Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Рисуем Трусливого льва из Волшебника страны Оз в Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
Create a Fun, Seamless Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Pattern in Adobe Photoshop
Use Filter Forge and Adobe Photoshop to Create a Yellow Brick Road

Russian (Pусский) translation by Anastassiya Abramenko (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Удивительный Волшебник из страны Оз является одним из самых популярных романов сказка для детей, которые также любят миллионы взрослых людей своей фантастической, волшебный атмосферу. В этом уроке мы будем создавать красочные портрет Трусливый Лев, используя фото для создания реалистичной, изложил взгляд. Мы добавим некоторые эффекты шероховатый и освещения, создавая стильные тематические плакат с Трусливый Лев. Начнём!

1. Создаём штриховую иллюстрацию по стоковому фото

Шаг 1

В целях данного руководства возьмём эту фотографию льва с Pixabay.com.

Перейдите в Файл > Поместить для размещения фотографии в документе Adobe Illustrator таким образом, чтобы голова льва оказалась  в центре монтажной области. Я установила размер монтажной области на 700 х 800 пикселей. Вы можете в любой момент изменить размер монтажной области при помощи Инструмента "Монтажная область" (Shift-O).

Дважды щёлкните на слое с фотографией льва на панели Слоёв и поставьте галочку возле пункта Затуманивать изображение до, сделав образец  полупрозрачным.

Создайте Новый слой поверх слоя с эскизом для рисования контура. 

place the stock photo on the artboard

Шаг 2

Начнём с глаза льва. Мы будем использовать Инструмент "Кисть-клякса" (Shift-B). На самом деле, вы можете использовать Инструмент "Кисть" (В), т.к. она более универсальна и легка в редактировании и позволит нарисовать отдельные линии и затем настроить каждую линию при помощи Инструмента "Прямое выделение" (А). Однако, Инструмент "Кисть-клякса" (Shift-B) ближе к реальному рисованию, как если бы вы использовали маркер. Недостаток этого инструмента в том, что вы рисуете  фигурами, которые труднее редактировать. Тем не менее, они выглядят более естественно, поэтому  решать вам, какой инструмент выбрать.

На снимке экрана ниже вы можете увидеть настройки  моего Инструмента "Кисть-клякса" (Shift-B). Я пользуюсь цифровым планшетом, поэтому я убираю опцию Нажим возле ползунка Размер.

Начинаем обводить глаз, изменяя ширину линий, варьируя нажим. Надавите сильнее для получения более толстой линии и слабее - для тонкой линии. Вы также можете изменить размер кисти при помощи клавиш [ и ].

start drawing the eye with the blob brush tool

Шаг 3

Добавьте больше маленьких, тонких штрихов вокруг глаза, чтобы показать шерсть. Следуйте направлению шерсти льва, глядя на фото.

Add more details around the eye

Шаг 4

Перейдём к носу и рту. Обратите внимание, что мы обводим только левую часть лица, т.к. позже  сделаем зеркальную копию, создав симметричный портрет.

Не беспокойтесь, если на этом этапе линии частично накладываются друг на друга, т.к. мы исправим это.

Move to the nose and mouth of our lion

Шаг 5

Закруглёнными штрихами добавьте "бороду" ниже рта.

Use curved strokes to add a bearded part under the mouth

Шаг 6

Перейдём к ушам льва. Контуры ушей выглядят более шероховатыми и волнистыми, поэтому изменим Точность Инструмента "Кисть-клякса" (Shift-B), сдвинув ползунок ближе к Чёткой на левой стороне. Теперь мы можем создать ещё более естественные штрихи при помощи мелких деталей.

change the Fidelity of our Blob Brush Tool for the ear

Шаг 7

Нарисуйте гриву вокруг лица  (только с левой стороны головы). Затем выделите все созданные линии, Сгруппируйте (Control-G) их и дважды кликните на Инструменте "Зеркальное отражение" (О), чтобы открыть окно с настройками Отражения. Отразите картинку по Вертикальной оси и при помощи кнопки Копировать  создайте правую часть головы льва.

Используя образец, расположите обведённую копию в нужной позиции, сдвигая правый глаз на то место,  где он находится на фотографии. Вы заметите, что некоторые другие части (рот и нос) могут перекрывать левую часть обведённой картинки,  но не беспокойтесь об этом.

reflect the left side over the vertical axis

Шаг 8

Выделите копию контуров на правой стороне и дважды щёлкните на ней, чтобы Изолировать выбранную группу. Выделите линии носа и сдвиньте их вправо, поместив  нос в правильное положение. Проделайте то же самое со ртом и "бородой".

move the overlapping parts

Шаг 9

Отредактируйте положение гривы на  правой стороне картинки. Перерисуйте некоторые части гривы, чтобы сделать картинку более подвижной и не абсолютно симметричной.

redraw the mane

Шаг 10

Давайте перевернём брови, чтобы они стали изображать трусость. Чтобы усилить этот эффект, также добавим маленькую дугообразную линию на внешних краях глаз.

make the lion cowardly

Шаг 11

Используем Направляющие, чтобы определить центр лица и симметрично расположить элементы. Нажмите Control-R, чтобы появились Линейки. Кликните на левой Линейке и перетащите Направляющую на монтажную область, поместив её в середине лица льва. Добавьте мелкие детали на носу, определив его центр.

use the Guides for symmetry

Шаг 12

Если увеличить изображение, можно обнаружить, что некоторые линии накладываются друг на друга. Давайте посмотрим, как можно избавиться от нежелательных частей за пределами линий. Выделите две перекрывающиеся линии и возьмите Инструмент "Создание фигур" (Shift-M). Наведите курсор мыши на нежелательную часть и кликните на ней, удерживая Alt,  чтобы удалить её.

edit the overlapping lines

Шаг 13

Инструментом "Удалить опорную точку" (-) удалите ненужные опорные точки и Инструментом "Прямое выделение" (А) переместите точки, чтобы фигуры соответствовали друг другу.

make the lines fit each other

2. Раскрашиваем созданные контуры

Давайте оживим нашу картинку, добавив цвета! Во-первых, создадим базовую цветовую схему с однородными цветами для общего вида льва. Затем добавим больше акцентов и используем градиенты для теней полутонов, сделав картинку более реалистичной.

Шаг 1

Создайте Новый слой под слоем с контуром. Поместите образец с фотографией  льва возле монтажной области и Пипеткой (I) выберите базовый светло-бежевый цвет на фотографии.

Возьмите Карандаш (N) и начните заполнять верхнюю часть гривы цветом. Не нужно стараться повторить линию волос в точности с контуром, который мы создали ранее. Просто сделайте так, чтобы формы подходили друг другу. Двигайтесь вдоль  краёв гривы, добавляя цветные точки, но оставив центр лица бесцветным.

На снимке экрана ниже вы можете увидеть настройки моего  Карандаша (N).

use the pencil tool to color the mane

Шаг 2

Когда создадите достаточно бежевых форм вокруг лица, выделите их и Объедините на панели Обработки контуров, создав единую фигуру с пустым пространством в центре.

unite the hair shapes in pathfinder

Шаг 3

Нарисуйте светло-бежевую фигуру в центре лица и Отправьте её на задний план (Control-Shift-[), поместив её под гривой. Выберите светло-серый цвет на фотообразце и добавьте тёмные акценты портрету, нарисовав коричневые волосы и скулы, лоб и уши.

color the face and the ears adding accents

Шаг 4

Перейдите в нижнюю часть лица, заполнив внутреннюю часть носа и рот тёмно-коричневым цветом и поместив более светлые серовато-розовые фигуры поверх них, добавив глубины элементам.

color the nose and mouth

Шаг 5

Теперь оживим глаза! Мы всё ещё используем здесь Карандаш (N). Создайте  тёмно-коричневую базу в форме глаза. Добавьте тонкую светло-серую волнистую фигуру вдоль нижнего века, сделав его влажным.

Нарисуйте круг зрачка. Давайте сделаем его более живым, наложив радиальный градиент с ярко-оранжевым центром и светло-жёлтыми краями.

Также можем добавить глубины глазу, поместив полупрозрачную тень под верхним веком. Нарисуйте слегка изогнутую форму в верхней части глаза и заполните её вертикальным линейным градиентом от тёмно-коричневого в верхней части до белого в нижней части. Переключитесь в Режим наложения "Умножение" на панели Прозрачности, чтобы таким образом сделать белую часть градиента прозрачной и превратить форму в мягкую тень.

color the eyes with gradients and add a shadow

Шаг 6

Закончите глаз, добавив несколько сияющих бликов, заполнив их горизонтальным линейным градиентом от  светло-жёлтого до чёрного. Переключитесь в Режим наложения "Осветление", чтобы сделать чёрные части прозрачными, и глаза стали яркими и сияющими.

add highlights in screen blending mode

Шаг 7

Давайте сделаем портрет более трёхмерным и текстурным, добавив блики вокруг глаз и носа льва. Сделайте края светлых областей неровными, подчеркнув отдельные волоски и примените тот же жёлто-чёрный линейный градиент и Режим наложения "Осветление", чтобы сделать формы полупрозрачными.

Добавим больше глубины  портрету, изменив однородные базовые цвета гривы на мягкий градиент таких же оттенков, сделав нижнюю часть головы темнее верхней.

add more highlights and apply gradients

Шаг 8

Давайте сделаем цвета более яркими, повысив насыщенность. Сделайте цвета гривы и центральной части лица ярче, изменив цвет на более жёлтый. Также добавьте больше оранжевых оттенков на ушах и вокруг скул.

Я решила удалить чёрные контуры гривы вдоль краёв портрета, чтобы картинка получилась более воздушной и  менее "кричащей".

Lets make the colors more vivid and bright by increasing the saturation

Шаг 9

Давайте ещё немного отредактируем контуры,  чтобы они вписывались в цветовую палитру нашего льва. Выделите чёрные контуры на верхнем слое. Объедините выделенные контуры на панели Обработки контуров и правым щелчком откройте контекстное меню. Выберите Образовать составной контур (или нажмите Control-8),  объединив все отдельные части контуров один цельный объект.

Наконец, примените линейный градиент к контурам от тёмно-пурпурного в центре до тёмно-оранжевого по краям.

unite and recolor the outlines

Вот как на этом этапе выглядит наш лев.

This is how our lion looks at this step

Шаг 10

Давайте сделаем льва гордым и величественным, добавив объёма гриве, сделав её больше и более пушистой. Инструментом "Карандаш" (N) нарисуйте ещё одну "волосатую" фигуру вокруг головы. Отправьте её на Задний план (Control-Shift-[), поместив её за головой и заполните  ярким радиальным градиентом от жёлтого в центре до тёмно-оранжевого по краям, сделав её темнее базового цвета гривы и таким образом подчеркнув  лицо.

add another hair shape for the mane

Шаг 11

Нарисуйте ещё один слой волос под  предыдущим, сделав гриву более детальной. Заполните её более светлым радиальным градиентом, чтобы отделить фигуры волос друг от друга, добавив объёма нашей картинке.

draw another layer of hair beneath the previous one

3. Работаем над фоном и добавляем детали

Давайте создадим простой фон и добавим несколько замысловатых деталей нашему портрету, превратив его в постер, посвящённый  чудесному Волшебнику страны Оз.

Шаг 1

Во-первых, создайте Новый слой и Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М) создайте прямоугольник такого же размера, как монтажная область (в нашем случае это 700 х 800 пикселей). Заполните фигуру радиальным градиентом от светло-бежевого в центре до тёмно-бежевого по краям, создав таким образом едва уловимый эффект виньетки.

add a background with radial gradient

Шаг 2

Давайте добавим детали, тесно связанные с историей Волшебника страны Оз. Помните Медаль за храбрость, которую Трусливый лев получил от Волшебника страны Оз?

Мы не будем рисовать саму медаль,  однако, мы можем позаимствовать некоторые её элементы для нашего постера, такие как красные полоски и синяя лента.

Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М) нарисуйте узкую вертикальную полоску высотой  с монтажную область. Удерживая Alt-Shift, перетащите полоску вправо, создав копию. Несколько раз нажмите Control-D, создав больше копий.

Наконец, выделите все полоски и Сгруппируйте (Control-G) их. Примените радиальный градиент к нашей группе полосок от  ярко-красного в центре до тёмно-красного по краям, сделав полоски сияющими и гладкими.

add red stripes to the background

Шаг 3

Скопируйте нижнюю фигуру волос и Вставьте её на Заднем плане (Control-C > Control-B). Немного увеличьте копию и измените её цвет на  радиальный градиент от тёмно-красного в центре до белого по краям. Примените Режим наложения "Умножение", превратив фигуру в мягкую тень, которая выделяет голову на фоне.

add radial shadow beneath the head

Вот как выглядит вся композиция на данном этапе.

This is how the overall composition looks at this step

Шаг 4

Теперь давайте добавим несколько пятен и брызг  нашему постеру, создав гранджевый ретро-эффект. Есть два способа сделать это. Первый более лёгкий способ состоит в применении встроенных художественных кистей Adobe Illustrator, которые можно найти в Библиотеке кистей на панели Кистей (нажмите на иконке меню Библиотеки кистей  и перейдите в Художественный > Худож_чернила или Худож_акварель).

Можете посмотреть Часть 3 Шаг 2 и далее в обучающем руководстве "Создаём обложку CD в низкополигональном гранджевом стиле в Adobe Illustrator", где написано про применение таких кистей для создания желаемого эффекта.

Второй способ более времязатратный, но в то же время более творческий и интересный. Так что, если вы хотите вдохнуть жизнь в вашу картинку, давайте немного поработаем с традиционными средствами.

Используйте чернила, акварель, гуашь или  что-либо другое, что вам нравится, чтобы создать брызги и кляксы на бумаге. Я использую чёрные чернила и  обычную кисть для создания множества мелких, текстурных пятен, капая чернилами кистью на бумагу. Вы также можете использовать зубную щётку для создания  эффекта мелких брызг. 

Отсканируйте картинку или сфотографируйте на телефон, но убедитесь, что освещения достаточно, и что фон более или менее чистый, без какой-либо тени.

Откройте картинку в Adobe Photoshop и нажмите Control-L, для перехода к окну с параметрами Уровней (или перейдите в Изображение > Коррекция > Уровни). Здесь попытайтесь придать изображению как можно больше контраста, сдвинув левый чёрный ползунок вправо, сделав тёмные части  изображения темнее. Также сдвиньте правый белый ползунок влево, ещё больше осветлив белые  области.

scan your image and edit in photoshop

Вот как это выглядит теперь: у нас есть  плотные чёрные пятна на чистом белом фоне.

contrast image in photoshop

Шаг 5

Сохраните картинку как JPEG и перейдите в Файл > Поместить для размещения её в Adobe Illustrator. Теперь нам доступна функция "Трассировка изображения" на верхней панели управления.

Выберите установку "Фотография высокого качества" в выпадающем меню Трассировки изображения и после трассировки нажмите на кнопку панели Трассировки изображения, которая  появилась на панели управления в верхней части.

Здесь, на панели настроек Трассировки изображения, сдвиньте ползунки Контуров и Углов на 100%, чтобы получить как можно больше деталей. Что касается ползунка Цветов, установим величину цветовой характеристики на 1, т.к. у нас только один цвет - чёрный. Установите значение Шума на 1 пиксель. 

Оставьте остальные параметры по умолчания и Разберите изображение на верхней панели управления,  превратив результат в векторные фигуры.

trace the splatter in adobe illustrator

Шаг 6

Создайте Новый слой между слоями с фоном и головой  льва. Начните добавлять гранджевые пятна, которые мы только что создали.

add grungy spots to the background

Шаг 7

Заполните некоторые пятна линейным градиентом от оранжевого до белого и от красного до белого и переключитесь на Режим наложения "Умножение", сделав пятна полупрозрачными.

Заполните другие фигуры тёмно-бордовым цветом, применив режим "Осветление", создав таким образом светлые выцветшие  точки поверх фона.

apply Screen and Multiply Blending Mode to the spots

Шаг 8

Создайте ещё один Новый слой, в этот раз поместив его на верхушку головы льва. Добавьте больше клякс поверх лица и вокруг головы, заполнив фигуры  полупрозрачным градиентом в режиме Умножения.

Поместите два круглых пятна поверх глаз льва и заполните их  радиальным градиентом от белого в центре до оранжевого по краям. Примените Режим наложения "Умножение", сделав  центры точек прозрачными.

add more grunge spots on top of the lion

Шаг 9

Теперь давайте изобразим яркую ленту в нижней части нашего постера. Создайте узкую полоску Инструментом "Прямоугольник" (М) и заполните её горизонтальным линейным градиентом от тёмно-сиреневого по краям до ярко-синего в центре.

Возьмите Перо (Р) и сформируйте маленький тёмный прямоугольник в нижней левой части ленты. Быстрые направляющие (Вид > Быстрые направляющие) действительно полезны на этом этапе, когда требуется прикрепить объекты один к другому и  подогнать их друг под друга.

Добавьте прямоугольник поменьше под фигурами,  сделав складку ленты.

form the ribbon from a narrow rectangle

Шаг 10

Выделите маленький треугольник и  складку и при помощи Инструмента "Зеркальное отражение" (О) отразите элементы по Вертикальной оси. Нажмите кнопку Копировать и  передвиньте созданную копию на другую сторону ленты.

reflect the folding making a copy

Шаг 11

Теперь добавим название ленты. Используйте фигурный шрифт с засечками, например Trajan Pro 3 или бесплатный шрифт Playfair Display и напечатайте ХРАБРОСТЬ. Перейдите в Объект > Разобрать оформление, превратив текст в набор отдельных векторных букв.

Давайте сделаем буквы золотыми, применив сложный вертикальный линейный градиент, состоящий из шести цветов от  тёмно-коричневого по краям до светло-жёлтого и оранжевого в середине.

Сделайте заголовок более трёхмерным, перейдя в  Объект > Контур > Создать параллельный контур и применив значение 2 пикселя. Заполните созданную фигуру вертикальным линейным градиентом от бежевого по краям до светло-жёлтого (почти белого) в центре.

apply golden gradient to the letters

Шаг 12

Поместите заголовок поверх ленты и добавьте  ещё одну фигуру с Параллельным контуром со значением 2 пикселя. Заполните фигуру тёмно-голубым цветом и переключитесь в Режим наложения "Умножение", создав тень ниже букв и выделив их ещё больше на фоне ленты.

Давайте сделаем нашу ленту слегка изогнутой. Выделите ленту и заголовок и Сгруппируйте (Control-G) их. Перейдите в Эффект > Деформация > Дуга. Сдвиньте ползунок влево, установив значение Горизонтального сгиба на -20%, сделав  ленту дугообразной.

apply arc effect to the ribbon

Шаг 13

Разберите ленту (Объект > Разобрать) и поместите её в нижнюю часть нашего  постера, завершив нашу композицию. Добавьте лёгкую тень под лентой таким же образом, как мы делали это для головы льва, разместив копию  ленты под базовой формой, заполнив её красно-белым линейным градиентом и переключив Режим наложения на  "Умножение".

add the ribbon to the poster

Храбр как снежная буря

Отличная работа! Мы закончили с нашим портретом Трусливого льва, и теперь он получил свою храбрость!

Надеюсь, вы вдохновились,  читая это руководство, и открыли для себя новые техники наложения цвета и текстур, которые  помогут вам в создании ваших дальнейших работ!

Можете пойти ещё дальше и добавить больше сияющих деталей  постеру, разместив в нескольких местах цветные, декоративные кляксы. Почитайте Часть 4 Шаги 3 и 4 руководства "Как создать зимний свечной светильник в Adobe Illustrator", чтобы понять, как создавать эти сияющие кляксы и сделать их более красочными!

Наслаждайтесь и следите за обновлениями!

Cowardly lion from Wizard of Oz
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Fan Art
Design

Draw the Cowardly Lion From the Wizard of Oz in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called The Wizard of Oz.
Create a Fun, Seamless Yellow Brick Road and Poppy Pattern in Adobe Photoshop
Use Filter Forge and Adobe Photoshop to Create a Yellow Brick Road
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is one of the most popular fairy-tale novels for children, which is also loved by millions of adults for its fantastic, magical atmosphere. In this tutorial we’ll be creating a colorful portrait of Cowardly Lion, using a stock photo to create a realistic, outlined look. We’ll be adding some grungy and lighting effects, creating a stylish thematic poster with the Cowardly Lion. Let’s start!

1. Create Line Art From a Stock Photo

Step 1

For our tutorial, we’ll be using this photo of a lion from Pixabay.com. There's also a great collection of lion photos on PhotoDune, if you'd like to create a variation on the tutorial.

File > Place the photo in your Adobe Illustrator document and position it so that the lion’s head is in the center of your Artboard. I’ve set the Artboard size to 700 x 800 px. You can change the Artboard size anytime with the help of the Artboard Tool (Shift-O).

Double-click the layer containing the lion photo in the Layers panel and check the Dim Images to box, turning our reference image into a semi-transparent template.

Create a New Layer on top of the sketch layer for the outline.

place the stock photo on  the artboard

Step 2

Let’s start from the eye of the lion. We’ll be using the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B). You can actually use the Paintbrush Tool (B) as it is more versatile and easy to edit, because it allows you to draw separate paths and then adjust each path, using the Direct Selection Tool (A). However, the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B) is closer to real-life drawing, as if you were using a marker. The drawback of this tool is that you’re drawing with shapes, which are harder to edit. However, they look more natural, so it’s up to you to decide which tool to pick.

You can see the settings of my Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B) in the screenshot below. I’m using a digital tablet, so I enable the Pressure feature next to the Size slider.

We start outlining the eye, changing the width of the lines by varying the pressure. Press harder on your tablet to get a thicker line and use a very light pressure to get a thin line. You can also change the size of the brush, using the [ and ] keys.

start drawing the eye with the blob brush tool

Step 3

Add more details, adding small, thin strokes around the eye for the fur. Follow the direction of the lion’s hair by looking at the photo.

Add more details around the eye

Step 4

Move to the nose and mouth of our lion. Note that we’re outlining only the left part of the face, because later we’ll make a mirrored copy, creating a symmetrical portrait.

Don’t worry if the lines overlap at this step, because we'll fix that as well.

Move to the nose and mouth of our lion

Step 5

Use curved strokes to add a bearded part under the mouth.

Use curved strokes to add a bearded part under the mouth

Step 6

Let’s move to the ears of our lion. The ear's outline looks more rough and wavy, so let’s change the Fidelity of our Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B), moving the slider closer to Accurate on the left side. Now we can make even more natural strokes with minor details.

change the Fidelity of our Blob Brush Tool for the ear

Step 7

Draw out the lion’s mane around the face (only from the left side of the head). Then select all the created lines, Group (Control-G) them and double-click the Reflect Tool (O) to open the Reflect options window. Flip the image over the Vertical Axis and use the Copy button to create the right side of the lion’s head.

Use the reference photo to place the outlined copy in the proper position, moving the right eye to the same place as in the photo. You will notice that some other parts (the mouth and nose) may overlap with the left half of the outlined image, but don’t worry about that.

reflect the left side over the vertical axis

Step 8

Select the copy of the outlines on the right side and double-click it to Isolate Selected Group. Select the nose lines and move them to the right, placing the nose in the proper position. Do the same for the mouth and the beard.

move the overlapping parts

Step 9

Adjust the position of the mane on the right side of the image. Redraw some parts of the mane in order to make the image more versatile and not completely symmetrical.

redraw the mane

Step 10

Let’s rotate the lion’s brows upside-down to make him look more cowardly. In order to increase this effect, let’s also add a small arched line at the outer edges of the eyes.

make the lion cowardly

Step 11

Use the Guides to locate the center of the lion’s face and to position the elements symmetrically. Press Control-R to show the Rulers. Click on the left side Ruler and drag the Guide to your Artboard, placing it in the middle of the lion’s face. Add minor details to the nose, defining its center.

use the Guides for symmetry

Step 12

If you zoom in, you may find some of the lines overlap. Let’s see how we can get rid of the unwanted pieces outside the lines. Select two overlapping lines and take the Shape Builder Tool (Shift-M). Hover the mouse cursor over the unwanted piece and click it while holding Alt to delete it.

edit the overlapping lines

Step 13

Use the Delete Anchor Point Tool (-) to delete the unneeded anchor points and the Direct Selection Tool (A) to move the points around, making the shapes fit each other.

make the lines fit each other

2. Color the Created Outlines

Let’s enliven our image by adding colors! Firstly, we will build a basic color scheme with flat colors, creating the overall look of our lion. Then we’ll add more accents and use gradients for shadows and overtones, making the image more realistic.

Step 1

Create a New Layer under the outline layer. Place the reference image of the lion next to the Artboard and use the Eyedropper Tool (I) to pick the basic light-beige color from the photo.

Take the Pencil Tool (N) and start filling the upper part of the mane with color. You don’t need to make the hair line repeat exactly the same form as the outlines that we’ve created previously. Just make the shapes fit each other. Move along the edge of the mane, adding colored spots, but leaving the center of the lion's face blank for now.

You can see the settings of my Pencil Tool (N) in the screenshot below.

use the pencil tool to color the mane

Step 2

When you've made enough beige shapes around the face, select them and Unite in the Pathfinder panel, creating a merged shape with an empty space in the center.

unite the hair shapes in pathfinder

Step 3

Draw a light-beige shape for the center of the face and Send it to Back (Control-Shift-[), placing it beneath the mane. Pick a light-brown color from the reference photo and add darker accents to the portrait, drawing brown hair shapes along the cheekbones, on the forehead and on the ears.

color the face and the ears adding accents

Step 4

Move to the bottom part of the face, filling the inner part of the nose and mouth with dark-brown color and placing lighter greyish-pink shapes on top, adding depth to the elements.

color the nose and mouth

Step 5

Now let’s enliven the eyes! We’re still using the Pencil Tool (N) here. Create a dark-brown base in the shape of an eye. Add a thin, light-grey, wavy shape along the lower eyelid, making it look moist. 

Draw a circle for the iris. And let’s make it more true to life by applying a radial gradient with a bright-orange center and a light-yellow edge.

We can also add depth to the eye by placing a semi-transparent shadow under the upper eyelid. Draw a slightly arched shape at the top part of the eye and fill it with a vertical linear gradient from dark brown on top to white at the bottom. Switch to Multiply Blending Mode in the Transparency panel, thus making the white part of the gradient transparent and turning the shape into a subtle shadow.

color the eyes with gradients and add a shadow

Step 6

Finish up with the eye by adding a few glossy highlights, filling them with horizontal linear gradients from light yellow to black. Switch to Screen Blending Mode to turn the black parts transparent, making the eyes vivid and shiny.

add highlights in screen blending mode

Step 7

Let’s make the portrait more three-dimensional and textured by adding highlights around the eyes and nose of our lion. Make the edges of the highlights rough, depicting separate hairs of the fur, and use the same yellow-black linear gradients and Screen Blending Mode to make the shapes semi-transparent.

Let's add more depth to the portrait by changing the flat base colors of the mane to subtle gradients of the same shades, making the bottom part of the head darker than the top part.

add more highlights and apply gradients

Step 8

Let’s make the colors more vivid by increasing the saturation. Make the colors of the mane and the central part of the face brighter by making them more yellowish. And add more orange tints to the ears and around the cheekbones.

I’ve decided to delete the black outlines of the mane along the edges of the portrait, thus adding more air to the image and making it less “noisy”.

Lets make the colors more vivid and bright by increasing the saturation

Step 9

Let’s adjust the outlines a bit more, making them fit the color palette of our lion. Select the black outlines that we have on the top layer. Unite the selected outlines in the Pathfinder and right-click to open a context menu. Choose Make Compound Path (or press Control-8), combining all the separate pieces of the outlines into one single object.

Finally, apply a linear gradient to the outlines from dark-purple in the center to dark-orange at the edge.

unite and recolor the outlines

This is how our lion looks at this step.

This is how our lion looks at this step

Step 10

Let’s make the lion look proud and stately by adding volume to his mane, making it bigger and furrier. Grab the Pencil Tool (N) and draw another hairy shape around the head. Send it to Back (Control-Shift-[), placing it beneath the head, and fill it with bright radial gradient from yellow in the center to deep-orange at the edge, making it darker than the basic color of the mane and thus emphasizing the face.

add another hair shape for the mane

Step 11

And draw another layer of hair beneath the previous one, making the mane more detailed. Fill it with lighter radial gradient to separate the hair shapes from each other, adding dimension to our image.

draw another layer of hair beneath the previous one

3. Work on the Background and Add Details

Let’s form a simple background and add some intricate details to our portrait, turning it into a poster dedicated to The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Step 1

First of all, make a New Layer and use the Rectangle Tool (M) to make a rectangle the same size as our Artboard (in our case it is 700 x 800 px). Fill the shape with radial gradient from light-beige in the center to darker-beige at the edges, thus creating the effect of a subtle vignette.

add a background with radial gradient

Step 2

Let’s add some details, which are closely connected to the Wizard of Oz story. Remember the Courage Medal that the Cowardly Lion received from the Wizard of Oz? 

We won’t be depicting the medal itself; however, it will help us to get inspired and to use some of its elements for our poster, such as the red stripes and the blue ribbon.

Take the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a narrow vertical stripe the height of our Artboard. Hold Alt-Shift and drag the stripe to the right, creating a copy. Press Control-D several times, creating more copies.

Finally, select all the stripes and Group (Control-G) them. Apply a radial gradient to our group of stripes, from bright-red in the center to dark-red at the edges, making the stripes look shiny and smooth.

add red stripes to the background

Step 3

Copy the bottom hair shape of the lion’s mane and Paste it in Back (Control-C > Control-B). Make the copy a bit larger and switch its color to a radial gradient from dark-red in the center to white at the edges. Apply Multiply Blending Mode, turning the shape into a subtle shadow in order to make the head stand out against the background.

add radial shadow beneath the head

This is how the overall composition looks at this step.

This is how the overall composition looks at this step

Step 4

Now let’s add some spots and splatter to our poster, creating a grungy, retro effect. There are two ways to do it. The first and easier way is using the built-in Adobe Illustrator artistic brushes, which you can find in the Brushes Library of your Brushes panel (click the Brushes Libraries Menu icon and go to Artistic > Artistic_Ink or Artistic_Watercolor).

You can check out Part 3, Step 2 and onwards of the Design a CD Cover in Low-Polygonal Grungy Style in Adobe Illustrator tutorial to see how to apply such brushes to your image, creating the desired effect.

The second way is more time-consuming, but at the same time, it is much more creative and interesting. So if you want to put more spirit into your image, let’s work with a traditional medium a bit.

Use ink, watercolors, gouache or whatever you like to create splashes and splatter on paper. I use black ink and a common brush to make a lot of small, textured spots by making the ink drip on the paper from the tip of the brush. You can also use a toothbrush to get a nice splatter effect.

Scan your image or use your phone to make a photo, but make sure that you have enough light, so that the background is more or less clean, without any shadow. 

Open your image in Adobe Photoshop and press Control-L to open the Levels options window (or go to Image > Adjustments > Levels). And from here, let’s try to give our image as much contrast as possible by pulling the left black slider to the right, making the dark parts of the image darker. And pull the right white slider to the left, lightening the white areas even more.

scan your image and edit in photoshop

That’s how it looks now: we have solid black spots on a pure-white background.

contrast image in photoshop

Step 5

Save your image as JPEG and File > Place it in Adobe Illustrator. Now we have the Image Trace function available in the top control panel.

Select the High Fidelity Photo preset from the drop-down Image Trace list and then, after the image is traced, click the Image Trace Panel button, which appeared in the control panel on top.

Here, in the Image Trace option panel, move the Paths and Corners sliders to 100% to get as much detail as possible. As for the Colors slider, let's set the colors value to 1, because we have only one color: black. Set the Noise value to 1 px as well.

Leave all other settings as default and Expand the image from the top control panel, turning the traced result into vector shapes.

trace the splatter in adobe illustrator

Step 6

Create a New Layer between layers, containing the background and the lion’s head. And start adding the grungy spots that we’ve just created.

add grungy spots to the background

Step 7

Fill some of the spots with linear gradients from orange to white and from red to white, and switch to Multiply Blending Mode, making the spots semi-transparent. 

Fill other shapes with dark-burgundy color, applying Screen mode, thus creating light, faded spots above the background.

apply Screen and Multiply Blending Mode to the spots

Step 8

Create another New Layer, this time placing it on top of the lion’s head. Add more splashes above the face and around the head, filling the shapes with semi-transparent gradients in Multiply mode. 

Place two round spots above the eyes of the lion and fill them with radial gradients from white in the center to orange at the edges. Apply Multiply Blending Mode, making the centers of the spots transparent.

add more grunge spots on top of the lion

Step 9

Now let’s render a bright ribbon in the bottom of our poster. Start by making a narrow stripe with the help of the Rectangle Tool (M) and fill it with horizontal linear gradient from dark-lilac at the edges to vivid-blue in the center. 

Take the Pen Tool (P) and form a small dark triangle at the bottom left part of the ribbon. The Smart Guides (View > Smart Guides) are really helpful at this step, when you need to position the objects one to another and to make them fit each other.

Add a smaller rectangle beneath the shapes, forming a fold of the ribbon.

form the ribbon from a narrow rectangle

Step 10

Select both the small triangle and the fold, and use the Reflect Tool (O) to flip the elements over the Vertical Axis. Press the Copy button and move the created copy to the opposite side of the ribbon.

reflect the folding making a copy

Step 11

Now let’s add a title to our ribbon. Use an intricate font with serifs, for example Trajan Pro 3 or a free font Playfair Display, and type COURAGE. Object > Expand Appearance, turning the text into a set of separate vector letters.

And let’s make the letters golden by applying a complex vertical linear gradient, made of six colors, from dark-brown at the edges to light-yellow and orange in the middle.

Make the title more three-dimensional by going to Object > Path > Offset Path and applying a 2 px Offset value. Fill the created shape with a vertical linear gradient from beige at the edges to light-yellow (almost white) in the center.

apply golden gradient to the letters

Step 12

Place the title above the ribbon and add another Offset shape with 2 px Offset value. Fill the shape with dark-blue color and switch to Multiply Blending Mode, creating a shadow beneath the letters and making them stand out more against the ribbon.

Let’s make our ribbon slightly bent. Select both the ribbon and the title and Group (Control-G) them. Go to Effect > Warp > Arc. Move the slider to the left, setting the Horizontal Bend value to -20%, making the ribbon arched.

apply arc effect to the ribbon

Step 13

Object > Expand the ribbon and place it in the bottom part of our poster, making the composition look complete. Add a subtle shadow beneath the ribbon in the same way as we did for the lion’s head, by placing the copy of the ribbon beneath the basic shape, filling it with red-white linear gradient and switching it to Multiply Blending Mode.

add the ribbon to the poster

Brave as a Blizzard

Great job! We’ve finished our Cowardly Lion’s portrait, and so he gained his courage!

I hope you’ve got inspired while following this tutorial and discovered some new coloring and texturing techniques, which will be helpful for your designs and artwork!

You can go even further and add more shiny details to the poster by placing some colorful decorative sparks here and there. Check out Part 4, Steps 3 and 4 of the tutorial How to Create a Winter Candle Lantern in Adobe Illustrator to find out how to create those glowing sparks and make them more colorful!

Have fun, and stay tuned for more!

Cowardly lion from Wizard of Oz
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?

Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.