7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Designing

Erstellen eines atemberaubenden Looks der alten Welt in Photoshop

Scroll to top
Read Time: 13 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Valentina (you can also view the original English article)

In diesem Tutorial werden wir eine Art altmodische Komposition mit einem Kompass erstellen und einige fantastische Vektorgrafiken von Arsenal verwenden. Wie immer befindet sich am Ende des Tutorials eine PSD-Datei. In diesem Fall würde ich das Herunterladen sehr empfehlen, da dies eine recht komplexe Komposition ist. Seien Sie gewarnt, dies ist ein langes Tutorial!

Oh, und falls Sie sich fragen, die Inspiration kommt von einem wirklich ordentlichen Satz Bücher, von denen eines den Goldenen Kompass heißt (tatsächlich machen sie die Buchreihe jetzt zu einem Film!).


Vermögenswerte

Dazu benötigen wir einige Assets, mit denen wir arbeiten können. Ich verwende einige Vektorformen aus der Freebie-Sektion von GoMedia/Arsenal. Arsenal ist eine Reihe von Vektorpaketen, die Sie kaufen und die in Illustrator oder Photoshop verwendet werden können. In diesem Fall, weil ich billig bin, bin ich einfach in den Bereich "Freebie" gegangen und habe dort alles heruntergeladen!

Zusätzlich brauchte ich ein Kompassbild, das ich von iStockPhoto für 1 US-Dollar bekommen hatte. Ich verwende auch die Schriftart Nuptial Script. Ich kann mich für mein ganzes Leben nicht erinnern, woher ich diese Schrift habe oder ob sie kostenlos ist oder nicht. In jedem Fall können Sie wahrscheinlich etwas Ähnliches finden, wenn Sie diese bestimmte Schriftart nicht haben.


Teil 1 - das Banner

Ich habe dieses Tutorial in zwei Abschnitte unterteilt, und am Ende bringen wir sie zusammen, um das endgültige Bild zu bilden. Sie sollten die PSD herunterladen und durchsehen. Dieses Bild ist wirklich ziemlich kompliziert und macht mehr Sinn, wenn Sie sich die Ebenen ansehen!


Schritt 1:

Zunächst beginnen wir mit einem Hintergrundverlauf. Wie immer verwende ich einen radialen Farbverlauf und nehme einige dunkle bläuliche Farben.

Vordergrundfarbe - #35444b
Hintergrundfarbe - #1a2023


Schritt 2:

Als nächstes müssen Sie das erste unserer Vektorbilder einfügen. Dies ist eine Art Bannersache.

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, dies zu tun. Nachdem Sie die GoMedia-Website aufgerufen haben, klicken Sie auf den Abschnitt "Freebie" und Sie laden ein EPS-Dokument herunter. Diese Dokumente haben ein Vektorformat. Idealerweise können Sie sie in Illustrator öffnen und dann den Vektor kopieren und in Photoshop einfügen. Wenn Sie dies auf diese Weise tun, erhalten Sie ein Smart Vector-Objekt, dessen Größe Sie ändern können, ohne an Qualität zu verlieren. In diesem Fall müssen Sie möglicherweise mit der rechten Maustaste auf die Ebene klicken und anschließend auf Ebene rastern klicken, da wir einige Arbeiten daran durchführen müssen.

Wenn Sie Illustrator nicht haben/verwenden, öffnen Sie einfach die EPS-Datei in Photoshop. Sie werden gefragt, in welcher Größe Sie es rastern möchten. Ich wähle nur einige zufällige Werte aus und wiederhole sie dann ein paar Mal, bis ich die richtige Größe habe. Beachten Sie, dass Sie nach dem Rastern Informationen im Bild verlieren, wenn Sie die Größe ändern. Es ist daher am besten, dies nur einmal zu tun.

Jedenfalls ist hier das Banner:


Schritt 3:

Holen Sie sich nun das Zauberstab-Auswahlwerkzeug (W) und klicken Sie auf den oberen Teil des Banners. Erstellen Sie dann eine neue Ebene und füllen Sie sie mit einer beigen Farbe (#dfd6b8).


Schritt 4:

Wiederholen Sie den Vorgang mit den beiden Teilen des Banners im Hintergrund (wie unten gezeigt).

Als nächstes wollen wir es etwas aufrauen, was wir mit dem Brennwerkzeug (O) tun können. Falls Sie die Werkzeuge "Ausweichen" und "Brennen" noch nie verwendet haben, verdunkeln oder erhellen sie im Grunde ein Objekt. Sie verwenden sie, indem Sie mit einem Pinsel malen, und sie sind ziemlich nette Werkzeuge. Ein praktischer Tipp ist, dass Sie, sobald Sie beispielsweise das Brennwerkzeug ausgewählt haben, die Alt-Taste gedrückt halten können. Es wechselt dann zu Ausweichen (und umgekehrt), sodass Sie nicht zur Symbolleiste gehen und dort wechseln müssen.

Jetzt, da wir einen wirklich grobkörnigen Look wünschen, lohnt es sich, einen grobkörnigen Pinsel zu verwenden. In diesem Fall habe ich einen Pinsel verwendet, den ich erneut aus dem Freebie-Bereich der GoMedia-Site heruntergeladen habe. Laden Sie sie einfach herunter und öffnen Sie die Pinsel-Palette, klicken Sie auf den kleinen nach rechts zeigenden Pfeil und wählen Sie Pinsel laden. Alle sollten unten angezeigt werden.

Sobald Sie einen schönen Grunge-Pinsel haben, fangen Sie einfach an, die rechte Seite wie gezeigt zu verbrennen. Tun Sie es in kurzen Blobs, damit Sie eine schöne raue Textur erhalten.


Schritt 5:

Wiederholen Sie diesen Vorgang auf der anderen Seite und verwenden Sie dann etwas Dodge in der Mitte. Wiederholen Sie dies dann auf der Rückseite erneut, damit die Bits zur Mitte hin abgedunkelt und die Außenseiten aufgehellt werden.

Beachten Sie, dass wir hier versuchen, Licht mit der Lichtquelle von vorne zu simulieren. Der Grund, warum wir das so machen, ist, dass die Bits auf beiden Seiten dunkel sein sollten, weil sich diese Teile vom Betrachter abwenden. Auf der Rückseite fallen die Teile in der Mitte in Falten, so dass sie beschattet werden. Natürlich ist dies nur eine vage Annäherung, aber es hilft bei der gesamten visuellen Darstellung.


Schritt 6:

Halten Sie nun die Strg-Taste gedrückt und klicken Sie auf die Ebene mit dem oberen beigen Teil, um sie auszuwählen. Drücken Sie dann einige Male den Aufwärtspfeil. Wechseln Sie dann zurück zur ursprünglichen Bannervektorebene und drücken Sie die Entf-Taste.

Grundsätzlich werden wir die obere schwarze Linie los.


Schritt 7:

Füllen Sie nun in einer neuen Ebene die Auswahl mit einem Dunkelblau (#283438).


Schritt 8:

Nehmen Sie das alte Brennwerkzeug wieder heraus und geben Sie dieser Ebene eine Textur. Wie zuvor möchen Sie, dass die Kanten etwas dunkler als die Mitte sind, aber machen Sie den Effekt nicht zu stark.


Schritt 9:

Duplizieren Sie nun die beige Ebene von hinten und bewegen Sie sie ein wenig nach oben und dann wie gezeigt nach links. Dies verleiht unserem Banner einen außermittigen Look, der es superbad macht!


Schritt 10:

Als nächstes werden wir den Rest des schwarzen Vektorteils durch dunkelblau ersetzen und ihm wieder eine Textur geben. Halten Sie also die Strg-Taste gedrückt und klicken Sie auf diese Ebene, um sie auszuwählen. Dann füllen Sie es mit einem dunklen Blau.


Schritt 11:

Gehen Sie jetzt noch einmal durch und verwenden Sie das Brennwerkzeug, um den Teilen, die in die Falten gehn, Schatten hinzuzufügen, um ihnen ein bisschen Dreidimensionalität zu verleihen.


Schritt 12:

Als nächstes schreiben Sie in einer neuen Ebene Text aus. Ich habe hier einige zufällige Wörter geschrieben. Verwenden Sie eine beige Farbe und wählen Sie eine schöne Schriftart. In diesem Fall verwende ich Nuptial Script.


Schritt 13:

Klicken Sie nun auf das Textwerkzeug (T) und oben auf das T mit dem Pfeil darunter, um die Verkrümmen-Textoptionen aufzurufen. Hier verwenden wir Bogen und geben ihm eine Biegung von ungefähr 43%.

Beachten Sie, dass Sie als Illustrator-Benutzer in Illustrator einen Text auf einem Pfad erstellen und dann kopieren können, um die Buchstaben möglicherweise weniger zu verzerren. Da dies jedoch ein Photoshop-Tutorial und kein Illustrator-Tutorial ist, bleiben wir bei PS :-)


Schritt 14:

Als nächstes habe ich einige Ebenenstile hinzugefügt, damit der Text golden aussieht. Sie können die PSD am Ende dieses Tutorials öffnen und einfach den Ebenenstil kopieren, indem Sie mit der rechten Maustaste auf die Ebene klicken und Ebenenstil kopieren auswählen. Ich liebe Ebenenstile, wie Sie zweifellos feststellen werden, wenn Sie genug von meinen Tutorials lesen. Das Beste, was Sie bei der Verwendung von Ebenenstilen tun können, ist, mit jeder Einstellung herumzuspielen. Es gibt so viele coole Dinge, die Sie tun können.


Schritt 15:

Sie sollten also etwas haben, das dem unten gezeigten Bild ähnelt! Als nächstes machen wir den Hintergrund und die Färbung. Schalten Sie also die Sichtbarkeit dieser Ebenen aus und beginnen Sie mit dem Hintergrund.


Teil 2 - der Hintergrund

In diesem Abschnitt werden alle anderen Teile des Bildes erstellt. Diese Art von Umgehung dessen, was wir bereits getan haben - der beste Weg, um die Reihenfolge der Ebenen zu sehen, ist das Betrachten der Photoshop-Datei.

Schritt 16:

Schalten Sie also alle Ihre aktuellen Ebenen außer dem Hintergrund aus.


Schritt 17:

Jetzt fügen wir dem Hintergrund etwas Textur hinzu. Dafür verwende ich eine Beispieltextur, noch einmal aus der Freebie-Sektion von GoMedia/Arsenal

Dieser heißt "Rust11.jpg". Fügen Sie es ein und verkleinern Sie es auf Größe. Stellen Sie es dann auf Ineinanderkopieren ein, damit es mit dem dunklen Blau unseres Hintergrunds interagiert.


Schritt 18:

Da ich nicht dachte, dass das dunkel genug aussieht, habe ich eine Ebene über dunkelgrau hinzugefügt und diese auf Multiplizieren und 35% gesetzt.

Ich sollte darauf hinweisen, dass man bei einem so komplizierten Bild viel experimentieren und Dinge mit dem Auge tun muss. So oft schaute ich mir etwas an und dachte, das muss dunkler sein, oder das funktioniert nicht und nehme Dinge heraus oder lege Dinge hinein. Natürlich habe ich bei der Erstellung dieses Bildes diese Schritte nicht in dieser Reihenfolge ausgeführt. Dies ist nur eine bequeme Möglichkeit, die Informationen an Sie weiterzuleiten. Denken Sie also nicht, dass Sie beim Erstellen von Bildern einen erstaunlichen Plan haben müssen, sondern tun Sie einfach, was sich richtig anfühlt. Je mehr Sie tun, desto geübter wird Ihr Auge darin, zu entscheiden, ob etwas richtig ist oder nicht.


Schritt 19:

Jetzt habe ich einige weitere Vektoren aus dem kostenlosen GoMedia-Paket eingefügt. Ich habe einige alt aussehende Statuenvektoren ausgewählt und sie alle auf Multiplizieren gesetzt. Weil ich nicht genug hatte, drehte ich ein paar um, um die ganze Seite abzudecken, ohne so auszusehen, als würde ich mich immer wieder wiederholen!


Schritt 20:

Als nächstes füge ich den vorletzten unserer Vektoren von GoMedia ein. Dieser ist anscheinend eine Halbton-Sache. Auf jeden Fall sieht es für mich wie Fensterläden aus und wir werden es für die Beleuchtung verwenden. Da der Vektor schwarz war, drückte ich zuerst Strg-I, um die Farbe in Weiß umzukehren. Sie können es genauso gut mit Weiß füllen, mit Weiß überlagern oder seine Pixel auswählen und eine neue Ebene erstellen und diese mit Weiß füllen. In Photoshop gibt es oft viele Möglichkeiten, dasselbe zu tun: Ich denke, das macht es zu einem so großartigen Programm!


Schritt 21:

Als nächstes drücken wir Strg + T, um den Vektor zu transformieren, zu drehen und zu strecken, um größer zu werden.


Schritt 22:

Stellen Sie diese Ebene auf Ineinanderkopieren und stellen Sie sicher, dass sie schön groß ist (wie unten gezeigt). Wie Sie sehen können, sieht es so aus, als würde Licht von einigen offenen Fensterläden hereinströmen. Sie werden im endgültigen Bild nicht viel davon sehen können, aber Details wie diese ergeben am Ende eine schöne komplexe Komposition.

Auch weil Licht selten schön und scharf ist, ist es eine gute Idee, zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Gaußscher Weichzeichner zu wechseln und einen Weichzeichner mit einem Radius von beispielsweise 1 Pixel anzuwenden, um ihn etwas unscharf zu machen.


Schritt 23:

Erstellen Sie als Nächstes eine neue Ebene und zeichnen Sie mit einem Radialverlauf von Beige (#b58d4e) bis Null von der Mitte nach außen, um einen Farbfleck wie unten gezeigt zu erstellen. Stellen Sie den Mischmodus dieser Ebene auf Negativ multiplizieren. Dies wird ein weiteres Stück Licht sein.


Schritt 24:

Dupliziere nun die letzte Ebene erneut und wir werden jetzt einige Male einen Wellenfilter darüber ausführen, um die Beleuchtung dynamischer zu gestalten. Gehen Sie dazu zu Filter > Verzerrungsfilter > Welle.

Ich muss zugeben, dass ich nicht wirklich verstehe, wie der Welle-Filter funktioniert, also bewege ich normalerweise nur ein paar Schieberegler ein wenig und drücke Randomize, bis ich eine nette Verzerrung bekomme - wissenschaftlich weiß ich :-)

Sobald Sie das getan haben, werden Sie sehen, dass Ihr Blob etwas wellig wird. Drücken Sie einige Male Strg + F, um es wirklich zu verzerren, und Sie sollten einen interessanten Effekt erzielen.

Nachdem Sie dies getan haben, können Sie den Vorgang wiederholen, wenn Sie einen zweiten Lichtfleck auf der Seite haben.


Schritt 25:

Jetzt habe ich dem Bild noch einen weiteren Vektor hinzugefügt, wieder aus dem kostenlosen Bereich von GoMedia. Dies sieht nur nach etwas rauem Schmutz aus, und ich habe ihn gerade hinzugefügt und die Füllmethode auf Ineinanderkopieren und 40% geändert.


Schritt 26:

Als nächstes ging ich zu einer zufälligen Webseite über die Bibel und kopierte einen zufälligen Text und fügte ihn immer wieder ein. Rückblickend habe ich ein bisschen beschissen gearbeitet, die Zeilen auch dann beizubehalten, wenn ich sie dupliziert habe, aber das spielt wohl keine Rolle. Die Hauptsache ist, viel Text zu erhalten und die Ebenen zusammenzuführen.

Stellen Sie dann die Füllmethode auf Hartes Licht und 40%.


Schritt 27:

Bisher sollte alles, was wir getan haben, hinter den ursprünglichen Ebenen aus Teil 1 liegen. Erstellen Sie nun eine Ebene ÜBER dem Banner von Teil 1. Wählen Sie einen großen, fetten, weichen Pinsel (z. B. 200-300) und malen Sie mit Schwarz als Vordergrundfarbe wie gezeigt um die Ränder. Wenn Sie fertig sind, ändern Sie die Füllmethode auf Ineinanderkopieren.


Schritt 28:

Wählen Sie als Nächstes in einer neuen Ebene diese Farben als Vordergrund und Hintergrund aus:

Vordergrundfarbe - deb883

Hintergrundfarbe - 745222

und gehen Sie dann zu Filter > Rendern > Wolken. Das sollte Ihnen einige Wolken geben, aber um ein dynamischeres Rendering zu erhalten, drücken Sie Strg + Alt + F. Ich bin nicht sicher, was dies tatsächlich in den Menüs ist, aber ich weiß, dass es Wolken mit einem größeren Unterschied erzeugt, die wir wollen. Sie sollten einige Wolken bekommen, die wie die unten aussehen.

Stellen Sie die Füllmethode auf Ineinanderkopieren und 65%. Diese Ebene wird uns den größten Teil unserer Färbung geben.


Schritt 29:

OK, jetzt fast da!

Sie sollten oben ein paar Ebenen haben, unten ein paar Hintergrundebenen und dann irgendwo in der Mitte die Ebenen aus Teil 1.

Als nächstes fügen wir den Kompass hinzu. Dieser muss sich in der Mitte der Ebenen von Teil 1 befinden, da er mit ihnen interagieren wird. Sie können die genaue Reihenfolge anzeigen, indem Sie die PSD-Datei unten in diesem Tutorial herunterladen.

Mit dem Kreisauswahl-Werkzeug habe ich den Kompass aus dem ursprünglichen Hintergrund ausgeschnitten (denken Sie daran, dass ich diesen Kompass von iStockPhoto erhalten habe). Es sieht gelblich aus, weil wir diese Wolkenebene irgendwo darüber haben.


Schritt 30:

Der Kompass sieht ein bisschen schlicht aus, also werden wir die Farben ein wenig aufpeppen. Duplizieren Sie dazu die Kompassebene und drücken Sie Strg + Umschalt + U, um sie zu entsättigen (d. h. Schwarzweiß zu machen).


Schritt 31:

Stellen Sie die Schwarzweiß-Ebene auf Ineinanderkopieren. Dies ergibt einen kontrastreicheren Look. (Tatsächlich können Sie den gleichen Effekt auf einige andere Arten erzielen.)

Nehmen Sie als nächstes das Brennwerkzeug wieder heraus und gehen Sie zur ursprünglichen Kompassebene, um sie am Boden und an den Seiten vernünftig abzubrennen. Jetzt sieht unser Kompass schön warm aus.


Schritt 32:

Erstellen Sie dann in einer Ebene unter dem Kompass einen schwarzen Kreis mit der gleichen Größe wie der Kompass. Sie können dies tun, indem Sie Strg drücken und auf die Kompassebene klicken, dann zur darunter liegenden Ebene zurückkehren und sie mit Schwarz füllen.

Gehen Sie als nächstes zu Filter > Weichzeichnen > Gaußscher Weichzeichner und geben Sie ihm einen Weichzeichner von etwa 10 Pixel. Dies ist der Schatten für unseren Kompass.


Und setzen Sie es zusammen

Schließlich setzen wir den Kompass + Hintergrund + Banner zusammen, um das endgültige Bild zu bilden!

Beachten Sie, dass ich einige Ebenen ausgelassen habe, um dieses Tutorial kurz zu halten (jedenfalls auch kürzer). Sie können die PSD herunterladen, um den Rest zu sehen! Ich hoffe, dir hat dieses Tutorial gefallen, es war ein bisschen wie ein Monster!

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
Designing

Creating a Stunning Old-World Look in Photoshop

by

In this tutorial, we are going to create a sort of old-worldy composition featuring a compass and making use of some awesome vector artwork from Arsenal. As always there is a PSD file at the bottom of the tutorial. In this instance, I would highly recommend downloading it as this is quite a complex composition. Be warned this is a LONG tutorial!

Oh and in case you're wondering, inspiration comes from a really neat set of books, one of which is called the Golden Compass (actually they are making the book series a movie now!).


Assets

To do this, we're going to need a few assets to work with. I'm using some vector shapes from GoMedia/Arsenal's Freebie Section. Arsenal is a set of vector packs that you buy which can be used in Illustrator or Photoshop. In this instance because I'm cheap, I just went to the "Freebie" section and downloaded everything there!

Additionally I needed a compass image which I got from iStockPhoto for $1. I'm also using the Nuptial Script font. I can't for the life of me remember where I got this font or if its free or not. In any case, if you haven't got that specific font you can probably find something similar.


Part 1 - the Banner

I've split this tutorial up into two sections, then at the end we bring them together to form the final image. You should download the PSD and take a look through it. This image is really pretty complicated and it will make more sense when you look at the layers!


Step 1:

So first of all, we start with a background gradient. As always I'm using a Radial Gradient, and taking some dark bluish colors.

Foreground color - #35444b
Background color - #1a2023


Step 2:

Now the next thing to do is paste in the first of our vector images. This is a sort of banner thing.

There are two ways you can do this. After you go to the GoMedia site, click on the Freebie section and you'll download an EPS document. These documents are in a vector format and ideally you can open them in Illustrator then copy+paste the vector over to Photoshop. If you do it this way, you'll get a Smart Vector Object which you can resize without losing any quality. If you do this, you may need to right-click the layer afterwards and click Rasterize Layer as we need to do some work on it.

Alternatively if you don't have/use Illustrator, then just open the EPS file in Photoshop. It will ask you how what size you want to rasterize it at. I just choose some random values and then redo it a couple of times until I have the right size. Note that once it is rasterized, you will lose information in the image when you resize, so its best to only do it once.

Anyhow here's the banner:


Step 3:

Now get the Magic Wand Selection Tool (W) and click on the top part of the banner, then create a new layer and fill it with a beige color (#dfd6b8)


Step 4:

Repeat the process with the two parts of the banner in the background (as shown below).

Next we want to roughen it up a bit, which we can do with the Burn Tool (O). In case you've never used the Dodge and Burn tools, basically they either darken or lighten an object. You use them by painting with a paintbrush and they are pretty neat tools. One handy tip is that once you have selected say the Burn Tool, then you can hold down Alt and it will switch to Dodge (and vice versa) so that you don't need to go to the toolbar and change there.

Now because we want a really gritty look, it pays to use a gritty brush. In this instance, I've used a brush I again downloaded from the GoMedia site's Freebie section. You just download them and then go open up the Brush palette, click on the little right-pointing arrow and choose Load Brushes and they should all appear at the bottom.

Once you have a nice grungy brush, just start burning the right hand side as shown. Do it in short blobs so you get a nice rough texture.


Step 5:

Repeat this process on the other side, then use a bit of Dodge in the middle. Then repeat again at the back, so that the bits towards the middle are darkened and the outsides are lightened.

Note that we are trying to simulate light here with the light source from dead ahead. So the reason we're doing it like this is that the bits on either side should be dark because those parts are turning away from the viewer. At the back, the parts in the middle are falling into folds so they would be shadowed. Of course this is just a vague approximation, but it helps with the overall visual.


Step 6:

Now hold down Ctrl and click on the layer with the top beige part to select it. Then press the up arrow a few times. Then switch back to the original banner vector layer and press Delete.

Basically we are getting rid of the top black line.


Step 7:

Now in a new layer, fill the selection with a dark blue (#283438)


Step 8:

Get out the ol' Burn Tool again and start to give this layer some texture. As before you want the edges to be slightly darker than the center, though don't make the effect too pronounced.


Step 9:

Now duplicate the beige layer from behind and move it up a little and then to the left as shown. This gives our banner an off-center kind of look which makes it superbad!


Step 10:

Next we're going to replace the rest of the vector black part with dark blue and again give it some texture. So hold down Ctrl and click on that layer to select it. Then fill it with a dark blue.


Step 11:

Now again go through and use the Burn Tool to add shadows to the parts that are going into the folds to give it a bit of three-dimensionality.


Step 12:

Next in a new layer write out some text. I wrote some random words here. Use a beige color and choose a nice font. In this case I'm using Nuptial Script.


Step 13:

Now click on the Type Tool (T) and up the top click on that T with the arrow beneath it to bring up the Warp Text options. Here we're using Arc and giving it a bend of about 43%.

Note that if you are an illustrator user you could do a Text on a Path thing in Illustrator and then copy it over and it might have less distortion on the letters. But since this is a Photoshop tutorial and not an Illustrator one, we'll just stick to PS :-)


Step 14:

Next I've added some layer styles to make the text look kind of golden. You can open up the PSD at the end of this tutorial and just copy the layer style by right-clicking on the layer and choosing Copy Layer Style. I love layer styles as you will no doubt realize if you read enough of my tutorials. The best thing to do when using layer styles is play around with every setting, there are so many cool things you can do.


Step 15:

So you should have something that looks kind of like the image shown below! Next we're going to make the background and coloring. So switch off these layers' visibility and lets get started with the background.


Part 2 - the Background

In this section, we're going to make all the other parts of the image. These kind of go around what we've already done--the best way to see the order of the layers is to look at the Photoshop file.

Step 16:

So switch off all your current layers except for the background.


Step 17:

Now we're going to add a bit of texture to the background. For this I'm using a sample texture, yet again from GoMedia/Arsenal's Freebie Section

This one is called "Rust11.jpg." Paste it in and shrink it down to size. Then set it to Overlay so that it interacts with the dark blues from our background.


Step 18:

Because I didn't think that looked dark enough, I added a layer on top of dark grey and set that to Multiply and 35%.

I should point out that with an image this complicated, you sort of have to experiment a lot and do things by eye. So often I would look at something and think, this needs to be darker, or that isn't working and take things out or put things in. Certainly when coming up with this image I didn't go through these steps in this order. Its just a convenient way to relay the information back to you. So don't think that you need to have some amazing plan in mind when you're making images, just do what feels right. The more you do, the more practiced your eye becomes at deciding whether something is right or not.


Step 19:

Now I've pasted in some more of the vectors from the GoMedia free pack. I chose some old-looking statue vectors and set them all to Multiply. Because I didn't have enough, I flipped a couple over to cover the whole page without looking like I was just repeating over and over!


Step 20:

Next I paste in the second last of our vectors from GoMedia. This one apparently is a half-tone thing. In any case it looks like shutters to me and we're going to use it for lighting. First because the vector was black, I pressed Ctrl-I to invert the color to white. You could just as easily Fill it with white, Color-Overlay it with white or select its pixels and make a new layer and fill that with white. Really there are often many ways to do the same thing in Photoshop: I guess that's what makes it such a great program!


Step 21:

Next we hit Ctrl+T to transform and rotate the vector around and stretch it out to be bigger.


Step 22:

Set that layer to Overlay and make sure its nice and big (as shown below). As you can see, it looks kind of like light streaming in from some open shutters. You won't be able to see much of this in the final image, but details like this add up to a nice complex composition in the end.

Also because light is rarely nice and sharp, its a good idea to go to Filters > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply a blur with a radius of say 1px just to make it a bit fuzzy.


Step 23:

Next create a new layer and using a Radial Gradient going from beige (#b58d4e) to nothing, draw from the center out to make a patch of color as shown below. Set the blending mode of this layer to Screen. This is going to be another bit of lighting.


Step 24:

Now duplicate that last layer again and we're now going to run a Wave filter over it a few times to make the lighting more dynamic. You do this by going to Filter > Distort > Wave.

I must admit I don't really understand how the Wave filter works, so I usually just move some sliders around a bit and press Randomize until I get a nice distortion - scientific I know :-)

Anyhow once you have done that, you'll see your blob becomes kind of wavy. Press Ctrl+F a few times to make it really distorted and you should get an interesting effect.

After you've done that, you could if you choose repeat the process and have a second light blob on the page.


Step 25:

Now I've added yet another vector to the image, again from GoMedia's free section. This just looks like some rough dirt, and I just added it and changed the blending mode to Overlay and 40%.


Step 26:

Next I went to some random Web page about the Bible and copied some random text and pasted it over and over. Actually looking back, I did a bit of a crappy job with keeping the lines even when I duplicated them, but that doesn't really matter, I suppose. The main thing to do is get lots of text and merge the layers together.

Then set the blending mode to Hard Light and 40%.


Step 27:

So far everything we've done should have been BEHIND the original layers from Part 1. Now create a layer ABOVE the Part 1 banner. And choose a big, fat, soft brush (say 200-300) and with black as your foreground color just paint around the edges as shown. When you're done change the blending mode to Overlay.


Step 28:

Next in a new layer choose these colors as your foreground and background:

Foreground Color - deb883

Background Color - 745222

and then go to Filter > Render > Clouds. Now that should give you some clouds, but to get a more dynamic render, press Ctrl+Alt+F. I'm not sure what this actually is in the menus, but I know that it produces clouds with a heavier difference, which we want. You should get some clouds that look like those below.

Set the blending mode to Overlay and 65%. This layer is going to give us the majority of our coloring.


Step 29:

OK, almost there now!

You should have a few layers at the top, a bunch of background layers at the bottom, and then the layers from Part 1 somewhere in the middle.

Next we're going to add the compass in. This needs to go in the middle of the layers from Part 1 because it's going to interact with them. You can see the exact order by downloading the PSD file from the bottom of this tutorial.

So using the Circle Selection Tool, I cut out the compass from its original background (remember I got this compass from iStockPhoto). It looks yellowish because we have that clouds layer somewhere above.


Step 30:

The compass looks a bit plain as it is, so we are going to soup up the colors a little. To do this, duplicate the compass layer and press Ctrl+Shift+U to desaturate it (i.e. make it Black and White)


Step 31:

Set the Black and White layer to Overlay. This gives a higher contrast look. (Actually, you can achieve the same effect a few other ways.)

Next get out the Burn Tool again and, going to the original compass layer, give it some judicious burning down the bottom and sides. Now our compass is starting to look nice and warm.


Step 32:

Then in a layer below the compass, make a black circle the same size as the compass. You can do this by pressing Ctrl and clicking on the compass layer then going back to the layer below and filling it with black.

Next go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and give it a blur of 10px or so. This is the shadow for our compass.


And Put It Together

Finally, we put the compass + background + banner together to form the final image!

Note that there were a couple of layers I left out to keep this tutorial short (well shorter anyway). You can download the PSD to see the rest! Hope you enjoyed that tutorial, it was a bit of a monster!

 


Sample PSD

Related Posts
  • Design & Illustration
    Icon Design
    Create an Address Book Icon in PhotoshopAddressbookiconpreviewimage
    In this tutorial, I will show you how to create an address book icon using Adobe Photoshop. I will begin by explaining how to set up a simple grid, and how to take full advantage of the Snap to Grid feature. Next, I will explain how to create a set of simple vector shapes and how to color them using basic Layer Style attributes and some Photoshop pattern presets. Finally, I will show you how to add subtle shading and highlights using basic blending techniques and simple effects. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Code
    Creative Coding
    Using a Custom Post Type to Create a Home Page BannerUsing a custom post type to create a home page banner
    Sometimes it's useful to have a nice obvious banner on your site's home page—for announcements, snippets that aren't long enough to merit a blog post, or links to new content within the site. But you don't want to be editing your homepage content every time you add a new piece of content, nor do you want to be delving into the code to add content.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Interface
    Create a Mobile Downloader App Interface in Photoshop45
    Photoshop is a fantastic app to create mockups for mobile applications. Its vector tools, combined with Layer Style effects, allow designers to quickly create layouts for their projects. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a downloader app design for an iPhone, in Photoshop. Once completed, you will have a good understanding of how to create modern interface elements, as well as, charts and graphs in Photoshop. Let's get started!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Illustration
    Create a Traditional Russian Khokhloma Ornament in IllustratorKhokhloma round tut 400
    In this tutorial we are going to create a shiny pendant with a Khokhloma design – the famous traditional Russian ornament, which was widely used for ware and furniture decoration. We'll be using simple yet spectacular effects, blends and self-made brushes in Adobe Illustrator. Let's bring folk art to the masses!Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Create a Kaleidoscope Effect in Photoshop0943 kaleidoscope preview400 21
    Photography is a skill that I believe most designers should have at least a fundamental understanding of. You never know when you might need to run out and shoot a photo of your own for a project. Personally, I love to shoot photos, and it is nice to have a good catalog of photos in my arsenal, just in case.Read More…
  • Design & Illustration
    Designing
    Create a Mixed Martial Arts Event Flyer in Photoshop0953 fight preview400
    Most of you have probably seen event posters displayed in your area promoting a boxing, mixed martial arts (MMA), Ultimate Fighter, or wrestling match. In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a similar event poster in Photoshop using several techniques including photo manipulation, retouching, and typography. Let's get started!Read More…