7 days of PS Actions, graphics, templates & fonts - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Text Effects

Создаем текстовый эффект, вдохновленный бейсболом с помощью Адобе Иллюстратор

Scroll to top
Read Time: 10 mins

Russian (Pусский) translation by Mavka (you can also view the original English article)

Final product imageFinal product imageFinal product image
What You'll Be Creating

Фаны спорта отовсюду, в этом уроке вы научитесь создавать текстовый эффект, вдохновленный бейсболом. Вы начнете с подготовки текста, а затем воспользовавшись эффектами Рельеф и Внутреннее свечение вы сможете легко придать ему определенный объем. Далее вы создадите векторную текстуру и узорчатую кисть, с помощью которой вы добавите характерные бейсбольные швы.  Наконец, в списке дел - достижение изношенного и грязного вида, для которого мы воспользуемся программной художественной кистью. Закончим мы созданием травяного фона и дополнительных пучков травы вокруг букв. Давайте начнем!

1. Начнём новый проект

Запустите Адобе Иллюстратор и перейдите к Файл > Новый, чтобы открыть пустой документ. Введите имя файла, настройте размеры, выберите Пиксели как Единицы и Цветовой режим как RGB. Затем перейдите в меню Редактирование > Установки >Основные и установите Перемещение курсора на 1 рх, и перейдите к Единицам измерения, чтобы убедиться, что они установлены, как на следующем рисунке. Обычно я работаю с этими настройками, и они помогут вам в течение всего процесса рисования.

New documentNew documentNew document

2. Подготовим текст

Шаг 1

Возьмите инструмент Текст (T) и напишите "SPORT" на своем артборде, воспользовавшись шрифтом Cooper Black, Regular, размер 120 pt. Установите трекинг на 50, а потом выберите Разобрать оформление в меню Объект и Разгруппируйте (Shift-Control-G).

Type SPORTType SPORTType SPORT

Шаг 2

Выделите все буквы и добавьте Обводку 4,5 pt, воспользовавшись цветом на ваш выбор. Теперь выберите Разобрать оформление в меню Объект и Разгруппировать (Shift-Control-G), чтобы превратить обводку в заливку.

Сосредоточимся на букве "S". На этом этапе буквы должны состоять из черной формы и зеленой формы (обводка залита выбранным вами цветом).  Выберите обе формы и нажмите Объединить на панели Обработка контуров, чтобы объединить их в единую форму. Повторите то же самое для других четырех букв.

Add stroke to textAdd stroke to textAdd stroke to text

Шаг 3

Выделите букву "O" и перейдите к Объект> Составной контур> Отменить, затем удалите меньший эллипс из центра.

Release compound pathRelease compound pathRelease compound path

Шаг 4

Залейте букву "O" показанным радиальным градиентом и воспользуйтесь указанным бежевым цветом для остальных букв.

Color the textColor the textColor the text

Шаг 5

Выберите все буквы и перейдите к Эффект> Стилизация> Внутреннее свечение, примените показанные настройки и нажмите OK. Теперь я назову эти буквы: "оригинал S", "оригинал P", "оригинал O", "оригинал R" и "оригинал T".

Apply Inner Glow effect to textApply Inner Glow effect to textApply Inner Glow effect to text

3. Добавим к тексту объем

Шаг 1

Выделите все оригинальные буквы, а затем Скопируйте и вставьте На задний план (Control-B).  Удалите все имеющиеся атрибуты, нажав значок Очистить оформление внизу панели Оформление. Теперь залейте эти копии черным цветом, выделите Эффект> Эскиз> Рельеф, примените настройки с изображения ниже и нажмите ОК. На этом этапе вы не можете увидеть результат, но переходите к следующему шагу.

Apply Bas Relief effect to textApply Bas Relief effect to textApply Bas Relief effect to text

Шаг 2

Если вы сделаете оригинальные буквы невидимыми (нажимая на значок глаза рядом с каждой буквой на панели Оформление), вы сможете увидеть копии букв с эффектом Рельеф, примененным к ним. Для более деликатного вида сбавьте Непрозрачность до 65% для каждой буквы.

Apply Bas Relief effect to text 2Apply Bas Relief effect to text 2Apply Bas Relief effect to text 2

Шаг 3

Верните видимость оригиналам букв и установите для них Режим наложения Перекрытие.

Bas Relief effect resultBas Relief effect resultBas Relief effect result

Шаг 4

Если вы увеличите одну из букв, вы заметите, что эффект Рельеф, хоть это и неплохо, дает нам края с пикселизацией. Не волнуйтесь: мы можем это исправить с помощью простой маски. Сначала выделите все оригинальные буквы, а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на задний план (Control-B). Удалите с полученных копий заливку и обводку нажав значок Очистить оформление внизу панели Оформление.

Далее, сосредоточьтесь на первой букве. Выберите копию оригинала S, которую вы только сделали, вместе с буквой "S", в которой эффект Рельеф и перейдите к Объект> Обрезная маска> Создать (Control-7). В панели Слои вы увидите новую группу, которую я назвала "Рельеф" и "оригинал S", который всегда остается сверху.

Create sharp edges for textCreate sharp edges for textCreate sharp edges for text

4. Создаём текстуру

Шаг 1

Возьмите инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и нарисуйте большой прямоугольник над буквами. Например, мой составляет около 550 x 200 px. Выберите белый цвет заливки, затем перейдите к Эффект> Текстура> Витраж, примените параметры, показанные ниже и нажмите ОК.

Apply Stained Glass effectApply Stained Glass effectApply Stained Glass effect

Шаг 2

С помощью выделенного прямоугольника выберите Разобрать оформление, а затем перейдите к пункту Объект> Быстрая трассировка> Параметры трассировки. Сделайте следующее изменения и нажмите Трассировка, далее Разобрать оформление в меню Объект. Теперь наша текстура - вектор.

LIve TraceLIve TraceLIve Trace

Шаг 3

Если текстура все еще выделена, посмотрите размеры в панели Трансформировать. Вместо существующих размеров (независимо от их значения) введите 480 px в поле Ширина и 120 px в поле Высота. Это позволит уменьшить не только текстуру, но и сделать клетки меньше, что нам и необходимо.

Resize vector textureResize vector textureResize vector texture

Шаг 4

Установите для текстуры Режим наложения Перекрытие и 20% Непрозрачности (1). Выберите "оригинал S", "оригинал P", ..., "оригинал" T ", а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F) все буквы. Удалите все существующие атрибуты и переместите их вперед, перейдя в пункт Объект> Монтаж> На передний план (Shift-Control-]). С этими пятью все еще выбранными копиями, перейдите к пункту Объект> Составной контур> Создать (Control-8) (2). Теперь выберите новый составной контур (без обводки и заливки) вместе с текстурой и перейдите к Объект> Обрезная маска> Создать (Control-7) (3).

Mask the vector textureMask the vector textureMask the vector texture

Шаг 5

Откройте панель Слои и найдите текстуру под только что созданной маской. Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F), измените цвет заливки с черного на белый, а затем переместите ее на 1 px вверх и на 1 px влево, нажав клавишу Стрелка вверх / Стрелка влево на клавиатуре один раз. Установите Режим наложения на Нормальный, но Непрозрачность на 20%.

Duplicate the vector textureDuplicate the vector textureDuplicate the vector texture

5. Создаём узорчатую кисть бейсбольных стежков

Шаг 1

Возьмите Перо (P) и нарисуйте лепесткоподобную форму, плоскую внизу.  Для примера, моя форма составляет примерно 12 x 33 px, то есть достаточно мала (1).  Воспользуйтесь параметром Поворот на панели Трансформировать, чтобы повернуть эту форму на -15 градусов (2), затем перейдите к Объект> Трансформировать> Зеркальное отражение, установите Горизонтальную ось и нажмите Копировать.  Расположите две формы, как на картинке, с немного накладывающимися внутренними углами (3).  Переместите некоторые внутренние точки, чтобы получить относительно прямую линию по центру, как показано направляющей линией (4). Наконец, нарисуйте два эллипса и отправьте их на задний план (5).

Create baseball stitch brushCreate baseball stitch brushCreate baseball stitch brush

Шаг 2

Прежде чем продолжить, убедитесь, что две лепесткоподобные формы, залиты одинаковым цветом (фиолетовый), и оба овала также заполнены одним и тем же цветом (зеленым). Теперь выделите все и перетащите на панель Кисти, чтобы сохранить Новую узорчатую кисть.  В открывшемся окне введите название для кисти и оставьте настройки по умолчанию.

Create baseball stitch brush 2Create baseball stitch brush 2Create baseball stitch brush 2

6. Создаём стежки на тексте

Шаг 1

Примените Перо (P) или Карандаш (N) чтобы создать два слегка изогнутых пути на каждой букве, как на картинке. Используйте показанный цвет обводки, и установите Толщину обводки на 0,5 pt.

Apply baseball stitch brushApply baseball stitch brushApply baseball stitch brush

Шаг 2

С все еще выбранным десятью путями, примените Добавить новую обводку в выпадающем меню на панели Оформление. Это позволит добавить вторую обводку над первой, и теперь вы можете воспользоваться узорчатой кистью Бейсбол-Стежок. Установите значение Толщины обводки на 1 pt, а затем дважды нажмите на примененной кисти в панели Оформление, чтобы открыть окно Параметры обводки. В поле Масштаб введите 20% и нажмите OK.

Apply baseball stitch brush 2Apply baseball stitch brush 2Apply baseball stitch brush 2

Шаг 3

Теперь давайте покрасим бейсбольные швы. Но сначала выделите все обведенные пути и примените Разобрать оформление в меню Объект. Увеличьте размер буквы "S", затем выберите при помощи Прямого выделения (A) только одну фиолетовую фигуру и перейдите к Выделение> По общему признаку> С одинаковым цветом заливки. В результате будет выбрано все фиолетовые фигуры, и вы сможете заполнить их все одновременно показанным радиальным градиентом.

Color the baseball stitchesColor the baseball stitchesColor the baseball stitches

Шаг 4

Выберите только один из зеленых эллипсов, далее Выделение> По общему признаку> С одинаковым цветом заливки. В результате будут выделены все зеленые эллипсы, и вы сможете залить их показанным радиальным градиентом.

Color the baseball stitches 2Color the baseball stitches 2Color the baseball stitches 2

Шаг 5

Пришло время добавить немного теней. Возьмите инструмент Перо (P) или Карандаш (N) и снова нарисуйте по два пути на каждой букве. Обратите внимание, что один из путей проходит по внутренней стороне стежка, а другой - по внешней стороне второго стежка (1). Имейте это в виду, когда рисуете пути.

Примените черную Обводку 1 pt для этих десяти путей, далее Эффект> Размытие> Размытие по Гауссу и используйте Радиус 1,5 px (2). Установите всех них Непрозрачность 40%, чтобы получить более нежную тень (3).

Add shadow for stitchesAdd shadow for stitchesAdd shadow for stitches

Шаг 6

Далее мы создадим немного масок, и я воспользуюсь для примера буквой "S". Выберите "оригинал S", а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F). Удалите все существующие атрибуты и отправьте их На передний план, перейдя в меню Объект> Монтаж> На передний план (Shift-Control-]) (1). Теперь выберите эту копию буквы вместе с двумя швами и двумя путями тени (2), затем выберите Объект> Обрезная маска> Создать (Control-7).  Вы можете назвать полученную группу "Швы S" в панели Слои.

Mask baseball stitchesMask baseball stitchesMask baseball stitches

Шаг 7

Повторите предыдущий шаг для других букв, и теперь у вашего текста должны получиться чистые края.

Mask baseball stitches 2Mask baseball stitches 2Mask baseball stitches 2

7. Создаём изношенный/грязный вид

Шаг 1

Возьмите Перо (P) или инструмент Отрезок линии (\) и нарисуйте прямой путь поверх каждой буквы, как на следующем изображении. Выберите черный цвет заливки, далее в меню Библиотеки кистей> Художественный> Художественный_МелУгольКарандаш, найдите кисть Chalk Art Brush. Воспользуйтесь им, чтобы обвести эти пять путей, и установите Толщину обводки на 2 pt.

Use Chalk Art BrushUse Chalk Art BrushUse Chalk Art Brush

Шаг 2

Выберите "оригинал S", "оригинал P", ..., "оригинал T", а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F). Удалите все имеющиеся атрибуты и отправьте их наперед, перейдя в пункт Объект> Монтаж> На передний план (Shift-Control-]). Теперь сосредоточьтесь на букве "S". Выделите копию только что созданной буквы, вместе с обведенным путем и перейдите к пункту Объект> Обрезная маска> Создать (Control-7). Вы можете назвать полученную группу "Dirt S" в панели Слои.

Повторите то же самое для остальных букв, чтобы получить чистые края.

Use Chalk Art Brush 2Use Chalk Art Brush 2Use Chalk Art Brush 2

Шаг 3

Выберите обведенный путь над буквой "S" и установите Режим наложения Перекрытие. Сделайте то же для других четырех букв. При необходимости немного сбавьте Непрозрачность.

Use Chalk Art Brush 3Use Chalk Art Brush 3Use Chalk Art Brush 3

8. Добавим тень

Шаг 1

Выделите оригинальные буквы, а затем Скопируйте и Вставьте На задний план (Control-B). Удалите все существующие атрибуты и отправьте их на задний план, перейдя в пункт Объект> Монтаж> На задний план (Shift-Control-[). Примените указанный цвет заливки, далее Эффект> Стилизация, чтобы использовать эффект Тень четыре раза.

Add shadow to textAdd shadow to textAdd shadow to text

Шаг 2

Это настройки для четырех эффектов Тени:

Add shadow to text 2Add shadow to text 2Add shadow to text 2

9. Создаём травяной фон

Шаг 1

Сначала создайте новый Слой под слоем "BG" с текстовым эффектом. Возьмите инструмент Прямоугольник (M) и нарисуйте прямоугольник по размеру вашей монтажной области, что в моем случае составляет 600 x 400 px.  Примените указанный цвет заливки.

Create the grass backgroundCreate the grass backgroundCreate the grass background

Шаг 2

Скопируйте и Вставьте на передний план (Control-F) один и тот же прямоугольник и измените цвет заливки на черный. Затем перейдите к меню Эффект> Эскиз и примените эффект Почтовой бумаги.  Это только начало, но вы можете увидеть остальные детали в моем уроке Создаем векторный текст с эффектом травы, поскольку я вдохновилась именно оттуда.  В принципе, следуйте объяснением и настройкам с шагов от 2 до 6, и вы получите травяной фон.

Create the grass background 2Create the grass background 2Create the grass background 2

Шаг 3

В конце шага 6 фон должен выглядеть так:

Create the grass background 3Create the grass background 3Create the grass background 3

Шаг 4

Нарисуйте другой прямоугольник с тем же размером и залейте его радиальным градиентом от белого к черному. Установите для него Режим наложения Умножение и 40% Непрозрачности, и фон готов.

Create the grass background 4Create the grass background 4Create the grass background 4

10. Добавим дополнительные пучки травы

Шаг 1

Вернитесь к слою с текстовым эффектом. Откройте панель Символы, откройте меню Библиотеки символов, и в категории Природа найдите "Grass 1", "Grass 2" и "Grass 3". Перетащите их на свой артборд нажмите значок удалить ссылку на символ в нижней части панели Символы, чтобы разобрать их.

Размножьте эти пучки травы, ее масштаб, вращайте и располагайте их вокруг буквы "S". Вы можете последовать моему примеру или делать это так, как пожелаете (1). Я решила замаскировать траву сверху и слева, потому что она не выглядела естественно, и для этого я воспользовалась копией "оригинал S", как и раньше (2). Выделите копию буквы вместе с пучками травы, которую вы хотите замаскировать, затем выберите Объект> Обрезная маска> Создать (Control-7) (3).

Add tufts of grassAdd tufts of grassAdd tufts of grass

Шаг 2

Вот остальные буквы. В колонке 1 можно увидеть пучки травы, которые я расположила вокруг букв, в колонке 2 вы можете увидеть пучки травы, которые я решила замаскировать, а в колонке 3 - окончательный результат.

Add tufts of grass 2Add tufts of grass 2Add tufts of grass 2
Add tufts of grass 3Add tufts of grass 3Add tufts of grass 3

Поздравляю! Вы закончили!

Вдохновленный бейсболом текстовый эффект готов. Я надеюсь, что вы узнали о некоторых новых техниках, которые вы сможете применить в будущих проектах. Оставьте мне отзыв или поделитесь своим преображением этого эффекта, потому что я хотела бы это увидеть.

Baseball text effectBaseball text effectBaseball text effect
Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Design & Illustration tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Start your 7-day free trial*
Start free trial
*All Individual plans include a 7-day free trial for new customers; then chosen plan price applies. Cancel any time.

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Text Effects
Design

Create a Baseball-Inspired Text Effect in Adobe Illustrator

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:MediumLanguages:
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

For all of you sports fans out there, this tutorial will teach you how to create a baseball-inspired text effect. You'll start by preparing the text, then with the help of the Bas Relief effect and the Inner Glow effect you'll easily add some dimension to it. Next, you'll create a vector texture and a Pattern Brush with which you'll add the characteristic baseball stitches. Next on the to-do list is the worn out and dirty look, for which you will use a built-in Art Brush. You'll finish with the grass background and the additional tufts of grass around the letters. Let’s jump in! 

1. Start a New Project 

Launch Adobe Illustrator, and go to File > New to open a blank document. Type a name for your file and set up the dimensions, then select Pixels as Units and RGB as Color Mode. Next, go to Edit > Preferences > General and set the Keyboard Increment to 1 px and while there, go to Units & Display Performance to make sure that the Units are as in the following image. I usually work with these settings, and they will help you throughout the drawing process. 

New document

2. Prepare the Text

Step 1

Grab the Type Tool (T) and type “SPORT” on your artboard using Cooper Black, Regular, size of 120 pt. Set the tracking to 50, then select Expand from the Object menu and Ungroup (Shift-Control-G)

Type SPORT

Step 2

Select all letters and add a 4.5 pt Stroke using the color of your choice. Now, select Expand from the Object menu and Ungroup (Shift-Control-G) in order to turn the strokes into fills. 

Focus on the letter “S”. At this point the letter should be composed of the black shape and the green shape (the border filled with the color of your choice). Select both shapes and press Add in the Pathfinder panel to unite them into a single shape. Repeat the same thing for the other four letters. 

Add stroke to text

Step 3

Select the letter “O” and go to Object > Compound Path > Release, then delete the smaller ellipse from the center.  

Release compound path

Step 4

Fill the letter “O” with the radial gradient shown, and use the beige color indicated for the rest.

Color the text

Step 5 

Next, select all letters and go to Effect > Stylize > Inner Glow, apply the settings shown and hit OK. I will refer to these letters from now on as: “original S”, “original P”, “original O”, “original R”, and “original T”.

Apply Inner Glow effect to text

3. Add Dimension to the Text

Step 1 

Select all the original letters, then Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B). Remove all existing appearances by pressing the Clear Appearance icon at the bottom of the Appearance panel. Now, fill these copies with black, and then go to Effect > Sketch > Bas Relief, apply the settings from below, and hit OK. At this point you can’t really see the result, but go to the next step.  

Apply Bas Relief effect to text

Step 2

If you make the original letters invisible (by pressing the eye icon next to each letter in the Appearance panel), you will be able to see the copies of the letters with the Bas Relief effect applied to them. For a subtler look, reduce the Opacity to 65% for each letter. 

Apply Bas Relief effect to text 2

Step 3

Turn the visibility back on for the original letters and set all of them to Blending Mode Overlay

Bas Relief effect result

Step 4

If you zoom in on one of the letters, you'll notice that the Bas Relief effect, although it’s great, gives us pixelated edges. Don't worry: we can fix this with a simple mask. First, select all the original letters, and then Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B). Set the copies that you have obtained to stroke-none, fill-none by pressing the Clear Appearance icon at the bottom of the Appearance panel. 

Next, focus on the first letter. Select the copy of the “original S” that you just made, along with the letter “S” that has the Bas Relief effect applied to it, and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). In the Layers panel you should see the new group, which I've called “Bas Relief”, and the “original S” that always stays on top. 

Create sharp edges for text

4. Create the Texture

Step 1

Grab the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a big rectangle over the letters. As a reference, mine is about 550 x 200 px. Select white as the fill color, then go to Effect > Texture > Stained Glass, apply the settings from below, and hit OK.

Apply Stained Glass effect

Step 2

With the rectangle selected, choose Expand Appearance, and then go to Object > Live Trace > Tracing Options. Make the changes highlighted below and hit Trace, then select Expand from the Object menu. Now, your texture is vector. 

LIve Trace

Step 3

With the texture still selected, take a look at the dimensions in the Transform panel. Instead of the existing dimensions (whatever they are), type 480 px in the Width field and 120 px in the Height field. This will not only make the texture smaller, but also the cells will become smaller, and this is what we want. 

Resize vector texture

Step 4

Set the texture to Blending Mode Overlay and 20% Opacity (1). Next, select “original S”, “original P”,  …, “original “T”, then Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) all of them. Remove all existing appearances, and bring them in front of everything by going to Object > Arrange > Bring to Front (Shift-Control-]). With these five copies still selected, go to Object > Compound Path > Make (Control-8) (2). Now, select the new compound path (stroke-none, fill-none) along with the texture and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7) (3). 

Mask the vector texture

Step 5

Go to the Layers panel and locate the texture under the mask that you just made. Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F), change the fill color from black to white, and then move it 1 px up and 1 px to the left by pressing the Up Arrow Key/Left Arrow Key on your keyboard once. Set the Blending Mode back to Normal but keep the Opacity at 20%

Duplicate the vector texture

5. Create the Baseball Stitches Pattern Brush

Step 1

Grab the Pen Tool (P) and draw a petal-like shape, but flat at the bottom. As a reference, my shape is about 12 x 33 px, so quite small (1). Use the Rotate option in the Transform panel to rotate this shape -15 degrees (2), then go to Object > Transform > Reflect, check Horizontal, and hit Copy. Arrange the two shapes as in the image, with the two inner corners overlapping a little (3). Move some of the inner points to get a relatively straight line in the middle, as indicated by the guide line (4). Finally, draw two ellipses and send them to the back (5).

Create baseball stitch brush

Step 2

Before you continue, make sure that the two petal-like shapes are filled with the same color (purple) and that the two ellipses are also filled with the same color (green). Now, select everything and drag it into the Brushes panel to save a New Pattern Brush. In the window that opens, just type a name for your brush and leave the settings as they are. 

Create baseball stitch brush 2

6. Create the Stitches on the Text

Step 1 

Use the Pen Tool (P) or the Pencil Tool (N) to draw two slightly curved paths on each letter, as in the image. Use the color indicated as the stroke color, and set the Stroke Weight at 0.5 pt

Apply baseball stitch brush

Step 2

With the ten paths still selected, choose Add New Stroke from the fly-out menu of the Appearance panel. This will add a second stroke above the first, and you can now use the Baseball Stitch Pattern Brush saved earlier. Set the Stroke Weight at 1 pt, and then double-click on the brush applied in the Appearance panel to open the Stroke Options window. Type 20% in the Scale field and hit OK

Apply baseball stitch brush 2

Step 3

Now, let’s color the baseball stitches. But first, select all the stroked paths and choose Expand Appearance from the Object menu. Zoom in on the letter “S”, then select using the Direct Selection Tool (A) only one of the purple shapes and go to Select > Same > Fill Color. As a result, all the purple shapes will be selected, and you can fill all of them at once with the radial gradient shown.

Color the baseball stitches

Step 4

Next, select only one of the green ellipses, then go to Select > Same > Fill Color. As a result, all the green ellipses will be selected, and you can fill them with the radial gradient shown. 

Color the baseball stitches 2

Step 5

It’s time to add some shadows. Take the Pen Tool (P) or the Pencil Tool (N) and again draw two paths on each letter. Notice that one of the paths follows the inner side of the stitch and the other follows the outer side of the second stitch (1). Keep this in mind when you draw the paths.

Select a 1 pt black Stroke for these ten paths, then go to Effect > Blur > Gaussian Blur and apply a 1.5 px Radius (2). Set all of them to 40% Opacity for a subtler shadow (3).

Add shadow for stitches

Step 6

Next, we'll create some masks, and I’ll use the letter “S” as an example. Select “original S”, then Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F). Remove all existing appearances, and bring it in front of everything by going to Object > Arrange > Bring to Front (Shift-Control-]) (1). Now, select this copy of the letter, along with the two stitches and the two shadow paths (2) and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7) (3). You can name the resulting group "Stitches 'S'" in the Layers panel. 

Mask baseball stitches

Step 7

Repeat the previous step for the rest of the letters, and at this point your text should have clean edges. 

Mask baseball stitches 2

7. Create the Worn Out/Dirty Look

Step 1 

Take the Pen Tool (P) or the Line Segment Tool (\) and draw a straight path over each letter, as in the next image. Select black as the fill color, then navigate to Brush Libraries Menu > Artistic > Artistic_ChalkCharcoalPencil and find Chalk Art Brush. Use it to stroke these five paths and increase the Stroke Weight to 2 pt

Use Chalk Art Brush

Step 2

Select “original S”, “original P”, …, “original T”, then Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F). Remove all existing appearances and bring them in front of everything by going to Object > Arrange > Bring to Front (Shift-Control-]). Now, focus on the letter “S”. Select the copy of the letter that you just made along with the stroked path and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7). You can name the resulting group "Dirt 'S'" in the Layers panel. 

Repeat the same thing for the rest of the letters in order to get clean edges. 

Use Chalk Art Brush 2

Step 3

Select the stroked path over the letter “S” and set the Blending Mode to Overlay. Do the same for the other four letters. You can also reduce the Opacity a little if necessary. 

Use Chalk Art Brush 3

8. Add the Shadow

Step 1 

Select the original letters, and then Copy and Paste in Back (Control-B). Remove all existing appearances, and send them behind everything by going to Object > Arrange > Send to Back (Shift-Control-[). Use the color indicated as the fill color, and then go to Effect > Stylize and apply the Drop Shadow effect four times. 

Add shadow to text

Step 2

These are the settings for the four Drop Shadow effects: 

Add shadow to text 2

9. Create the Grass Background

Step 1

First, create a new Layer called “BG” under the layer with the text effect. Grab the Rectangle Tool (M) and draw a rectangle the size of your artboard, which in my case is 600 x 400 px. Select the color indicated as the fill color.

Create the grass background

Step 2

Copy and Paste in Front (Control-F) the same rectangle and change the fill color to black. Then go to Effect > Sketch and apply the Note Paper effect. This is just the beginning, but you can see the rest of the details in my tutorial Create a Vector Grass Text Effect, since this background is inspired from there. Basically, follow the explanations and settings from step 2 to step 6 and you will obtain the grass background.  

Create the grass background 2

Step 3

At the end of step 6 the background should look like this:

Create the grass background 3

Step 4

Draw another rectangle with the same size and fill it with a radial gradient from white to black. Set it to Blending Mode Multiply and 40% Opacity and the background is ready. 

Create the grass background 4

10. Add Additional Tufts of Grass

Step 1

Return to the layer with the text effect. Go to the Symbols panel, open the Symbol Libraries Menu, and in the Nature category, find Grass 1, Grass 2 and Grass 3. Drag them into your artboard, then press the Break Link to Symbol icon at the bottom of the Symbols panel in order to expand them. 

Multiply these tufts of grass, scale, rotate and arrange a few around the letter “S”. You can follow my example or do it as you want (1). I decided to mask the grass from the top and from the left because it didn't look natural, and for that I used a copy of the “original S”, just like before (2). Select the copy of the letter along with the tufts of grass that you want to mask, and go to Object > Clipping Mask > Make (Control-7) (3).  

Add tufts of grass

Step 2 

Here are the rest of the letters. In column 1 you can see the tufts of grass that I've arranged around the letters, in column 2 you can see the tufts of grass that I've decided to mask, and in column 3 is the final result. 

Add tufts of grass 2
Add tufts of grass 3

Congratulations! You're done. 

The baseball-inspired text effect is ready. I hope that you learned some new things that you can apply in future projects. Leave me some feedback or share your re-creation of this effect, because I would love to see it. 

Baseball text effect
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.