7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Designing

Создание потрясающего старого мира в Photoshop

Scroll to top
Read Time: 11 mins

Russian (Pусский) translation by Svetlana (you can also view the original English article)

В этом уроке мы собираемся создать своего рода старомодную композицию с компасом и использовать некоторые потрясающие векторные произведения из «Арсенала». Как всегда есть PSD-файл в нижней части учебника. В этом случае я настоятельно рекомендую загрузить его, поскольку это довольно сложная композиция. Будьте осторожны, это длинный учебник!

О, и в случае, если вам интересно, вдохновение исходит из действительно опрятного набора книг, один из которых называется «Золотой компас» (на самом деле они сейчас делают серию книг!).


Активы

Для этого нам понадобятся несколько активов для работы. Я использую некоторые векторные фигуры из раздела Freebie от GoMedia / Arsenal. Арсенал - это набор векторных пакетов, которые вы покупаете, которые можно использовать в Illustrator или Photoshop. В этом случае, потому что я дешев, я просто пошел в раздел «Freebie» и загрузил все там!

Кроме того, мне понадобилось изображение компаса, которое я получил от iStockPhoto за 1 доллар. Я также использую шрифт Nuptial Script. Я не могу, чтобы жизнь меня помнила, где я получил этот шрифт, или если он свободен или нет. В любом случае, если у вас нет этого конкретного шрифта, вы, вероятно, найдете что-то подобное.


Часть 1 - Баннер

Я разделил это руководство на два раздела, а затем в конце мы объединим их, чтобы сформировать окончательный образ. Вы должны скачать PSD и просмотреть его. Этот образ действительно довольно сложный, и это будет иметь больше смысла, когда вы посмотрите на слои!


Шаг 1:

Итак, прежде всего, мы начинаем с фонового градиента. Как всегда, я использую радиальный градиент и беру некоторые темные синеватые цвета.

Цвет переднего плана - # 35444b
Цвет фона - # 1a2023


Шаг 2:

Теперь следующая вещь - вставить в первое из наших векторных изображений. Это своего рода баннерная вещь.

Есть два способа сделать это. После перехода на сайт GoMedia нажмите на раздел Freebie, и вы загрузите документ EPS. Эти документы находятся в векторном формате, и в идеале вы можете открыть их в Illustrator, затем скопируйте + вставьте вектор в Photoshop. Если вы сделаете это так, вы получите объект Smart Vector, который вы можете изменить без потери качества. Если вы сделаете это, вам может понадобиться щелкнуть правой кнопкой мыши слой после этого и нажать «Растрировать слой», поскольку нам нужно выполнить некоторую работу над ним.

Альтернативно, если у вас нет / использовать Illustrator, просто откройте EPS-файл в Photoshop. Он спросит вас, какой размер вы хотите растрировать. Я просто выбираю некоторые случайные значения, а затем повторяю их несколько раз, пока у меня не будет нужного размера. Обратите внимание, что после растрирования вы теряете информацию в изображении при изменении размера, поэтому лучше всего сделать это один раз.

Во всяком случае, вот баннер:


Шаг 3:

Теперь возьмите инструмент Magic Wand Selection Tool (W) и нажмите на верхнюю часть баннера, затем создайте новый слой и заполните его бежевым цветом (# dfd6b8)


Шаг 4:

Повторите процесс с двумя частями баннера в фоновом режиме (как показано ниже).

Затем мы хотим немного усилить его, что мы можем сделать с Burn Tool (O). Если вы никогда не использовали инструменты Dodge и Burn, в основном они либо затемняют, либо осветляют объект. Вы используете их, рисуя кистью, и они довольно аккуратные инструменты. Один из полезных советов заключается в том, что после того, как вы выбрали «Burn Tool», вы можете удерживать Alt, и он переключится на Dodge (и наоборот), чтобы вам не нужно было идти на панель инструментов и меняться там.

Теперь, потому что нам нужен действительно суровый вид, он платит, чтобы использовать песчаную кисть. В этом случае я использовал кисть, которую я снова загрузил из раздела Freebie сайта GoMedia. Вы просто загружаете их, а затем открываете палитру Brush, нажимаете на маленькую стрелку с правой стрелкой и выбираете Load Brushes, и все они должны появляться внизу.

Как только у вас будет хорошая шероховатая кисть, просто начните сжигать правую сторону, как показано. Сделайте это короткими каплями, чтобы получить хорошую грубую текстуру.


Шаг 5:

Повторите этот процесс с другой стороны, затем используйте немного Dodge посередине. Затем повторите снова на спине, чтобы биты по направлению к середине были затемнены, а внешние лица были освещены.

Обратите внимание, что мы пытаемся имитировать свет здесь с источником света из мертвых впереди. Поэтому причина, по которой мы это делаем, заключается в том, что бит с обеих сторон должен быть темным, потому что эти части отворачиваются от зрителя. В задней части части в середине падают в складки, поэтому они будут затенены. Конечно, это просто смутное приближение, но оно помогает с общим визуальным эффектом.


Шаг 6:

Теперь удерживайте Ctrl и нажмите на слой с верхней бежевой частью, чтобы выбрать его. Затем несколько раз нажмите стрелку вверх. Затем вернитесь к исходному векторному слою баннера и нажмите «Удалить».

В основном мы избавляемся от верхней черной линии.


Шаг 7:

Теперь в новом слое заполните выделение синим (# 283438)


Шаг 8:

Выйдите из оловянного инструмента Burn снова и начните придавать этому слою некоторую текстуру. Как и раньше, вы хотите, чтобы края были немного темнее центра, хотя и не делайте эффект слишком выраженным.


Шаг 9:

Теперь дублируйте бежевый слой сзади и немного передвиньте его, а затем влево, как показано. Это дает нашему баннеру внешний вид, который делает его превосходным!


Шаг 10:

Затем мы заменим остальную часть черной части темно-синим цветом и снова придадим ей некоторую текстуру. Поэтому удерживайте Ctrl и щелкните по этому слою, чтобы выбрать его. Затем наполните его синим.


Шаг 11:

Теперь снова пройдите и используйте Burn Tool, чтобы добавить тени к частям, которые входят в складки, чтобы придать ему немного трехмерности.


Шаг 12:

Затем в новом слое выпишите текст. Здесь я написал несколько случайных слов. Используйте бежевый цвет и выберите хороший шрифт. В этом случае я использую Nuptial Script.


Шаг 13:

Теперь нажмите «Инструмент типа» (T) и вверх по верхнему клику на этом Т со стрелкой под ним, чтобы открыть параметры «Варп-текст». Здесь мы используем Arc и даем ему изгиб около 43%.

Обратите внимание: если вы являетесь пользователем иллюстратора, вы можете сделать объект «Текст в пути» в Illustrator, а затем скопировать его и иметь меньше искажений в письмах. Но поскольку это учебник Photoshop, а не Illustrator, мы просто будем придерживаться PS :-)


Шаг 14:

Затем я добавил несколько стилей слоя, чтобы текст выглядел золотым. Вы можете открыть PSD в конце этого урока и просто скопировать стиль слоя, щелкнув правой кнопкой мыши на слое и выбрав Copy Layer Style. Мне нравятся стили слоев, так как вы, без сомнения, поймете, достаточно ли читаете мои уроки. Самое лучшее, что нужно делать при использовании стилей слоя, - это играть с каждой настройкой, есть много интересных вещей, которые вы можете сделать.


Шаг 15:

Поэтому у вас должно быть что-то похожее на изображение, показанное ниже! Затем мы создадим фон и раскраску. Поэтому отключите видимость этих слоев и начните работу с фона.


Часть 2 - фон

В этом разделе мы собираемся сделать все остальные части изображения. Эти способы обойти то, что мы уже сделали - лучший способ увидеть порядок слоев - это посмотреть на файл Photoshop.

Шаг 16:

Поэтому отключите все текущие слои, за исключением фона.


Шаг 17:

Теперь мы добавим немного текстуры на задний план. Для этого я использую образец текстуры, но опять же из раздела Freebie от GoMedia / Arsenal

Это называется «Rust11.jpg». Вставьте его и уменьшите до размера. Затем установите его в Overlay, чтобы он взаимодействовал с темным блюзом из нашего фона.


Шаг 18:

Поскольку я не думал, что это выглядело достаточно темным, я добавил слой поверх темно-серого и установил его на Multiply и 35%.

Я должен указать, что с изображением это сложно, вам нужно много экспериментировать и делать что-то на глаз. Так часто я смотрел на что-то и думал, что это должно быть темнее, или это не работает, не берет вещи и не вмешивается. Конечно, когда я придумывал этот образ, я не прошел эти шаги в этом порядке. Это просто удобный способ передачи информации обратно вам. Поэтому не думайте, что вам нужно иметь какой-то удивительный план, когда вы делаете образы, просто делайте то, что кажется правильным. Чем больше вы делаете, тем больше практикуется ваш глаз, когда вы решаете, правильно ли это или нет.


Шаг 19:

Теперь я вставил еще несколько векторов из бесплатного пакета GoMedia. Я выбрал несколько старых векторов статуй и установил их для Multiply. Поскольку мне не хватало, я перевернул пару, чтобы покрыть всю страницу, не выглядя так, будто я повторял снова и снова!


Шаг 20:

Затем я вставляю второй второй из наших векторов из GoMedia. По-видимому, это полутоновая вещь. В любом случае для меня это выглядит как ставни, и мы будем использовать его для освещения. Сначала, потому что вектор был черным, я нажал Ctrl-I, чтобы инвертировать цвет в белый. Вы также можете легко заполнить его белым цветом, наложить на него белый цвет или выбрать его пиксели и создать новый слой и заполнить его белым. На самом деле часто бывает много способов сделать то же самое в Photoshop: я думаю, это и делает его такой замечательной программой!


Шаг 21:

Затем мы нажимаем Ctrl + T, чтобы преобразовать и повернуть вектор вокруг и растянуть его, чтобы быть больше.


Шаг 22:

Установите этот слой на Overlay и убедитесь, что он хороший и большой (как показано ниже). Как вы можете видеть, это похоже на свет, вытекающий из некоторых открытых жалюзи. Вы не сможете увидеть большую часть этого в финальном изображении, но детали, подобные этому, дополняют приятную сложную композицию в конце.

Также из-за того, что свет редко бывает приятным и резким, неплохо перейти в Фильтры> Размытие> Размытие по Гауссу и применить размытие с радиусом 1px, чтобы сделать его немного нечетким.


Шаг 23:

Затем создайте новый слой и используйте радиальный градиент, идущий от бежевого (# b58d4e) до нуля, извлеките из центра, чтобы сделать патч цвета, как показано ниже. Установите режим смешивания этого слоя на Screen. Это будет еще один бит освещения.


Шаг 24:

Теперь дублируем этот последний слой, и теперь мы будем запускать фильтр Wave над ним несколько раз, чтобы сделать освещение более динамичным. Вы делаете это, перейдя в Filter> Distort> Wave.

Должен признаться, я действительно не понимаю, как работает фильтр Wave, поэтому я обычно немного перемещаю несколько слайдеров и нажимаю Randomize, пока не получаю приятное искажение - научный, который я знаю :-)

Во всяком случае, как только вы это сделаете, вы увидите, что ваш объект становится волнистым. Несколько раз нажмите Ctrl + F, чтобы сделать его действительно искаженным, и вы должны получить интересный эффект.

После того, как вы сделали это, вы могли бы если вы выберете повторить процесс и второй свет объекта (blob) на странице.


Шаг 25:

Теперь я добавил еще один вектор к изображению, снова из бесплатного раздела GoMedia. Это похоже на грубую грязь, и я просто добавил ее и изменил режим наложения на Overlay и на 40%.


Шаг 26:

Затем я пошел на какую-то случайную веб-страницу о Библии и скопировал какой-то случайный текст и вставлял его снова и снова. На самом деле оглядываясь назад, я сделал немного дерьмовую работу, держа строки, даже когда я их дублировал, но это не имеет большого значения, я полагаю. Главное, чтобы сделать много текста и объединить слои вместе.

Затем установите режим наложения на Hard Light и 40%.


Шаг 27:

До сих пор все, что мы делали, должно было быть ЗАПРЕЩЕНЫ исходными слоями из части 1. Теперь создайте слой НАШЕГО знака части 1. И выберите большую, жирную, мягкую кисть (скажем, 200-300) и с черным, так как цвет переднего плана просто рисует по краям, как показано. Когда вы закончите, измените режим наложения на Overlay.


Шаг 28:

Затем в новом слое выберите эти цвета в качестве основного и заднего плана:

Цвет переднего плана - deb883

Цвет фона - 745222

а затем перейдите в Filter> Render> Clouds. Теперь это должно дать вам некоторые облака, но чтобы получить более динамический рендеринг, нажмите Ctrl + Alt + F. Я не уверен, что это на самом деле находится в меню, но я знаю, что он создает облака с более тяжелой разницей, чего мы хотим. Вы должны получить некоторые облака, которые выглядят так, как показано ниже.

Установите режим наложения на Overlay и на 65%. Этот слой даст нам большую часть нашей окраски.


Шаг 29:

OK, сейчас почти там!

У вас должно быть несколько слоев наверху, куча фоновых слоев внизу, а затем слои из части 1 где-то посередине.

Затем мы добавим компас. Это нужно посередине слоев из части 1, потому что он будет взаимодействовать с ними. Вы можете увидеть точный порядок, загрузив PSD-файл из нижней части этого учебника.

Поэтому, используя инструмент выбора круга, я вырезал компас из его исходного фона (помните, что я получил этот компас от iStockPhoto). Он выглядит желтоватым, потому что у нас есть слой облаков где-то выше.


Шаг 30: 

Компас выглядит немного обычным, так что мы собираемся немного подкрасить цвета. Чтобы сделать это, дублируйте слой компаса и нажмите Ctrl + Shift + U, чтобы обесцветить его (т. Е. Сделать его черно-белым)


Шаг 31:

Установите черный и белый слои на Overlay. Это дает более высокий контраст. (На самом деле, вы можете добиться того же эффекта несколькими другими способами.)

Затем снова вытащите инструмент Burn Tool и, перейдя на исходный слой компаса, дайте ему некоторое разумное сжигание вниз и по бокам. Теперь наш компас начинает выглядеть красиво и тепло.


Шаг 32:

Затем в слое ниже компаса сделайте черный круг того же размера, что и компас. Вы можете сделать это, нажав Ctrl и щелкнув по слою компаса, затем вернитесь к нижележащему слою и наполнив его черным.

Затем перейдите в Filter> Blur> Gaussian Blur и дайте ему размытие 10 пикселей или около того. Это тень для нашего компаса.


И объединить его

Наконец, мы объединяем компас + фон + баннер, чтобы сформировать окончательное изображение!

Обратите внимание, что было несколько уровней, которые я оставил, чтобы этот учебник был коротким (короче, так или иначе). Вы можете скачать PSD, чтобы увидеть остальное! Надеюсь, вам понравился этот урок, это был немного монстр!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
Designing

Creating a Stunning Old-World Look in Photoshop

by

In this tutorial, we are going to create a sort of old-worldy composition featuring a compass and making use of some awesome vector artwork from Arsenal. As always there is a PSD file at the bottom of the tutorial. In this instance, I would highly recommend downloading it as this is quite a complex composition. Be warned this is a LONG tutorial!

Oh and in case you're wondering, inspiration comes from a really neat set of books, one of which is called the Golden Compass (actually they are making the book series a movie now!).


Assets

To do this, we're going to need a few assets to work with. I'm using some vector shapes from GoMedia/Arsenal's Freebie Section. Arsenal is a set of vector packs that you buy which can be used in Illustrator or Photoshop. In this instance because I'm cheap, I just went to the "Freebie" section and downloaded everything there!

Additionally I needed a compass image which I got from iStockPhoto for $1. I'm also using the Nuptial Script font. I can't for the life of me remember where I got this font or if its free or not. In any case, if you haven't got that specific font you can probably find something similar.


Part 1 - the Banner

I've split this tutorial up into two sections, then at the end we bring them together to form the final image. You should download the PSD and take a look through it. This image is really pretty complicated and it will make more sense when you look at the layers!


Step 1:

So first of all, we start with a background gradient. As always I'm using a Radial Gradient, and taking some dark bluish colors.

Foreground color - #35444b
Background color - #1a2023


Step 2:

Now the next thing to do is paste in the first of our vector images. This is a sort of banner thing.

There are two ways you can do this. After you go to the GoMedia site, click on the Freebie section and you'll download an EPS document. These documents are in a vector format and ideally you can open them in Illustrator then copy+paste the vector over to Photoshop. If you do it this way, you'll get a Smart Vector Object which you can resize without losing any quality. If you do this, you may need to right-click the layer afterwards and click Rasterize Layer as we need to do some work on it.

Alternatively if you don't have/use Illustrator, then just open the EPS file in Photoshop. It will ask you how what size you want to rasterize it at. I just choose some random values and then redo it a couple of times until I have the right size. Note that once it is rasterized, you will lose information in the image when you resize, so its best to only do it once.

Anyhow here's the banner:


Step 3:

Now get the Magic Wand Selection Tool (W) and click on the top part of the banner, then create a new layer and fill it with a beige color (#dfd6b8)


Step 4:

Repeat the process with the two parts of the banner in the background (as shown below).

Next we want to roughen it up a bit, which we can do with the Burn Tool (O). In case you've never used the Dodge and Burn tools, basically they either darken or lighten an object. You use them by painting with a paintbrush and they are pretty neat tools. One handy tip is that once you have selected say the Burn Tool, then you can hold down Alt and it will switch to Dodge (and vice versa) so that you don't need to go to the toolbar and change there.

Now because we want a really gritty look, it pays to use a gritty brush. In this instance, I've used a brush I again downloaded from the GoMedia site's Freebie section. You just download them and then go open up the Brush palette, click on the little right-pointing arrow and choose Load Brushes and they should all appear at the bottom.

Once you have a nice grungy brush, just start burning the right hand side as shown. Do it in short blobs so you get a nice rough texture.


Step 5:

Repeat this process on the other side, then use a bit of Dodge in the middle. Then repeat again at the back, so that the bits towards the middle are darkened and the outsides are lightened.

Note that we are trying to simulate light here with the light source from dead ahead. So the reason we're doing it like this is that the bits on either side should be dark because those parts are turning away from the viewer. At the back, the parts in the middle are falling into folds so they would be shadowed. Of course this is just a vague approximation, but it helps with the overall visual.


Step 6:

Now hold down Ctrl and click on the layer with the top beige part to select it. Then press the up arrow a few times. Then switch back to the original banner vector layer and press Delete.

Basically we are getting rid of the top black line.


Step 7:

Now in a new layer, fill the selection with a dark blue (#283438)


Step 8:

Get out the ol' Burn Tool again and start to give this layer some texture. As before you want the edges to be slightly darker than the center, though don't make the effect too pronounced.


Step 9:

Now duplicate the beige layer from behind and move it up a little and then to the left as shown. This gives our banner an off-center kind of look which makes it superbad!


Step 10:

Next we're going to replace the rest of the vector black part with dark blue and again give it some texture. So hold down Ctrl and click on that layer to select it. Then fill it with a dark blue.


Step 11:

Now again go through and use the Burn Tool to add shadows to the parts that are going into the folds to give it a bit of three-dimensionality.


Step 12:

Next in a new layer write out some text. I wrote some random words here. Use a beige color and choose a nice font. In this case I'm using Nuptial Script.


Step 13:

Now click on the Type Tool (T) and up the top click on that T with the arrow beneath it to bring up the Warp Text options. Here we're using Arc and giving it a bend of about 43%.

Note that if you are an illustrator user you could do a Text on a Path thing in Illustrator and then copy it over and it might have less distortion on the letters. But since this is a Photoshop tutorial and not an Illustrator one, we'll just stick to PS :-)


Step 14:

Next I've added some layer styles to make the text look kind of golden. You can open up the PSD at the end of this tutorial and just copy the layer style by right-clicking on the layer and choosing Copy Layer Style. I love layer styles as you will no doubt realize if you read enough of my tutorials. The best thing to do when using layer styles is play around with every setting, there are so many cool things you can do.


Step 15:

So you should have something that looks kind of like the image shown below! Next we're going to make the background and coloring. So switch off these layers' visibility and lets get started with the background.


Part 2 - the Background

In this section, we're going to make all the other parts of the image. These kind of go around what we've already done--the best way to see the order of the layers is to look at the Photoshop file.

Step 16:

So switch off all your current layers except for the background.


Step 17:

Now we're going to add a bit of texture to the background. For this I'm using a sample texture, yet again from GoMedia/Arsenal's Freebie Section

This one is called "Rust11.jpg." Paste it in and shrink it down to size. Then set it to Overlay so that it interacts with the dark blues from our background.


Step 18:

Because I didn't think that looked dark enough, I added a layer on top of dark grey and set that to Multiply and 35%.

I should point out that with an image this complicated, you sort of have to experiment a lot and do things by eye. So often I would look at something and think, this needs to be darker, or that isn't working and take things out or put things in. Certainly when coming up with this image I didn't go through these steps in this order. Its just a convenient way to relay the information back to you. So don't think that you need to have some amazing plan in mind when you're making images, just do what feels right. The more you do, the more practiced your eye becomes at deciding whether something is right or not.


Step 19:

Now I've pasted in some more of the vectors from the GoMedia free pack. I chose some old-looking statue vectors and set them all to Multiply. Because I didn't have enough, I flipped a couple over to cover the whole page without looking like I was just repeating over and over!


Step 20:

Next I paste in the second last of our vectors from GoMedia. This one apparently is a half-tone thing. In any case it looks like shutters to me and we're going to use it for lighting. First because the vector was black, I pressed Ctrl-I to invert the color to white. You could just as easily Fill it with white, Color-Overlay it with white or select its pixels and make a new layer and fill that with white. Really there are often many ways to do the same thing in Photoshop: I guess that's what makes it such a great program!


Step 21:

Next we hit Ctrl+T to transform and rotate the vector around and stretch it out to be bigger.


Step 22:

Set that layer to Overlay and make sure its nice and big (as shown below). As you can see, it looks kind of like light streaming in from some open shutters. You won't be able to see much of this in the final image, but details like this add up to a nice complex composition in the end.

Also because light is rarely nice and sharp, its a good idea to go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply a blur with a radius of say 1px just to make it a bit fuzzy.


Step 23:

Next create a new layer and using a Radial Gradient going from beige (#b58d4e) to nothing, draw from the center out to make a patch of color as shown below. Set the blending mode of this layer to Screen. This is going to be another bit of lighting.


Step 24:

Now duplicate that last layer again and we're now going to run a Wave filter over it a few times to make the lighting more dynamic. You do this by going to Filter > Distort > Wave.

I must admit I don't really understand how the Wave filter works, so I usually just move some sliders around a bit and press Randomize until I get a nice distortion - scientific I know :-)

Anyhow once you have done that, you'll see your blob becomes kind of wavy. Press Ctrl+F a few times to make it really distorted and you should get an interesting effect.

After you've done that, you could if you choose repeat the process and have a second light blob on the page.


Step 25:

Now I've added yet another vector to the image, again from GoMedia's free section. This just looks like some rough dirt, and I just added it and changed the blending mode to Overlay and 40%.


Step 26:

Next I went to some random Web page about the Bible and copied some random text and pasted it over and over. Actually looking back, I did a bit of a crappy job with keeping the lines even when I duplicated them, but that doesn't really matter, I suppose. The main thing to do is get lots of text and merge the layers together.

Then set the blending mode to Hard Light and 40%.


Step 27:

So far everything we've done should have been BEHIND the original layers from Part 1. Now create a layer ABOVE the Part 1 banner. And choose a big, fat, soft brush (say 200-300) and with black as your foreground color just paint around the edges as shown. When you're done change the blending mode to Overlay.


Step 28:

Next in a new layer choose these colors as your foreground and background:

Foreground Color - deb883

Background Color - 745222

and then go to Filter > Render > Clouds. Now that should give you some clouds, but to get a more dynamic render, press Ctrl+Alt+F. I'm not sure what this actually is in the menus, but I know that it produces clouds with a heavier difference, which we want. You should get some clouds that look like those below.

Set the blending mode to Overlay and 65%. This layer is going to give us the majority of our coloring.


Step 29:

OK, almost there now!

You should have a few layers at the top, a bunch of background layers at the bottom, and then the layers from Part 1 somewhere in the middle.

Next we're going to add the compass in. This needs to go in the middle of the layers from Part 1 because it's going to interact with them. You can see the exact order by downloading the PSD file from the bottom of this tutorial.

So using the Circle Selection Tool, I cut out the compass from its original background (remember I got this compass from iStockPhoto). It looks yellowish because we have that clouds layer somewhere above.


Step 30:

The compass looks a bit plain as it is, so we are going to soup up the colors a little. To do this, duplicate the compass layer and press Ctrl+Shift+U to desaturate it (i.e. make it Black and White)


Step 31:

Set the Black and White layer to Overlay. This gives a higher contrast look. (Actually, you can achieve the same effect a few other ways.)

Next get out the Burn Tool again and, going to the original compass layer, give it some judicious burning down the bottom and sides. Now our compass is starting to look nice and warm.


Step 32:

Then in a layer below the compass, make a black circle the same size as the compass. You can do this by pressing Ctrl and clicking on the compass layer then going back to the layer below and filling it with black.

Next go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and give it a blur of 10px or so. This is the shadow for our compass.


And Put It Together

Finally, we put the compass + background + banner together to form the final image!

Note that there were a couple of layers I left out to keep this tutorial short (well shorter anyway). You can download the PSD to see the rest! Hope you enjoyed that tutorial, it was a bit of a monster!

 


Sample PSD

Related Posts
  • Design & Illustration
    Icon Design
    Create an Address Book Icon in PhotoshopAddressbookiconpreviewimage
    In this tutorial, I will show you how to create an address book icon using Adobe Photoshop. I will begin by explaining how to set up a simple grid, and how to take full advantage of the Snap to Grid feature. Next, I will explain how to create a set of simple vector shapes and how to color them using basic Layer Style attributes and some Photoshop pattern presets. Finally, I will show you how to add subtle shading and highlights using basic blending techniques and simple effects. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Code
    Creative Coding
    Using a Custom Post Type to Create a Home Page BannerUsing a custom post type to create a home page banner
    Sometimes it's useful to have a nice obvious banner on your site's home page—for announcements, snippets that aren't long enough to merit a blog post, or links to new content within the site. But you don't want to be editing your homepage content every time you add a new piece of content, nor do you want to be delving into the code to add content.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Interface
    Create a Mobile Downloader App Interface in Photoshop45
    Photoshop is a fantastic app to create mockups for mobile applications. Its vector tools, combined with Layer Style effects, allow designers to quickly create layouts for their projects. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a downloader app design for an iPhone, in Photoshop. Once completed, you will have a good understanding of how to create modern interface elements, as well as, charts and graphs in Photoshop. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Illustration
    Create a Traditional Russian Khokhloma Ornament in IllustratorKhokhloma round tut 400
    In this tutorial we are going to create a shiny pendant with a Khokhloma design – the famous traditional Russian ornament, which was widely used for ware and furniture decoration. We'll be using simple yet spectacular effects, blends and self-made brushes in Adobe Illustrator. Let's bring folk art to the masses!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Create a Kaleidoscope Effect in Photoshop0943 kaleidoscope preview400 21
    Photography is a skill that I believe most designers should have at least a fundamental understanding of. You never know when you might need to run out and shoot a photo of your own for a project. Personally, I love to shoot photos, and it is nice to have a good catalog of photos in my arsenal, just in case.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Create a Mixed Martial Arts Event Flyer in Photoshop0953 fight preview400
    Most of you have probably seen event posters displayed in your area promoting a boxing, mixed martial arts (MMA), Ultimate Fighter, or wrestling match. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a similar event poster in Photoshop using several techniques including photo manipulation, retouching, and typography. Let's get started!Read More…