Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Halloween
Design

Comment créer une Illustration de Halloween avec un chaton blanc dans Adobe Illustrator.

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Jeane Jade (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Dans ce tutoriel, vous allez apprendre à créer une fête d'Halloween inspiré de l'illustration mettant en vedette un mignon chaton. Vous utiliserez principalement les ovales et d'autres formes de base. C'est peu plus longtemps que d'habitude, mais facile à suivre, et conduira à une adorable résultat final. Nous allons commencer!

1. La création de la Tête

Étape 1

Frapper l'Outil Ellipse (L) et de créer une ellipse. Supprimer la couleur de contour si vous en avez un, et de définir la couleur de remplissage R=216 G=217 B=218. Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A) et sélectionnez la gauche et la droite des points d'ancrage, puis déplacer vers le bas.

creating the head

Étape 2

Maintenant, nous allons créer les oreilles. Nous avons besoin de dessiner un triangle (en utilisant la même couleur de fond) et nous allons le créer à partir de l'Outil Polygone. Prendre l'Outil Polygone et cliquez sur votre plan de travail. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, tapez 3 Côtés avec un Rayon. Puis cliquez sur OK.

Garder sélectionné et aller à Effet > Déformation > Ardennes. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, Warp Options apparaîtra. Assurez-vous de définir le Style du Renflement, Plier À 60%, la Distorsion Horizontale de 0%, à la Verticale de 0%. Faire encore une copie de l'oreille à l'avant (ctrl-C, Ctrl-F), puis de la rendre plus petite et définir la couleur de remplissage R=243 G=117 B=121. Nous venons de créer une oreille du chaton.

creating the ears

Étape 3

Tourner l'oreille un peu et de le placer sur la tête. Gardez l'oreille tout sélectionné et cliquez sur le bouton droit de la souris. Dans la fenêtre pop-up, sélectionnez Transformer > Réfléchir. Sélectionnez l'axe Vertical de la réflexion et appuyez sur Copier.

Déplacer la deuxième oreille et le placer sur le côté droit. Pour faire les oreilles, dans le milieu de la tête, vous pouvez sélectionner les deux oreilles, cliquez-droit sur la souris et sélectionnez Groupe. Appuyez sur la touche Maj et maintenez-le enfoncé, puis sélectionnez la tête et les oreilles ensemble. Aller au panneau Aligner (Fenêtre > Aligner) et appuyez sur la touche d'alignement Horizontal du Centre.

placing the ears

Étape 4

Maintenant, sur les yeux. Choisissez un vert la couleur de remplissage (R=141 G=139 B=0) et à l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L) dessinez un ovale. Dessinez un autre ovale dessus et de le remplir de la couleur foncée (R=96 G=91 B=3). Dessinez un petit cercle blanc comme une évidence.

Tourner de l'œil un peu à gauche. Puis créer un autre oeil: cliquez-droit sur la souris et cliquez sur Transformer > Reflètent, Vertical, Copie. Déplacez le nouveau les yeux sur le côté droit.

creating and putting the eyes

Étape 5

Dessinez un ovale rose avec la couleur de remplissage R=243 G=117 B=121. Garder sélectionné, frappé de la conversion de Point d'Ancrage de l'Outil (Maj-C) et appuyez sur le bas du point d'ancrage pour faire de cette forte. Nous venons de créer le nez. Placer le nez entre les yeux, légèrement à la baisse.

creating and placing the nose

Étape 6

À l'aide de la couleur de la tête, nous allons dessiner la fourrure. Ajuster le Crayon options: double-cliquez sur l'Outil Crayon (N) et de définir les Tolérances de Fidélité à 4 px et de la Douceur à 40%. Case à Remplir les Nouveaux Contours au Crayon, puis appuyez sur OK. Essayer d'en tirer quelque chose de similaire à l'image ci-dessous. Pour fermer le tracé, vous devez maintenir la touche Alt pendant que vous terminez le chemin. Dessinez trois différents morceaux de fourrure: sur le haut de la tête, et sur la gauche et la joue droite. La tête est fait!

drawing the fur

2. La création de l'Organisme

Étape 1

À l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L) dessinez un ovale (couleur de remplissage R=216 G=217 B=218). Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A) et, en déplaçant les poignées, créer une forme comme dans l'image ci-dessous.

creating the body

Étape 2

Mettre le corps en vertu de l'en-tête (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

placing the body

Étape 3

Maintenant, nous allons créer une division entre la tête et le corps. Sélectionnez simplement la tête, faire une copie de l'arrière (ctrl-C, Ctrl-B) et la déplacer vers le bas un peu. Remplir de la couleur foncée (R=201 G=202 B=204). Ensuite, sélectionnez le corps, et en faire une copie en avant (ctrl-C, Ctrl-F). Tout en maintenant la touche Maj enfoncée, sélectionnez les plus sombres de la copie de la tête, et sur le panneau Pathfinder appuyez sur l'Intersection bouton.

optically dividing the head and the body

Étape 4

Cette nouvelle forme est conçue pour montrer la patte arrière du chaton. Dessinez un ovale à l'aide de l'Outil Ellipse (L) avec un remplissage de R=201 G=202 B=204. Pour faire le haut et le bas des points d'ancrage coupante de l'Outil conversion de Point directeur (Maj-C) et appuyez sur ces points d'ancrage. Ensuite, allez à Effet > Déformation > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les informations suivantes: le Style de l'Arc Vertical, Plier À 50%, la Distorsion Horizontale de 0%, à la Verticale de 0%. Appuyez sur OK. Puis développez cette forme (Objet > décomposer l'Aspect).

creating the shape to show the hind paw

Mettre la forme où la patte arrière. Aussi, si vous n'aimez pas le résultat que vous avez fait dans l'étape précédente, déplacez les poignées de cette forme à l'aide de l'Outil Sélection Directe (A) pour obtenir le résultat que vous souhaitez.

placing the shape to show the hind paw

Étape 5

Pour dessiner les pattes avant, commencez par un ovale. À l’aide de l’outil sélection directe (A), déplacer les poignées pour créer la forme indiquée ci-dessous. Faire une autre copie (Ctrl-C, Ctrl-B) et le rendre plus sombre (R = 201 = 202 = 204) et un peu plus large.

creating the front paw

Étape 6

Prendre les deux formes que vous avez fait dans l'étape précédente et de les mettre en place. Ensuite, prenez la plus sombre de la forme et de la placer où la deuxième patte. Envoyer cette deuxième patte avant à l'arrière (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B).

placing the front paws

Étape 7

La dernière partie de cette cutie est une queue! Encore une fois, dessinez un ovale (la même couleur de fond que le corps et la tête). L'envoyer à l'arrière (ctrl-X, Ctrl-B) et aller à Effet > Déformation > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les informations suivantes: le Style de l'Arc Horizontal, Plier À -30%, le taux de Distorsion Horizontale -65%, à la Verticale de 0%. Appuyez sur OK. Puis développez cette forme (Objet > décomposer l'Aspect). Ce mignon chaton est fait!

creating and placing the tail

3. La création de la Sorcière Chapeau

Étape 1

Frapper l'Outil Polygone et cliquez sur votre plan de travail. Dans une nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue de type 3 Côtés avec un Rayon. Définir la couleur de remplissage à R=0 G=0 B=24. Aller à Effet > Déformation > Arc. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre, sélectionnez le Style de l'Arc Vertical, Plier À -30%, le taux de Distorsion Horizontale de 0%, à la Verticale de 0%. Appuyez sur OK. Puis développez cette forme (Objet > décomposer l'Aspect). À l'aide de l'Outil Sélection Directe (A), déplacez les poignées de cette forme pour obtenir le résultat suivant.

creating the top of the witch hat

Étape 2

Faire une nouvelle copie en avant (ctrl-C, Ctrl-F). Faire de la nouvelle copie plus claire (R=23 G=23, B=44) et assurez-vous que les sommets de ces deux formes sont au même point.

Définir la couleur de remplissage R=234 G=96 B=19 et dessinez un cercle sur le dessus. Pour créer un joli tour de cercle, maintenez la touche Maj enfoncée lors de la création de cette forme. Créer un briquet (R=243 G=115 B=33) copie de ce cercle orange pour ajouter du volume.

creating the top of the witch hat 2

Étape 3

Dessinez un ovale pour la partie inférieure de la sorcière chapeau. Faites-en une copie à l'avant (ctrl-C, Ctrl-F). Prendre l'Outil de Sélection Directe (A), sélectionnez le plus bas point d'ancrage de cette nouvelle copie, et le déplacer vers le haut. Garder la dernière création de la forme sélectionnée, et, de nouveau, faire un plus la copie dans le dos (Contrôle-C, Ctrl-B). Déplacer vers le haut et définir la couleur de remplissage à R=66 G=66 B=84. La sorcière chapeau est fait!

creating the bottom of the witch hat

Étape 4

Nous allons décorer ce chapeau avec un arc pour le rendre encore plus adorable. Dessinez un ovale (avez-vous remarqué que nous sommes de la création de cette illustration, principalement à partir des ovales?). Frapper l'Outil Pipette (I) et de prendre le même orange, couleur de remplissage, comme le pompon sur le haut du chapeau. Se déplacer en haut et en bas des points d'ancrage de la gauche à l'aide de l'Outil Sélection Directe (A).

Créer une deuxième copie (ctrl-C, ctrl-V) et les mettre ensemble comme indiqué dans la deuxième image. Garder ces deux formes sélectionnées, cliquez sur le bouton droit de la souris et sélectionnez Transformer > Réfléchir. Ensuite, sélectionnez l'axe Vertical de la réflexion, de l'Angle de 90 degrés, puis appuyez sur Copier. Déplacer les deux nouveaux exemplaires de la droite.

creating the bow 1

Étape 5

Créer un ovale (couleur de remplissage R=243 G=115 B=33) dans le milieu pour faire le noeud de l'arc. Les deux sombres étroites, ovales derrière le nœud va nous montrer les plis de l'arc.

creating the bow 2

Étape 6

Groupe de l'ensemble de l'arc et de la placer sur le chapeau.

placing the bow on the witch hat

4. Mettre le Chapeau de Sorcière sur le Chaton

Sélectionnez l'ensemble du chapeau, ne pas le groupe, et le placer sur la tête de chaton. Il suffit de sélectionner la partie arrière de la casquette et appuyez sur ctrl-X, Ctrl-B pour l'envoyer à l'arrière.

putting the witch hat on the kitten

5. Sculpture De Citrouille

Étape 1

Nous avons d'abord besoin de dessiner une citrouille. Dessinez un ovale orange, couleur de remplissage R=243 G=115 B=33. Déplacer à gauche et à droite des points d'ancrage d'un bas un peu.

creating the shape of the pumpkin 1

Étape 2

Faire une autre copie dans le dos (Contrôle-C, Ctrl-B), le déplacer vers la gauche, et tourner un peu vers la droite. Définir la couleur de fond pour la nouvelle copie à R=234 G=96 B=19. Garder sélectionné et de créer un effet de reflet de ce (clic droit de la souris et cliquez sur Transformer > Reflètent, Vertical, Copie). Déplacer cette troisième partie de la droite.

Sélectionnez la copie que vous avez faite au cours de cette étape (image 1) et en créer un nouveau à l'arrière (ctrl-C, Ctrl-B). Faites-le glisser vers la gauche et mettre la couleur de remplissage à R=221 G=83 B=14. Faire une réflexion de ce copier (clic droit de la souris et de la Transformation > Réfléchir, Vertical, Copie), et faites-le glisser vers la droite.

creating the shape of the pumpkin 2

Étape 3

Maintenant, nous allons commencer à tailler les yeux. Nous allons commencer avec un triangle (R=191 G=60 B=2). Aller à Effet > Déformation > Ardennes. Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, entrez les informations suivantes: le Style de Renflement, Vertical, Plier À 50%, la Distorsion Horizontale de 0%, à la Verticale de 0%. Appuyez sur OK.

creating the eye of the pumpkin

Étape 4

Créer le deuxième œil. Garder sélectionné, maintenez la touche Alt enfoncée pour déplacer vers le côté.

Après cela, dessinez deux cercles et placer comme sur cette image. Sélectionnez les deux cercles ensemble (n'oubliez pas de maintenir la touche Maj enfoncée pour cela), prenez l'Outil Pipette (I) et de prendre la même couleur de la partie correspondante de la citrouille.

placing the eyes of the pumpkin

Étape 5

Pour tailler la bouche, créer un ovale avec un orange foncé (couleur de remplissage, la même que la partie triangulaire de l'œil (utiliser l'Outil Pipette (I)). Faire la gauche et la droite des points d'ancrage sharp (utilisation de la Convertir en Points d'Ancrage de l'Outil (Shift-C). Ensuite, allez à Effet > Déformation > Arc. Entrez le Style Arc Horizontal, Plier À -50%, la Distorsion Horizontale et Verticale de 0%. Appuyez sur OK. Ajouter deux rectangles, (à l'aide de l'Outil Rectangle (M)) avec la même couleur de fond que la partie correspondante de la citrouille.

creating the mouth and teeth of the pumpkin

Étape 6

La Position de la bouche où il devrait être.

placing the mouth and teeth on the pumpkin

6. Mettre le Chaton sur la Citrouille

Nous allons aider le chaton sur la montée de la citrouille.

placing kitty on the pumpkin

7. Le dessin de l'Araignée

Étape 1

Un gris de forme ovale (R=109 G=110 B=112) rendra le corps de l'araignée. Faites glisser de la gauche et de la droite des points d'ancrage vers le bas.

Dessiner un œil à l'aide de deux cercles de gris clair et de noir, couleurs de remplissage. Faire deux yeux en copiant et collant, et placez-les comme indiqué.

creating the body and eyes of the spider

Étape 2

Faire de la couleur du contour de la même façon que le corps de l'araignée et sur le panneau Contour de vérifier Tour de la Pac. Ensuite, allez dans le panneau Outils et double-cliquez sur l'Outil Crayon (N). Dans la nouvelle fenêtre de dialogue, de faire des Tolérances de Fidélité 4 px et la Douceur de 40%. Sur le panneau Contour, faire la Course Poids très épais (par rapport au corps de l'araignée) et de dessiner quatre pattes.

Gardez ces pieds sélectionné et de faire une réflexion afin de créer quatre pattes. Déplacer vers la droite.

creating the legs of the spider

8. La création de la toile d'Araignée

Étape 1

Définir la couleur du contour à R = 64 = 64 = 65 et supprimer la couleur de remplissage. Prenez l’outil polygone et cliquez sur votre plan de travail. Type 10 côtés avec n’importe quel rayon. Créez deux autres des mêmes polygones, chacun d'entre eux étant plus petit que celui prélevé avant.

Prendre l'Outil trait et maintenez la touche Maj enfoncée pour tracer une ligne droite. Avec la même couleur de fond, dessinez deux petits cercles sur les extrémités. Groupe des cercles et de la ligne. Placez cette ligne dans le milieu de la polygones.

Garder la ligne sélectionnée et appuyez sur l'Outil de Rotation (R), puis appuyez sur la touche Entrée. Une nouvelle fenêtre s'ouvrira. Type 15 ou 20 degrés et appuyez sur Copier. Continuez à appuyer sur ctrl + D pour répéter votre dernier mouvement. La toile d'araignée est fait.

creating the spider web

Étape 2

Régler les araignées.

settling the spiders on the spider web

9. La création de l'arrière-plan

Créer deux cercles, comme le montre l'image suivante. Le cercle plus petit doit avoir une couleur de remplissage de la R=35 B=31 B=32, et le plus grand R=88 G=89 B=91.

Garder le plus grand cercle choisi, et aller à Effet > Déformer et Transformer > Zig Zag. Ensuite, entrez les Options de Taille de 4 px, Absolue, des Crêtes par Segment 20, Points Lisse, et appuyez sur OK.

creating the background shape

10. En plaçant l'arrière-plan

Placez les deux cercles que vous avez fait dans l'étape précédente, derrière tout ce que vous avez créé auparavant. Comme vous pouvez le voir, j'ai fait quelques araignées et un couple de toiles d'araignée. Tout organiser comme vous le souhaitez.

placing the background shape

11. créer le fond rayé

Nous devons maintenant créer un autre arrière-plan. Prenez l'Outil Rectangle (M) et de créer un rectangle avec 600 px de largeur et de hauteur. La mettre derrière tout. Définir la couleur de remplissage à R=243 G=242 B=227.

Par la suite, créer une copie supplémentaires à l'avant, et la rendre plus sombre (R=216 G=214 B=168) et plus étroite.

Garder la nouvelle bande verte sélectionné, maintenez la touche Maj et Alt, et de déplacer cette bande vers la droite. Puis continuez à appuyer sur ctrl + D pour répéter votre dernier mouvement. Arrêtez-vous lorsque vous remplissez la lumière carré vert.

creating the striped background

12. Placer le Fond Rayé

Sélectionnez la lumière carré vert et vert foncé bandes ensemble, et placez-les derrière vous tout ce que vous avez fait avant. Votre illustration est fait! Félicitations!

placing the striped background

Conclusion

Voir! Vous pouvez créer des illustrations adorables juste en utilisant des formes de base! J'espère que vous avez appris quelques trucs et pouvez appliquer sur votre propre. Je ne peux pas attendre pour voir vos résultats ci-dessous!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Halloween
Design

How to Create a Halloween Illustration With a White Kitten in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial, you will learn how to create a Halloween-inspired illustration featuring a cute kitten. You will mostly use ovals and other basic shapes. It's bit longer than usual but easy to follow, and will lead to an adorable final result. Let's get started!

1. Creating the Head

Step 1

Hit the Ellipse Tool (L) and create an ellipse. Remove the stroke color if you have one, and set the fill color to R=216 G=217 B=218. Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and select the left and right anchor points, then move them down.

creating the head

Step 2

Now let's create the ears. We need to draw a triangle (using the same fill color) and we will create it from the Polygon Tool. Take the Polygon Tool and click on your artboard. In the new dialogue window, type 3 Sides with any Radius. Then click OK.

Keep it selected and go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new window, Warp Options will pop up. Be sure to set the Style to Bulge, Bend 60%, Distortion Horizontal 0%, Vertical 0%. Make one more copy of the ear in front (Control-C, Control-F), then make it smaller and set the fill color to R=243 G=117 B=121. We just created one ear of the kitten.

creating the ears

Step 3

Rotate the ear a little bit and place it on the head. Keep the whole ear selected and right-click your mouse. In the pop-up window, select Transform > Reflect. Select Vertical axis of reflection and press Copy

Move the second ear and place it on the right-hand side. To make the ears right in the middle of the head, you can select both ears, right-click the mouse and select Group. Press the Shift key and hold, and then select the head and the ears together. Go to the Align panel (Window > Align) and press Horizontal Align Center.

placing the ears

Step 4

Now on to the eyes. Choose a green fill color (R=141 G=139 B=0) and using the Ellipse Tool (L) draw an oval. Draw another oval over it and make the fill color darker (R=96 G=91 B=3). Draw a small white circle as a highlight. 

Rotate the eye a little to the left. Then create another eye: right-click the mouse and hit Transform > Reflect, Vertical, Copy. Move the new eye on the right-hand side.

creating and putting the eyes

Step 5

Draw a pink oval with the fill color R=243 G=117 B=121. Keeping it selected, hit the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and press on the lowest anchor point to make this sharp. We just created the nose. Place the nose between the eyes, slightly lower.

creating and placing the nose

Step 6

Using the color from the head, we will draw the fur. Adjust the Pencil options: double-click on the Pencil Tool (N) and set the Tolerances Fidelity to 4 px and Smoothness to 40%. Check Fill New Pencil Strokes and then press OK. Try to draw something like in the image below. To close the path, you need to hold the Alt button as you finish the path. Draw three different pieces of fur: on the top of the head, and on the left and right cheek. The head is done!

drawing the fur

2. Creating the Body

Step 1

Using the Ellipse Tool (L) draw an oval (fill color R=216 G=217 B=218). Take the Direct Selection Tool (A) and, moving the handles, create a shape like in the image below.

creating the body

Step 2

Put the body under the head (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the body

Step 3

Now, we will create a division between the head and the body. Just select the head, make a copy behind (Control-C, Control-B) and move it down a little bit. Make the fill color darker (R=201 G=202 B=204). Then select the body, and make a copy in front (Control-C, Control-F). While holding the Shift key, select the darker copy of the head, and on the Pathfinder panel press the Intersect button.

optically dividing the head and the body

Step 4

This next shape is designed to show the hind paw of the kitten. Draw an oval using the Ellipse Tool (L) with a fill of R=201 G=202 B=204. To make the top and bottom anchor points sharp, take the Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C) and press on these anchor points. Then go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new dialogue window, enter the following: Style Arc Vertical, Bend 50%, Distortion Horizontal 0%, Vertical 0%. Press OK. Then expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance).

creating the shape to show the hind paw

Put the shape where the hind paw has to be. Also, if you don't like the result you made in the previous step, move the handles of this shape using the Direct Selection Tool (A) to achieve the result you want.

placing the shape to show the hind paw

Step 5

To draw the front legs, start with an oval. Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the handles to create the shape shown below. Make another copy (Control-C, Control-B) and make it darker (R=201 G=202 B=204) and a little wider.

creating the front paw

Step 6

Take the two shapes you made in the previous step and put them into their places. Then take just the darker shape and place it where the second paw has to be. Send this second front paw to the back (Control-X, Control-B).

placing the front paws

Step 7

The last part of this cutie is a tail! Again, draw an oval (the same fill color as the body and head). Send it to the back (Control-X, Control-B) and go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new dialogue window, enter the following: Style Arc Horizontal, Bend -30%, Distortion Horizontal -65%, Vertical 0%. Press OK. Then expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance). This cute kitten is done!

creating and placing the tail

3. Creating the Witch Hat

Step 1

Hit the Polygon Tool and click on your artboard. In a new dialogue window, type 3 Sides with any Radius. Set the fill color at R=0 G=0 B=24. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc. In the new window, select Style Arc Vertical, Bend -30%, Distortion Horizontal 0%, Vertical 0%. Press OK. Then expand this shape (Object > Expand Appearance). Using the Direct Selection Tool (A), move the handles of this shape to achieve the following result.

creating the top of the witch hat

Step 2

Make a new copy in front (Control-C, Control-F). Make the new copy lighter (R=23 G=23 B=44) and make sure that the tops of these two shapes are at the same point.

Set the fill color to R=234 G=96 B=19 and draw a circle on the top. To create a nice round circle, hold the Shift key when creating this shape. Create one lighter (R=243 G=115 B=33) copy of this orange circle to add volume.

creating the top of the witch hat 2

Step 3

Draw an oval for the bottom part of the witch hat. Make a copy of it in front (Control-C, Control-F). Take the Direct Selection Tool (A), select the lowest anchor point on this new copy, and move it up. Keep the last created shape selected, and again make one more copy in the back (Control-C, Control-B). Move it up and set the fill color at R=66 G=66 B=84. The witch hat is done!

creating the bottom of the witch hat

Step 4

Let's decorate this hat with a bow to make it even more adorable. Draw an oval (did you notice that we are creating this illustration mostly from ovals?). Hit the Eyedropper Tool (I) and take the same orange fill color as the pompom on the top of the hat. Move the top and bottom anchor points to the left using the Direct Selection Tool (A).

Create a second copy of it (Control-C, Control-V) and put them together as shown in the second image. Keep these two shapes selected, right-click your mouse and select Transform > Reflect. Then select Vertical axis of reflection, Angle 90 degrees, and press Copy. Move the two new copies to the right.

creating the bow 1

Step 5

Create an oval (fill color R=243 G=115 B=33) in the middle to make the knot of the bow. The two dark narrow ovals behind the knot will show us the folds of the bow.

creating the bow 2

Step 6

Group the whole bow and place it on the hat.

placing the bow on the witch hat

4. Putting the Witch Hat on the Kitten

Select the whole hat, don't group it, and place it on the kitten's head. Just select the back part of the hat and press Control-X, Control-B to send this to the back.

putting the witch hat on the kitten

5. Pumpkin Carving

Step 1

First we need to draw a pumpkin. Draw an orange oval, fill color R=243 G=115 B=33. Move the left and right anchor points a down a little.

creating the shape of the pumpkin 1

Step 2

Make another copy in the back (Control-C, Control-B), move it to the left, and rotate a little to the right. Set the fill color for the new copy at R=234 G=96 B=19. Keep it selected and create a reflection of this (right-click the mouse and hit Transform > Reflect, Vertical, Copy). Move this third part to the right.

Select the copy you made in this step (image 1) and create a new one behind (Control-C, Control-B). Slide it to the left and set the fill color at R=221 G=83 B=14. Make a reflection of this copy (right-click the mouse and Transform > Reflect, Vertical, Copy), and slide it to the right.

creating the shape of the pumpkin 2

Step 3

Now let’s start carving the eyes. We will start with a triangle (R=191 G=60 B=2). Go to Effect > Warp > Bulge. In the new dialogue window, enter the following: Style Bulge Vertical, Bend 50%, Distortion Horizontal 0%, Vertical 0%. Press OK.

creating the eye of the pumpkin

Step 4

Create the second eye. Keep it selected and hold the Alt key to move it to the side.

After that, draw two circles and place them as in this image. Select the two circles together (remember to hold the Shift key for this), take the Eyedropper Tool (I) and take the same color from the corresponding part of the pumpkin.

placing the eyes of the pumpkin

Step 5

To carve the mouth, create an oval with a dark orange fill color, the same as the triangular part of the eye (use the Eyedropper Tool (I)). Make the left and right anchor points sharp (use the Convert Anchor Points Tool (Shift-C). Then go to Effect > Warp > Arc. Enter Style Arc Horizontal, Bend -50%, Distortion Horizontal and Vertical 0%. Press OK. Add two rectangles, (using the Rectangle Tool (M)) with the same fill color as the corresponding part of the pumpkin.

creating the mouth and teeth of the pumpkin

Step 6

Position the mouth where it should be.

placing the mouth and teeth on the pumpkin

6. Putting the Kitten on the Pumpkin

Let’s help the kitty climb on the pumpkin.

placing kitty on the pumpkin

7. Drawing the Spider

Step 1

A gray oval (R=109 G=110 B=112) will make the body of the spider. Slide the left and right anchor points down.

Draw an eye using two circles with light gray and black fill colors. Make two eyes by copying and pasting, and place them as shown.

creating the body and eyes of the spider

Step 2

Make the stroke color the same as the body of the spider and on the Stroke panel check Round Cap. Then go to the Tools panel and double-click on the Pencil Tool (N). In the new dialogue window, make Tolerances Fidelity 4 px and Smoothness 40%. On the Stroke panel, make the Stroke Weight very thick (relative to the body of spider) and draw four legs.

Keep these legs selected and make a reflection to create four more legs. Move them to the right.

creating the legs of the spider

8. Creating the Spider Web

Step 1

Set the stroke color at R=64 G=64 B=65 and delete the fill color. Take the Polygon Tool and click on your artboard. Type 10 Sides with any Radius. Create two more of the same polygons, each one being smaller than the one drawn before.

Take the Line Segment Tool and hold the Shift key to draw a straight line. With the same fill color, draw two tiny circles on the ends. Group the circles and the line. Place this line in the middle of the polygons.

Keep the line selected and press the Rotate Tool (R), then press the Enter key. A new window will pop up. Type 15 or 20 degrees and press Copy. Keep pressing Control-D to repeat your last movement. The spider web is done.

creating the spider web

Step 2

Settle the spiders there.

settling the spiders on the spider web

9. Creating the Background

Create two circles as shown in the following image. The smaller circle should have a fill color of R=35 G=31 B=32, and the bigger one R=88 G=89 B=91.

Keep the bigger circle selected and go to Effect > Distort and Transform > Zig Zag. Then enter Options Size 4 px, Absolute, Ridges per Segment 20, Points Smooth, and press OK.

creating the background shape

10. Placing the Background

Place the two circles you made in the previous step behind everything you created before. As you can see, I made a few spiders and a couple of spider webs. Arrange everything as you like.

placing the background shape

11. Creating the Striped Background

Now we need to create another background. Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and create a rectangle with 600 px width and height. Put it behind everything. Set the fill color at R=243 G=242 B=227.

Afterward, create one more copy in the front, and make it darker (R=216 G=214 B=168) and more narrow.

Keep the new green stripe selected, hold Shift and Alt, and move this stripe to the right. Then keep pressing Control-D to repeat your last movement. Stop when you fill up the light green square.

creating the striped background

12. Placing the Striped Background

Select the light green square and darker green stripes together, and place them behind everything you made before. Your illustration is done! Congratulations!

placing the striped background

Conclusion

See! You can create adorable illustrations just using basic shapes! I hope you've learned a few tricks and can apply them on your own. I can’t wait to see your results below!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.