1. Design & Illustration
  2. Tools & Tips

مقدمة شاملة لتقنيات اختيار Photoshop

by
Read Time:13 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Photoshop Tutorials for Beginners.
A Basic Guide to Photoshop CS4 Adjustment Layers

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by miahood (you can also view the original English article)

هل سبق لك أن واجهت صعوبات في اتخاذ اختيارات وفكرت أن هناك طريقة أفضل؟  دعونا نراجع كل من الحلول السريعة ، وعلى الجانب الآخر ، تقنيات شاملة وتفصيلية لإجراء التحديدات.  كل نهج له مكان في سير عملك.  لمزيد من الأساليب التي تعرف كيفية استخدامها ، ستتحرك أسرع في Photoshop بشكل أكثر فاعلية.

اختيار في برنامج فوتوشوب

يحدد Photoshop وحدات البكسل استنادًا إلى واحدة من الخصائص الثلاث ، كما هو موضح في الصورة أدناه:

  1. Chroma: هو لون البكسل.  لون البيكسل هو مستوى قيم RGB وأدوات تحديد الألوان مثل

    العصا السحرية.  يستخدم التحديد حسب اللون نسبة RGB٪ كمعيار لتجميع وحدات البكسل استنادًا إلى قيم التسامح المحددة.

  2. Luma: هو اختيار يعتمد على مستويات الإضاءة.  مستويات الإضاءة هي بياض الصورة ، والتي ليست سوى قيم أعلى لجميع القنوات الثلاث R و G و B.  لا يحتوي Photoshop على واجهة مدمجة لاختيار Luma ، ولكن يمكن اختراق العديد من الأدوات الموجودة للحصول على نتيجة مماثلة.
  3. الأقنعة: تعتمد على المكان المكاني.  يتم تحديد وحدات البكسل والتخلص منها أو حجبها من خلال طبقة متوازية مرتبطة بطبقة صورة مقابلة.  الأقنعة ذات تدرج رمادي وتسمى سطوع القناع بمستوى ألفا ، وهي درجة عدم وضوح طبقة الطبقة المقابلة.  تسمى أيضًا قناة الشفافية / العتامة كما في RGBA إلخ.

ملاحظة على الأقنعة

في هذه المقالة ، سيتم استخدام كلمات مثل Masks و Alpha بالتبادل.  سيتم عرض عملية نقل الصور إلى أقنعة الطبقة مرة واحدة ثم استخدامها مرارًا وتكرارًا دون الإشارة صراحة بعد ذلك.

الخطوة 1

افتح صورة جديدة تريد استخدامها كقناع. انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق طبقة الخلفية وقم بإنشاء طبقة جديدة ، وهي "طبقة 0". قم بعمل طبقة جديدة ، وهي "الطبقة الأولى" أعلىها وملئها بلون موحد ، ثم أخف "الطبقة الأولى".

الخطوة 2

انتقل إلى "طبقة 0" وانقر فوق تحديد> تحديد الكل (Command + A) لتحديد كافة وحدات البكسل.  بعد ذلك ، انقر فوق تحرير> نسخ (Command + C) لنسخ كل البيكسل إلى الحافظة.

الخطوه 3

انتقل إلى "الطبقة الأولى" وأنشئ قناع طبقة فارغًا.   في البداية سيتم إنشاء قناع طبقة شفافة. انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق قناع الطبقة لرؤيتها في اللوحة القماشية.

الخطوة 4

مع ظهور Layer Mask ، قم بلصق على لوحة الرسم بالنقر فوق Edit> Paste (Command + V).  سيتم لصق نسخة ذات تدرج رمادي للصورة المنسوخة في قناع الطبقة.

الخطوة 5

انقر فوق الصورة المصغرة لطبقة التعبئة (وليس القناع) لرؤية النتيجة.  يمكن تطبيق أي صورة كطبقة قناع على طبقة أخرى.  سيتم التحكم في عتامة الطبقة بواسطة مستوى تدرج الرمادي للقناع.

المزيد على الأقنعة

أسهل طريقة لإنشاء قناع الطبقة هي النقر فوق الزر Add Layer Mask مع شيء محدد على اللوحة.  سيتم حفظ التحديد كقناع طبقة متصل بالطبقة الحالية وسيتم إخفاء كل شيء خارج إطار التحديد والاخفاء.

تنشيط أقنعة الطبقة

يؤدي النقر مع الضغط على Layer Mask إلى تنشيطه.  يمكن تحرير أقنعة الطبقة النشطة فقط والتي يتم تمثيلها بمخطط أبيض رفيع حولها.

أضف الأشكال إلى أقنعة الطبقات

يؤدي سحب أي شكل إلى لوحة الرسم أثناء تنشيط قناع الطبقة إلى رسمها على القناع بدلاً من الطبقة نفسها.  لرسمه مرة أخرى على الطبقة ، نحتاج إلى إلغاء تنشيط القناع بالنقر فوق طبقة الصورة المصغرة.

إضافة ضربات فرشاة إلى أقنعة طبقة

وينطبق الشيء نفسه على ضربات الفرشاة.  أي شيء رسم على القماش مع قناع طبقة المحدد سيتم رسمه على القناع بدلاً من الطبقة.  يمكننا استخدام هذه الخاصية لتحديد الكائنات ذات الحدود غير المنتظمة من الخلفيات ، عن طريق طلاء كل شيء آخر أسود على قناع الطبقة. سوف تكشف ضربات الفرشاة البيضاء وستخفي السود.

نسخ قناع طبقة إلى طبقة أخرى

أخيرًا ، يمكننا نقل قناع الطبقة إلى طبقات أخرى عن طريق تحميله ببساطة كتحديد (النقر فوق Command) والتفريغ كما فعلنا في الخطوة الأولى بالنقر فوق الزر Add Layer Mask.  أو عن طريق Alt-dragging القناع إلى طبقة أخرى (غير معروض).

العمليات المنطقية مع الاختيارات

يوضح هذا المثال كيفية تحميل ، إضافة ، طرح ، والتقاطع بين التحديدات بين الطبقات المتراكبة فقط مع النقرات المصغرة السريعة.

تحميل بكسل للاختيارات

في "الطبقة الثانية" ، انقر فوق الأمر لتحميل تعبئة كاختيار.  سيتم تحميل أي بكسل غير شفاف في "الطبقة الثانية" كتحديد. هذا ليس مثل نسخ الطبقة ، فقط مخططها. يظهر التعبئة الخضراء المنطقة المحددة على الرغم من أنك ستحصل فقط على الخيمة المحيطة. دعنا نسمي هذه الحالة (مع تحديد "Layer 2") في الحالة الأولية .

إضافة

مع تحميل "Layer 2" كتحديد ، انقر على Command + Shift وانقر على "Layer 1" لإضافته إلى التحديد.  يتم الآن دمج البيكسلات غير الشفافة لكل من "الطبقة الأولى" و "الطبقة الثانية" كاختيار جديد.  لاحظ علامة الجمع الصغيرة في مربع Command-Click.

طرح

العودة إلى الحالة الأولية والقيادة + Alt مع الضغط على "الطبقة 1". سيؤدي هذا إلى طرح أي وحدات بكسل متراكبة من "الطبقة 1" من التحديد الحالي لـ "الطبقة الثانية". لاحظ علامة الطرح.

تداخل

العودة إلى الحالة الأولية و Command + Alt + Shift-click فوق "الطبقة 1" للحفاظ على وحدات البكسل المتراكبة فقط كتحديد. لاحظ علامة X.  إذا لم تكن الطبقات متراكبة ، فسيؤدي هذا الإجراء إلى إلغاء تحديد الكل.

أقنعة القمامة

يتم إنشاء أقنعة المهملات لعزل "منطقة الاهتمام" تقريبًا عن بقية الصورة.

يتم إجراء المزيد من التشذيب داخل قناع القمامة بدقة.

التحديدات النقطية والنقطية

ارسم مخططًا حول المنطقة محل الاهتمام بالصورة باستخدام أي من أدوات Lasso وانقر نقرًا مزدوجًا لإكمال التحديد. يجب حفظ قناع القمامة لمزيد من التكرير ، والذي يمكن القيام به كطبقة أو قناع متجه.  يجب أن نختارها اعتمادًا على مدى تعقيد المخطط العام وكيفية تخطيطه لاحقًا. . مع تحديد Lasso ، انقر فوق Add Layer Mask لحفظه كقناع طبقة.

بدلاً من ذلك ، يمكننا أيضًا حفظ التحديد كقناع متجه والذي يمكن تحسينه لاحقًا من خلال العمل على شكل شريحة يحدد مخططه.  مع استمرار اختيار Lasso (2) ، انتقل إلى علامة التبويب مسارات (3b) وانقر فوق Make Working Path من زر Selection في الجزء السفلي.  سيؤدي هذا إلى حفظ مخطط التحديد على هيئة مسار عمل الشكل.

الآن قم بتحميل التحديد مرة أخرى ، والعودة إلى علامة التبويب الطبقات.  انقر فوق Add Layer Mask مرة واحدة لإنشاء قناع طبقة (Command-click للتحميل مرة أخرى) ثم انقر فوق الزر نفسه (6b) مرة أخرى لإضافة قناع Vector.  حفظ التحديدات مثل الأقنعة Vector أو الأشكال يحفظ الذاكرة.

اختيار مع قناع Vector

انقر على قناع Vector لتنشيطه.  أو اختيار أي من أدوات الشكل سيجعلها نشطة.  يتم تعديل أقنعة المتجهات عن طريق ضبط مواضع المفاتيح (نقاط التحكم) والانحناء (Tangents).  يمكنك تعطيل قناع الطبقة أو حذفه أو حفظه باستخدام طبقة أخرى. .  انقر على المقابض واسحبها ، ثم انقر مع الضغط على Command على نقاط التحكم لتحريكها.

بمجرد الحصول على مخطط تفصيلي مقبول ، استخدم أداة "إضافة نقاط" لتنقيح المخططات التفصيلية ومضاهاها.  احذف النقاط عند الضرورة.  سيؤدي تثبيت المقابض باستخدام Command + Shift إلى قفل المنحدرات النسبية.  اسحب مباشرة على نقطة التحكم لإعادة ضبط المقابض.  من الأفضل استخراج الأشكال العادية المتعرجة باستخدام هذه العملية.

هذه الطريقة هي الأفضل أيضًا في الحالات التي لا تكون فيها الحدود مرئية بوضوح.

اختر حسب نطاق اللون

الاختيار حسب اللون هو أسرع طريقة لتحديد Chroma.  انقر فوق Select> Color Range وحدد لونًا باستخدام أداة Eyedropper Tool المتاحة.  بعض ظلال وبمجرد اختيار يمكن إزالتها بشكل انتقائي مع ناقص (-) الشافطة أو مرة أخرى بإضافة مع زائد (+) الشافطة.  توجد أيضًا نافذة معاينة تعرض المنطقة المحددة أو الصورة الأصلية.

يمكن استخدام هذه الأداة لإعداد أقنعة للقمامة حول الموضوع ، ثم تنقيحها لاحقًا من خلال تحرير القناع.  اختيار بالألوان ليس حل بنقرة واحدة ، لكنه يقوم بعمل عظيم في التقليل من العمل اليدوي.

Chroma من القنوات

يتم تخزين معلومات اللون من كل نوع في قنوات منفصلة ، والتي يمكن عرضها في تبويب القنوات.  يمكننا استخدام الاختلافات الحكيمة للقناة في شدة اللون لاختيار الكائنات في الصورة.  هذه العملية مفيدة فقط عندما تكون الخلفية والمقدمة لها توزيع لون منفصل في قناة واحدة على الأقل.

تقدم كروما

في المدرج التكراري يمكننا أن نرى أن القناة الزرقاء هي الغالبة في الصورة وتمتد إلى النقاط البارزة حيث تكون القنوات الأخرى ضعيفة للغاية.  موضوعنا هنا هو قطعة من الغطاء النباتي في المقدمة.

اختيار أفضل قناة

تخبرنا ملاحظة بسيطة للقنوات الثلاث أن القناة الزرقاء لديها أعلى تباين بين السماء والعشب. سنقوم باستغلال هذه الخاصية لفصل الاثنين.  تكرار (Command + J) الطبقة والانتقال إلى القناة الزرقاء للطبقة المنسوخة.  انقر على الصورة> التسويات> المنحنيات أو اضغط على Command + M لتطبيق تعديل المنحنيات على القناة الحالية.

تطبيق المنحنيات

حدد النقطة الأقرب إلى الرمادي الداكن للقناة واسحبها (2) إلى الأمام في المحور السيني (أفقيًا) مع الاحتفاظ بالمحور y عند 0 (كما هو موضح في الدائرة الصغيرة).  سيؤدي ذلك إلى جعل وحدات البكسل الداكنة أكثر قتامة بشكل موحد.  لا ينبغي أن تؤثر على الخلفية ، اسحبها قليلاً إلى اليسار إذا حدث ذلك.

بعد ذلك ، حدد نقطة أخرى أقرب إلى النقطة البيضاء ، اسحبها (3) مرة أخرى نحو الدرجات اللونية النصفية مع الاحتفاظ بالمحور y (رأسيًا) عند أقصى حد (كما هو موضح في الدائرة الصغيرة).  ما نقوم به هو تشبع نطاق جر من الأزرق تصل إلى 100 ٪.  تأكد من أن الخلفية بأكملها تتحول إلى اللون الأبيض أو تقريبًا ، كما أن هناك تباينًا كبيرًا بين العشب والسماء.

القناة كقناع

اضغط مفتاح Command على الصورة المصغرة للقناة لتحميل القناة في التحديد.  وسيتم اختيار المناطق التي يغلب عليها اللون الأزرق تمامًا والباقي وفقًا للدرجات المعنية.  المناطق التي ليس لها أزرق (الأجزاء السوداء) ستترك من الاختيار.  مع التحديد ، انتقل إلى علامة التبويب Layers ، ثم انقر فوق Add Layer Mask لحفظ التحديد كقالب.

قلب القناع

اضغط على Command + I لعكس قناع الطبقة.

اختيار بالفرشاة على الأقنعة

يتم استخدام التحديد المستند إلى الفرشاة لاستخراج اللوحات الأمامية ذات الحدود الخارجية المعقدة بدقة.  يتم استخدامه أيضًا لتحسين التحديدات التي تم إجراؤها باستخدام تقنيات أخرى.  كما أنها تدعم الشفافية (النعومة).

ربما يكون المسح هو أول ما يتبادر إلى الذهن عندما نتحدث عن اختيار قائم على الفرشاة.  لكنها ليست عملية موصى بها على الإطلاق.  يمثل المسح عملية مدمرة ، ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى تلف الصورة الأصلية بشكل دائم لأن الاسترداد يقتصر فقط على عدد من مستويات التراجع التي حددناها.

بالفرشاة مع أقنعة طبقة

هنا أيضا يمكن استخدام أقنعة الطبقة ، للحفاظ على سير العمل من ممحاة وإمكانية إضافية لاستعادة الأجزاء التي تمت إزالتها إذا كانت هناك حاجة إليها.  الرسم على قناع الطبقة مع الأبيض أو الأسود سوف يكشف أو يخفي المحتويات على التوالي.  يمكننا تنظيف الخلفيات بنفس طريقة استخدام أداة Eraser وإعادتها باللون الأبيض.

لا ملاحظات

عند تنظيف القناع ، قد نقوم أحيانًا بتقطيع الأجزاء ذات الصلة عن طريق الخطأ ومواصلة التركيز على صورة ظلية خاطئة لا يمكن اكتشافها إلا لاحقًا.  هذا أمر محتمل للغاية عندما تكون الخلفية الأمامية ذات ألوان متشابهة ولا توجد تعليقات مرئية فورية.

ردود فعل فورية

يمكن تفادي هذه المشكلة من خلال اتباع قاعدة بسيطة للحفاظ على نسخة مكررة من الطبقة الحالية في الخلفية كطبقة توجيه.  ستظهر خرائط التدرج المتعدّد في صورة إصدارات عالية التباين للموضوع تتضمّن إذا تم انتهاكها.

لوما اختر

كما ذكرنا سابقا فإن Luma هي مستويات الإضاءة في الصورة. يمكن استخدام Luma لاستخراج مكونات من الصورة ذات فرق سطوع كبير من غيرها.

أبسط Luma هاك

افتح الخلفية وعمل نسخة مكررة منه ، ثم أخفي الطبقة الأصلية.

تطبيق العتبة

تطبيق طبقة تعديل الحد الأدنى في الأعلى. G

ضبط عتبة

اضبط "منزلق العتبة" وحاول أن ترفق الموضوع أو الخلفية (أيهما أكثر قتامة) باللون الأسود. B

H

اضغط مفتاح Command لاختيار الطبقتين العلويتين ودمجهما في واحد.  حدد الطبقة السفلية ، وجعلها مرئية وإنشاء قناع طبقة فارغ.

أضف قناع طبقة

انسخ الصورة المدمجة والصقها في قناع الطبقة ، باتباع العملية التي تمت مناقشتها أعلاه.  لدينا قناع الطبقة جاهز ، ولكن في معظم الحالات ستكون هناك ثقوب وأجزاء من خلفيتنا مرئية.  استخدم تقنية Mask Mask (الرسم) التي تمت مناقشتها أعلاه لجعلها مرتبة. عكس إذا لزم الأمر.

اختيار Luma مع شفافية

تقنية Threshold المذكورة أعلاه سريعة التنفيذ ، ولكنها مفيدة فقط لاستخراج الكائنات الصلبة لأنها تفتقر إلى الشفافية.  يمكن أن تكون الطريقة التالية مفيدة في الحالات التي نحتاج فيها إلى استخراج Luma بشفافية.  هنا سنقوم بإزالة الماء المثلج من بقية الصخور.

استخدام Luma ل قناع مع شفافية

فتح وإنشاء طبقة من الخلفية (1).  تطبيق طبقة المعايرة أسود وأبيض في الأعلى ثم طبقة ضبط السطوع والتباين فوقه.

تقليل السطوع

حدد استخدام وضع Legacy وحرك شريط التمرير ببطء إلى اليسار ، حاول الحصول على أكبر عدد ممكن من المناطق السوداء من الصخور.  هذه العملية ستقلل من سطوع الماء أيضًا لذا لا تفرط في ذلك.

زيادة التباين

الآن قم بزيادة شريط التمرير ببطء إلى اليمين.  مع كل زيادة سوف تتحول الرمادي الداكن إلى أسود ورمادي أخف سوف يتوهج بشكل أكثر إشراقا.  سنحصل على البيض على أنه غير شفاف و رمادي شبه شفاف. حاول الحصول على كل من البيض والرماديين عند الضرورة. على زيادة التباين سيجعلها تبدو وكأنها طبقة عتبة ، إذا كان الأمر كذلك فلن يكون هناك أي شفافية متبقية.

.

دمج الطبقات

عند الاقتناع بالنتائج ، ادمج الطبقات الثلاث العليا.  انتقل إلى طبقة الخلفية وإضافة قناع طبقة وانسخ الطبقة المدمجة في قناع الطبقة.

بعد إمكانية أخرى

بخلاف الإجراءين السابقين ، هناك طريقة أخرى لاستخراج Luma تعتمد على طريقة Lab Lab.

تقنية الألوان المخبرية

افتح صورة وقم بتحويلها إلى وضع Lab Color بالنقر فوق Image> Mode> Lab Color.

انتقل إلى علامة التبويب "القنوات" وابحث عن قناة Lightness أو اضغط على Ctrl + 1 لتحديدها مباشرةً.  هذا هو المكان الذي يتم فيه فهرسة مستويات الإضاءة لكل البكسلات في صيغة Lab .  يمكنك اللعب مع هذه القناة ومحاولة عزل بعض العناصر من الخلفية.  لا تنسَ تكرار الطبقة أو القناة قبل تغيير أي قناة.

وتعمل الفلاتر التي لا تعمل على الصورة في وضع Lab Lab على قناة Lightness ، وتؤدي إلى نتائج متشابهة تقريبًا.

استنتاج

يحتوي Photoshop على عدد قليل من الخيارات عندما يتعلق الأمر بتقنيات التحديد. حاول تطبيق بعض هذه الحلول في سير عملك لزيادة إنتاجيتك وفعاليتك.

اشترك في Psdtuts + RSS Feed لأفضل Tuts مقالات ومقالات على الويب.

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement

A Comprehensive Introduction to Photoshop Selection Techniques

by
This post is part of a series called Photoshop Tutorials for Beginners.
A Basic Guide to Photoshop CS4 Adjustment Layers

Have you ever had difficulties making selections and thought there was a better way? Let's review both quick solutions, and on the other side, comprehensive and details techniques for making selections. Each approach has it's place in your workflow. The more methods you know how to use, the faster and more effectively you'll move in Photoshop.

Selection in Photoshop

Photoshop selects pixels based one of the three properties, as shown in the image below:

  1. Chroma: is the color of the pixel. Color of a pixel is the level of RGB values and color based select tools like the

    Magic Wand. Select by color uses the RGB% as a criteria to group pixels based on the set tolerance values.

  2. Luma: is a selection based on Illumination levels. Illumination levels are whiteness of the image, which is nothing but higher values for all the three R, G and B channels. Photoshop doesn't have a native interface for a Luma based selection, but many existing tools can be hacked to get a similar result.
  3. Masks: are based on spatial position. Pixels are selected and discarded or masked by a parallel layer bound to corresponding image layer. Masks are grayscale and brightness of the mask is called an Alpha level, which is the degree of opaqueness of the corresponding layer pixel. It's also called the Transparency/Opacity channel as in RGBA etc.

A Note on Masks

In this article, words like Masks and Alpha will be used interchangeably. The process of transferring images to layer masks will be shown once and then used repeatedly without explicitly mentioning thereafter.

Step 1

Open a new image that you want to use as a mask. Double-click the background layer and create a new layer, which is "Layer 0." Make a new layer, which is "Layer 1," on top of it and fill with a uniform color, then hide "Layer 1."

Step 2

Go to "Layer 0" and click Select > Select All (Command + A) to select all pixels. Next, click Edit > Copy (Command + C) to copy all pixels to the clipboard.

Step 3

Go to "Layer 1" and create an empty Layer Mask. Initially an all transparent Layer Mask will be created. Alt-click the layer mask to see it in the canvas.

Step 4

With the Layer Mask visible, paste onto the canvas by clicking Edit > Paste (Command + V). A grayscale version of the copied image will be pasted in as the layer mask.

Step 5

Click on the fill layer thumbnail (not mask) to see the result. Any image can be applied as a Layer Mask to another layer. The opacity of the layer will be controlled by grayscale level of the mask.

More on Masks

The easiest way of creating a Layer Mask is to click the Add Layer Mask button with something selected on the canvas. The selection will be saved as a layer mask attached to the current layer and everything outside the selection marquee will be masked and hidden.

Activate Layer Masks

Alt-clicking on the Layer Mask makes it active for editing. Only activated layer masks can be edited which are represented by a thin white outline around them.

Add Shapes to Layer Masks

Dragging any shape onto the canvas while a layer mask has been activated will draw it on the Mask instead of the layer itself. To draw it again on the layer we need to deactivate the Mask by clicking on the layer thumbnail.

Add Brush Strokes to Layer Masks

The same is true for brush strokes. Anything painted on the canvas with a Layer Mask selected will draw it on the Mask instead of the Layer. We can use this property to select objects with irregular boundaries from backgrounds, by painting everything else black on the Layer Mask. White brush strokes will reveal and blacks will conceal.

Copying a Layer Mask to Another Layer

Finally, we can transfer the Layer Mask to another layers by simply loading it as a selection (Command-click) and unloading as we did in the first step by clicking the Add Layer Mask button. Or by Alt-dragging the mask to another Layer (Not Shown).

Boolean Operations with Selections

This example shows how to Load, Add, Subtract, and Intersect selections between overlapping layers just with quick thumbnail clicks.

Load Pixels to Selections

In "Layer 2" Command-click to load a fill as a selection. Any pixel which is not transparent in "Layer 2" will be loaded as a selection. This is not the same as copying the layer, only its outline. The green fill shows the selected region although you will get only the surrounding Marquee. Let's call this state (with "Layer 2" selected) the initial state.

Addition

With the "Layer 2" loaded as a selection, Command + Shift-click on "Layer 1" to add it to the selection. Now non-transparent pixels of both "Layer 1" and "Layer 2" are combined as the new selection. Notice the small plus sign in the Command-Click box.

Subtraction

Revert to the initial state and Command + Alt-click on "Layer 1." This will subtract any overlapping pixel of "Layer 1" from the current selection of "Layer 2." Notice the minus sign.

Intersection

Revert to initial state and Command + Alt + Shift-click on "Layer 1" to keep only the overlapping pixels as a selection. Notice the X sign. If the layers are not overlapping this action will deselect all.

Garbage Masks

Garbage Masks are created to roughly isolate the 'region of interest' from rest of the image.

Further trimming is carried out inside the Garbage Mask with precision.

Vector and Raster Selections

Draw an outline around the region of interest in the image with any of the Lasso Tools and double-click to complete the selection. A Garbage Mask needs to be saved for further refining, which can be done both as a Layer or Vector Mask. We must choose it depending on complexity of the outline and how we are planning to trim it later on. With the Lasso selection click Add Layer Mask to save it as a Layer Mask.

Alternatively, we can also save the selection as a Vector Mask which can be later refined by working on the shape spline that defines its outline. With the Lasso selection still intact (2), go to the Paths tab (3b) and click Make Working Path from the Selection button at the bottom. This will save the selection outline as a Shape Working Path.

Now load the selection again, and return to Layers tab. Click Add Layer Mask once to create a Layer Mask (Command-click to load again) then click the same button( 6b) once more to Add Vector Mask. Saving selections as Vector Masks or Shapes saves memory.

Selecting with Vector Mask

Click on the Vector Mask to activate it. Or selecting any of the Shape tools will make it active. Vector Masks are modified by adjusting the spline positions (Control Points) and curvature (Tangents). You can disable, delete, or save the Layer Mask with another Layer. The Convert Point tool is most suitable for altering Vector shapes and Paths. Click and drag on the handles, then Command-click on control points to move them.

Once a acceptable outline has been achieved use the Add Points tool to refine and further match the outlines. Delete points when necessary. Dragging handles with Command + Shift will lock their relative slopes. Drag directly on the Control Point to reset handles. Regular curvy shapes are best to be extracted with this process.

This method is also best in situations where boundaries are not clearly visible.

Select by Color Range

Selecting by color is the fastest way to Chroma select. Click Select > Color Range and select a color with the Eyedropper Tool available. Once selected certain shades can be removed selectively with the Minus (-) Eyedropper or again added with the Plus (+) Eyedropper. There is also a preview window that displays the selected region or the original image.

This tool can be used to setup Garbage Masks around the subject and later refine it with editing the Mask. Select by color is not a one-click solution, but does a great job in minimizing manual work.

Chroma from Channels

Color information of each type are stored in as separate channels, which can be viewed in the Channels Tab. We can use the channel wise variations in color intensities for selecting objects in the image. This process is helpful only when background and foreground have separate color distribution in at least one channel.

Advanced Chroma

In the Histogram we can see that the blue channel is predominant in the image and it extends up to the highlights where other channels are very weak. Our subject here is the patch of vegetation in foreground.

Picking the Best Channel

A simple observation of the three channels tell us that the blue channel has the highest contrast between the Sky and Grass. We are going to exploit this property to separate the two. Duplicate (Command + J) the Layer and go to the Blue channel of the Copied layer. Click Image > Adjustments > Curves or Press Command + M to apply curves modification on the current channel.

Applying Curves

Select the point closer to the dark grays of the channel and drag it (2) forward in the x-axis (horizontally) keeping y-axis at 0 (shown by the small circle). This will make the darker pixels uniformly more darker. It shouldn't affect the background, drag it a little back to left if it does.

Next, select another point closer to the White Point, drag it (3) back towards the midtones keeping the y-axis(vertical) at maximum (shown by the small circle). What we are doing is saturating the dragged range of blue up to 100%. Make sure the whole background turns white or almost so, and there is a very high contrast between the Grass and Sky.

Channel as Mask

Command-click on the channel thumbnail to load the channel into the selection. Areas which are predominantly blue will be selected totally and the rest according to respective degrees. Areas which have no blue (the black parts) will be left from the selection. With the selection in place go to the Layers tab and click Add Layer Mask to save the selection as a Mask.

Inverting the Mask

Press Command + I to invert the Layer Mask.

Selecting by Brushing on Masks

Brush based selection is used to extract foregrounds with complex outlines with accuracy. It is also used to refine selections made with other techniques. And it also support transparency (softness).

Erasing is probably the first thing that comes to mind when we talk about brush based selection. But it is not a recommended process at all. Erasing is a destructive process and can permanently damage the original image as recovery is limited only to a number of undo levels we have set.

Brushing with Layer Masks

Here too Layer Masks can be used, to preserve the workflow of Eraser and additional possibility of recovering removed portions if they are needed. Painting on the Layer Mask with a White or Black will reveal or hide the contents respectively. We can brush out backgrounds in the same way as in using the Eraser tool and get it back by painting with White.

No Feedback

When brushing the mask we may sometimes trim off relevant parts accidently and keep focusing on the wrong silhouette only to be discovered later. This is highly probable when foreground background have similar hues and there is no immediate visual feedback.

Immediate Feedback

This problem can be averted by following a simple rule of keeping a multiplied duplicate of the current layer in the background as a guide layer. Multiplied gradient maps will show-up as high contrast versions of the subject outlines if violated.

Luma Select

As already mentioned Luma is the illumination levels of an image. Luma can be used to extract components from the image which have a considerable brightness difference than others.

Simplest Luma Hack

Unlock the background and make a duplicate of it, then hide the original Layer.

Apply Threshold

Apply a Threshold Adjustment Layer on top. You will notice that some parts of the image have been turned instantly black and rest are pure white, and there are no intermediate grayscale levels.

Adjust Threshold

Adjust the Threshold Slider and try to enclose the subject or background (whichever is darker) in black. Hide the Threshold layer and look at the original image for guidance when required.

Merge Layers

Command-click to select the top two layers and Merge them into one. Select the bottom layer, make it visible and create a blank Layer Mask.

Add Layer Mask

Copy the merged image and paste to the Layer Mask, following the process discussed above. We have our Layer Mask ready, but in most cases there will be holes and parts of our background visible. Use the Mask Painting technique discussed above to make it tidy. Invert if necessary.

Luma Select with Transparency

The Threshold technique discussed above is very fast to implement, but is only useful for extracting solid objects as it lacks transparency. The following method can be useful in situations where we need Luma extraction with transparency. Here we are going to remove the ice-water from the rest of the rocks.

Using Luma to Mask with Transparency

Unlock and Create a layer from the background (1). Apply an Adjustment Layer Black and White on top and then a Brightness-Contrast Adjustment Layer above it.

Reduce Brightness

Select Use Legacy mode and slowly move the Brightness slider to left, try to get as many black areas from the rocks as possible. This process will reduce the brightness of the Water too so don't overdo it.

Increase Contrast

Now slowly increase the Contrast slider to the right. With each increase dark-grays will turn to black and lighter grays will glow more brightly. We are going to get the whites as opaque and grays as semi-transparent. Try to get both Whites and Grays where necessary. Over increasing the contrast will make it look like a Threshold Layer, if so there will be no translucency left.

.

Merge the Layers

When satisfied with the results Merge the top three Layers. Go to the background layer and Add a Layer Mask and copy the merged Layer into the Layer Mask.

Yet Another Possibility

Other than the above two procedures there is also another way of Luma based extraction using the Lab color method.

Lab Color Technique

Open an image and turn it to Lab Color mode by clicking Image> Mode> Lab Color.

Goto Channels Tab and find the lightness channel or press Ctrl+1 to directly select it. This is where the illumination levels of all pixels are indexed in the Lab Color mode. You can play with that channel and try to isolate some element from the background. Don't forget to duplicate the Layer or the Channel before you alter any channel.

And filters that doesn't work on the image in Lab Color mode works on the Lightness channel, and yield almost similar results.

Conclusion

Photoshop has quite a few options when it comes to selection techniques. Try applying some of these solutions in your workflow to increase your productivity and effectiveness.

Subscribe to the Psdtuts+ RSS Feed for the best Photoshop tuts and articles on the web.

Advertisement