7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Color

Экспериментируем с цветом в Adobe Illustrator, создавая иллюстрацию с абстрактной розой

Scroll to top
Read Time: 5 mins

Russian (Pусский) translation by Dark Wood (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

На столе у меня стоял букет из желтых роз и мне захотелось его нарисовать. Но не имея четкого представления результата в голове, а экспериментируя с цветами, градиентами и прозрачностью в процессе. В этом уроке я расскажу несколько приемов, которыми пользуюсь при рисовании в Adobe Illustrator.

1. Рисую набросок

Шаг 1

Для начала я сделал пару снимков букета на смартфон и по этим фотографиям нарисовал эскиз. Его я рисую, используя инструмент Pencil Tool (N) с толщиной обводки 0,1 pt. Такая толщина удобна тем, что вы ее видите и она не слишком толста практически в независимости от масштаба изображения, что меньше отвлекает.

Sketch of a roseSketch of a roseSketch of a rose

Шаг 2

Я определяюсь с размером изображения и намечаю композицию. Контуры цветов я группирую отдельно, потому что к ним будет нужен более быстрый доступ в будущем.

Outline the compositionOutline the compositionOutline the composition

2. Фон и акценты

Шаг 1

Когда вы определитесь с цветом фона, возьмите лучше оттенок на пару тонов темнее изначального. В Illustrator проще добавить акцент при помощи ярких/светлых цветов, чем темных – теней. В противном случае иллюстрации может не хватать глубины и чистых цветов.

Add a backgroundAdd a backgroundAdd a background

Шаг 2

Далее я намечаю цветовые пятна, используя при этом радиальные градиенты. Они могут состоять из нескольких цветов, но всегда с прозрачным внешним краем, то есть с 0% непрозрачности. Для центральных маркеров я устанавливаю непрозрачность в 50-60%. Благодаря этому границы фигуры и, соответственно, цвета будут лучше смешиваться с фоном. Такая техника куда лучше, чем применение растрового эффекта размытия (Effect> Blur> Gaussian Blur).

Gradients on backgroundGradients on backgroundGradients on background

Шаг 3

При помощи желтых градиентов я наметил розы. Цветок в центре будет самым ярким и значит здесь будут наиболее сильно освещенные лепестки, что, соответственно, даст самые контрастные тени. Для этого я сделал центр градиента темнее. Этой фигуре я назначил непрозрачность в 58% и режим наложения Hard Light.

Use yellow gradients on the rosesUse yellow gradients on the rosesUse yellow gradients on the roses

Шаг 4

Фигуры, добавленные во втором шаге, я сгруппировал, отправил на передний план и поместил над оранжевыми градиентами. Это дало неожиданно более интенсивный цвет, но мне он понравился.

Create an intense colorCreate an intense colorCreate an intense color

3. Рисую розы

Шаг 1

Я расположил рядом с иллюстрацией фотографию розы и начал, ориентируясь на него, рисовать тени синего цвета. Им я назначил режим смешивания Hard Light – это значит, что будет происходить только осветление оттенков.

Use the photo of the flowerUse the photo of the flowerUse the photo of the flower

Шаг 2

Добавляю поверх цветка светло-желтый градиент, сохраняя настройки смешивания, и начинаю детализировать лепестки, добавлять им текстуру.

Draw details of the petalsDraw details of the petalsDraw details of the petals

Шаг 3

Продолжаю экспериментировать с цветами. Если вы, как я в данном случае, не преследуете четкую, уже сформировавшуюся в голове идею, и хотите попробовать и то и сё, то не забудьте глянуть режим смешивания Saturation. Он является одним из самых интересных способов «поиграть с цветом» и может привести к непредсказуемым последствиям.

Try adding saturationTry adding saturationTry adding saturation

Шаг 4

Дабы сильнее выделить розу относительно фона, я добавил еще одну градиентную фигуру. Чтобы она не оказывала воздействие на саму розу, я вырезал в ней «отверстие» по форме розы при помощи инструмента Eraser Tool. Ее режимом наложения я оставил Normal — он хорошо подходит, когда нужно сгладить переходы между цветами, сделать их менее контрастными.

Apply gradients to smooth transitionsApply gradients to smooth transitionsApply gradients to smooth transitions

4. Дорабатываю фон

Шаг 1

Я решил сделать нижнюю часть иллюстрации ярче. Для этого я вновь использую радиальный градиент. Почему не линейный? В случае радиального даже небольшой, но заметный глазу участок будет округлым. При линейным градиентом, все это будет прямым, что привлечет еще больше внимания.

LIghten the composition with a radial gradientLIghten the composition with a radial gradientLIghten the composition with a radial gradient

Шаг 2

Добавляю объект, производящий впечатление эдакого стекла. Задаю ему непрозрачность 20% и режим смешивания Hard Light. Придаю фигуре более фантастический вид, вырезая узор с помощью Eraser Tool.

Add a thin glass layerAdd a thin glass layerAdd a thin glass layer

Шаг 3

Фигурами фиолетовых и лимонных цветов с непрозрачностью менее 50% отмечаю светлые и темные части розы.

Mark the light and dark parts of the roseMark the light and dark parts of the roseMark the light and dark parts of the rose

Шаг 4

Сейчас я расскажу один из моих любимых трюков по созданию светящихся «искорок». У радиального градиента устанавливаете маркеры ближе к центру. Получаете чистый яркий центр и большой прозрачный край. При том необязательно рисовать круги. Это может быть, к примеру, и треугольник. В этом случае «искорка» по умолчанию будет создана в его центре. При помощи инструмента Gradient Tool ее спокойно можно будет изменить и размеры градиента и его положение или округлость.

Add sparksAdd sparksAdd sparks

Шаг 5

Рисую «ледяные» лепестки, то есть использую для заливки холодные оттенки. Здесь я сразу рисую искомый контур, образуя из него прожилки лепестка.

Draw the ice petalsDraw the ice petalsDraw the ice petals

5. Декоративные художественные кисти

Шаг 1

С их помощью можно быстро и удобно добавить на иллюстрацию различные элементы. Я сделал несколько цветовых вариантов кисти, выглядящей как бусины. Кисти, подобные этой, позволяют придать иллюстрации "творческую" нотку.

Use decorative brushesUse decorative brushesUse decorative brushes

Шаг 2

Вот как я сделал эти кисти-бусины: сначала нарисовал несколько кругов разного размера и выровнял их. Слишком много кругов рисовать не нужно, особенно если вы будете использовать кисть большое количество раз. Это не лучшим образом скажется на производительности вашего компьютера.

Я сгруппировал все элементы и перетащил мышкой на панель кистей. Для новой кисти я указал там тип Art Brush. В ее настройках оставляю всё без изменений. Кисть готова.

Create an art brushCreate an art brushCreate an art brush

6. Последние штрихи

Шаг 1

Я выделил все объекты кроме розы и фона и сгруппировал их. Затем, не снимая с этой группы выделения, прошелся по ним инструментом Eraser Tool. Такой способ я использую, когда хочу придать иллюстрации необычный эффект. Также стоит поэкспериментировать с непрозрачностью, режимами наложения и перемещением полученного.

Create fragmentsCreate fragmentsCreate fragments

Шаг 2

Еще один интересный прием, когда-то обнаруженный мной и с тех пор постоянно используемый. Можно использовать уже имеющиеся части иллюстрации, чтобы придать ей еще более фантастический вид. Убираете у контуров обводку и включаете заливку цветом. Затем просто удаляете ненужные части.

Fill effectFill effectFill effect

Шаг 3

Вторую розу я сделал более прозрачной. Добавил к ней рефлексы оранжевого цвета от основного цветка.

Ice rose silhouette is readyIce rose silhouette is readyIce rose silhouette is ready

Шаг 4

Здесь я выделил фигуру, использованную для осветления фона, и прошелся по ней инструментом Eraser Tool, привнося таким образом еще немного хаоса.

Partly erase the gradientPartly erase the gradientPartly erase the gradient

Шаг 5

Если цвет будет слишком однородным, то это может смотреться неинтересно. Лучше оживить его парой сильных акцентов другого цвета. Я взял оранжевый, использованный для розы, подчеркнув им темно-розовые стебли.

Add strong accents of another colorAdd strong accents of another colorAdd strong accents of another color

Шаг 6

Еще некоторым количеством ярких цветов я выделил края. Эту операцию лучше производить в самом конце, иначе в начале работы они отвлекут от основной работы, да будут мешать при ее выполнении.

Add highlightsAdd highlightsAdd highlights

Заключение

В этом уроке я показал вам некоторые трюки по «игре с цветом» в Illustrator, применяемые мною в работе. Надеюсь, это поможет найти вам вдохновение и интересные цветовые комбинации для своих работ, которые сделают их более разнообразными. Моей целью было привнести веселье в процесс рисования, выйти за рамки обыденности и попробовать вдохновить других на это.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Color
Design

Experiment With Color in Adobe Illustrator to Create an Abstract Rose Illustration

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

I had a bouquet of yellow roses on the table and decided to draw it. Without a clear picture in mind I usually experiment a lot with colors, gradients, and transparency. In this tutorial I am going to highlight a few tricks that I use when drawing with Adobe Illustrator.

1. Create a Sketch

Step 1

First I take a couple pictures of the bouquet with my smart phone and sketch the flowers that I like. I draw a sketch using the Pencil Tool (N) with a fine Stroke Weight of around 0.1 pt. This thickness is convenient because you see the lines, but they don't get too thick no matter how much you zoom in, and they don’t distract you.

Sketch of a rose

Step 2

I decide on the dimensions of the picture and outline the composition. I leave the contours of the flowers grouped separately though, because I will need them later, unlike the other lines of the drawing.

Outline the composition

2. Background and Highlight

Step 1

When you decide on the background, it’s better to take the color two shades darker than you want. In Illustrator it’s much easier to set accents by using bright/light colors than by adding shadows. Otherwise the picture would lack depth and clear colors.

Add a background

Step 2

To outline the shapes with color, I normally use Radial Gradients. They can be a combination of several colors, but always with a transparent edge (Opacity: 0%). At the center I used Opacity: 50–60%. Because of the transparent edge color it will blend gradually into the background. In Illustrator it’s much more convenient to use radial gradient than the built-in Photoshop effects (Effect > Photoshop Effects > Blur)

Gradients on background

Step 3

Using yellow gradients I emphasized the roses. The rose in the middle is the brightest one, so I made its center darker, because that’s where the most contrasting shadows and brightly lit petals will be. Gradient > Opacity: 58%, Transparency > Hard Light.

Use yellow gradients on the roses

Step 4

I emphasized the objects I created during step 2, grouped and shifted them a little, and put them on the top of the orange gradient. Because of this shifting I unexpectedly got a more intense color that works well.

Create an intense color

3. Drawing the Rose

Step 1

I put the photo of the flower next to my drawing and began drawing shadows using a cold blue color and experimenting in the mode Transparency > Hard Light. This way the blue will only add light shades/nuances.

Use the photo of the flower

Step 2

I applied a light yellow gradient over the flower, saved the settings, and began drawing details of the petals, giving them the texture of soft petals.

Draw details of the petals

Step 3

I’m experimenting with colors again. When you don’t have a clear picture in mind and you’re trying this and that, don't forget Transparency > Saturation. It’s one of the most interesting ways of playing with color and can produce unexpected effects.

Try adding saturation

Step 4

In order to separate the rose from the background, to make the light around it different from the color of petals, I used gradients again. Using the Eraser Tool I cut a hole in the form of a rose. I applied a gradient in the mode Transparency > Normal—this mode is perfect when you need to smooth out the transitions between colors and make them less contrasting.

Apply gradients to smooth transitions

4. Some Background Decorations

Step 1

I decided to make the lower part brighter, leaving the left upper corner the darkest part of the picture. For lightening I used a gradient, again a radial one (Gradient > Radial). Why not a linear gradient? Even in this case, when only a small part of the gradient is left in the picture, the line is round, not straight. A linear gradient with a straight line of this size would draw too much attention.

LIghten the composition with a radial gradient

Step 2

I created an object (Transparency > Hard Light, Opacity: 20%), which produces an impression of a thin layer of glass. In order to liven it up and to create fantastic flora, I cut out twigs in it using the Eraser Tool.

Add a thin glass layer

Step 3

Using half-transparent objects (Opacity: <50%) of violet and lemon colors I marked the light and the dark parts of the rose. 

Mark the light and dark parts of the rose

Step 4

One of my favorite tricks is creating luminous sparks. Set the gradient to radial (Gradient > Radial), and set the sliders to the center, so that there is a large transparent edge. This way, there will be a clear, bright sphere at the center. This is how I make sparks. Now you can draw triangles and other simple forms, which will have sparks at the centre.

Add sparks

Step 5

For drawing the ice petals I used a cold color palette gradient. I drew the contour, leaving the veins of the leaves out. 

Draw the ice petals

5. Decorative Art Brush

Step 1

You can create a brush for adding some decoration. I created a brush which looks like beads; I made several sets in different colors. Decorative brushes like this give a picture a creative touch.

Use decorative brushes

Step 2

To create a beads brush like this, first draw several circles of various sizes and align them. Don’t draw too many if you are going to use this brush a lot. The more elements there are in a brush, the more difficult it will be for your computer to calculate it, the quicker your file will get overloaded, and the more likely it is that your computer will slow down and hang.

Group the objects and drag them with your mouse to the brushes. A panel will appear, and you should click Art Brush. Then in the next panel/menu you can leave everything unchanged. Your brush is ready.

Create an art brush

6. Finishing Touches

Step 1

I marked all the created objects, except for the background, grouped them, and selected them. Then using the Eraser Tool I cut the illustration in pieces, erasing some fragments. This is another interesting trick that I discovered once and have been using since. I use it in difficult moments or when I want to give my picture an interesting touch or an unusual effect. Try adjusting the opacity slider, trying out different modes, or playing with shifting to different sides.

Create fragments

Step 2

Here's another interesting trick I discovered once and have been using ever since. You can use parts of a picture to create a fantastical filling-up effect. You should switch off the contour and switch on the filling (color), then just delete the unnecessary parts.

Fill effect

Step 3

I made the rose more transparent, and drew the orange reflected light from the main rose. Now the ice rose silhouette is ready, and it’s not overladen with details.

Ice rose silhouette is ready

Step 4

I selected the gradient I created earlier to lighten the composition, and partly erased it with the Eraser Tool. There is now a feeling of lively clutter in the blue background.

Partly erase the gradient

Step 5

If the color is too homogeneous, you’d better liven it up with a couple of strong accents of another color. I took the lively orange of the rose and used it to emphasize the dark rose stems.

Add strong accents of another color

Step 6

Using bright colors I emphasized the edges. It’s better to draw highlights at the end, because they adorn a picture a lot, but if you draw them at the beginning they can distract from your work.

Add highlights

Conclusion

In this tutorial I showed you some tricks to experiment with colors in Illustrator. I hope this helps you find new inspirations and color combinations while you are drawing, and that it enables you to make your drawings more diverse. My goal is always to bring more fun to the process of drawing illustrations, to escape perceived boundaries, and to try to inspire others to do the same.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.