Unlimited PS Actions, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Manipulation

10 советов по улучшению навыков обработки фотографий

by
Read Time:13 minsLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Top Design Tips.
10 Design Tips for Creating Mouth-Watering Menus
10 Top Tips for Fashion Illustration

Russian (Pусский) translation by Yuri Yuriev (you can also view the original English article)

За более чем 20-летнюю историю Photoshop доказал свою полезность во многом. Одно из основных -  обработка фото. Это обработка фотографий, которая в разговоре звучит, как "to Photoshop". И всё же создание хорошего монтажа фото не так просто, как кажется.

Будь вы новичок в игре или опытный ретушер, всегда есть куда расти и учиться. Я составил список из десяти советов, чтобы убедиться, что ваши навыки манипуляции фотографиями выше всех остальных.

1. Всё о разрешении

Когда дело доходит до работы с изображением, подумайте о пикселях как о сыром материале. Они похожи на тюбики краски для портретиста или тюки ткани для швеи. Любой мастер своего дела скажет вам, что нельзя экономить на сырье. В обработке фото то же самое. Пиксели имеют тенденцию к растягиванию, сжатию, перекосу и другим неприятностям. Когда есть, с чем работать, легче будет задача и тем лучше конечный результат.

Итак, сколько вам нужно? Хорошее правило в том, чтобы работать на 150-200% от конечного размера, а затем пересчитать вниз. Знание средства просмотра имеет решающее значение. Печатные носители требуют гораздо большего разрешения, чем дисплеи. Для печатных работ требуется разрешение 300 dpi, в то время как для дисплея минимум 72 dpi. Это большая разница.

Подробнее о разрешении смотрите курс от Chamira Young в From Pixel-Perfect to Print Ready in Photoshop.

Learn to use the proper resolution for printLearn to use the proper resolution for printLearn to use the proper resolution for print
From Pixel-Perfect to Print Ready in Photoshop

Риск недостаточно высокого разрешения заключается в том, что в финальная картинка исказится и размоется. Эта проблема усугубляется при использовании фотографий из разных источников. Выбирайте изображения для своего проекта по обработке фотографий с одинаковым разрешением. Если нет, начните с изображения с самым низким разрешением и приведите к нему другие.

photo manip involving images from several sourcesphoto manip involving images from several sourcesphoto manip involving images from several sources
How to Create a Surreal Underwater Scene

В этом изображении сцена построена из восьми разных изображений, все с хорошим разрешением, так что финал выглядит бесшовным. Ищете источник высококачественных изображений? Ознакомьтесь с подборкой картинок на Envato Market.

2. Свет и тень

Одна из самых важных задач при создании правдоподобного фотокомпозита заключается в согласованности освещения. Если какой-либо элемент сцены имеет явно выпадает по тени, этот элемент никогда не будет соответствовать окружению. Это широко известно как «эффект зеленого экрана» из-за частого появления на телевидении и в фильмах, где композитный фон имеет освещение, отличное от освещения актёров. 

Лучший способ убедиться, что света и тени соответствуют, состоит в том, чтобы иметь чёткое представление о том, как света и тени работают в реальном мире. Свет - это 3D элемент и отбрасывает тень в 3D пространстве. Подробнее о том, как работают свет и тень, ознакомьтесь в замечательном уроке Monica Zagrobelna, Improve Your Artwork by Learning to See Light and Shadow.

How light creates shadowsHow light creates shadowsHow light creates shadows
Improve Your Artwork by Learning to See Light and Shadow

Как только вы выясните основной источник света вашей сцены, убедитесь, что каждая поверхность освещена или затенена от этого источника света. Затем выполните это для каждого источника света. Вроде много работы, но это несложно, и как только вы поймете визуальную геометрию, стоящую за ней, всё решится намного быстрее.

Для получения инструкций по созданию убедительного света и теней в Photoshop посмотрите эти курсы:

Short course on Light and Shadow in Photo ManipulationShort course on Light and Shadow in Photo ManipulationShort course on Light and Shadow in Photo Manipulation
Using Light and Shadow in Photo Manipulation

3. Поместите это в перспективе

Уступая только свету и тени, наиболее показательным элементом плохого монтажа является неправильный масштаб. Иногда преувеличенная калибровка является преднамеренной и часто - часть решения. Но когда элементы несовместимы по масштабу, это может создать странное ощущение чего-то, что просто «выключено». Когда так происходит, возникает недоверие и зритель инстинктивно знает, что изображение визуально ненадёжно.

Лучший метод обеспечения согласования масштаба - это продумать перспективу изображения. Определите горизонт и точки схода, а затем убедитесь, что ваши элементы совпадают с ними. Обычно эти понятия связаны с иллюстрацией и рисунком, но они также имеют очень чёткое приложение к монтажу фотографий. Если вы не знакомы с тем, как работать с перспективой, ознакомьтесь с этими учебниками и курсами.

Technical Drawing for Beginners An Introduction to PerspectiveTechnical Drawing for Beginners An Introduction to PerspectiveTechnical Drawing for Beginners An Introduction to Perspective
Technical Drawing for Beginners: An Introduction to Perspective
How to Work With Perspective in PhotoshopHow to Work With Perspective in PhotoshopHow to Work With Perspective in Photoshop
How to Work With Perspective in Photoshop
Mastering Perspective in Adobe PhotoshopMastering Perspective in Adobe PhotoshopMastering Perspective in Adobe Photoshop
Mastering Perspective in Adobe Photoshop

4. Dodge and Burn

Хорошая работа с фотографиями не всегда должна выглядеть реалистичной. Часто вещь становится более удачной, когда выглядит стилизованной, с дополнительными яркими цветами, супер яркими бликами и глубокими тенями. Этот вид часто вносит свой вклад в увлекательное и фантастическое настроение фотомонтажа.

Create a skin tearing illustrtaion in PhotoshopCreate a skin tearing illustrtaion in PhotoshopCreate a skin tearing illustrtaion in Photoshop
Create a Skin-Tearing Illustration in Photoshop

Основная часть создания стилизованного вида - это использование техники dodge and burn вручную. У каждого художника есть своя техника, но популярным является использование слоя, заполненного 50% gray в режиме наложения Overlay. Серый останется полностью невидимым, но следы от Dodge и Burn Tools будут видимыми.

Before and after of the Dodge and Burn techniqueBefore and after of the Dodge and Burn techniqueBefore and after of the Dodge and Burn technique
How to Create a Photo Caricature in Adobe Photoshop

5. Использование реалистичных текстур

Добавление текстур в проект монтажа фотографий - это быстрый способ создать глубину деталей, которую мы видим в реальной жизни. Фактически, использование текстур из реальной жизни является одним из самых быстрых способов достижения этого. Вместо того, чтобы скрупулезно рисовать каждую морщину куска кожи для книги, гораздо проще и более убедительно использовать текстуру.

Vintage Book Leather Cover TextureVintage Book Leather Cover TextureVintage Book Leather Cover Texture
Vintage Book Leather Cover Texture

Использование высококачественных текстур, которые обеспечивают детализацию, делает поверхность в фотографии правдоподобной.

artwork from advanced photo manipulation courseartwork from advanced photo manipulation courseartwork from advanced photo manipulation course
Advanced Adobe Photoshop Techniques курс

6. Пользуйтесь своими кистями

Как и реалистичные текстуры, кисти - отличный способ быстро добавить убедительные эффекты в произведение. Photoshop's кисти великолепны! Но все они довольно хорошо известны и несколько ограничены в применении к эффектам ручной росписи.

Вот где в игру вступают специальные кисти. Вы можете создавать собственные кисти для очень специфических эффектов, таких как создание ржавчины и царапин для добавления эффектов выветривания к кусочкам металла.

Create your own scratch brushesCreate your own scratch brushesCreate your own scratch brushes
How to Create Custom Scratched Metal Brushes in Adobe Photoshop

Или подберите из custom brushes доступных на Envato Market.

Flame Wings BrushesFlame Wings BrushesFlame Wings Brushes
Flame Wings Brushes

7. Рассмотрите возможность использования actions

Actions? Да, actions. С одной стороны, Photoshop actions могут значительно ускорить рабочий процесс, автоматизируя задачи, которые повторяются и требуют много времени. Но есть ещё одно отличное применение. Actions могут пригодиться для создания очень сложного эффекта намного быстрее, чем при его создании вручную. С помощью умной записи операций на слое, actions могут выполнять эффект за несколько секунд, экономя драгоценное время для задач, где важен личный контакт.

Sandstorm Photoshop ActionSandstorm Photoshop ActionSandstorm Photoshop Action
Sandstorm Photoshop Action

Подробнее о создании эффектов с помощью actions в курсе Building Your Own Actions in Adobe Photoshop.

8. О параметрах трансформации и деформации

«Манипулирование» в монтаже с фотографиями предполагает обработку элемента фото во что-то другое. Есть несколько способов сделать это в Photoshop и каждый метод имеет свои преимущества и недостатки. Вот почему важно осваивать как можно больше, чтобы принять обоснованное решение о том, какая функция является лучшим выбором для каждой ситуации.

Изменение базовой формы элемента может быть выполнено с помощью преобразований, перекосов, кукольных перекосов или liquify. Смотрите пособие с пояснениями различий между ними Adobe Photoshop for Kids: Funny faces!

Fun image warping with liquifyFun image warping with liquifyFun image warping with liquify
Adobe Photoshop for Kids: Funny Faces!

9. Изучайте планшет

Вы все ещё используете мышь или трекпад для работы в Photoshop? Не хотите устройство поудобней? Вроде графического планшета?

Да, обычно эти планшеты используются для цифровой графики и рисования, но они очень полезны для работы с фотографиями. Вы видите, что каждый инструмент в Photoshop, который использует кисти (dodge, burn, clone stamp, painted masks, etc.), восприимчив к inputs графического планшета.

Мышь имеет два уровня нажима, кнопки вниз и кнопки вверх. Вот и всё, полный двоичный input. Графический планшет хорошего качества имеет 2048 уровней чувствительности нажима или больше! Добавьте чувствительность для угла поворота пера, скорости вращения и вращения barrel (на некоторых моделях) и у вас есть устройство ввода, по сравнению с которым мышь, это мыло-на-верёвке!

Wacom tabletWacom tabletWacom tablet

Если у вас есть минутка, вот 60-секундный справочник по использованию планшета Wacom в Photoshop.

Если вам нужна более глубокая инструкция по использованию планшета Wacom с Photoshop, взгляните на курс Mastering the Wacom Tablet in Photoshop.

10. Оставайтесь вдохновлёнными и продолжайте практиковать!

Как и все, чем стоит заниматься, монтаж фото требует практики и самоотдачи для превосходных навыков. Один из лучших способов мотивировать себя - хранить в папке «Вдохновение» примеры манипуляций с фотографиями и иллюстраций, которые вас вдохновляют.

Смотрите на сайтах dribbble.com и deviantart.com. И ознакомьтесь с библиотекой tutorials and courses, доступных в Envato Tuts +, чтобы улучшить свои навыки манипуляции фотографиями.

Advanced Photo Manipulation courseAdvanced Photo Manipulation courseAdvanced Photo Manipulation course
Advanced Photo Manipulation part 2
Create a Magical Photo ManipulationCreate a Magical Photo ManipulationCreate a Magical Photo Manipulation
How to Create a Magical Photo Manipulation: Post-Production

Хотите ещё?

Надеюсь, эти советы вдохновили вас ещё больше продвинуть свои навыки монтажа фотографий. Если хотите увидеть некоторые из моих работ с проектами фотомонтажа, пользовательскими кистями для Photoshop, посмотрите мой profile here at Envato Tuts+.

One subscription.
Unlimited Downloads.
Get unlimited downloads

Advertisement
  1. Design & Illustration
  2. Photo Manipulation
Design

10 Tips for Improving Your Photo Manipulation Skills

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Top Design Tips.
10 Design Tips for Creating Mouth-Watering Menus
10 Top Tips for Fashion Illustration

Over it's 20+ year history, Photoshop has proved itself useful for a great many things. One of the primary applications is photo manipulation. In fact, it's photo manipulation that is meant by the colloquial term "to Photoshop". Yet pulling off a successful photo manipulation isn't quite as easy as it sounds. 

So whether you are new to the game or an experienced photo retoucher, there's always room to learn and grow. I've compiled a list of ten tips for making sure your photo manipulation skills are a cut above the rest.

1. It's All About the Resolution

When it comes to working with an image, think of pixels as the raw material of the medium. They are like the tubes of paint for a portrait artist or bolts of fabric for a seamstress. Any craftsman of their field will tell you that it's a mistake to skimp on the raw materials. Photo manipulation is no different. Pixels tend to get stretched, squashed, skewed and otherwise abused. The more there are to work with, the easier the task will be and the better the end result.

So how much do you need? A good rule of thumb is to work at 150-200% the size of the final piece, and then resample the finished image down. Knowing the intended medium of delivery is crucial. Print media requires much more resolution than screen displays do. Most print work requires a resolution of 300 dpi, while screen displays can be as low at 72 dpi. That's a big difference.

To learn more about print resolution, consider this course from Chamira Young on From Pixel-Perfect to Print Ready in Photoshop.

Learn to use the proper resolution for print
From Pixel-Perfect to Print Ready in Photoshop

The risk of not using high enough resolution images is that the final piece can appear distorted, pixelated or blurry. This problem is compounded when using photos from several different sources. Always try to make sure the images you choose for your photo manipulation project are all of similar resolution. Otherwise, start with the lowest resolution image and bring the other images down to it.

photo manip involving images from several sources
How to Create a Surreal Underwater Scene

In this image the entire scene is built using eight different images, all of good resolution so that the final piece appears seamless. Looking for a source of high-quality stock images? Take a look through the selection of stock images available on Envato Market.

2. Light and Shadow

One of the most important tasks in creating a believable photo composite is that the lighting is consistent. If any element in the scene has obviously different lighting, and therefore different shadows, that element will never appear to fit in with its surroundings. This is commonly known as the "green screen effect" due to the frequent occurrence in TV and film where the composited background has much different lighting than the actors and actresses on screen.

The best way to make sure the lighting and shadows for your photo manipulation are on point is to have a solid understanding of how light and shadows work in the real world. Light is a 3D element and casts a shadow in 3D space. To learn more about understanding how light and shadow work, check out this excellent tutorial by Monica Zagrobelna, Improve Your Artwork by Learning to See Light and Shadow.

How light creates shadows
Improve Your Artwork by Learning to See Light and Shadow

Once you figure out the primary light source for your scene, make sure every surface is illuminated or shadowed from that light source. Then follow through in doing this for every source of light in the scene. It sounds like a lot of work, but it's not difficult, and once you understand the visual geometry behind it, the task becomes much faster. 

For even more instruction on creating convincing lighting and shadows in Photoshop, take a look at these courses: 

Short course on Light and Shadow in Photo Manipulation
Using Light and Shadow in Photo Manipulation

3. Put It in Perspective

Second only to light and shadow, the most telling element of a poor photo manipulation is improper scale. Sometimes exaggerated sizing is intentional, and often that's the point of the piece. But when the elements are inconsistent in scale, it can create a strange sense of something just being "off". When that happens, it breaks the suspension of disbelief, and the viewer instinctively knows the image is visually untrustworthy.

The best method for ensuring all the elements are in proper scale agreement is to think through the perspective of an image. Identify the horizon and vanishing points, and then make sure your elements align with these. Usually these concepts are associated with illustration and drawing, but they have very clear application to photo manipulation as well. If you are not familiar with how to work with perspective, take a look at these tutorials and courses.

Technical Drawing for Beginners An Introduction to Perspective
Technical Drawing for Beginners: An Introduction to Perspective
How to Work With Perspective in Photoshop
How to Work With Perspective in Photoshop
Mastering Perspective in Adobe Photoshop
Mastering Perspective in Adobe Photoshop

4. Dodge and Burn

A good photo manipulation doesn't always need to look photo-realistic. Often a piece is more successful when it appears to be stylized, with extra vibrant colors, super bright highlights and deep, deep shadow areas. This look often contributes to the fun and fantasy mood of a photo manipulation.

Create a skin tearing illustrtaion in Photoshop
Create a Skin-Tearing Illustration in Photoshop

A major part of creating that stylized look is using a technique to dodge and burn the image by hand. Every photo manipulation artist has a favored technique, but a popular one is to use a layer filled with 50% gray that is set to the Overlay blending mode. The gray is rendered completely invisible, but the marks from the Dodge and Burn Tools will be visible.

Before and after of the Dodge and Burn technique
How to Create a Photo Caricature in Adobe Photoshop

5. Use Realistic Textures

Adding textures to a photo manipulation project is a fast way to create the depth of detail that we see in real life. In fact, using textures created from real life is one of the fastest ways to accomplish that. Instead of trying to meticulously paint in every wrinkle of a piece of leather for a book, it is much easier and more convincing to use a texture instead.

Vintage Book Leather Cover Texture
Vintage Book Leather Cover Texture

It's the use of high-quality textures that ultimately provides the required level of detail that makes the surfaces in a manipulated photo believable.

artwork from advanced photo manipulation course
Advanced Adobe Photoshop Techniques course

6. Use Custom Brushes

Just like realistic textures, brushes are a great way to quickly add realistic effects to a piece with ultimate control. Photoshop's brushes are great! But they are all pretty well known and somewhat limited in their application for hand-painted effects. 

That's where custom brushes come into play. You can create your own brushes for very specific effects, like creating rust and scratches for adding weathering effects to pieces of metal.

Create your own scratch brushes
How to Create Custom Scratched Metal Brushes in Adobe Photoshop

Or consider the variety of custom brushes available on Envato Market.

Flame Wings Brushes
Flame Wings Brushes

7. Consider Using Actions

Actions? Yes, actions. In one sense, Photoshop actions can greatly speed up your workflow by automating tasks that tend to be repetitive and time-consuming otherwise. Yet there's another excellent application. Actions can be used to create a very complex effect much more quickly than by creating that effect manually. With some clever recording of filters and layer operations, actions can perform an effect in moments, saving valuable time for other tasks that would require a more personal touch.

Sandstorm Photoshop Action
Sandstorm Photoshop Action

To learn more about creating complex photo effects with actions, check out the course on Building Your Own Actions in Adobe Photoshop.

8. Know the Transform and Warp Options

The "manipulation" aspect of photo manipulation involves crafting a photographic element into something different. There are several ways to do that in Photoshop, and each technique has its own set of benefits and drawbacks. That's why it is important to master as many of them as possible so you can make an educated decision about which feature is the best choice for each situation. 

Changing the basic shape of an element can be done with basic transformations, custom warps, puppet warps, or liquify. To see a great tutorial explaining the differences of each of these, check out Adobe Photoshop for Kids: Funny faces!

Fun image warping with liquify
Adobe Photoshop for Kids: Funny Faces!

9. Learn the Tablet

Are you still using a mouse or trackpad to work in Photoshop? Have you considered a better input device? Something like a graphics tablet? 

Yes, usually these tablets are used for digital drawing and painting, but they are also immensely useful for photo manipulation work. You see, every tool in Photoshop that uses the brush engine (dodge, burn, clone stamp, painted masks, etc.) is also receptive to the pressure inputs of a graphics tablet. 

A mouse has exactly two levels of pressure, button down and button up. That's it, completely binary input. A good-quality graphics tablet has 2,048 levels of pressure sensitivity or more! Add sensitivity for pen angle, speed and barrel rotation (on some models) and you have yourself an input device that makes the mouse feel like trying to draw with a soap-on-a-rope!

Wacom tablet

In fact, if you have just a minute, here's a 60-second guide to using the Wacom tablet in Photoshop.

If you want more in-depth instruction on using the Wacom tablet with Photoshop, take a peek at the course Mastering the Wacom Tablet in Photoshop.

10. Stay Inspired and Keep Practicing!

As with anything that's worth doing, photo manipulation takes practice and dedication to build up superior skills. One of the best ways to keep yourself interested and motivated is to keep an Inspiration folder and collect examples of photo manipulation and digital artwork that inspires you. 

Browse sites like dribbble.com and deviantart.com. Also take a look at the library of tutorials and courses available here at Envato Tuts+ designed to help you enhance your photo manipulation skills.

Advanced Photo Manipulation course
Advanced Photo Manipulation part 2
Create a Magical Photo Manipulation
How to Create a Magical Photo Manipulation: Post-Production

Want More?

I hope these tips have inspired you to push your photo manipulation skills even further. If you'd like to see some of my own work with photo manipulation projects, custom brushes, and even more Photoshop fun, check out my profile here at Envato Tuts+.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.