Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Adobe InDesign
Design

إنشاء تخطيطات الصفحات الجميلة وغطاء ملفتة للنظر لكتاب الخيال للأطفال

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Book Templates .
How to Design a Vintage Book Cover
How to Create a Historical Fiction Book Cover in Adobe InDesign
This post is part of a series called Alice in Wonderland Week.
How to Create a Queen of Hearts Playing Card With Affinity Designer
Create an Alice in Wonderland Themed iPhone Wallpaper in Pixelmator

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Muhammad Hasrullah (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي سوف تظهر لك كيفية إنشاء غطاء ضرب تخطيطات الصفحات، فضلا عن الإبداع لكتاب للأطفال (في هذه الحالة إصدار محدث من 'أليس في بلاد العجائب'!). استخدام Adobe InDesign، سوف نستكشف كيفية التفكير خارج المربع مع الصور والطباعة يمكن جعل صفحات منضدة بأحرف مطبعية تقليديا أكثر إثارة. هذا البرنامج التعليمي يبحث في الأساليب التي يمكنك استخدامها للتخطيط والتصميم؛ الدروس التي يمكنك تطبيقها عند تجميع الخاص بك طباعة الكتاب أو الكتاب الإليكتروني.

شكرا جزيلا وينكلر ماري للمساهمة لها أمثلة رائعة للتخطيطات. يمكنك أن تتعلم كيفية إنشاء الخاصة بك أليس في بلاد العجائب الرسوم التوضيحية من دروس لها نشرت في وقت سابق اليوم.

1. إعداد تخطيط الغلاف

الخطوة 1

فتح InDesign، وحدد الملف > "مستند جديد". في نافذة "الوثيقة الجديدة" تعيين النية للطباعة وتعيين رقم من الصفحات إلى 1. قم بإلغاء تحديد صفحات متقابلة. تحت حجم الصفحة حدد مخصص.. من القائمة المنسدلة لفتح نافذة "حجم صفحة مخصص". اكتب تحت اسم 'أليس في Wonderland_Cover' وتعيين العرض إلى 277 مم والارتفاع إلى 216 ملم.

وهذا يسمح لعلى حجم صفحة داخلية من 135 ملم من 216 ملم الذي هو معيار صناعة للكتب ورقية الغلاف. في النسخة الخاصة بي من InDesign ملليمتر ووحدات تترجم تلقائياً إلى بيكا، ولكن في جميع أنحاء هذا البرنامج التعليمي سأقدم قائمة جميع الوحدات في ملليمتر. انقر فوق إضافة, ومن ثم موافق.

تعيين الهوامش العلوي واليمين واليسار إلى 20 مم والهامش السفلي إلى 25 مم. تعيين التسييل على جميع الأطراف إلى 3 مم. انقر فوق موافق.

الخطوة 2

اسحب توجيهي عمودية المسطرة الأيسر (الذهاب إلى عرض > "إظهار المساطر"، إذا لم تكن مرئية مسبقاً) إلى 135 ملم. اسحب المبدأ توجيهي ثاني إلى نقطة المركز، على 138.5 مم. اسحب توجيهي ثالثة إلى 142 ملم. وهذا يضع الحواف الخارجية ونقطة المركز من 7 مم عرض العمود الفقري.

الخطوة 3

من المسطرة الأيسر اسحب توجيهي إلى 115 مم (عرض الصفحة 135 ملم ناقص عرض الهامش 20 ملم) لإعداد الهوامش للغلاف الخلفي. كرر الغطاء الأمامي بواسطة سحب توجيهي إلى 162 مم.

يتم الآن إعداد النسب الأساسية لتغطية الخاصة بك--يمكنك البدء في إضافة محتوى.

2-تصميم الغلاف الأمامي

الخطوة 1

استخدم أداة الإطار المستطيل (F) لإنشاء إطار 95 مم في العرض. يمكن أن تختلف الارتفاع تبعاً لاختيار مكان الصورة. الجلوس الإطار ضد الهامش السفلي وملف > المكان. قم بتحديد الصورة المختارة (من الناحية المثالية صورة EPS مع خلفية شفافة إذا كانت تستخدم مكافحة ناقلات توضيح) ومفتوحة.

مع صورة الإطار المحدد، انقر فوق الخيار "ملء الإطار نسبيا" من لوحة التحكم الأعلى.


الخطوة 2

حدد أداة نوع (T)، وإنشاء إطار عرض 95 مم وارتفاعه 30 ملم. اكتب 'أليس في (الفقرة فاصل) العجائب' وحدد محاذاة إلى الوسط من لوحة التحكم الأعلى.

الآن يمكنك تحديد اثنين من الخطوط لإعطاء الغطاء نظرة ديناميكية. في هذا المثال، ذهبت لخط Serif مظهر كلاسيكي و EB Garamond خط Sans Serif الحداثة متناقضة، بونفينوكف. وسيعمل هذا المزيج جيد لهذا تتخذ مقرها في أليس في بلاد العجائب.

العودة إلى إطار النص قمت بإنشائها وقم بتمييز النص. اضبط الخط على BonvenoCF Light. تسليط الضوء على مجرد 'أليس في' وحدها، وتعيين "حجم الخط" إلى 55 نقطة، مما يؤدي إلى 66 نقطة وتتبع إلى 30. تسليط الضوء على 'العجائب'، قم بتعيين "حجم الخط" إلى 33 نقطة، مما يؤدي إلى 39 نقطة وتتبع إلى 30.


الخطوة 3

اذهب إلى نافذة > السكتة الدماغية لفتح لوحة السكتة الدماغية. حدد "أداة الخط" (\) واضغط على المفتاح Shift لسحب خط أفقي 90 ملم في العرض. في لوحة Stroke ، قم بتعيين الوزن إلى 0.35 ملم ، والحفاظ على الخط على هيئة Solid. ضع خط الوسط تحت العنوان.


الخطوة 4

إنشاء إطار نص ثاني 95 ملم في العرض باستخدام أداة نوع (T). أدخل عنوان فرعي ، في هذه الحالة ، 'Lewis Carroll's Traditional Tale Revisited' ، Align Center ، واضبط Font إلى EB Garamond Regular. تعيين حجم الخط إلى 16 نقطة.

ويتم تغطية الجبهة الخاصة بك بسيطة وملفتة للنظر! الآن بالنسبة للغطاء الخلفي للكتاب.

3. تصميم الغطاء الخلفي

الخطوة 1

باستخدام أداة الكتابة (T) ، يمكنك إنشاء إطار نص 95 ملم في العرض واستدارة الجزء العلوي من الإطار مقابل الهامش العلوي على الغلاف الخلفي. ينبغي الجلوس الإطار مركزياً على الغطاء الخلفي.

يمكنك إدراج دعاية مغالى فيها كتابك هنا ، أو انتقل إلى كتابة> تعبئة النص النائب الحالي في الوقت الحالي.

تمديد الإطار وصولاً إلى ما يزيد قليلاً على نصف الغطاء الخلفي وتقسيم النص إلى فقرتين. قم بتمييز كل النص وحدد Justify with Last Line Aligned Left من لوحة التحكم العليا. اضبط حجم الخط على 12 نقطة وقل إلى 14.4 نقطة. انتقل إلى Window> Type & Tables> Story لفتح لوحة Story. مع وضع المؤشر بين النص ، تحقق من محاذاة الهامش البصري.

قم بتمييز الفقرة الأولى وقم بتعيين "رقم أسطر الأحرف الاستهلالي" في لوحة التحكم العليا إلى 4. قم بتعيين الخط إلى عادي.

تمييز الفقرة السفلي وتعيين الخط المائل و "عدد سطور إسقاط الأحرف الاستهلالية" إلى 2. هذا مكان عظيم لإدراج اقتباس، استعراض أو كاتب السيرة الذاتية.

يمكنك أيضا إدراج شعار الموقع و/أو الرمز الشريطي في الجزء السفلي من الغلاف الخلفي إذا كانت ذات صلة.

4. تنسيق العمود الفقري

الخطوة 1

استخدام أداة نوع (T) لإنشاء إطار نص جديد 3 مم في الارتفاع، 25 مم في العرض. قم بإدراج 'اسم المؤلف'. تعيين الخط EB Garamond SC (أو استخدم خيار Caps الكل في لوحة تحكم الحرف لتقليد هذا) و "حجم الخط" إلى 11 نقطة. حدد الإطار، وانقر عنصر التحكم (Mac) أو انقر بالزر الأيمن (PC) وتحويل تحت > استدارة 90 درجة كلوكويسي. ضع الجزء العلوي من الإطار ضد الهامش العلوي، وتركزت أسفل العمود الفقري.

الخطوة 2

تحرير > نسخة > لصق هذا النص في الإطار، وتوسيع العرض إلى 57 مم والارتفاع إلى 3.5 ملم. تحرير النص لقراءة عنوان الكتاب (مثل 'أليس في بلاد العجائب') وتعيين الخط إلى "بونفينو CF الضوء". ضبط التعقب إلى 30. ضع إطار النص هذا حول في منتصف الطريق أسفل مركز العمود الفقري.

يمكنك أيضا إدراج شعار أو رسم توضيحي صغير في الجزء السفلي من العمود الفقري إلى الهامش السفلي--وهذا يمكن أن تضيف لمسة خاصة إلى التغطية الشاملة.

حسنا فعلت--تتم تغطية الكتاب الخاصة بك! الآن بالنسبة للداخل الصفحات.

5. إعداد مخطط الصفحات الداخلية

الخطوة 1

انتقل إلى الملف > مستند جديد. في نافذة "الوثيقة الجديدة" تعيين النية للطباعة وتعيين رقم من الصفحات إلى 3. الاحتفاظ "الصفحات التي تواجه" تحديد. تحت حجم الصفحة حدد مخصص.. من القائمة المنسدلة لفتح نافذة "حجم صفحة مخصص". اكتب تحت اسم 'أليس في Wonderland_Pages' وتعيين العرض إلى 135 مم والارتفاع إلى 216 ملم. انقر فوق إضافة, ومن ثم موافق.

تعيين الهوامش العلوي والداخل إلى 20 مم، خارج الهامش إلى 15 ملم والهامش السفلي إلى 25 مم. تعيين التسييل إلى 3 مم، ولكن اترك القيمة داخل في 0 ملم. انقر فوق موافق.

الخطوة 2

يمكننا إنشاء اثنين من الماجستير - واحد للصفحة الافتتاحية للفصل أو القسم ، والثاني للصفحات الرئيسية.

ضمان لوحة الصفحات المفتوحة عن طريق الذهاب إلى نافذة > الصفحات. سوف ترى أن أساسي أ تتكون من صفحتين جنبا إلى جنب كما تم إضافة انتشار تلقائياً في InDesign. في هذا الكتاب ، ستبدأ جميع فصولنا على الصفحة اليمنى ، لذا انقر على الصفحة اليسرى من A-Master واسحبها إلى أيقونة سلة المهملات في الزاوية اليمنى السفلية من لوحة الصفحات.

انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق صفحة A-Master لعرضها على الشاشة. اسحب توجيهي رأسي من المسطرة الأيسر إلى 69 ملم واسحب ثانية إلى 73 مم إلى وضع علامة خارج حواف عمودين للنص.

حدد أداة نوع (T) من أدوات لوحة التحكم واسحب لإنشاء إطار نص صغير 5 ملم في العرض و 4 مم في الطول. ضع هذه مركزياً بين المبادئ التوجيهية العمود (في جميع أنحاء ص 201 ملم موضع) والانتقال إلى نوع > إدراج حرف خاص > علامات > "رقم الصفحة الحالية". تعيين النص بمحاذاة إلى الوسط والخط Garamond EB اتفاقية استكهولم، وحجم الخط إلى نقطة 9.

الخطوة 3

اذهب إلى قائمة الصفحات > "رئيسية جديدة" لخلق حيز ماجستير ب 2-صفحة جديدة....

يمكنك نسخ من المبادئ التوجيهية وإطار نص رقم الصفحة ومضاعفتهم في المواقف ذات الصلة في هذا الحيز الثاني.

يمكنك أيضا إضافة بعض رؤوس الصفحات في أعلى كل صفحة لإعطاء الخاص بك الكتاب نظرة موحدة والمهنية. إنشاء إطار نص باستخدام "أداة الكتابة" حوالي 3.5 ملم في الطول و 100 ملم في العرض. ضع هذا بشكل مركزي أعلى الهامش العلوي في الصفحة اليمنى من B-Master. اكتب عنوان الكتاب بالأحرف الكبيرة، وتعيين النص بمحاذاة إلى الوسط، والخط على "ضوء CF بوفينوحجم الخط نقطة 7 وتتبع إلى 30.

استخدام "أداة الخط" (\) واضغط Shift لإنشاء خط حوالي 37 ملم في الطول. الحفاظ على خط رقيقة (ذهب ل 0.088 مم) وموقف هذا فقط أدناه نص الرأس لإعطائها إطار لطيفة.

تحرير> نسخ> قم بلصق إطار نص الرأس وخطه ، وقم بالتدوير في موضع المطابقة على الصفحة اليسرى من B-Master.

يمكنك تطبيق هذا سيد الصفحتان 2 و 3 هنا، بالإضافة إلى أية صفحات أخرى هي عدم فتح صفحات الفصل في كتابك.

6-إنشاء صفحة فصل فتح ديناميكية

الخطوة 1

تطبيق أساسي أ في 1 صفحة بالنقر والسحب على أيقونة صفحة أساسي أ لرمز الصفحة 1. انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق الصفحة 1 لكي يصل على الشاشة.

حدد أداة نوع (T) واسحب لإنشاء إطار نص 47 ملم في العرض و 5 ملم في الطول. قم بوضع هذا الإطار في الجزء العلوي من العمود الأيسر، مع الجزء العلوي من الإطار يستريح ضد الهامش العلوي.

اكتب رقم الفصل أو عنوان المقطع وتعيين الخط إلى بونفينو CF الضوء، وحجم 15 قرش وتتبع إلى 30. حدد "أحرف استهلالية كبيرة" من لوحة التحكم الأعلى.

استخدام "أداة الخط" (\) لإنشاء خط أقصر قليلاً من إطار النص، حوالي 46 ملم. تعيين الوزن إلى حوالي 0.3 مم وموقف توسيطه، تحت إطار النص فقط.

الخطوة 2

يمكن أن نطبق حرف استهلالي كبير إلى الحرف الأول من نص الفصل لإنشاء المصلحة. للقيام بذلك، ومع ذلك، نحن بحاجة إلى تمديد ارتفاع إطار النص خارج حدود الهوامش العمود. وقد يشمل ذلك قليلاً من التجربة والخطأ، ولكن تأثير طباعية كبيرة لاستخدام.

استخدام أداة نوع (T) لإنشاء إطار نص 47 ملم في العرض و 196 ملم في الطول. قد تحتاج إلى التصغير قليلاً لأنظر كامل الارتفاع. قم بوضع هذا الإطار ضمن مساحة العمود الأيسر، يستريح في الجزء السفلي من الإطار في الهامش السفلي.

يمكنك إدراج النص الفصل الخاص بك وتعيين الخط Garamond EB العادية. للآن سوف يكون أكثر قابلية للإدارة العمل فقط مع 5 الأولى أو حتى خطوط (أو الجملة الكاملة الأولى) من الفصل الخاص بك. ويمكن أن نضيف الباقي في وقت لاحق.

أن تبرر تحديد السطر الأخير محاذاة إلى اليسار. تعيين حجم الخط إلى 12 نقطة، وتفضي إلى 15 نقطة. الآن تسليط الضوء على الحرف الأول من النص، ثم انتقل إلى "عدد خطوط إسقاط الأحرف الاستهلالية" في "أعلى لوحة التحكم". تعيين القيمة إلى 9. وقد تم نسف رسالتكم الأولى لعرض العمود الأيسر.

الخطوة 3

لجعل الطباعة الخاصة حقاً على هذه الصفحة، يمكنك اللعب حولها مع مقابض، تتبع والمؤدية لخطوط لإعطاء نظرة ديناميكية للنوع، وسحب في السطر الأول من هذا الفصل لتأثير كبير. وهذا العمل جيد لكتب الأطفال خاصة، حيث قد يكون النص أقل مطولة وحجم نوع عموما يجب أن يكون أكبر.

في هذا المثال أبرزت 'هنا كان' وزيادة حجم الخط إلى 34 نقطة والرائدة إلى 43 نقطة. انسحبت المجموعة القصيرة التالية من الكلمات، وزيادة "حجم الخط" إلى 44 نقطة. تواصل من خلال النص بحجم (قد واجهت التحديات الخاصة بك مع أي من الكلمات الطويلة أو الواصلة) تجربة. وهذا سوف تبدأ في دفع أسفل النص في الجزء السفلي من الصفحة، ويمكنك أن تلعب مع وضع الإطار حتى تكون سعيدة.

رائع--أنها تبدو جيدة!

7. تصميم انتشار مع الطباعة الإبداعية

الخطوة 1

إظهار الصفحات 2 و 3 على الشاشة بالتمرير إلى أسفل. إنشاء إطارات النص اثنين باستخدام أداة نوع (T)، وقم بضبط حجم هذه لتناسب داخل الأعمدة اثنين في الصفحة 2. يمكنك إدراج النص المتبقي من الفصل الخاص بك في الإطار الأول. انقر فوق المربع الأبيض الصغير في الجانب السفلي الأيسر من الإطار، ثم انقر فوق داخل الإطار الثاني لربط الإطارات وتدفق النص في الإطار الثاني.

تعيين النص إلى ضبط مع "اليسار محاذاة السطر الأخير". تعيين الخط Garamond EB العادية، حجم الخط إلى 12 نقطة، وتفضي إلى 15 نقطة.

تسليط الضوء على الحرف الأول من الفقرة الأولى من النص وتعيين قيمة "عدد خطوط إسقاط الأحرف الاستهلالية" إلى 4. قد تحتاج إلى ضبط ارتفاع إطارات النص قليلاً للسماح بالسطر الأخير من النص الجلوس تماما في الهامش السفلي. تأكد من "محاذاة الهامش البصري" غير محدد للسماح للفقرة الأولى 'لزمه' في العمود.

الخطوة 2

الصفحة الثانية من الفصل الخاص بك يبدو الكلاسيكية والتقليدية. يمكن أن نقارن هذا ضد ملتوي المقابلة للصفحة.

يمكننا أن نحقق هذا باستخدام المصور لإنشاء شكل ناقلات الأمراض التي نحن يمكن أن تملأ مع النص. إقران هذا مع صورة ذات صلة يجعل مجموعة مثيرة.

استخدم أداة الإطار المستطيل (F) لإنشاء إطار صغير وموقفه هذا في أسفل يمين الصفحة. ملف > مكان وحدد صورة (يفضل أن تكون بالأبيض والأسود أو تدرج الرمادي، مع خلفية بيضاء أو شفافة، للحفاظ على الوهم في رواية قديمة الطراز)؛ انقر فوق فتح. استخدام "تعبئة الإطار تناسبياً" لتغيير حجم الصورة.

الخطوة 3

فتح الملف والمصور > جديد... لإنشاء مستند جديد. الآن لديك لممارسة بعض الخيال. ما هو الشكل ستعمل أيضا مع الصورة المختارة؟ يمكنك أن تجعل من واسعة بما يكفي لاستيعاب ما يكفي من النص؟

في هذا المثال إنشاء شكل بسيط 'بخار' باستخدام "أداة القوس"، وأعطاه ملء (لا تحتاج إلى إعطائها السكتة دماغية). حدد الشكل، والذهاب إلى تحرير > نسخة.

الخطوة 4

العودة إلى InDesign والذهاب إلى تحرير > لصق. يتم إسقاط الشكل المصور في وثيقة InDesign الخاصة بك. يمكنك تعيين التعبئة لأي عن طريق الذهاب إلى لوحة التحكم الأعلى.

الخطوة 5

باستخدام "أداة التحديد" (الخامس، الهروب)، قم بضبط حجم الشكل بتناسب لطيف على الصفحة 3. اضغط على المفتاح Shift الحفاظ على نسب الشكل. حدد أداة نوع (T)، وقم بتمرير المؤشر فوق الجزء العلوي من الشكل. سيتم تغيير المؤشر إلى مؤشر نوع؛ انقر مرة واحدة والشكل وتحولت إلى إطار نص.

ربط إطار النص الثاني على صفحة 2 بالشكل على الصفحة 3 بالنقر فوق المربع الأبيض الأيسر السفلي في العمود الثاني فوق مرة أخرى في الشكل. وسوف تدفق النص في الشكل.

قد تحتاج إلى إجراء بعض التعديلات على أبعاد الشكل مرة واحدة وقد أدرج النص. بذل قصارى جهدكم للتأكد من أن هناك لا توجد فجوات كبيرة بين أسطر من النص، وأن هناك لا توجد كلمات ضآلة.

الخطوة 6

أن الصفحات الثلاث الأولى من الفصل الخاص بك القيام به--أنها تبدو كبيرة!

يمكنك تكرار المبادئ في الخطوات 1-5 أعلاه لإنشاء تخطيطات الداخلية أكثر جمالا على الكتاب الخاص بك. النتائج سوف تعتمد على المحتوى الخاص بك والصور الخاصة بك والخاص بك الخيال. هنا مثال آخر للحصول على العصائر الإبداعية المتدفقة.

في هذا المثال، أنا خلقت شكل دوامة في Illustrator باستخدام "أداة الالتفاف"، كما كان من قبل، نسخ ولصق الشكل في InDesign ويستخدم النوع في "أداة المسار" (Shift-T) لتدفق النص إلى دوامة.

أنها طريقة رائعة ل visualising النسب أليس أسفل الحفرة الأرانب!

8. إعداد كتاب للطباعة أو الرقمية

الخطوة 1

وكان الهدف من هذا البرنامج التعليمي لتظهر لك بعض الطرق لإنشاء تخطيطات حيوية وملتوى لكتاب للأطفال. يمكنك استخدام الأفكار المقدمة هنا لإنشاء غطاء جميل والتخطيطات الخاصة بك.

مرة كنت قد وضعت معا كتابك كله، قد تحتاج إلى تصدير هذا كملف PDF تفاعلية للمشاركة عبر الإنترنت (الذهاب إلى ملف > تصدير > وحدد Adobe PDF (التفاعلية) من القائمة المنسدلة تنسيق؛ والتحقق من حيزات من القائمة التالية).

وبدلاً من ذلك، يمكنك إنشاء كتاب طباعة عن طريق الذهاب إلى ملف > تصدير > وتحديد Adobe PDF (طباعة) من القائمة المنسدلة. تحديد "جودة الطباعة" من القائمة المنسدلة-لأسفل مسبقاً Adobe PDF، والتحقق من كل علامات الطابعة من قائمة العلامات والتسييل.

عمل رائع، لقد انتهيت الآن!

أرجو أن وجدت هذا البرنامج التعليمي المفيد وقد أوحت لك بالذهاب في إنشاء كتاب للأطفال الخاصة بك.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Create Beautiful Page Layouts and a Striking Cover for a Children's Fiction Book

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

In this tutorial I’ll show you how to create a striking cover as well as creative page layouts for a children's book (in this case a modernized version of 'Alice in Wonderland'!). Using Adobe InDesign, we’ll explore how thinking outside of the box with typography and images can make classically typeset pages more exciting. This tutorial looks at techniques you can use for layout and design; lessons you can apply when putting together your own print book or eBook.

Many thanks to Mary Winkler for contributing her fantastic illustrations for the layouts. You can learn how to create your own Alice in Wonderland illustrations from her tutorial posted earlier today.

1. Set Up the Layout of the Cover 

Step 1

Open InDesign and select File > New Document. In the New Document window set the Intent to Print and set the No. of Pages to 1. Deselect Facing Pages. Under Page Size select Custom... from the drop-down menu to open the Custom Page Size window. Under name type ‘Alice in Wonderland_Cover’ and set Width to 277 mm and Height to 216 mm

This allows for an interior page size of 135 mm by 216 mm which is an industry standard for paperback books. In my version of InDesign Millimetre units are automatically translated into Picas, but throughout this tutorial I will list all units in Millimetres. Click Add, and then OK

Set the top, right and left margins to 20 mm and the bottom margin to 25 mm. Set the Bleed on all sides to 3 mm. Click OK.

Step 2

Drag a vertical guideline from the left-hand ruler (Go to View > Show Rulers, if not already visible) to 135 mm. Drag a second guideline to the centre point, at 138.5 mm. Drag a third guideline to 142 mm. This sets up the outer edges and centre point of a 7 mm width spine.

Step 3

From the left-hand ruler drag a guideline to 115 mm (the page width of 135 mm minus the 20 mm margin width) to set up the margins of the back cover. Repeat for the front cover by dragging a guideline to 162 mm.

The basic proportions of your cover are now set up - you can begin to add content.

2. Design the Front Cover 

Step 1

Use the Rectangle Frame Tool (F) to create a frame 95 mm in width. The height can vary depending on the image you choose to Place. Sit the frame against the bottom margin and File > Place. Select your chosen image (ideally an EPS image with a transparent background if using a vector illustration) and Open.

With the image frame selected, click the Fill Frame Proportionally option from the top control panel.


Step 2

Select the Type Tool (T) and create a frame 95 mm Width and 30 mm Height. Type ‘ALICE IN (paragraph break) WONDERLAND’ and select Align Center from the top control panel.

Now you can select a couple of fonts to give your cover a dynamic look. In this example, I went for a classic-looking Serif font, EB Garamond, and a contrasting modernist Sans Serif font, BonvenoCF. This combination will work really well for this modernised take on Alice in Wonderland.

Return to the text frame you’ve created and highlight the text. Set the Font to BonvenoCF Light. Highlight just ‘ALICE IN’ alone and set the Font Size to 55 pt, Leading to 66 pt and Tracking to 30. Highlight ‘WONDERLAND’, set the Font Size to 33 pt, Leading to 39 pt and Tracking to 30.


Step 3

Go to Window > Stroke to open the Stroke panel. Select the Line Tool (\) and hold Shift to drag a horizontal line 90 mm in Width. In the Stroke panel set the Weight to 0.35 mm, and maintain the line as Solid. Place the line centered beneath the heading.


Step 4

Create a second text frame 95 mm in Width using the Type Tool (T). Insert a sub-heading, in this case, ‘Lewis Carroll’s Traditional Tale Revisited’, Align Center, and set the Font to EB Garamond Regular. Set the Font Size to 16 pt.

Your simple and striking front cover is done! Now for the back cover of the book.

3. Design the Back Cover 

Step 1

Using the Type Tool (T) create a text frame 95 mm in Width and rest the top of the frame against the top margin on the back cover. The frame should sit centrally on the back cover.

You can insert your book’s blurb here, or go to Type > Fill with Placeholder Text for now. 

Extend the frame down to just over half of the back cover and split the text into two paragraphs. Highlight all the text and select Justify with Last Line Aligned Left from the top control panel. Set the Font Size to 12 pt and Leading to 14.4 pt. Go to Window > Type & Tables > Story to open the Story panel. With your cursor sat amongst the text, check Optical Margin Alignment.

Highlight the first paragraph and set the Drop Cap Number of Lines in the top control panel to 4. Set the Font to Regular.

Highlight the bottom paragraph and set the Font to Italic and the Drop Cap Number of Lines to 2. This is a great place to insert a quote, review or author biography.

You can also insert a logo, website, and/or barcode at the bottom of the back cover if relevant.

4. Format the Spine

Step 1

Use the Type Tool (T) to create a new text frame 3 mm in Height, 25 mm in Width. Insert ‘Author Name’. Set the Font as EB Garamond SC (or use the All Caps option in the Character control panel to imitate this) and the Font Size to 11 pt. Select the frame, Control-click (Mac) or right-click (PC) and under Transform > Rotate 90 degrees Clockwise. Rest the top of the frame against the top margin, centered down the spine.

Step 2

Edit > Copy > Paste this text frame and extend the Width to 57 mm and the Height to 3.5 mm. Edit the text to read the book’s title (e.g. ‘ALICE IN WONDERLAND’) and set the Font to Bonveno CF Light. Adjust the Tracking to 30. Position this text frame about halfway down the center of the spine.

You can also insert a logo or small illustration at the bottom of the spine against the lower margin - this can add a special touch to the overall cover.

Well done - your book cover is done! Now for the inside pages.

5. Set Up the Layout of the Interior Pages

Step 1

Go to File > New Document. In the New Document window set the Intent to Print and set the No. of Pages to 3. Keep Facing Pages selected. Under Page Size select Custom... from the drop-down menu to open the Custom Page Size window. Under name type ‘Alice in Wonderland_Pages’ and set Width to 135 mm and Height to 216 mm. Click Add, and then OK

Set the top and inside margins to 20 mm, outside margin to 15 mm and the bottom margin to 25 mm. Set the Bleed to 3 mm, but leave the Inside value at 0 mm. Click OK.

Step 2

We can create two Masters - one for the opening page of a chapter or section, and a second for the main pages.

Ensure the Pages panel is open by going to Window > Pages. You will see that an A-Master consisting of two pages combined as a spread has been automatically added in InDesign. In this book all our chapters will start on a right-hand page, so click on the left-hand page of the A-Master and drag it to the trash icon at the bottom right-hand corner of the Pages panel.

Double-click the A-Master page to bring it up on screen. Drag a vertical guideline from the left-hand ruler to 69 mm and drag a second to 73 mm to mark out the edges of two columns for text.

Select the Type Tool (T) from the tools control panel and drag to create a small text frame 5 mm in Width and 4 mm in Height. Position this centrally between the column guidelines (at around Y position 201 mm) and go to Type > Insert Special Character > Markers > Current Page Number. Set the text to Align Center, Font to EB Garamond SC, and Font Size to 9 pt.

Step 3

Go to the Pages Menu > New Master... to create a new 2-page B-Master spread. 

You can copy the guidelines and page number text frame and duplicate them in the relevant positions on this second spread.

You can also add some page headers at the top of each page to give your book a unified and professional look.  Create a text frame using the Type Tool about 3.5 mm in Height and 100 mm in Width. Position this centrally above the top margin on the right-hand page of the B-Master. Type the book title in uppercase letters and set the text to Align Center, Font to Boveno CF Light, Font Size to 7 pt and Tracking to 30.

Use the Line Tool (\) and hold Shift to create a line about 37 mm in length. Keep the line thin (I went for 0.088 mm) and position this just below the header text to give it a nice frame.

Edit > Copy > Paste the header text frame and line, and manouver into the matching position on the left-hand page of the B-Master.

You can apply this Master to Pages 2 and 3 here, plus any other pages that are not opening chapter pages in your book.

6. Create a Dynamic Opening Chapter Page

Step 1

Apply the A-Master to Page 1 by clicking and dragging the A-Master page icon to the Page 1 icon. Double-click Page 1 to bring it up on screen.

Select the Type Tool (T) and drag to create a text frame 47 mm in Width and 5 mm in Height. Position this frame at the top of the left-hand column, with the top of the frame resting against the top margin. 

Type the Chapter Number or Section Title and set the Font to Bonveno CF Light, Size to 15 pt and Tracking to 30. Select All Caps from the top control panel.

Use the Line Tool (\) to create a line slightly shorter than the text frame, around 46 mm. Set the Weight to around 0.3 mm and position it centered, just beneath the text frame.

Step 2

We can apply a dramatic Drop Cap to the first letter of the chapter text to create interest. To do this, however, we need to extend the Height of the text frame beyond the limits of the column margins. This may involve a bit of trial and error, but it’s a great typographical effect to use.

Use the Type Tool (T) to create a text frame 47 mm in Width and 196 mm in Height. You may need to zoom out a little to see its full Height. Position this frame within the right-hand column space, resting the bottom of the frame on the bottom margin. 

You can insert the text for your chapter and set the Font to EB Garamond Regular. For now it will be more manageable to just work with the first 5 or so lines (or first complete sentence) of your chapter. We can add the rest later. 

Select Justify with Last Line Aligned Left. Set the Font Size to 12 pt and Leading to 15 pt. Now highlight the first letter of the text and go to Drop Cap Number of Lines in the Top Control Panel. Set the value to 9. Your first letter has been blown up to the width of the right-hand column.

Step 3

To make the typography really special on this page, you can play around with the sizing, tracking and leading of lines to give a dynamic look to the type, and pull out the first line of the chapter for a dramatic effect. This can work really well for children’s books in particular, where text may be less lengthy and the size of type generally needs to be larger.

In this example I highlighted ‘here was a’ and increased the Font Size to 34 pt and the Leading to 43 pt. I pulled out the next short group of words and increased the Font Size to 44 pt. Continue through the text experimenting with size (you may encounter your own challenges with any long or hyphenated words). This will start to push down the text to the bottom of the page, and you can play around with the position of the frame until you are happy.

Awesome - it’s looking good!

7. Design a Spread with Creative Typography

Step 1

Bring up Pages 2 and 3 on screen by scrolling down. Create two text frames using the Type Tool (T) and adjust the size of these to fit within the two columns on Page 2. You can insert the remaining text of your chapter into the first frame. Click the small white box at the bottom right of the frame and click into the second frame to link the frames and flow the text into the second frame.

Set the text to Justify with Last Line Aligned Left. Set the Font to EB Garamond Regular, Font Size to 12 pt and Leading to 15 pt

Highlight the first letter of the first paragraph of text and set the Drop Cap Number of Lines value to 4. You may need to adjust the height of the text frames a little to allow the last line of text to sit perfectly on the bottom margin. Ensure Optical Margin Alignment is not checked to allow the first paragraph to ‘tuck’ into the column.

Step 2

The second page of your chapter looks classic and traditional. We can contrast this against a quirky opposite page. 

We can achieve this by using Illustrator to create a vector shape that we can fill with text. Pairing this with a relevant image makes an exciting combination. 

Use the Rectangle Frame Tool (F) to create a small frame and position this in the bottom right of the page. File > Place and select an image (preferably in black and white or grayscale, with a white or transparent background, to maintain the illusion of an old-fashioned novel); click Open. Use Fill Frame Proportionally to resize the image.

Step 3

Open Illustrator and File > New... to create a new document. Now you have to exercise some imagination. What shape would work well with your chosen image? Can you make it wide enough to accomodate enough text? 

In this example I created a simple ‘steam’ shape using the Arc Tool and gave it a Fill (you don’t need to give it a Stroke). Select the shape and go to Edit > Copy.

Step 4

Return to InDesign and go to Edit > Paste. The Illustrator shape is dropped into your InDesign Document. You can set the Fill to None by going to the top control panel. 

Step 5

Using the Selection Tool (V, Escape), adjust the size of the shape to fit nicely onto Page 3. You can hold Shift to maintain the proportions of the shape. Select the Type Tool (T) and hover the cursor over the top of the shape. The cursor will change to a type cursor; click once and the shape is turned into a text frame.

Link the second text frame on Page 2 to the shape on Page 3 by clicking the lower right-hand white box in the second column and clicking again in the shape. The text will flow into the shape. 

You may need to make some adjustments to the shape’s dimensions once the text has been included. Do your best to make sure there are no large gaps between lines of text and that there are no straggler words.

Step 6

That’s the first three pages of your chapter done - it’s looking great!

You can repeat the principles in Steps 1-5 above to create more beautiful interior layouts for your book. The results will be dependent on your content, your images and your imagination. Here’s another example to get your creative juices flowing.

In this example, I created a spiral shape in Illustrator using the Spiral Tool and, as before, copied and pasted the shape into InDesign and used the Type on a Path Tool (Shift-T) to flow the text onto the spiral. 

It’s a great way of visualising Alice’s descent down the rabbit hole!

8. Prepare your Book for Print or Digital

Step 1

The aim of this tutorial has been to show you some ways of creating dynamic and quirky layouts for a children’s book. You can use the ideas presented here to create your own beautiful cover and layouts. 

Once you have put together your whole book, you may want to export this as an Interactive PDF for sharing online (go to File > Export >and select Adobe PDF (Interactive) from the Format drop-down menu; and check Spreads from the subsequent menu). 

Alternatively, you can create a print book by going to File > Export > and selecting Adobe PDF (Print) from the drop-down menu. Select Press Quality from the Adobe PDF Preset drop-down menu, and check All Printer’s Marks from the Marks and Bleeds menu.

Awesome Work, You're Now Done!

I hope you have found this tutorial useful and has inspired you to have a go at creating your own children’s book.

Advertisement