Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Tools & Tips
Design

وهناك دليل المبتدئين لطباعة النسيج الرقمي

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Muhammad Hasrullah (you can also view the original English article)

هذا البرنامج تعليمي الرسم توضيحي أساسية جنبا إلى جنب مع نظرة عملية لإعداد ملف "طباعة النسيج الرقمي". لقد وضعت عملية مبسطة لإنشاء ملفات للطباعة الرقمية المنسوجات بعد عملية طويلة من التجربة والخطأ. هذا هو البرنامج التعليمي مثالي للناس الذين يريدون تعلم إعداد الملف الأساسي وإدارة الألوان. سوف تتعرف على تفاصيل إعداد ملف المتجه للطباعة الرقمية للمنسوجات وتنقل هذه المهارات بشكل جيد إلى مشاريع أكبر. هيا بنا نبدأ!

مقدمة

الطباعة الرقمية الآن واحدة من أهم التطورات في صناعة النسيج. ليس فقط أنها تفتح فرصاً لا نهاية لها للتخصيص، والصغيرة بتشغيل الطباعة، والنماذج والتجريب، بل أنه يضع أيضا طباعة النسيج داخل الميزانية الخاصة بك المصور متوسط.

يمكن لطباعة المنسوجات الرقمية إنتاج ألوان وظواهر غير محدودة ، ولكن - كما هو الحال في معظم أشكال الطباعة - ما تراه على الشاشة ليس بالضرورة ما تعود إليه.

لقد وضعت عملية مبسطة لإنشاء ملفات للطباعة الرقمية المنسوجات بعد عملية طويلة من التجربة والخطأ. هذا هو البرنامج التعليمي مثالي للناس الذين يريدون تعلم إعداد الملف الأساسي وإدارة الألوان. المهارات المكتسبة من هذا البرنامج التعليمي يمكن نقلها بسهولة إلى تصاميم أكثر تعقيداً وهي بسيطة بما يكفي للمبتدئين البدء في إنتاج أنماط بسرعة مع القليل من الخبرة المصور (لا).

المعاينة قبل الطباعة النسيج النهائي

فيما يلي الطباعة التي سنعمل من أجلها. هل تريد الوصول إلى ملفات Vector Source ونسخ قابلة للتحميل من كل برنامج تعليمي ، بما في ذلك هذا البرنامج التعليمي؟ انضم إلى Vector Plus مقابل 9 دولارات فقط شهريًا.

تفاصيل البرنامج التعليمي

  • البرامج: أدوبي فوتوشوب والمصور
  • الإصدار: CS4 (الأفضل)
  • الصعوبة: سهلة
  • وقت الانتهاء المقدر: 1-2 ساعة (10mins مع العمل الفني معدّة سلفا)
  • قد تريد المستخدمين المتقدمين استخدام أسلوبهم الخاص في الرسم التوضيحي.

وسوف تتعلم

  • كيفية إعداد ملف ناقلات أساسية لطباعة المنسوجات الرقمية.

وسوف تحتاج

  • قرص الرسم (الأفضل)

الخطوة 1 أ - قم بتعيين مساحة العمل

وبما أننا نحرز تجانب مكرر أساسية، يجب تعيين مساحة العمل كمربع. أود أن استخدم البلاط 10x10cm، بزيادة حجم الخاص بك ساحة ليكرر أكبر.

الخطوة 1 ب - قم بتعيين حوامل اللون

عند العمل مع الملفات لطباعة أفضل الممارسات لحذف جميع الحوامل غير المستخدمة، والتدرجات، وفرش وأنماط الرسوم. القيام بذلك يجعل من الأسهل لإدارة وحفظ الألوان في وقت لاحق. لحذف كل شيء غير مستخدمة حوامل ببساطة انقر فوق "تحديد كل الغير مستخدم" في "قائمة لوحة"، ثم انقر فوق "حذف حامل". إذا بقيت أي حوامل غير مستخدمة، ببساطة قم بتحديد وحذفها.

الخطوة 1 ج - افتح مكتبة الألوان.

الطريقة الأسهل والأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة لمطابقة اللون مشروع لاستخدام "مكتبة الألوان". وقد جميع كبرى شركات الطباعة الخاصة بهم مكتبات اللون متوفرة للتحميل. تتألف هذه المكتبات من الحوامل التي تقع في نطاق سلسلة الطابعات. إذا لم يكن لديك ملف تعريف ألوان، تأكد من استخدام الألوان ليست مشرقة جداً أو مشبعة. إذا قمت بتحميل مكتبة، ثم قم بتحميلها عن طريق الذهاب إلى "قائمة الفريق" في جزء الحوامل واختر فتح مكتبة حوامل > مكتبة أخرى ثم انتقل إلى الملف الخاص بك، ثم انقر فوق فتح.

في هذا البرنامج التعليمي ، سأستخدم Spoonflower.com كخدمة الطباعة الخاصة بي. وهناك العديد من مكاتب الطباعة الأخرى إلى هناك، ولكن هدف هذا البرنامج التعليمي سبونفلووير تبرز، كما أنه قد لا يوجد الحد الأدنى من النظام والنقل البحري الدولي. يمكنك أن تجد اللون سبونفلووير في مكتبة ل Adobe Illustrator هنا.

الخطوة 1 د - إنشاء مجموعة ألوان

بمجرد تحميل مكتبة الألوان في Illustrator ، يمكنك اختيار الألوان التي تريد استخدامها. أود أن فرشاة الألوان بجانب بعضها البعض حتى يمكن أن احصل على فكرة عن كيف أنهم سوف نجلس معا في صورة ما. أنا القيام بذلك باستخدام "فرشاة النقطة" (Shift + B) ولكن شغل عمل الأشكال فقط كذلك. عندما يكون لديك مجموعة من الألوان التي كنت راضيا، اسحب الحوامل من مكتبة اللون إلى "لوحة الحوامل". وهذا السبب في أننا حذف جميع الحوامل في الخطوة 1b.

ملاحظة: تلاحظ أن الحوامل المستخدمة هنا زاوية بيضاء عليها. وهذا يعني أنهم الألوان العالمية. حوامل اللون العالمي هي الحوامل مرتبطة بالتعبئة والخطوط التي تستخدمها. إذا كان لون العالمي تغير حامل، ثم كل لون في المستند الذي يستخدم ذلك لون معين يتغير أيضا. وهذا مفيد للغاية لتحرير مستند، مثل نمط، التي تعتمد على إدارة الألوان دقيقة. لتغيير لون قياسي حامل حامل عالمية، انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق اللون في جزء الحوامل (الحرص على عدم إجراء أي الكائنات المحددة) وحدد العالمي، ثم انقر فوق موافق.

طريقة أخرى لتتبع الألوان الخاصة بك لجعل لون المجموعة. جعل لون المجموعة حدد الألوان في حامل البالته (انقر الأمر) الخاص بك، ثم انقر فوق الزر مجموعة لون جديد في الجزء السفلي من الجزء الحوامل، سيؤدي هذا إلى فتح حوار بحيث يمكنك تسمية مجموعة اللون الخاص بك. يمكنك أيضا حفظ هذه الحوامل لاستخدامها في وقت لاحق عن طريق الذهاب إلى "قائمة الفريق" في جزء الحوامل وحدد حفظ حامل مكتبة بورصة عمان--"تبادل أدوبي سواتش" (يمكن استخدام حوامل بورصة عمان مع برامج أدوبي الأخرى مثل فوتوشوب).

متقدم: إذا كنت تعمل من ملف متجه موجود مسبقًا ، فيمكنك إنشاء حامل نقال عن طريق تحديد صورتك والنقر فوق الزر New Color Group في الجزء السفلي من لوحة Swatches ، سيفتح هذا الحوار New Color Group. قم بتسمية مجموعة اللون وتحقق من تحويل العملية إلى العالمية ، ثم انقر فوق موافق.

لتغيير لون حامل لجعلها ملائمة للطباعة، ببساطة انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق الحامل وتغيير قيم CMYK تبعاً لذلك. إذا كان لديك لون خارج النطاق (نطاق الألوان للطباعة) يجب أن يظهر تحذير في الحوار "خيارات الحامل"-أما يدوياً تغيير قيم الألوان بنفسك أو انقر فوق مثلث التنبيه الأصفر لتغييره إلى أقرب قيمة اللون الذي يقع ضمن النطاق اللوني.

إذا كنت لا تزال غير متأكد كيف سيتم طباعة المستند الخاص بك أو ترغب في مزيد من الدقة للألوان أود أن اقترح استبدال كل حامل الحوامل التي تقترحها خدمة الطباعة. يمكنك القيام بذلك بتحميل مكتبة طابعات الألوان واختيار الألوان التي تريد استخدامها. استبدال الحوامل القديم بضغط Alt باستمرار وسحب حامل لون جديد فوق اللون الذي تريد تغييره. هذا حيث أنه مهم للحوامل للعالمية، حيث كل الألوان في الصورة التي سيتم تغيير ثم لتكون الألوان التي قمت باختيارها من المكتبة. من السهل!

الخطوة 2 أ - دعنا نرسم!

ولدينا الآن مجموعة من الألوان استخدام نمط لدينا حان الوقت لرسم. للمبتدئين-أسرع طريقة لبدء الرسم المصور لاستخدام "فرشاة النقطة" (Shift + B). لقد استعملت "فرشاة النقطة" لرسم ثلاثة كائنات مختلفة باستخدام مجموعة اللون الأول، المحدد في وقت سابق. لتغيير الإعدادات "فرشاة النقطة" مثل الحجم والدقة، انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق رمز "فرشاة النقطة" في "جزء الأدوات".

الميزات الأساسية "فرشاة النقطة" هي الحجم والدقة والنعومة. الحجم هو النفس التفسيرية. الإخلاص هو مدى دقة الخط، وارتفاع القيمة سلاسة وأقل دقة الخط سيكون. نعومة هي مقدار تجانس المطبقة على السكتة الدماغية الخاصة بك--كلما زادت النسبة المئوية، وأكثر سلاسة في المسار.

ملاحظة - المستخدمون المتقدمون: يمكنك إما رسم نمطك الخاص بأي طريقة تريدها والانتقال إلى الخطوة 3 لمعرفة كيفية اختبار تكرار أو إذا كان لديك بالفعل نمط تكرار عمل يمكنك تخطي الخطوة 5 للحصول على إرشادات حول تصدير ملفك للطباعة.

الخطوة 2 ب - نسخ وتعكس الكائنات

وفيما يلي أربعة صور لقد وجهت باستخدام "فرشاة النقطة". كما يمكنك أن ترى أنهم معقدة إلى حد ما. لجعل الكائنات أسهل للعمل مع--قم بتحديد الصورة بأداة التحديد (V) ثم اضغط على Command + G تجميعها معا، كرر هذه العملية لكل كائن. لأن هذه هي النسخة السريعة والسهلة من كيفية إنشاء نمط متكرر ، سأقوم بنسخ هذه الأشياء الأربعة لإنقاذ نفسي من أجل جذب المزيد.

للقيام بذلك ، حدد الكائنات التي ترغب في نسخها ، حدد أداة Reflect (O) وانقر فوق Command على مساحة فارغة من لوح الرسم ، وسيؤدي ذلك إلى فتح Reflect Dialogue. حدد العمودي، ثم انقر فوق نسخ. يجب عليك الآن نسخة المنعكس من الكائنات الأربعة الخاصة بك.

الخطوة 2 هـ - إعادة اللون

ونحن سوف الآن إعادة لون الكائنات المنسوخة. حيث يتم تجميع كل كائن، وهذا ينبغي أن يكون من السهل إلى حد ما. انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق الكائن ترغب في إعادة اللون، سينقلك هذا إلى وضع عزل الكائن--من هناك يمكنك إعادة تلوين الكائن الخاص بك دون تغيير الكائنات الأخرى بطريق الخطأ.

لتغيير كل مثيل من لون إلى لون آخر ، يمكنك استخدام أداة Magic Wand (Y). أولاً، انقر نقراً مزدوجاً فوق رمز "العصا السحرية" في "جزء الأدوات" لإحضار إعداداته، وتغير التسامح 0-وبهذه الطريقة سوف تحدده فقط مطابقة اللون المحدد. بمجرد تحديد اللون الذي ترغب في تغييره باستخدام Magic Wand ، انقر فوق اللون الذي ترغب في تغييره إلى مكتبة الألوان. للخروج من وضع العزل ، انقر نقرًا مزدوجًا فوق الكائنات المعزولة. كرر هذه العملية مع كل كائن لها نسخ متطابقة.

الخطوة 3 - ترتيب

الآن أن لدينا نحن الكائنات، حان الوقت لترتيبها على لوح الرسم-كما ترون لقد أضفت بضع قلوب ونجوم والتوقيعات لملء المساحات الفارغة. هذا التخطيط تبحث جيدة جداً بالنسبة لي، ولكن قبل تصديره للطباعة، أريد أن اختبار بلادي النمط. للقيام بذلك ، ارسم مربع بحجم لوح الرسم مع الخط وتعيين التعبئة إلى لا شيء ، ثم حدد المربع وأرسله إلى الخلف (Object> Arrange> Send to Back).

مع مربع شفاف في الجزء الخلفي من الصورة الخاصة بك، استخدم أداة التحديد (V) انقر واسحب مربع تحديد حول لوح الرسم الخاص بك. خذ التحديد واسحبه إلى Swatches Pane. يجب أن تلاحظ إنشاء حامل جديد ، وهذا هو النمط الخاص بك.

لاختبار الخاص بك نمط، رسم مستطيل في أي مكان خارج لوح الرسم وملء مع حامل الحشو. تذكر لجعل المستطيل كبيرة بما يكفي لتكرار النمط بضع مرات، وهذا أفضل للكشف عن أي شيء يحتاج إلى تغيير.

tep 4 - حفظ بصيغة PDF

وهذا هو جزء صعبة. وبمجرد الخاص بك سعيدة مع تمركز العناصر حفظ الملف كملف PDF. واحد من الملف الأكثر شعبية أنواع (وأوصى به سبونفلووير) هو TIFF 8-بت، غير مضغوط في مساحة الألوان LAB، كما أنه من المستحيل على تصدير الألوان LAB مباشرة من المصور لدينا لحفظ الصورة كملف PDF وفتحه في Photoshop. استخدام قوات الدفاع الشعبي كما أنه يحافظ على قيم اللون حيث ليست خراب كل العمل الشاق اختيار الحوامل على التصدير.

Go to File > Save As > PDF (الأوامر + Shift + S). سيؤدي هذا إلى فتح مربع الحوار PDF Adobe. انتقل إلى الإخراج وتعيين التحويل "تحويل بلا" اللون، ثم انقر فوق موافق.

الخطوة 5 - افتح PDF في Photoshop

إذا لم تكن قد قمت بذلك، افتح ملف PDF في Photoshop (الذهاب إلى ملف > فتح، وحدد PDF المحفوظة الخاصة بك). وهذا سيجلب "الحوار استيراد قوات الدفاع الشعبي". اختر الإعدادات التالية لاستيراد الصور الخاصة بك: "خيارات الصفحة" كمحصول "المربع المحيط" (وهذا سوف استيراد إلا ما هو داخل لوح الرسم) القرار في 150 بكسل/بوصة (هذا هو القرار الأمثل كما هو محدد من قبل سبونفلووير، وقد تختلف الطابعات الأخرى--مما لا شك فيه للتحقق). صيغة اللون كمختبر (سيتم شرح الألوان LAB في لحظة واحدة.) عمق بت ك 8 (مرة أخرى، وهذا يحدده سبونفلووير)، ثم انقر فوق موافق.

لون LAB ، على عكس RGB أو CMYK له نغمات وألوان منفصلة بحيث يمكن تعديلها دون التأثير على الأخرى. L خفيف ، A و B لونان - إذا كانت A + B حمراء يمكنك طرح L لجعل maroon أو إضافة L لجعل الوردي.
لون LAB هو أيضاً مساحة لون الجهاز المستقلة الوحيدة في Photoshop ، مما يجعله مثاليًا لطابعات النسيج الرقمية أثناء عملها مع الألوان بشكل مختلف عن آلة الطباعة التجارية القياسية.

الخطوة 6 - حفظ كملف TIFF

بكل الطابعة الخاصة بهم أنواع الملفات الموصى بها، بعض مثل jpg gif مثل بعض، سبونفلووير يسأل عن TIFF (8 بت، غير مضغوط). أود شخصيا أن استخدام معرض طرابلس لأنه نوع ملف ضياع، مما يعني أن هناك عدم فقدان جودة بسبب الضغط. لحفظ الفن الخاص بك كملف TIFF انتقل إلى الملف > Save As > ثم اختر TIFF- تأكد من تعيين ضغط الصورة إلى بلا، ثم انقر فوق موافق.

الاستنتاج:

يجب عليك الآن ملف جاهز طباعة بالألوان (تقريبا) مضمونة، كل ما عليك القيام به الآن هو الانتقال إلى spoonflower.com، أو الطابعة المفضلة الخاصة بك، وتحميل العمل الفني للطباعة.

وصلات مفيدة

اشترك في Vector Tuts + RSS Feed للبقاء على اطلاع على أحدث البرامج التعليمية وناقلات ناقلات.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

A Beginner's Guide to Digital Textile Printing

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

This is a basic illustration tutorial combined with a practical overview of file preparation for Digital Textile Printing. After a long process of trial and error I've developed a streamlined process for creating files for digital textile printing. This is the perfect tutorial for people wanting to learn basic file preparation and color management. You'll learn the details of prepping your vector file for digital textile printing and these skills transfer well to larger projects. Let's get started!

Introduction

Digital printing is by far one of the most exciting developments in the textile industry. Not only does it open up endless opportunities for customization, small run printing, prototyping and experimentation but it also puts textile printing within the budget of your average illustrator.

Digital textile printing can reproduce unlimited colors and shades but - as with most forms of printing - what you see on screen is not necessarily what you get back.

After a long process of trial and error I've developed a streamlined process for creating files for digital textile printing. This is the perfect tutorial for people wanting to learn basic file preparation and color management. The skills learned from this tutorial are easily transferable to more complex designs and are simple enough for absolute beginners to start producing patterns quickly with little (to no) Illustrator experience.

Final Textile Print Preview

Below is the print we will be working towards. Want access to the full Vector Source files and downloadable copies of every tutorial, including this one? Join Vector Plus for just 9$ a month.

Tutorial Details

  • Programs: Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop
  • Version: CS4 (preferable)
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Estimated Completion Time: 1-2 hours (10mins with pre-prepared artwork)
  • Advanced users may want to use their own illustration style.

You Will Learn

  • How to prepare a basic vector file for digital textile printing.

You Will Need

  • Drawing tablet (preferable)

Step 1a - Set the Workspace

Since we're making a basic repeating tile, the workspace should be set as a square. I like to use 10x10cm tiles, increase the size of your square for larger repeats.

Step 1b - Set the Color Swatches

When working with files for print it's best practice to delete all unused Swatches, Gradients, Brushes and Graphic Styles. Doing so makes it easier to manage and save colors later on. To delete all unused swatches simply click Select All Unused in the Panel Menu then click Delete Swatch. If any unused swatches remain, simply select and delete them.

Step 1c - Open the Color Library.

The easiest and most cost effective way to color match a project is to use a Color Library. All major printing companies have their own color libraries available for download. These libraries are composed of swatches that fall within the printers gamut range. If you don't have a color profile be sure to use colors that aren't too bright or saturated. If you have downloaded a library, then load it by going to the Panel Menu in the Swatches pane and select Open Swatch Library > Other Library then navigate to your file and click Open.

For this tutorial I'll be using Spoonflower.com as my printing service. There are many other print bureaus out there, but for the purpose of this tutorial Spoonflower stands out, as it has no minimum order and international shipping. You can find Spoonflower's color Library for Adobe Illustrator Here.

Step 1d - Make a Color Group

Once the color library is loaded into Illustrator you can choose the colors you want to use. I like to brush the colors next to each other so I can get an idea of how they will sit together in an image. I do this using the Blob Brush (Shift + B) but filled shapes work just as well. Once you have a selection of colors that you're happy with, drag the Swatches from the color Library into the Swatches Pane. This is why we deleted all the swatches in Step 1b.

Note: Notice that the swatches used here have a white corner on them. This means that they're Global colors. Global Color Swatches are swatches linked to the fills and lines that use it. If a Global color Swatch is changed, then every color in the document that uses that particular color is also changed. This is extremely helpful for editing a document, such as a pattern, that's reliant on accurate color management. To change a standard color Swatch to a Global swatch, double-click on the color in the swatches pane (being careful not to have any objects selected) and select Global, then click OK.

Another way to keep track of your colors is to make a color Group. To make a color Group select the colors in your swatch pallet (Command-click) then click the New color Group button at the bottom of the Swatches pane, this will open a dialogue where you can name your color Group. You can also save these swatches for later use by going to the Panel Menu in the Swatches pane and select Save Swatch Library ASE - Adobe Swatch Exchange (ASE swatches can be used with other adobe programs such as Photoshop).

Advanced: If you're working from a pre-existing vector file you can create a swatch pallet by selecting your image and clicking the New Color Group button at the bottom of the Swatches pane, this will open the New Color Group dialogue. Name your color group and check Convert Process to Global, then click OK.

To change a color Swatch to make it suitable to print, simply double-click the swatch and change the CMYK values accordingly. If your color is out of gamut (Printable color range) a warning should appear in the Swatch Options dialogue - either manually change the color values yourself or click the yellow alert triangle to change it to the nearest color value that's within gamut.

If you're still unsure of how your document will print or want greater accuracy of color I would suggest replacing each swatch with swatches suggested by your printing service. You can do this by loading the printers color library and choosing the colors you want to use. Replace the old swatches by holding down Alt and dragging the new color swatch on top of the color you wish to change. This is where it's important to have the swatches set to Global, as each of the colors in you image will then change to be the colors you've chosen from the library. Easy!

Step 2a - Lets draw!

We now have a set of colors to use in our pattern it's time to draw. For the absolute beginner - the quickest way to start drawing in Illustrator is to use the Blob Brush (Shift + B). I've used the Blob Brush to draw three different objects using the Color Group I defined earlier. To change the settings of the Blob Brush such as size and accuracy, double-click the Blob Brush icon in the Tools Pane.

The basic features of the Blob Brush are Size, Fidelity and Smoothness. Size is self explanatory. Fidelity is how accurate the line is, the higher the value the smoother and less accurate the line will be. Smoothness is the amount of smoothing applied to your stroke - the higher the percentage, the smoother the path.

Note - Advanced Users: You can either draw your own pattern in any method you like and skip to Step 3 to learn how to test your repeat OR if you already have a working repeat pattern you can skip to Step 5 for instructions on exporting your file for print.

Step 2b - Copy and Reflect Objects

Here are four images I've drawn using the Blob Brush. As you can see they're fairly complex. To make the objects easier to work with - select the image with the Selection Tool (V) then press Command + G to group it together, repeat this for each object. Because this is the quick and easy version of how to make a repeating pattern I'm going to copy these four objects to save myself having to draw more.

To do this select the objects you wish to copy, select the Reflect Tool (O) and Command-click on a blank area of the artboard, this will open the Reflect Dialogue. Select Vertical and click Copy. You should now have a reflected copy of your four objects.

Step 2e - Re-Color

We will now re-color the copied objects. Since each object is grouped, this should be fairly easy. Double-click the object you wish to re-color, this will take you to the object's isolation mode - from there you can re-color your object without accidentally changing the other objects.

To change every instance of a color to another color you can use the Magic Wand Tool (Y). First, double-click the Magic Wand icon in the Tools Pane to bring up its settings, change the Tolerance to 0 - this way you will only select exact color matches. Once the color you wish to change is selected using the Magic Wand, click the color you wish to change it to in your color Library. To exit isolation mode double-click outside of the isolated objects. Repeat this process with each mirrored object.

Step 3 - Arrange

Now that we have our objects, it's time to arrange them on the artboard - as you can see I've added a few hearts, stars and signatures to fill the blank spaces. This layout is looking pretty good to me, but before I export it for print, I want to test my pattern. To do this first draw a square the size of the artboard with the line and fill set to None, then select the square and send it to the back (Object > Arrange > Send to Back).

With the transparent square at the back of your image, use the Selection tool (V) to click and drag a selection box around your artboard. Take the selection and drag it into the Swatches Pane. You should notice a new swatch is created, this is your pattern.

To test your pattern, draw a rectangle anywhere outside of the artboard and fill it with the pattern swatch. Remember to make the rectangle large enough to repeat the pattern a few times, this is better for detecting anything that needs to be changed.

Step 4 - Save As PDF

This is the tricky part. Once your happy with the positioning of the elements save the file as a PDF. One of the most popular file types (and recommended by Spoonflower) is an 8-bit, uncompressed TIFF in the LAB color space, as it's impossible to export LAB color directly from Illustrator we have to save the image as a PDF and open it in Photoshop. I use PDF as it preserves color values so all the hard work choosing swatches isn't ruined on export.

Go to File > Save As > PDF (Command + Shift + S). This will open the Adobe PDF Dialogue Box. Go to Output and set the color Conversion to No Conversion, then click OK.

Step 5 - Open PDF in Photoshop

If you haven't already done so, open the PDF in Photoshop (go to File > Open and select your saved PDF). This will bring up the Import PDF Dialogue. Choose the following settings to import your image: Page Options as Crop to Bounding Box (this will import only what's inside the artboard) Resolution as 150 pixels/inch (this is the optimal resolution as specified by Spoonflower, other printers may differ - be sure to check.) color Mode as LAB (I will explain LAB color in a moment.) Bit Depth as 8 (again, this is specified by Spoonflower), then Click OK.

LAB color, unlike RGB or CMYK has tones and colors separate so one adjusts without affecting the other. L is light, A and B are color - so if A+B is red you can subtract L to make maroon or add L to make pink.
LAB color is also the only device independent color-space in Photoshop, which makes it perfect for digital fabric printers as they work with color differently to a standard commercial print machine.

Step 6 - Save as a TIFF

Each printer has their own recommended file types, some like jpg some like gif, Spoonflower asks for TIFF (8-bit, uncompressed). I personally like to use TIF because its a lossless file type, which means there is no quality loss due to compression. To save your art as a TIFF go to File > Save As > then choose TIFF - make sure the image compression is set to None, then click OK.

Conclusion:

You should now have a print ready file with (almost) foolproof colors, all you need to do now is go to spoonflower.com, or your preferred printer, and upload the artwork to print.

Useful Links

Subscribe to the Vectortuts+ RSS Feed to stay up to date with the latest vector tutorials and articles.