Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe Illustrator
Design

إنشاء عناصر مستوحاة من الحناء لملصق مهرجان في Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mayar shaheen (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

ما سوف تعمل

الحناء ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين ليسوا على دراية بها ، هي صبغة طبيعية نباتية ، تستخدم في الغالب لصبغ الشعر والجلد والأقمشة الطبيعية. يشيع استخدامها في المناطق الساخنة في العالم ، مثل الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا وجنوب آسيا ، وكانت هذه الصبغة أيضًا وسيلة لتبريد الجسم ، وكذلك وسيلة لتزيين اليدين والقدمين بفن جسم غير دائم.

غالبًا ما يتم استخدام هذا اللون البني الفاتح إلى الشوكولاتة الداكن أو لون صبغة بني محمر في حفلات الزفاف ، احتفالات الأعياد والحب. على مر السنين ، إلا أنها اكتسبت التقدير في البلدان الأخرى كشكل فني جميل ليتم تقديمه للمتعة وليس بالضرورة في أي مناسبة. الوشم الحناء الفن هي وسيلة آمنة للغاية وممتعة مطلقا في تصميم فن الجسم غير مؤلم دون التزام!

تتكون تصميمات الحناء الفنية عمومًا من أشكال نباتية معقدة ، إلى جانب أوراق الشجر والطيور وأنماط بيزلي إلى جانب الأشكال الأساسية مثل الدوائر والمثلثات وقطرات الدموع والخطوط الدقيقة والنقاط.

في جزء من هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، سوف نتعلم كيفية إنشاء ضربات فرشاة حرة ، لإنشاء ملصق مستوحى من فن الحناء. سنتعلم تتبع العمل الفني من خلال تقديم الأدوات والتحسينات الجديدة في Adobe Illustrator CC ، مثل أداة Pencil Tool الجديدة ، و Live Corner Widgets، بالإضافة إلى الاندماج في الأدوات الأكثر تقليدية لإنشاء تأثير مرسوم باليد ، في الملصق .

1. رسم وإعداد ملف

الخطوة 1

لبدء الملصق الخاص بنا ، نحتاج إلى رسم التصميم.

خذ ورقة A4 ، وقم بتشغيل خط من خلال المركز لتقسيم المساحة الفنية. نحتاج فقط إلى رسم نصف الورقة ، لأننا سنعكس الصورة النهائية لتتناسب مع تخطيط الملصق.

سنقوم برسم النصف العلوي من منطقة الرأس وعلى النصف السفلي ، قررت تتبع يدي لتمثيل فن الحناء اليدوي. إن الشيء الرائع في فن الحناء هو أنك لست بحاجة إلى أن تكون فنانًا ماهرًا ، وأن تصمم تصميمات جميلة!

المفتاح هو أن تبدأ بعنصر رئيسي واحد ، كما فعلت مع الطاووس في رسم بلدي ، والعمل في طريقك نحو هذا العنصر لملء المنطقة المطلوبة. تتمثل إحدى الإبهام حول الحناء في التكرار والتصميم المعقد والراسخ ، لذا عند رسم القطعة الخاصة بك ، تأكد من الاحتفاظ بها بشكل دقيق مع أزهار ، وخطوط رفيعة ، وأنماط متدفقة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكنك إضافة المزيد من العناصر الأساسية مثل الدوائر والدوامات والنقاط وقطرات الدموع.

بمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك ، قم بمسح وحفظ ونقل إلى Illustrator CC .

الخطوة 2

افتح إصدار Illustrator CC (17.1) ، وقم بإنشاء ملف جديد File> New (Command-N ).

املأ الاسم ، باسم "Henna_Art_Poster". حدد ، طباعة ، الحجم ليكون A3 ، لحجم الملصق المناسب ، وموافق . ضع في رسمك ، باستخدام اختصار Place الجديد ( Command-Shift- P ) ، وقمبتوسيعه ووضعه على لوح الرسم بشكل صحيح.

في لوحة Layers ، قم بتسمية الطبقة الأساسية "Sketch" . انقر على القائمة الفرعية للوحة Layers ، وحدد Options for Sketch وتحقق من Dim Images إلى: 50٪ ، ثم OK . ثم قم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة ، أعلى طبقة Sketch ، وقم بتسميتها "Henna Art".

الآن وبعد استيراد ملفنا ، احفظملف> حفظ ( command- S) .

2. إعداد الادوات 

الخطوة 1

قبل أن نبدأ في تتبع الرسم ، نحتاج إلى إنشاء مجموعة من فرش الفن اليدوية. للقيام بذلك ، نحتاج إلى معرفة بعض الشيء عن أداة القلم الرصاص (N) لإنشاء فرش الفن تلك. تُعد أداة القلم الرصاص (N) من Illustrator مثالية لرسم التصميمات ذات الشكل الحر ، وتمنح هذا التأثير الرائع المرسوم يدويًا على الأشكال والمسارات ؛ بديل مفيد لاستخدام أداة القلم (P). على أداة قلم رصاص (N )، ويسمح لك لرسم خطوط مستقيمة وخطوط تفصيلية على نحو سلس وناعم، يعيد خطوط ومسارات أيضا لصناعة السيارات في وثيقة! إذا لم تستخدمها كثيرًا من قبل ، فستحب أداة Pencil Tool الآن!

دعونا نقوم باختباره.

    ا. حدد أداة القلم الرصاص (N) ، وحاول رسم خط توزيع ورق مجاني. سيتم تقديم الأداة بعلامة نجمية (*) بجانبها.
    ب. لرسم خط مستقيم: يستدعي الخيار خطًا مستقيمًا ، يتم تقديمه بواسطة رمز القلم الرصاص بشرطة (__). الآن إذا قمت بضغط مفتاح Option-Shift ، فسيقيد الخط المستقيم إلى 0 ° ، 45 ° ، 90 °.
    ج. إذا قمت بالنقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الأداة ، فستقوم بفتح مربع الحوار " خيارات أداة القلم الرصاص " ، حيث ستجد منزلق Fidelity . fidelity يسمح لك بإنشاء خطوط أكثر سلاسة. كلما كان Fidelityأعلى ، قلت نقاط الإرساء وسلاسة الخط.
    د. يمكنك ببساطة إغلاق مسار نشط باستخدام أداة القلم الرصاص (N) ، عن طريق إعادة المؤشر إلى نقطة النهاية. ستظهر دائرة صغيرة (°) بجوار رمز القلم الرصاص للإشارة إليها ، وتغلق المسار تلقائيًا. إذا اخترت إغلاق نقاط النهاية للمسار ، عند عدد معين من البكسلات بين الآخر ، فيمكنك وضع عدد محدد مسبقًا من البيكسلات ، في شاشة خيارات أداة القلم الرصاص > داخل الحقل.
    ه. لديك أيضًا القدرة على الاستمرار في رسم مسار نشط عن طريق رسم نقاط النهاية ، أو دمج المسارات من خلال متابعة المسار إلى نقطة النهاية الأخرى - المقدمة بواسطة رمز القلم الرصاص بخط مائل (/).

الخطوة 2

بمجرد الحصول على تعليق أداة Pencil Tool (N ) ، ابدأ في تقديم أشكال عضوية مرسومة باليد لإنشاء ضربات فرشاة الحناء.

الحناء عبارة عن عجينة سائلة ، لذلك ستحتاج إلى إنشاء فرشاة تشبه السوائل أو شكل دائري لتقديم النموذج. ضع في اعتبارك عدم إضافة العديد من نقاط الربط إلى الفرشاة الفنية التي تم إنشاؤها ، للحفاظ على السيولة عندما نتتبع الرسم.

الخطوه 3

باستخدام لوحة Brushes F5 ) أو Window> Brushes ، افتح. قم بإسقاط فرشاة الرسم التي تم إنشاؤها لأول مرة واسحبها على لوحة Brushes ، وسوف يظهر مربع حوار New Brush . حدد فرشاة الفن ، وموافق . يظهر مربع الحوار Art Brush Options . قم بتسمية الضربة الأولى، وفقا للميزات:  بالنسبة لي  "مزدوجة رقيقة"، حدد " Stretch to Fit Stroke Length"، مع العرض ثابت " ، و التلوين من الصبغات ، ولذا فإننا يمكن أن تعطي لونا لون في مرحلة لاحقة.  تم إنشاء الفرشاة الأولى.

قم الآن بنفس الخطوات الخاصة بالفرش الفنية الثانية والثالثة التي تم إنشاؤها. يسمى الثاني "Round Tips" ، والثالث هو "Rounded" ، والفرش جاهزة. اختبر فرشك الفنية التي قمت بإنشائها للحصول على الطمأنينة ، فهي توفر لها الحفاظ على التأثير الذي تحتاجه. الآن وقد تعلمنا بتات الأدوات والخيارات الإضافية التي يمكننا العمل بها ، يمكنك البدء في التتبع.

3. تتبع رسم الخاص بك

الخطوة 1

لبدء التتبع ، نحتاج إلى البدء بالأجزاء الأكبر من المخطط قبل أن نضيف التفاصيل المعقدة. وذلك باستخدام أداة القلم ()، مع لون أسود من 1.5 نقطة، و ملء بلا شيء، قم بتطبيق "مدور" الفن فرشاة من لوحة الفرش ، وتعقب على الخطوط العريضة اليد.

هناك وظيفة رائعة جديدة في Illustrator CC (محدث 17.1) ، حيث يمكنك الآن بسهولة تعديل زوايا الأشكال والمسارات في عملك الفني. باستخدام أداة التحديد المباشر (A) ، حدد نقطة أو أكثر من نقاط ربط الزاوية وستشاهد بعض عناصر التحكم الجديدة تظهر ، والتي تسمى Live Corner Widgets (يتم تقديمها بواسطة دائرة ونقطة في المنتصف). حدد أيًا من أدوات Live Corner Widgets لتغيير شكل الزاوية ، وذلك بالنقر المزدوج عليها.  سوف  تظهر نافذة الحوار على السطح، حيث يمكنك الاختيار من بين ثلاثة أنواع للزاوية - مدور، مدور مقلوب، أو غرفة، ويمكن تعيين قيمة الدقيقة لدائرة نصف قطرها التقريب لزوايا محددة، من زوايا نافذة الحوار أو تحكم لوحة.

أيضًا لديك خيار سحب عناصر Live Corner Widgets لضبط الزوايا. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن تقريبها أبعد من نهاية المسار أو النقطة المجاورة. وسيتم تسليط الضوء على أعلى نقطة ممكنة من التقريب باللون الأحمر.

بالنسبة للاختصارات المختصرة ، تعمل مفاتيح الأسهم لأعلى ولأسفل أثناء سحب عنصر واجهة مستخدم Live Corners على تغيير أنماط الزاوية (Round ، Round Mvert and Chamfer). الخيار + تحديد Live Corners Widgets ، يغير أيضًا أنماط الزاوية.

بمجرد حصولك على تعليق أداة Pencil Tool (N) و Live Corners Widgets، استخدم Pencil Tool (N) لتتبع جميع العناصر الأكبر في المخطط. جرِّب التباين باستخدام الفرش الفنية من لوحة Brushes ووزن الحد من لوحةStrokes ، حتى تحصل على النتيجة التي أنت راضٍ عنها ، في الزخرفة. عملية التتبع هذه هي عملية تجريبية وخطأ ، لذلك ستحتاج إلى اختبار الفرشاة الفنية وأي ضربة تعمل بشكل أفضل لتصميمك.

الخطوة 2

بمجرد وضع التفاصيل الأكبر ، استخدم أداة الرسام (B) لتتبع العمل التفصيلي. لا تستخدم أداة القلم (P) لأنك ستفقد تأثير التجسيد اليدوي. عند التتبع ، قد تحتاج إلى ضبط الوزن  ، في خانة الميزات فرشاة الفن المختارة هي كبيرة أو الشكل.

عند الانتهاء من ذلك ، قم بتلطيف حدودك باستخدام أداة Smooth Tool. و أداة السلاسة تساعدك على تذليل وتعديل المسار المحدد، من خلال الاعتماد على أكثر من ذلك. قم بالوصول إلى أداة Smooth Tool بالنقر فوقها في لوحة الأدوات . امسك command للوصول مؤقتًا إلى أداة التحديد (V) . انقر لتحديد هذا المسار ، ثم اترك زر cpmmand ،

يجب أن تبدأ أعمالك الفنية في الظهور في هذه المرحلة.

الخطوه 3

ستلاحظ أنني تركت النقاط ، وبعض النماذج الشبيهة بالورق ، لأنني أريد تحويل هذه العناصر إلى أشكال وليس مسارات. لهذا السبب ، لإنشاء النقاط في التصميم ، استخدم Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B) . إنه مشابه لعلامة الأطراف: مرح وسريع ويساعد في إنشاء أشكال صلبة. ما عليك سوى اختيار لون حامل الأسود، مع عدم وجود ضربات فرشاة ، و ملء في الاختيارات الفنية التي تريد شغلها.

بالتزامن مع أداة Blob Brush Tool (Sh ift-B) ، تُستخدم أداة Eraser (Shift E) لنقش الأشكال من النقطة. لإدارة حجم فرشاة النقطة ، اضغط مع الاستمرار على مفتاح القوس المربع الأيسر ([) ، لتقليص حجم الفرش وشريحة المربع اليمنى (]) ، للتكبير.

الخطوة 4

بالنسبة للنماذج الشبيهة بالورق والدموع ، استخدم أداة القلم (P) ، لأن لها نهايات مدببة. بمجرد الانتهاء من ذلك ، حدد طبقة Sketch من لوحة Layers ، واسحبها إلى سلة المهملات ، حتى تتمكن من رؤية التصميم بشكل مرئي بشكل أفضل. يمكنك الآن استخدام الأدوات التي استخدمناها في التتبع ، لملء الفراغات الفارغة ، وتصحيح التصميم وتسهيل الحركة على العمل الفني. تغيير عرض الخطوط الخاصة بك لتحقيق الشكل الذي كنت راضيا. بمجرد الانتهاء ،نحن على استعداد للون.

الخطوة 5

تطبيق اللون ، في Illustrator CC ، أصبح أكثر برودة مع Kuler . يساعد التطبيق المستند إلى مجموعة النظراء ، والمتوفر على iTunes ، في إنشاء سمات ألوان من محيطنا ، باستخدام كاميرا iPhone. قم بتنزيل التطبيق وتسجيل الدخول باستخدام معرف Adobe الخاص بك وقم ببساطة بتوجيه الكاميرا لاستخراج الألوان من بيئتك. بالنسبة لألوان الحناء ، التقطت لقطات من بشرتي ، وفراء دوبرمان ، وشجر الأشجار من الحديقة ، لالتقاط درجات اللون البني المحمر. يقوم Kuler تلقائيًا بإنشاء سمات الألوان وحفظها ومزامنتها مع حسابك.

قم بالوصول إلى لوحة Kuler إما من لوحة Swatches بالنقر فوق أيقونة Kuler أو Window> Kuler ، وابدأ تطبيق الألوان على الحدود والتعبئات. قد تضطر إلى إعادة ترتيب ترتيب بعض المسارات والكائنات ، أمام العناصر الأخرى أو خلفها لأسباب جمالية. العب مع التصميم الخاص بك واختبر الألوان التي تناسبك أكثر لتحقيق النتيجة التي تريدها.

4. Mirror and Save

الخطوة 1

والخطوة التالية هي عكس العمل الفني لجعله متناظرة. باستخدام Lasso Tool (Q) ، حدد العمل الفني العلوي الأيسر وسلم عمل Henna الفني. حدد أداة الانعكاس (O) (المخفية تحت أداة التدوير (R )) وقم بإعداد النقطة المرجعية المركزية في منتصف اللوحة القماشية ؛ Option-Shift- اسحب ثم حرر عندما يتم عكس الكائن بشكل صحيح في موضعه. (لا يقتصر هذا الاختصار على استنساخ الكائن المنعكس فحسب ، بل يستقر أيضًا على زاوية 45 درجة).

الخطوة 2

خطوتنا الأخيرة هي حفظ الملف في تنسيق Illustrator EPS ، حتى نتمكن من نقله إلى Photoshop ، بخلفية شفافة ، لمواصلة إضافة العناصر الأخرى لملصقنا. ملف> حفظ باسم . قم بتسمية ملفك "Henna_Poster_Artwork" ، وتأكد من استخدام Artboards، ولم يتم تحديده حتى لا يتم اقتصاص صورتك على الحدود ، واحفظها في الإصدار الذي يناسب إصدار Photoshop لديك. I حفظه في CS6 شكل غريس فوسيل ل إكمال النصف الثاني من الملصق التعليمي .

تهانينا انتهيت!

تجعل الميزات الجديدة في Illustrator CC (17.1) ، مع أداة Pencil Tool (N) و Live Corner Widgets والاختصارات والتحسينات ، برنامجًا رائعًا للعمل بشكل أسرع وتعديل التصميم والعمل مع سهولة. آمل أن تكون قد استمتعت بالبرنامج التعليمي ، وأنك تعلمت أن تقدم أشكالًا مرسومة يدويًا وتعديل عملك بكل بساطة.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Create Henna Inspired Elements for a Festival Poster in Adobe Illustrator

by

This Cyber Monday Tuts+ courses will be reduced to just $3 (usually $15). Don't miss out.

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

An Introduction to Henna

Henna, for those who are not familiar with it, is a natural plant-based dye, mostly used to dye hair, skin, and natural fabrics. Commonly used in the hot regions of the world, like the Middle East, Africa and Southern Asia, this dye was also a mode of cooling the body, as well as a way to decorate the hands and feet with non-permanent body art.

This naturally light brown to dark chocolate or reddish-brown dye color is often used in weddings, holiday and love celebrations. Over the years, however, it has gained appreciation in other countries as a beautiful art form to be applied for fun and not necessarily for any occasion. Henna art tattoos are a very safe and an absolute fun way of designing painless body art without the commitment!

Henna art designs are generally made up of intricate floral patterns, combined with leaves, birds, paisley patterns along with and not limited to basic shapes like circles, triangles, tear drops, fine lines and dots.

In part of this tutorial, we will learn to create freehand brush strokes, to create a henna art inspired poster. We will learn to trace the artwork by introducing the new tools and enhancements in Adobe Illustrator CC, like the new Pencil Tool, Live Corner Widgets, as well as integrating in the more traditional tools to create a natural hand-drawn effect, to the poster.

1. Sketch and File Setup

Step 1

To start with our poster, we need to sketch out a design. 

Take an A4 paper, and run a line through the center to divide the art space. We just need to sketch on half of the paper, because we will mirror the final image to fit the poster layout. 

We will be sketching the upper half of the header area and on the lower half, I have decided to trace my left hand to represent henna hand art. The wonderful thing about Henna art is you don’t need to be a skilled artist, to come up with a beautiful design! 

The key is to start with one main element, as I did with the peacocks in my sketch, and work your way around that element to fill in the desired area. A rule of thumb about Henna is repetition and lacy intricate design, so when sketching your piece, make sure you keep it delicate with paisleys, fine lines, and flowing patterns. In addition, you could add the more basic elements like circles, swirls, dots, and tear drops.

Once you are done, scan, save and move onto Illustrator CC.

Step 2

Open Illustrator CC (17.1) version, and create a new file File  > New (Command-N). 

Fill in the Name, as “Henna_Art_Poster”. Select, Print, Size to be A3, for poster fitting size, and OK. Place in your sketch, with the new Place shortcut (Command-Shift-P), scale and position it on your artboard properly.

In the Layers panel, name the primary layer “Sketch”.  Click the submenu of the Layers panel, and select Options for Sketch and check the Dim Images to: 50%, and OK. Then Create New Layer, on top of the Sketch layer, and name it “Henna Art”. 

Now that our file is imported, save: File > Save (Command-S).

2. Tool Set Up

Step 1

Before we start tracing the sketch, we need to create a couple of freehand style art brushes. To do so, we need to learn a bit about the Pencil Tool (N) to create those art brushes. Illustrator’s Pencil Tool (N), is ideal for sketching out freeform designs, and gives that great hand-drawn effect to shapes and paths; a useful alternative to using the Pen Tool (P). The Pencil Tool (N), allows you to draw straight lines, smooth and fine detailed lines, reshapes lines, and also auto-close paths! If you didn’t use it much before, you will love the Pencil Tool right now!

Let’s Test it.  

    a. Select the Pencil Tool (N), and try to draw a free hand line. The tool will be presented with an asterix (*) next to it.
    b. To draw a straight-line: Option invokes a straight line, presented by the pencil icon with a dash (__). Now if you Option-Shift key, it will constraint the straight line to 0°, 45°, 90°.
    c. If you double-click the tool it will open Pencil Tool Options dialog box, where will find the Fidelity slider. Fidelity allows you to create smoother lines. The higher the fidelity, the less anchor points and smoother the line.
    d. You can simply close an active path with the Pencil Tool (N), by moving your cursor back to the starting endpoint. A small circle (°) will appear next to the pencil icon to indicate it, and automatically it closes path. If you choose to close the endpoints of a path, at a specific number of pixels between the other, then you can place in a predefined number of pixels, in the Pencil Tool Options dialog box > Within field. 
    e. You also have the ability to continue drawing an active path by drawing over the end points, or merge paths by continuing the path to the other endpoint - presented by the pencil icon with a slash (/).

Step 2

Once you get the hang of the Pencil Tool (N), start to render organic, hand drawn shapes, to create the Henna brush strokes.

Henna is a liquid paste, so you would need to create a fluid-like art brush or circular shape to present the form. Keep in mind not to add many anchor points to the art brush created, to maintain fluidity when we trace over the sketch.

Step 3

With the Brushes panel (F5) or Window > Brushes, open. Drop and drag the first created art brush onto the Brushes panel, and a New Brush dialog box will pop up. Select Art Brush, and OK. Art Brush Options dialog box appear. Name your first stroke, according to it’s features: mine is “Double Round Thin”, select “Stretch to Fit Stroke Length”, with a “Fixed Width, and Colorization Method of Tints, so we can give a color hue to the strokes at a later stage. The first brush is created.

Now do the same steps for the second and third created art brushes. The second is called “Round Tips”, and third is “Rounded”, and your brushes are ready. Test your created art brushes to for reassurance, they give they maintain the effect you need. Now that we have learnt the tool bits and extra options we can work with, you can begin to trace.

3. Trace Your Sketch

Step 1

To start tracing, we need to start with the larger parts of the sketch before adding in the intricate detail. So using the Pen Tool (P), with a black Stroke of 1.5 pt, and Fill to none, apply the “Rounded” Art Brush from Brushes panel, and trace over the hand outline.

There’s a new cool function within Illustrator CC (updated 17.1), in which you can easily now edit the corners of shapes and paths in your artwork. With the Direct Selection Tool (A), select one or more of the corner anchor points and you will see some new control elements appear, which are called the Live Corner Widgets (presented by a circle and a point in the center). Select any of these Live Corner Widgets to change the shape of the corner, by double clicking on it. A Corners dialog window will pop up, where you can choose from three corner types - round, inverted round, or chamber, and you could set an exact value to the rounding radius for selected angles, from the Corners dialog window or Control panel.

Also you have the choice to drag the Live Corner Widgets to adjust the corners. However they cannot be rounded further than the end of the path or the neighboring point. The highest possible point of the rounding will be highlighted in red.

For short cuts, Up and Down Arrow Keys while dragging a Live Corners Widget changes corner styles (Round, Inverted Round and Chamfer). Option + selecting the Live Corners Widgets, also changes the corner styles.

Once you have gotten the hang of the Pencil Tool (N) and Live Corners Widgets, use the Pencil Tool (N) to trace over all the larger elements of the sketch. Try varying with art brushes from your Brushes panel and stroke weight from Strokes panel, until you achieve the result you are satisfied with, in the decoration. This tracing process is a trial and error process, so you would need to test out which art brush and which stroke works better for your design.

Step 2

Once the larger detail is placed in, use the Paintbrush Tool (B) to trace the detailed line-work. Don’t use the Pen tool (P) because you will lose the free-hand render effect. While tracing, you might need to adjust the stroke weight, from the Stroke panel, in case the selected art brush features are large for the stroke or shape.

When you are done, smooth out your strokes using the Smooth Tool. The Smooth tool helps you smooth out and modify a selected path, by drawing over it. Access the Smooth Tool by clicking on it in the Tools panel. Hold Command to temporarily access the Selection Tool (V). Click to select that path, release Command, and then smooth away!

You artwork should begin to pop out at this stage.

Step 3

You will notice I left out the dots, and some leaf-like forms that is because I want to turn these elements into shapes and not paths. For that reason, to create the dots in the design, use the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B). It is similar to a felt-tip marker: fun, quick and helps in creating solid shapes. Just select a black color swatch, with no Stroke, and Fill in the art selections you want filled.

In conjunction with the Blob Brush Tool (Shift-B), the Eraser tool (Shift E), is used to carve out shapes from your blob. To manage your blob brush size, hold left square bracket key ( [ ), to shrink the brushes size and the right square bracket ( ] ), to enlarge.

Step 4

For the leaf-like forms and teardrops, use the Pen Tool (P), because they have pointy ends. Once you are done, select the Sketch layer from your Layers panel, and drag it to the trash, so you can visually see the design better. Now you can use the tools we used for tracing, to fill in the empty spaces, correct the design and smooth out the movement to the artwork. Alter your stroke widths to achieve the look you are satisfied with. Once you are done, we are ready to color.

Step 5

Applying color, in Illustrator CC, has gotten cooler with Kuler. The cloud-based app, available on iTunes, is helpful in generating color themes from our surroundings, using the iPhone's camera. Download the app, sign in with your Adobe ID and simply point the cam to extract colors from your environment. For Henna colors I took snapshots of my skin, my Doberman’s fur, and tree stumps from the garden, to capture the brownish-reddish hues. Kuler automatically generates and saves the color themes and syncs them to your account.

Access the Kuler panel from either the Swatches panel by clicking the Kuler icon or Window > Kuler, and start applying color to your strokes and fills. You may have to re-arrange the order of some paths and objects, in front or behind other elements for aesthetical reasons. Play with your design and test out what colors work more for you to achieve the result you want.

4. Mirror and Save

Step 1

The next step is to mirror the artwork to make it symmetrical. With the Lasso Tool (Q), select the upper left artwork and hand Henna artwork. Select the Reflect Tool (O) (hidden under the Rotate Tool (R)) and set up the center reference point in the middle of the canvas; Option-Shift-Drag and release when the object is properly mirrored into position. (This shortcut not only clones the reflected object, but also snaps it to 45°angles.)

Step 2

Our final step is to save the file into an Illustrator EPS format, so we can move it onto Photoshop, with a transparent background, to continue to add the other elements of our poster. File > Save As. Name your file “Henna_Poster_Artwork”, make sure Use Artboards, is unchecked so your image is not cropped at the borders, and save it in the Version that fits the Photoshop version you have. I saved it in CS6 format for Grace Fussell to complete the second half of the poster tutorial.

Congratulation! You are Done!

The new features in Illustrator CC (17.1), with the Pencil Tool (N), Live Corner Widgets, shortcuts and enhancements, makes it a fantastic program to work faster, edit your design, and work with ease. I hope you enjoyed the tutorial, and have learned to render organic, hand drawn shapes and edit your work with simplicity.

Advertisement