image we'll be creating.  

Step 1

First, let's create a new document in Photoshop. Set the size to 1000px wide by 1000px height in RGB color mode with a transparent background. To create the background fill, click the black & white circle (Create A New Fill Or Adjustment Layer) at the bottom of the Layers palette and select Gradient from the list. Take a look at the screen capture below to make the adjustements and delete the layer mask by right-clicking on it and selecting Delete The Fusion Mask.

Step 2

Now create a new document in Illustrator. The size and color mode should be the same as the Photoshop document. Draw a wavy shape as shown in the example below and scale it to approximatively 300px wide. Duplicate it below, scale it and rotate it a little. Then go to Window > Brush Libraries > Artistic > Artistic_ScrollPen and apply the second brush (Scroll Pen 10) of the list to both shapes. Delete their fill and set the stroke weight to 0,25pt. Everything is now ready to create the blend.

Step 3

Select the Blend Tool (W) and click where shown below to initiate the blending. It's important to click on those points in this ordrer as the appearance of the object depends on where and when you initiate it. Refine the effect by double-clicking on the same tool in the Toolbox. A dialog box opens up where you have to select Specified Steps in the menu and enter 60 as the value. We now have a beautiful wave facing us.

Just one more thing: don't forget to turn the stroke color of the blend to white. Now you can copy and paste your shape into Photoshop as a Smart Object. Name this new layer "Shape 1."

Step 4

Transform the shape you just pasted (Command + T) to flip it horizontally and scale it. Turn the blending mode of the layer to Hard Light and apply an Outer Glow by clicking on the FX button down below the Layers palette. Starting from the default settings, modify those marked in red in the image below. Then select the Gradient in the first section of the window and click on the spectrum to edit it.

A new dialog box opens in which you must select Noise in the Gradient Type menu. This very simple operation creates multiple strokes of color around the shape. Click several times on the Randomize button in the bottom-right of the window until you get something like in the example, also activate the option Add Transparency.

Step 5

Let's now apply another layer style to give color to the shape, use Color Overlay with the following settings: Color Burn, #0024ff, 100%. You should get something like this:

Step 6

Notice the main area of the shape is totally solid and therefore, quite pointless for this composition. Click on the Add Layer Mask button down below the Layers palette and with a big black soft round brush, paint that area. Accuracy isn't required, just take care keeping the left part of the shape visible.

One little tip that will improve your painting efficiency: you can adjust the opacity of the current tool just by typing the desired percentage on the numeric keypad on the right side of your keyboard. For example, typing 2 with the Brush Tool (B) selected makes your brush opaque at 20%. The first shape is now finished.

Step 7

To create another shape without starting the drawing process from the beginning, double-click on the thumbnail of the first shape layer to open it in Illustrator. Select the blend and set its stroke color to black. Go to Window > Brush Libraries > Artistic > Artistic_Ink and apply the 10th biggest brush titled "Marker." Double-click on the Blend Tool (W) icon from the Toolbox and set 20 as the value for the Specified Steps option.

Now in the Brushes palette, double-click on the selected brush (the one you just applied) and in the dialog box enter 30% for the size and activate the Proportional checkbox. After clicking the OK button, a dialog box asks you whether you want to apply those new settings to the brush itself or not, choose Apply To Strokes. Turn the stroke color of the blend to white, then copy and paste the new blend into Photoshop as a Smart Object. Name it "Shape 2" and close the document in Illustrator without saving the changes (unless you want to apply those last changes to the first shape you drew and adjusted in Photoshop).

Step 8

Transform the shape (Command + T) and scale it proportionnally at 190%. Duplicate the layer styles of the "Shape 1" layer using this little shortcut: drag the FX icon of this layer holding down the Alt key of your keyboard onto the "Shape 2" layer, and you're done! Just set the blending mode to Linear Light. Using the same technique as in Step 6, hide the top-left part of the shape.

Step 9

To create the next shape, open the second one in Illustrator. Next, turn the stroke color to black and in the Brushes palette delete the one which is selected. A dialog box pops up, select Remove Strokes. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the uppermost path and check the box Dashed Line in the Stroke palette. Enter 1pt in the first one of the boxes below it and leave the other ones blank. Select the other path (still with the Direct Selection Tool), set the weight to 1pt, and dash it with 9pt in the first box. Also, activate the Round Cap option for both paths in the same palette.

Don't forget to set the stroke color to white before pasting it into Photoshop. Scale it at the same size (190%) and in the same place as the second shape, nudge it a few pixels above and on the right to avoid hiding the first shape. Next, it's the same drill again: name the layer, copy the prior layer styles ,then modify them, and mask the object.

Here are the settings for this third shape: Normal as the blending mode for the layer, a reddish spectrum for the Gradient used in the Outer Glow (use the sliders in the Gradient Editor to restrain the colors as shown below), #ff0000 as Color Overlay and Linear Light as the blending mode for this last layer style.

Step 10

The design is beginning to look good but lacks some volume. We will achieve that by creating a colored surface on the frontmost swirl. Duplicate the third shape by Alt-dragging it between the two first Vector Smart Objects, then name it "Shape 4." Nudge it approximatively 100px upwards and 10px to the left (press Shift while hitting the keyboard arrows to make 10px increments). Shift-click on the mask to temporarily deactivate it and double-click on the FX icon of the layer to modify the Outer Glow (see the image below for the settings).

Don't forget to move the sliders at each extremity to use the whole spectrum while modifying the Gradient in the Outer Glow, nor unchecking the Color Overlay layer style. Now go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply it with a 50px Radius. Notice a new section appeared below the thumbnail of the layer, and a new icon too. You may delete the mask of the Smart Filter by right-clicking on it and selecting Delete Filter Mask. Set the blending mode of the layer to Screen with 10% Opacity.

Now click on the layer mask to reactivate it, press D on your keyboard to reset the foreground/background colors and press Alt + Backspace to fill the mask with white. Now hide the right side of the object.

Step 11

Let's add some more volume to our composition. Duplicate the third shape by Alt-dragging it above itself, name it "Shape 5," and nudge it 20px to the right. Shift-click on the layer mask thumbnail to temporarily deactivate it and double-click on the FX icon of the layer to modify the Outer Glow (see the image below for the settings). Use Color Overlay with the following settings: Multiply, #fee581, and 70%.

Now click on the layer mask to reactivate it, fill it with white, and hide the right side of the object.

Step 12

Let's explore a little more with the strokes applied to blends in Illustrator: double-click on the thumbnail of the first shape layer to open it in Illustrator. Select the blend and set its stroke color to black. Go to Window > Brush Libraries > Artistic > Artistic_Ink and apply the 8th biggest brush called "Galaxy."

Double-click on the Blend Tool (W) icon from the Toolbox and set 10 as the value for the Specified Steps option. Use 10pt for the stroke weight of the upmost path, 1pt for the other one, and 10% for the size of the brush. Turn the stroke color of the blend to white, then copy and paste the object into Photoshop at 190% size and above all the other layers. Nudge it, and give it the same layer styles and blending mode as the first shape, then mask it.

Step 13

Re-open the very first vector smart object from its thumbnail in the layers palette and turn it black. Next, release the blend using the shortcut Command + Alt + Shift + B, double-click on the brush thumbnail in the Brushes palette and activate the Flip Along checkbox in the Flip section of the Art Brush Options box. Turn the stroke color of the blend to white, then copy and paste the object into Photoshop at 190% size and above all the other layers. Nudge it, give it the same layer styles as shown below with Screen as the blending mode for the layer. Use Color Overlay with the following settings: Overlay, #fff600, and 100%. Finally, mask it.

Step 14

We are not completely done with the vector shapes but let's take a pause to look at what we've done and add some contrast to our light streaks by creating an Adjustement Layer. Click on the black & white circle at the bottom of the Layers palette and select Curves from the list. Take a look at the images below to make the adjustements and delete the layer mask.

Step 15

Let's jump back to Illustrator and create a new document in which we draw an Ellipse (L), measuring approximately 440px width and 480px height. Next, apply the first brush from the ScrollPen library (Scroll Pen 1) to it and reduce the size of the brush, still by double-clicking its thumbnail in the Brushes palette. In the example below, I used a size of 40% and Flipped it Along. Delete the fill of the object, turn its stroke color to white, then copy and paste it into Photoshop.

Step 16

Apply the layer styles of the first shape to it and modify them a little according to the image below. Scale, rotate, nudge and duplicate the object twice to give more strength to the swashes. Select those last 3 objects in the Layers palette and hit Command + G to gather them in a group, name it "Swashes." Add a layer mask and use it so that only the right side remains.

Step 17

Last but not least, let's take care of those big red trails in the background. In Illustrator, create a new document and draw a wave. Next, duplicate it, scale it down a little, nudge some anchor points, and create the blend with 10 steps. Select the whole blend and Dash it with 11pt and 23pt in the first two boxes, leaving the other ones blank. Also, activate the Round Cap option in the same palette. Use 3pt for the stroke weight of the upmost path, and 1pt for the other one. Turn the stroke color of the blend to white, then copy and paste the object into Photoshop just above the "background" layer.

Step 18

Scale it at 210% and duplicate the layer styles of the "Shape 3" layer. Now modify them according to the image below. Duplicate it, nudge it a few pixels leftwards and enter 50% as Opacity for this last layer. Gather those last two shapes in a group (Command + G) and name it "Red trails." Let's now fade those out, not using a layer mask on the group itself, but individually for each trail. In fact, the uppermost one is only used to emphasise some areas of the other one.

Step 19

Here we are, the final step. We are going to slightly sharpen some areas of the composition: hit Command + Alt + Shift + E on your keyboard to merge all visible layers into a new one. Now name it "Sharpening."

Go to Layer > Smart Objects > Convert To Smart Object. Next go to Filter > Other > High Pass and enter a 2px value. Change the blending mode of the layer to Vivid Light and add a layer mask to it. As we mainly want to sharpen the red trails, Command + Shift-click the thumbnail of those two smart objects and — with the "Sharpening" layer still selected — click the Add Layer Mask button we already used before. Now the sharpening appears only on the area of the red trails. Paint a little more in the mask to enhance some other areas like the edges of the big green and yellow swashes.

One last tip before leaving: the whole image is scalable at any size without any loss of quality (assuming your computer can handle it) simply by activating the Scale Styles option in the Image Size dialog box (Command + Alt + I.) Enjoy!

Final Image

You can view the final image below.

Advertisement